GALLERY: Mazda 6 2.2L SkyActiv-D diesel at Saujana

Mazda6_SkyactiveD_Ext-4

A while earlier today, importer and distributor of Mazda vehicles in Malaysia, Bermaz, introduced the Mazda 6 2.2L SkyActiv-D diesel sedan to the Malaysian market, making it the sole Japanese D-segment diesel entrant currently on sale today. Now we’re at the official launch event at the Saujana Hotel, giving you guys a closer look at the new oil-burning variant.

Fully-imported (CBU) from Japan, the SkyActiv-D variant goes for RM202,830 (OTR without insurance), which is RM8,183 more than its 2.5L petrol-powered sedan sibling. It comes with a three-year/100,000 km warranty and a three-year/60,000 km free service package.

The diesel power plant produces 173 hp at 4,500 rpm and 420 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm, which, while 12 hp short on the automaker’s 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine, gains 170 Nm of torque. The 14.0:1 compression ratio is shared with the SkyActiv-G engine, which is high for a petrol engine, and conversely low for a diesel.

Mazda6_SkyactiveD_Int-20

All that power and torque drives the front wheels through a six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission. Mazda’s i-Stop automatic start/stop system is included, but the i-ELOOP brake energy regeneration system, which is found on the 2.5L Mazda 6 models, isn’t to be found on the diesel-powered 6.

Local cars retain a diesel particulate filter to weed out soot and other diesel particulate matter from the exhaust, making it one of the few diesel models in Malaysia to do so. Berjaya Auto CEO Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh said that it was “advisable” to fill the car using Euro 5 diesel; cars using the high-sulphur Euro 2M may require shorter service intervals, while the use of B10 biodiesel could void the warranty entirely.

On the exterior, it is almost identical to the hitherto top-spec 2.5 litre petrol variant – featured here are 19-inch gunmetal alloy wheels, with the reshaped front bumper and slatted grille and chrome surrounds, while a ‘SkyActiv-D Technology’ badge tells the tale of the diesel engine.

Mazda6_SkyactiveD_Ext-22

Inside, the diesel variant’s cabin is near-identical to the 2.5 petrol as well. Mazda’s Active Driving Display (head-up display), automatic dual-zone climate control, leather upholstery, power front seats (eight-way with memory function for the driver, six-way for passenger) are all present here.

Entertainment is handled by the MZD Connect infotainment system, linked to a seven-inch colour touchscreen display and an 11-speaker Bose surround sound system. Aside from a wide range of inputs (Bluetooth, CD, MP3, USB, AUX), GPS navigation is also available.

The diesel-powered 6 gets the full suite of i-ActivSense safety features – Lane-Departure Warning (LDWS), Lane Keep Assist System (LKA), Rear Cross-Traffic Alert (RCTA), Smart City Brake Support (SCBS) and Blind Spot Monitoring (BSM). Also on are six airbags (front driver and passenger, front sides and curtains) and a tyre pressure monitor.

We’ve driven the Mazda 6 2.2L SkyActiv-D diesel in Malaysia – you can read our review here.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Operation Manager on Jul 20, 2016 at 11:09 pm

When facelift Mazda 3 going to launch…?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:50 am

Stupid pricing. Most people get 6% corporate discount when they buy BMW or Mercedes. Why should I buy this overpriced car for Rm203k when I just add a bit more I can get a brand new C200. After corporate discount, I can get the C200 for RM225k. The C180 even better. I can get RM200k.

BMW the same. Now can even get brand new F10 pre reg for so cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 8
      • medic on Jul 21, 2016 at 10:26 am

Merc C class is C-segment,this Mazda is D-segment.You’re comparing Apples to oranges…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:05 pm

In what world is the C class C segment? The A and CLA are C segment. The C class is one segment up, D segment. It is a bit small for that segment compared to non-premium competitors, but that’s the price you pay for premium (and the competitors just exploded in size, in order to be able to compete).

• Same L0rrrr on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:58 am

I will get my 5th Lexus this month thanks to good Hilux sales. You kimchi drivers work harder

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
    • Kunta Kinte on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:07 am

Europe already phasing out diesel engines cause they realise, past 20 yrs of promoting diesel engines were wrong. Its emissions are indeed bad and its fuel economy a bit dubious.

Even France now says its banning Diesel cars. And mind you, Peugeot, Citroen and Renault 90% produce diesel cars.

So, now, the Japanese have found a new dumping ground for their old stock diesel engines already manufactured.

Yes, that is Malaysia!!!!

Bermaz is so dumb. Already their Mazda 6 os overpriced compared to Nissan Teana or Honda Accord. Sales are so bad. How to compare? Nissan Teana OTR is RM123k. Honda Accord OTR 125k.

Now they become more stupid. They launch car at RM203k

I rather buy a Nissan Teana and have RM80k cash at hand!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 12
      • You are right on the pricing and Diesel engines. I guess Bermaz didnt look at the figures of Ford Mondeo, which priced near to 200k mark

• so what car are u driving?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
        • Kancil 660 3rd hand. Loan come from along kecil. Havent pay 3 months alredi cuz no-pay punishment for friendly fire bash own team. Now surviving on maggi once per day.

• no budget on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:57 am

is that mean ur max budget only rm120k for lowest specs kosong teana…then stop shaming urself for not afford rm200k car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
      • john is otak batu on Jul 21, 2016 at 5:29 pm

Brader,even truck in Sweden started running electric engine already! BTW MAA is still a laughing stok talking cars running on bio diesel engine. .. bunch of dinosaurs!

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:10 pm

Diesel engines can be clean, it is a matter of how much effort you put into them. Diesels aren’t good for every use case, the same applies to hybrid systems. One is good long distance, and terrible short distance (diesel engines hate short distance drives and won’t survive that long), the other loves short distances and is less useful on long distance journeys.

There is a bit of a witch hunt going on against diesels, thanks to the VW scandal. Going against diesels is good for PR, politicians enjoy it. It shows the voters that they are doing something…

I’m not saying diesel engines are perfect, but they have their place, and they aren’t nearly as bad as you’d think they are. I live in Germany, where many drive diesel engines. I can breathe in a traffic jam. In Malaysia, even though there are barely any diesel cars around, traffic jams are deadly.

• Sivai on Jul 21, 2016 at 12:13 am

508gt will be better…same price..but 204hp and 450nm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • Kenneth on Jul 21, 2016 at 12:20 am

Hello mick, I would like to know from the picture you take in the mazda 6 diesel, why there is no sport toggle switch beside the gear selector whereas the petrol mazda 6 has it?

• because 420nm is powerful enough

• Slowfast on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:03 am

Sport toggle is unnecessary coz too slow to make difference

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:51 am

Diesel Mazdas do not get a “Sport” toggle on the base of the gearlever; that’s reserved for petrol models only.

• I am not convinced that even 10 customers asked Mazda Malaysia to sell a diesel engined D segment sedan. Where did they get such phantom demand to offer this? Or just to please boss punya ego?

In fact, the actual demand is for them to offer a properly facelifted 2.0l Mazda 6 with the facelifted LED headlights, facelifted grille and facelifted bumpers, not just a facelifted interior. (I have to elaborate this because there are certain people who are not clear what a proper facelifted 2.0l should look like as available in other markets)

• People are more interested with diesel in small segment car like 2, 3 and cx-3. Bringing this kind offer are just defeating the purpose of benefits of having cheap eco saving car.. useless and make no sense to get turbo diesel altogether

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Diesels in small segment cars meant for town use is a bad idea. Reliability is a concern, as they prefer highway use. Also, diesel engines are great when you try to move along heavy vehicles. The bigger the car, the more sense does a diesel make.

Diesels are great on the highway. I drove roughly 190-200 on average with a 2.0 TDI in a Golf Mk 7, and did less than 10 liters per 100 km. If I were to do that with my 1.4 TSI… bankrupt already. Driven a bit more sensibly, you can easily get that below 5 liters per 100 km. Can you do that with a hybrid?

Oh and in terms of performance diesel engines are pretty nice too, especially compared to the NA petrol engines that tend to roam Malaysia.

• gaviny on Jul 21, 2016 at 8:36 am

For sales rep, this is the perfect car, at the first fill up it will already start paying the difference in price over the petrol model.

• Why no diesel AWD although it’s reported to be the pick of the range? I think because it’s only part time AWD and that adds complexity and weight which leads to added maintenance and cost. Plus the target customer probably won’t take it off road either but will certainly appreciate the added torque for everyday overtaking

• Ben Yap on Jul 21, 2016 at 9:35 am

car too expensive

• camtakpro on Jul 21, 2016 at 11:12 am

Wait until B10 become real, then these Skyactive diesel will soon be Skypassive.

• The pricing is definitely not going to attract customers, I’ll be surprise if they can reach 3 digit sales a year.