2017 Mazda 6 on sale in Malaysia – adds G-Vectoring Control, RM6,553 more expensive across the range

Local Mazda distributor Bermaz has quietly introduced the 2017 Mazda 6 in Malaysia – the mildly-revamped D-segment sedan has been given new equipment and technologies at higher prices than before.

How much higher? Prices have been increased by RM6,558 across the board, so the 2.0 litre petrol sedan model is now priced at RM170,407, the 2.5 litre petrol sedan at RM206,896, the 2.5 litre petrol Touring wagon at RM211,006 and the 2.2 litre diesel sedan at RM215,264. All prices are on-the-road inclusive of insurance, a three-year warranty and three years’ free service.

As the 6 was already given a facelift a couple of years ago, the update brings little to the table visually aside from redesigned wing mirror-mounted LED indicators and a new Machine Grey Metallic paint option – the latter was first introduced on the new CX-9 SUV. Inside, the 2017 model is differentiated via a new, thinner three-spoke steering wheel, also from the CX-9.

Also revised is the Active Driving Display on the 2.5 petrol and 2.2 diesel models – the head-up display is now full-colour and has increased brightness, contrast and definition for improved legibility, while the angle, brightness and content settings for each driver can now be saved in the driver’s seat memory.

The multi-information display in the instrument cluster has also been upgraded to a full-colour screen and includes added functionality such as a redesigned water temperature gauge and a graphic compass. Other more subtle revisions include a new overhead console with LED downlights.

Standard equipment on the base 2.0 litre model includes halogen headlights and fog lights, 17-inch alloy wheels, push-button start, auto lights and wipers, leather upholstery, power-adjustable front seats with driver’s side memory, an auto-dimming rear-view mirror, dual-zone auto climate control, MZD Connect infotainment system with a seven-inch touchscreen, six speakers and a reverse camera.

The 2.5 litre petrol models receive LED headlights and fog lights, 19-inch gunmetal alloys, keyless entry, a glass sunroof, paddle shifters, the aforementioned head-up display, i-ELOOP capacitor brake energy recuperation system and an 11-speaker Bose sound system. The diesel model gets the same kit, minus the i-ELOOP system.

Safety-wise, all models get six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist, stability control, hill-start assist and ISOFIX child seat anchors. The 2.5 petrol and 2.2 diesel models also receive new adaptive LED headlights, as well as i-ActivSense driver assists, including Smart City Brake Support (SCBS), Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM), Rear Cross Traffic Alert (RCTA), Lane Departure Warning (LDWS) and Lane Keep Assist (LKA).

Under the skin, the throttle response has been made more linear on models equipped with the six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission, thanks to more refined torque rise characteristics. The updated 6 also sees the introduction of the new G-Vectoring Control system which modulates engine torque to optimise vertical load on each wheel, improving steering response and stability.

The 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D diesel engine, on the other hand, receives refinements such as High-Precision DE Boost Control to sharpen throttle response, as well as a Natural Sound Smoother piston pin damper and more finely-controlled fuel injection timing (Natural Sound Frequency Control) to reduce knock and engine vibration, improving refinement.

Apart from that, the engines have remained unchanged. The 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G petrol four-pot makes 153 hp at 6,000 rpm and 200 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, while the 2.5 litre variant delivers 185 hp at 5,700 rpm and 250 Nm at 3,250 rpm. Meanwhile, the twin-turbo diesel mill churns out 173 hp at 4,500 rpm and 420 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. A six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic gearbox is standard-fit.

It should be noted that the Malaysian website still lists pricing for the older models, so these are likely still on sale for now as a cheaper alternative (they retail at the same prices as before). Browse full specifications and equipment of all Mazda 6 models on sale in Malaysia on CarBase.my. You can now get best offers on the Mazda 6 on CarBase.my too.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• vincy8925 on Feb 15, 2017 at 2:34 pm

For this price, I would rather go for the all new Passat. Triumps the 6 in all aspect hands down except probably for the resale value.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 11
    • seancorr (Member) on Feb 15, 2017 at 3:37 pm

The all new Passat is a better buy or one could go with a pre reg 320i or a C200 which I think is a better buy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 2
      • Shandy L00 on Feb 15, 2017 at 4:21 pm

Camry 2.5 Hybrid > all.
        Non-rebate price RM290k…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
        • Kelab Penyokong Kunta on Feb 15, 2017 at 7:59 pm

Crazy pricing. This is why people have stopped buying Mazda. The craze of the CX5 is over cause people have noticed, Bermaz keep on increasing prices non stop. Last year, they increased prices 3 times. And now this.

Amazing Bermaz. Mazda was dead. 4 years ago launched the CX5 and it revived the brand in Malaysia. Then Bermaz became cocky and aksi and started being arrogant and kept on increasing prices.

Now you will see Mazda see a slow death in Malaysia. Never underestimate people power and social media

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
          • jay kong on Feb 15, 2017 at 8:17 pm

Their service charges is unrealistic ..just check their charges and you will faint. They want to charge prices like Audi , Merc or BMW .. buying Mazda is a rip off because the spare parts is just mind boggling on their prices. Their top management are being managed by clowns ..who knows nuts and spanners..I own a Mazda 6 and I know parts and services are cheap in the US and Europe.Here they slice you properly when you see your bills.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • Shamsul on Feb 15, 2017 at 4:32 pm

Syukurrr still reasonable.
        Mazda6 Singapura S$140k = RM440k….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 58
        • Bro, technical operator here earn RM 2000++, technical operator here earn SGD 2000++, compare apple to apple Singapore is cheaper, you are not earning RM to buy car at SG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 7
          • Jibril on Feb 15, 2017 at 5:27 pm

Nope…singapore is not cheaper. compare their housing prices to us, you’ll know that we have better buying power. Their HDB is way too expensive (take into consideration the unit size and location).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
          • Add COE and you are dead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
          • DonkeyKong on Feb 15, 2017 at 6:46 pm

Moron spotted.. clearly hasn’t been to Singapore or knows any Singaporean..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
          • Belum tambah 10X COE, bro. Cekik darah satu kluarga

• Prabanathan Muthusamy on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:08 am

170k? Camry > All

• Operation Manager on Feb 15, 2017 at 3:51 pm

That’s the reason why 2016 made Mazda still selling in 2017, and more worrying is 1.5 months passed 2017 still not able to clear 2016 stock. Its going to follow VW non-Luxury selling at Luxury price, Mazda will selling 2yrs old stock by 2018.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
      • A. Aziz on Feb 15, 2017 at 5:48 pm

Consumers perceive your brand as Premium when they pay more.

• Ahmadjr on Feb 15, 2017 at 7:35 pm

Mazda is taking high road to become entry level luxury segment same as subaru. Their prices usually lower than bmw, merc etc but expensive than toyota, honda etc. This segment is growing because younger generation perceive bmw and merc as old people cars and also too expensive for them. Young entrepreneurs and professionals will prefer mazda and subaru cause it’s rare, premium but still get 5 years warranty. That’s why mazda and subaru never give rebate to their old stocks to protect resale value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 30
    • Albert on Feb 15, 2017 at 5:50 pm

My only complaint about Mazda….the very short legroom.
      If Rudy Hartono were to be the driver,I think he needs surgery to shorten his legs.
      Mazda prices…VERY PREMIUM indeed.It overtook gang leader UMW in using SUPER DUPER PREMIUM PRICING to try to equate it to VALUE FOR MONEY.
      You say economy is bad,5000 Honda hardcore fans have booked the BRV.Hardcore Mazda fans will book this Mazda no matter rain or shine.
      I hope u wont buy a Mazda to make the MAA 2017 sales forecast look good.BUY if u can afford the 84 months ahead,……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Whatever on Feb 16, 2017 at 12:44 am

Buying VW is like playing with fire. U never know what u’re in for!

• vincy8925 on Feb 15, 2017 at 2:35 pm

For this price, I would rather go for the all new Passat. Triumps the 6 in all aspect hands down except probably not for the resale value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
    • hotdog on Feb 15, 2017 at 4:49 pm

Mazda6 menerajui rekabentuk elegan & aerodinamik, penjimatan bahan api dan kestabilan ketika dipandu pada kelajuan tinggi. Jauh lebih baik dari kereta mewah berjenama Eropah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 29
  • haihh Bermaz Bermaz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • clarkson on Feb 15, 2017 at 5:52 pm

LOLL 200K. Rather get pre-owned BMW 320i

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
      • Joe Jambu on Feb 15, 2017 at 7:00 pm

Yes and the BMW 320i has no reverse camera, smaller space, and not much features compared to this top Japanese car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 7
  • Faiz Roslan on Feb 15, 2017 at 2:44 pm

Thanks to proton creator, Malaysians have to pay RM70k more to own this beauty

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 31
  • NAJIB PROMISE on Feb 15, 2017 at 2:49 pm

Dun worry, Najib promised car price will down by 30%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • Woot Woot on Feb 15, 2017 at 3:05 pm

Serious money for D-segment Japanese sedan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • seancorr (Member) on Feb 15, 2017 at 3:37 pm

It does especially when you can get an accord under 150k which sounds about right.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • andrw on Feb 15, 2017 at 3:30 pm

walao ! = =”

• Mikey on Feb 15, 2017 at 3:37 pm

Congratulation Bermaz. U have set the ‘Standard’ for Japanese in charging over 200k for your top D-segment car.

Now all U need to do is for U to justify why Mazda 6 is the top dog in this segment by employing some writers & bashers to justify the price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • Sure or not on Feb 15, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Mazda 6 2015 Kat Judah rm90k je. Buy second hand only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • >200k for D-segment Japanese sedan…Good job Bermaz.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 15, 2017 at 4:03 pm

lol buy bmw seems more worth it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • People lost interest in Mazda because of Bermaz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • I wont say it is over priced but it is expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Ben Yap on Feb 15, 2017 at 5:02 pm

RM170K for a 2.0 is ridiculous…. i ain’t spending 170K on a Mazda that doesn’t carry better resale value than honda or toyota.

i would top up to get the base BMW 3 series.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Lagenda on Feb 16, 2017 at 8:16 pm

Meh if 170k up sikit 10k bole beli Camry Hybrid yg lagi berbaloi , high tech cuma design je la yg tak bopa lawa

• It’s expensive… but then, it’s a CBU

• 2.5cc for RM 207K? Do you think that this car worth for this value? Better buy BMW or Merce for this price range!

• Megane on Feb 15, 2017 at 11:21 pm

I will buy the Mazda 2.5 . Screw BMW haha . Brand snobbery is so yesterday .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Gaviny on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:13 am

Which BMW is within this range that has reverse camera and a four cylinders engine and is built overseas with proper quality control , still covered with 3 years warranty and service.

• Today standard is less than 2 liter engine, more than 160hp, 250nm at least for c and d segment.

• old horse on Feb 15, 2017 at 9:40 pm

german price in jap car! horray.

• Humm.. still no mazda radar cruise control..

• Gaviny on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:24 am

Lol , typical expected response of Malaysian buyers , preview overseas ‘ nice , cool, when arriving ‘. Once arrive just pure bashing

• Bernard on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:06 am

If less than 80k, maybe worth it…..

• andrw on Feb 16, 2017 at 4:25 pm

a recon lexus IS 250 is just about 200k… with low mileage, and true premium image+luxury. why pay so much for a mazda ? so cocky . and now those who pays 90k for the mazda2 so lansi bcoz they thought they bought luxury car, having some leather on dashboard then so arrogant..

• Embee on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:15 pm

Whatever said about Mazda especially MAZDA 6, one has to remember this is a proper premium product that has tonnes of safety features, I believe the Passat only has lane departure? Mazda 6 has the 3 major ones, blind spot, lane departure and autonomous breaking. No brands at this price range has it all excpet Ioniq but thats a Korean brand. Nothing beats the reliability of Japanese engineering more so when it is a CBU.

I own a 2010 CBU Mazda 3 Sport and I can vouch for it. I had no issues with the cars built quality/electrics or engineering. Its spot on and still a looker till today.

I booked the Mazda 6 2.5 but since my mum drives most of the time I had to forgo with a heavy heart as she had difficulties driving a long car. This car is amazing whether its parked or driven. Although I booked a 3 series my jaw still drops when I see a Mazda 6 on the road such is the superiority and road presence of a 6 and this metalic grey is a stunner!

• Now the japs is the 200K range ..