New 2.2L MZR-CD turbodiesel for Mazda 6

Mazda 6
Click to enlarge image

The second generation Mazda 6 was initially offered with 120hp 1.8 litre, 2.0 litre and 170hp 2.5 litre petrol engines as well as a 2.0 litre turbodiesel producing 140hp.

Mazda has now replaced the diesel engine with a new 2.2 litre MZR-CD turbodiesel engine with a variable geometry turbocharger to the line-up, which comes in 3 states of tune – 125 PS with 310Nm of torque, 163 PS with 360Nm of torque and the most powerful of the entire European line-up which is the 185 PS version with 400Nm of torque.

The fuel injection pressure has also increased from the 2.0 litre engine’s 180 MPa up to 200 MPa, an improvement of 11%. The injectors now feature 10 spray holes per injector instead of the 6-hole design of the old engine.

0 to 100km/h takes 10.9 seconds, 9.2 seconds and 8.5 seconds respectively for each state of tune. As a comparison, the old 140hp 2.0 litre diesel did it in 10. 7 seconds. Depending on which version we’re talking about, the new 2.2 litre MZR-CD can return between 51.4mpg to 49.6mpg, and emi between 147g/km to 152g/km of CO2.

2008 Mazda 6: details and specifications

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 10:47 am

Nice car!!

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 10:51 am

The century sprint seems lagging though. For a 2.2, plus VGT, it should have quicker acceleration. E.g. 8.5 seconds for 400Nm torque engine? Heavy car maybe?

• ragnahse (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 11:59 am

mazda 6 looks awesome in real..photos don;t do enough justice…n 20km+ per liter?..wow..tats way more economical tan my altis 1.8…n its 2.2 turbocharged!!

• dzat46 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 12:15 pm

If only we can get euro3-4 spec diesel….

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 12:41 pm

ragnahse said,
    November 11, 2008 @ 11:59 am

mazda 6 looks awesome in real..photos don;t do enough justice…n 20km+ per liter?..wow..tats way more economical tan my altis 1.8…n its 2.2 turbocharged!!
    ————————————–

no surprise there as its a diesel. diesels are even “out economying” hybrids, and have lower emissions as well.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 1:10 pm

ya but the problem is our gov still don’t want to upgrade it’s diesel quality leh. like wise what the use of sending in more good diesel car but run on low quality level diesel?

• autojohndoe (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 1:44 pm

mokkf82 said,

ya but the problem is our gov still don’t want to upgrade it’s diesel quality leh. like wise what the use of sending in more good diesel car but run on low quality level diesel?

why put the blame on gov? i am not defending them…
    but i think, it is fluid researcher to do it…

• najibest (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 1:51 pm

autojohndoe, just in case u haven’t realized, it’s the government’s duty to require the oil companies to produce high spec diesel….all the oil companies in malaysia (maybe with little investment to upgrade facilities) do have the capability to produce high quality diesel, it’s just that they’re not required to do so….so they just don’t!

anyway the whole low emission thingy actually started with governments imposing rules on the emission limit….just look at the USA and Europe…that’s why some of our cars cannot be exported to some countries, they just don’t pass the emission test…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 2:28 pm

najibest said,
    November 11, 2008 @ 1:51 pm

autojohndoe, just in case u haven’t realized, it’s the government’s duty to require the oil companies to produce high spec diesel….all the oil companies in malaysia (maybe with little investment to upgrade facilities) do have the capability to produce high quality diesel, it’s just that they’re not required to do so….so they just don’t!
    —————————–

i agree.. govt needs to set the standards fast in the industry.. but then again.. im not holding my breath.. our laws are so out of date as it is..

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 6:18 pm

nice car…. rim seems familiar ( Honda city)…..

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:35 pm

nice car only sayang low resale value in malaysia…

• charles27 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 11:07 pm

there are more good review from magazine lately about mazda6…
    but i still doubt it.. cause it claimed better than accord and camry :P

• DRC (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 10:38 am

Mazda 6 is definitely better than Malaysian spec Accord and Camry, it kalah only in terms of maintainence and resale value (these do not really matter if (1) we have a lot of money, OR, (2) the car is tahan lasak for 10 years). The resale value for all of them after 10 years are of no significant difference compared to their original price, because the buyers are all pretty well-off and a 10k to 20k difference is insignificant. Yeah this is my dream car. Hope to get it ASAP.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:10 pm

this is the best family car in malaysia, but in europe, i have so many better choices

• topgunthang (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 7:39 pm

looks good initially, but like the ford mondeo it looks cheap after a while. the lexus is250 ages better together with the new accord euro and the old accord euro.

people need to be aware that prices of diesel will keep on increasing steadily since the rest of the world is picking up on diesel.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 11:07 am

you do know how much more the lexus costs right?yes the price of diesel is increasing but it emits less pollution