DRIVEN: Mazda 6 2.2L SkyActiv-D – what to expect from the upcoming Mazda diesel range in Malaysia

Mazda 6 SkyActiv-D 2.2 review 3

Hello and welcome to the 2013 Mazda 6. Before you pass this off as a severely-delayed review, hear me out. While it may appear to be an aged 6, a pre-facelift model at that, this Mazda has been assigned an important role, as you’ll soon find out once you look under the bonnet.

As some of you are aware, it has been highly suggested that Bermaz will be introducing a slew of diesel-powered vehicles in the country within the year. However, such a move isn’t done on impulse, which is why Bermaz has taken it upon itself to conduct some proper research and testing prior to introducing any diesel Mazdas in the country.

This Mazda 6 in particular, packs the company’s 2.2 litre SkyActiv-D inline four-cylinder turbodiesel engine. The mill provides 172 hp at 4,500 rpm and 420 Nm at 2,000 rpm, where the latter absolutely trounces the 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G petrol mill’s 250 Nm (though the petrol-powered 6 does have more horsepower at 185 hp). A six-speed SkyActiv-Drive automatic transmission handles power delivery to the front wheels.

The SkyActiv-D engine is an upgraded version of Mazda’s previous 2.2 litre MZR-CD mill, which was found on the second-gen Mazda 6 and Mazda 3, as well as the first-gen CX-7. The SkyActiv-D made its debut at the 2009 Tokyo Motor Show on the CX-5, and featured many enhancements for better efficiency and performance.

Mazda 6 SkyActiv-D 2.2 review 5

For starters, the engine manages to deliver that amount of twisting power thanks to a two-stage turbocharger, in which one small and one large turbo are selectively operated according to driving conditions. The smaller turbo helps boost low-end torque, while the larger one increases high-end horsepower.

Other technical improvements include a compression ratio of 14.0:1 (decreased from 16.3:1), thanks to the adoption of new multi-hole piezo fuel injectors and exhaust valves featuring variable valve lift. Mazda say a lower compression ratio reduces the amount of nitrogen oxides (NOx) and soot emitted by its engine, allowing it to meet strict Euro 6 emissions standards. According to Bermaz, the car here is still running with its diesel particulate filter (DPF), which functions to catch bits of soot in the exhaust.

This is the opposite of petrol engines, where a higher compression ratio will burn more cleanly. For a diesel engine, a lower compression ratio also means less internal stresses, allowing for lighter, lower-friction components to be used here (aluminium block, lightweight pistons and connecting rods). The SkyActiv-D is claimed to be 20% more fuel efficient than Mazda’s older 2.2 MZR-CD.

How does all this translate to on-road performance? Pretty refined for an oil burner, actually. Throttle response is good, giving the driver the ability to ease the torque in at their own pace. It’s all very predictable and linear, so you won’t be surprised by a sudden kick in acceleration here. In practice, it feels loosely like a petrol-powered 6, but with a huge injection of torque at your disposal.

Mazda 6 SkyActiv-D 2.2 review 22

And that generous serving of torque does get addictive. Put your foot down, and watch yourself propelled ahead of the car you are looking to overtake in a short amount of time. Peak torque (420 Nm) kicks in at a relatively low engine speed (2,000 rpm), so it’s almost always available without much delay. On hard acceleration, I did not notice a large puff of black smoke exiting the car’s tailpipe like on other diesel vehicles, although the distinct smell of a diesel engine’s exhaust fumes is noticeable.

On most occasions, the six-speed auto barely needs to downshift to ensure you pick up pace because there’s just so much low-end torque (more than a Mitsubishi Triton VGT) that you just waft along, unaware that the car tips the scales at 1,578 kg (kerb weight). This certainly felt better than the current petrol 6, even in 2.5 litre guise, where little torque low down, coupled with the lazy transmission makes the car feel a little lethargic by comparison. The facelifted petrol 6 does introduce a ‘Sport’ mode for the transmission to help hold the gears longer, but it isn’t something practical for daily use, as we found out with the CX-3.

Of course, the main appeal of diesel engines is their impressive fuel economy, which is a claimed 4.9 litres/100 km for this one. Having been through the Mazda SkyActiv Clean Diesel Challenge, I have little doubt that the diesel-powered 6 can achieve the feat if it spent most of its time on Malaysian highways. However, that’s not the case for most car owners.

After a few days with the diesel 6, where the majority of it was spent driving around the city, with a few trips to the airport and back, I managed an average fuel economy of 6.8 litres/100 km, even when using the torque sparingly. Even after doing nearly 380 km, I’ve only exhausted half of the car’s 62 litre fuel tank, with 332 km still in reserve (according to the trip computer).

Mazda 6 SkyActiv-D 2.2 review 25

Pretty impressive considering my own 2 hatchback does 7.0 litres/100 km (mainly city driving), and would have required a fuel up by that point. If you’re a frequent traveler on Malaysian highways, the 6 should keep the fuel bill in check, that is if you’re not too overzealous with the accelerator.

The car isn’t without its downsides. Diesel clatter is an unavoidable trait with oil burners, and while seated in the pre-facelifted cabin, it is audible while idling and setting off. However, it isn’t overly intrusive, and as you’ll be having some sort of music playing through the pre-MZD infotainment system and speakers, it shouldn’t be a huge turnoff.

Does the diesel engine’s weight affect the ride and handling of the car in any way? Truth be told, not really. The diesel 6 feels a lot like the petrol version in terms of ride, which is firm but neutral at low and high speeds. However, the car still transcends the ‘Zoom-Zoom’ philosophy here, feeling agile through the corners, while maintaining good stability when cruising at high speeds. If you do push the car hard, understeer does creep in a little sooner but just as progressively as in the petrol version.

How much for all this? Well, the car isn’t exactly for sale because it is an internal test unit which Bermaz brought in from Japan to see how a diesel Mazda will perform in the country. After 52,791 km, a majority of it done on Euro 2M grade diesel, the car still performs as advertised, with no issues reported. According to Bermaz staff, the only issue that the car has experienced so far is related to its i-Stop system, which has since been rectified. This, of course, had nothing to do with the engine and/or the fuel used.

Mazda 6 SkyActiv-D 2.2 review 35

This isn’t the only test car in the company’s fleet as there is also a Mazda 2 hatchback with a 1.5 litre SkyActiv-D diesel engine (105 PS at 4,000 rpm and 250 Nm from 1,500 to 2,500 rpm) that was imported from Japan (still wearing its Demio badge). Having tried one out in Thailand during the Mazda SkyActiv Clean Diesel Challenge, I can say that it is a pretty spritely thing.

While diesel remains a popular fuel in European countries, Malaysians have been pushed towards petrol passenger vehicles instead. When it comes to choices, you have the BMW 520d (320d looks set to be discontinued), Mercedes E300 BlueTEC Hybrid and GLE 250d, Peugeot 508 GT (and SW), Jaguar XF 2.2 Td and 3.0 Td, and the Jaguar XJ 3.0 Td. Beyond those options, you’ll have to look at the pick-up truck offerings like the Ranger, Triton, Hilux and NP300 Navara. Ford fans may recall the Focus TDCi in the past as well.

With higher-grade Euro 5 diesel now being more widely available in the country, it’s high time that we get more diesel offerings. However, should Bermaz offer diesel cars in the country, the CX-5 SUV would most likely be presented to us first. Currently, Inokom’s Kulim plant produces the diesel SUV for export to the Thailand market, which recently saw the 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G-equipped variant being dropped entirely.

If you’re looking forward to a diesel 6, sources say the car will arrive as a facelifted model from Japan (CBU), with features like the MZD infotainment system, Commander Control and heads-up display expected to be bundled, similar to what is offered in the current petrol 6 here. We can’t wait for that.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Everyone comes to Bolehland cuz no emission standard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
    • Kamal on Mar 09, 2016 at 7:12 pm

Even corrupt also no wrong one. Memang boleh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
      • Insincere Government on Mar 09, 2016 at 8:08 pm

Our Government prefer us to use Petrol because we can spend more money per month. If you use Diesel, say, you spend Rm1000 per month, with diesel, you will spend RM500 per month.

But for 20 years our Government encourage us to use Petrol and spend more money cause they want to earn more corporate tax from the oil companies selling petrol to the rakyat.

A decent Government would be one that will ensure the rakyat spend less on fuel per month so that the money we save can be used to give our children better food and clothes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
        • George Abdul on Mar 09, 2016 at 9:24 pm

You’re out of logic…RON 95 priced at RM1.60 per litre, RON 97 at RM1.95 per litre, diesel at RM1.35 per litre and Euro 5 diesel at RM1.45.
          Diesel are cheaper here !!! Wakeup Rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 28
          • james on Mar 10, 2016 at 7:47 am

Government wanna promote B10 dudes

• Waking up George Abdul on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:27 am

Dude, only since last mth you’re paying diesel for rm1.35 per litre right? Wake up George Abdul!!!! Where have you been for past 8years??? Mars???

• What About Malaysia? on Mar 10, 2016 at 10:07 am

Our dirty Government should make the lorries and busses to use Euro 5. They are the ones polluting the whole cities with fumes.

Very few consumers using diesel cars to cause environmental damage if cars use Euro 2. But there are hundreds of thousands of dirty lorries and busses emitting thick poisonous smoke.

Nobody dare to touch these busses or lorries. Mostly crony owned.

• Gaviny on Mar 09, 2016 at 6:47 pm

This is a gt cruiser, and with the diesel it does even better

• Sam Ori on Mar 09, 2016 at 7:38 pm

Doubt this 2.2 D could better Camry Hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 50
    • james on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:22 am

I’m kinda sure if you’re driving more highway. Is why I only use my Camry Hybrid to drive in town. Is only worth in the jam than long distance traveling.

• John Player Special on Mar 09, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Bermaz should put this engine in the CX-5 first. Not in a sedan. Where is their marketing sense and product planning?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Atilla on Mar 10, 2016 at 8:53 am

Maybe they put it in a sedan to subliminally market the message that their diesel engines are smooth enough for sedans.

• Spartikus on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:18 am

See this line from the article: However, should Bermaz offer diesel cars in the country, the CX-5 SUV would most likely be presented to us first. Currently, Inokom’s Kulim plant produces the diesel SUV for export to the Thailand market, which recently saw the 2.5 litre SkyActiv-G-equipped variant being dropped entirely.

• Power Rangers on Mar 10, 2016 at 10:53 am

Agree….cx3 and 5 should be the targeted , sedan driving preferred to be quiet as compared

• Deez Nutz on Mar 09, 2016 at 8:28 pm

Hope get Mazda diesel car in Malaysia quick.

• contender on Mar 09, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Yes just in time for B10 diesel launched in Malaysia …. diesel cars the way forward soon B15 and B20 diesal

• dodgeviper88 on Mar 09, 2016 at 8:57 pm

I’m worried how it will work with the introduction of B10 diesel

• Wkaka on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:45 am

Sold my 320d due to the imminent launch of B10, if the Mazda diesels actually can sustain prolonged use of the B10, I’d definitely buy one.

• nabill (Member) on Mar 09, 2016 at 11:32 pm

i wish i can try the diesel , i tried the 2.0 petrol few times and its actually pretty gutless…i dont know if its the long gearing or just the general lack of torque…i hate these big cars that come with NA 2.0 TBH…makes no sence…either downsize the damn thing with a turbo or plug a diesel in….other things to note is a stiff rear damping which makes it slightly bouncy,and its not what u call a refined car…tyre roar and outside noises are not very surpressed…bt the mazda 6 is a looker…makes others look boring ….it has a star showroom appeal….bt drive it few times,n somehow its not as great as journalist make it to be..nothing against the 6 bt just my opinion…the accord is a better overall package for me…hopefully this attempt by mazda encourages others to bring in diesels into more cars…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • fan fan on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:01 am

320d to be discontinued?. is this true?

• FIST (Member) on Mar 10, 2016 at 9:50 am

one thing that wasnt pointed out in the article was the difference under hard braking for the diesel and petrol models. Usually diesels are heavier in the front. it didnt mention how much weight difference between the two engines

• medic on Mar 10, 2016 at 10:00 am

How much is the road tax for diesal?

• kanazai2001 on Mar 10, 2016 at 11:41 am

tuRbo D = triple thumbs up!!!
    maz6 sedan… hmmm… prefer innova 2.4L tuRbo D ~ =P

• YeapyEvo on Mar 10, 2016 at 12:34 pm

Gov want to push B10 diesel to clear off the high palm oil stock piles, or else Felda and Sime GLC will suffer

• Cant wait for the mazda 2. Gonna get it if it come to malaysia

• Does it sound like a “Gemini” taxi when idle?