DRIVEN: Mazda CX-3 – looking at different priorities

Mazda CX-3 2.0L review 2

Standing out from the crowd in the marketplace is truly a challenge of the tallest order. And it gets even tougher when the mass majority has accepted something as the norm, the no-brainer choice, the go-to product. This means you’ll need to convince the masses that your product can match or deliver something different from what competitors are currently offering.

This is especially true for the crossover market here in Malaysia. No second guesses as to who’s the king of that hill. The Honda HR-V has been dominating the sales charts since it made its debut way back in February 2015. Since that time, it has fended itself from various forms of competition that have been looking to draw buyers away from its practical allure.

Here’s another, and it has been touted as the main rival to the HR-V. Based on the comments posted on our site, we know that there are many who have been eagerly awaiting its arrival here. This is it then, the Mazda CX-3, which comes all the way from Mazda’s Hiroshima plant (CBU Japan), and which made its launch debut here back in December 2015.

Currently, the sole 2.0L variant offered to Malaysians retails for RM131,218 (on-the-road without insurance), a whooping RM13,285 more than the RM117,933 (OTR without insurance) HR-V 1.8L V, though there are murmurs that the model could be locally-assembled (CKD) in the future, just like the HR-V, which should make its price more competitive.

So, it’s late to the party (from overseas), and comes with a price tag that exceeds its closest rival. Certainly doesn’t sound like a promising start, does it? Even so, does the Mazda CX-3 bring something to the table to make it a stand out from the crowd?

Mazda CX-3 2.0L review 4

If you’re talking looks, then yes. Certainly not one to shy away from the camera, or a pair of eyeballs, the CX-3 is quite the looker, especially in this Soul Red Metallic paintjob. If Mazda’s trademark colour isn’t to your liking, you get to choose from four other colours as well – Crystal White Pearl, Jet Black, Meteor Grey and Deep Crystal Blue. As is the case with current Mazda models, Kodo is word of the day when it comes to the CX-3’s design.

At the front, the wide five-point grille receives a chrome frame surround, which extends to the pair of signature headlights. The headlights themselves are slimmer than those found on the 2, and are of the LED variety, as opposed to the halogen reflectors of the 2. They come with an automatic on/off function, adaptive front lighting system that “lights up” a corner while you take it, auto-levelling and LED daytime running lights. Just below the main headlights, you’ll find the LED fog lamp and signal indicators, and below that, a lower matte black trim piece that extends down the sides of the car.

The Kodo influence on the CX-3 is also seen on the strong defining body line that traces its way from the front of the hood to above the wheel arches, over the side mirrors (with indicators), and down the sides of the car. This sporty and active outlook is further accompanied by matte black wheel arch trim pieces originating at the front , surrounding the large 18-inch five twin-spoke alloy wheels (fitted with 215/50R18 Toyo Proxes R40 tyres). They are joined by a matte black trim piece with silver accents located near the door sills to the link the front and rear.

That’s not all. When viewed from the side, you’ll spot the CX-3’s “floating roof” design, with a blacked out C-pillar to create the illusion, a nice touch. You’ll also spot comparatively smaller side windows that lend a low-profile look to the crossover. In terms of dimensions, the car measures 4,275 mm long, 1,765 mm wide, 1,535 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,570 mm. By comparison, the HR-V measures 4,294 mm long, 1,772 mm wide, 1,605 mm tall, with a wheelbase of 2,610 mm. That makes the CX-3 a much smaller car when compared.

Moving on to the shapely rear, more LEDs are located within the tail lights, themselves slimmer than those on the 2. The small rear hatch hosts a release button for easy access to the boot, and the reverse camera. The earlier mentioned matte black plastic trim piece tnow comes full circle here, containing the rear fog lamp/reflector and two chromed exhaust tips.

The CX-3 certainly is quite striking, and to my eyes, looks better when compared to the HR-V . It also features enough visual distinctions on the outside to not be called a jumped up Mazda 2. The interior though, speaks a different tone. Step inside, and you’ll think you’ve just entered a 2. This is unlike the HR-V, which gets a more bespoke interioreven with its origins traced to the Honda Jazz hatchback.

The layout in the CX-3 is nigh identical to the 2, from the position of the buttons to the air-con vents, steering wheel, instrument cluster, heads-up display, faux carbon-fibre bits and even the seats. At this point, you may feel a little short changed given the amount you have paid. However, that realisation will come to pass once you start looking a little deeper, and you’ll soon get a grasp of where the premium you’ve paid has gone into.

Mazda CX-3 2.0L review 65

In the driver’s seat, you’ll realise that your body is coming into contact with leather-suede combo upholstery instead of the leather-fabric ones from the 2. The same is said for the other passengers (front, rear) in the car as well. Additionally, small applications of suede are found on the doors as well, along with a gunmetal trim piece near the door handle, akin to that on the Mazda 6.

Next, the steering wheel (with paddle shifters) has gained a few additional buttons to control the car’s cruise control function. Other functions gained here are automatic wipers and lights. Meanwhile, the seven-inch coloured MZD Connect touchscreen infotainment unit is unchanged from the 2, along with the same single-zone, three-dial automatic air-con system.

Tracing your way down the centre console, which houses the Commander Dial linked to the MZD system, you’ll spot knee bolsters that are made of soft-touch materials wrapped with red leather instead of black ones found in the 2, The same trim piece can be found on the door handles, along with gunmetal door handles from the larger facelifted Mazda 6.

Look above and you’ll find a place to stow your sunglasses, and if you’d like to invite some sunlight in, the controls for the sunroof too. The sunroof comes with a one-touch open function, but not the other way round, strangely. It is also something that can’t be found on the Honda HR-V, unless you buy one in Thailand.

Under the hood, you’ll find a 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine that outputs 154 hp at 6,000 rpm and 204 Nm of torque at 2,800 rpm. Direct injection and Mazda’s i-Stop engine idling stop system are all present here to encourage efficiency. By comparison, the HR-V’s smaller capacity 1.8 litre SOHC i-VTEC engine, churns out 142 hp and 172 Nm.

The SkyActiv-G engine is mated to a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic gearbox, sending drive exclusively to the front wheels. Through the drive selector located near the gear selector, the gearbox can engage its Sports mode that holds the gear for a longer period. Alternatively, you can assume control with the manual mode, cycling between gear using the selector or paddle shifters.

On the safety side of things, the CX-3’s suite doesn’t leave you wanting, and is pretty comprehensive. Here, you get DSC electronic stability control, traction control and ABS with EBD and BA all standard. The crossover also gets the same number of airbags as the 1.8L HR-V V, six (dual frontal, side and curtain), along with hill launch assist and emergency stop signal are also part of the package. No i-ActivSense suite (Smart City Brake System, Rear View Monitoring, Lane Departure Warning etc.) here, as it may have pushed the price point even higher.

Now that you’ve gotten up to speed with the specifications of the Mazda CX-3, it’s now time to answer a few questions. Number one, what’s it like to drive? Number two, what’s it like to live with? And the most important question of all, how does it compare to its rivals, chief among which is the Honda HR-V?

Well, Mazda has been hard at work promoting its new campaign, “Be a Driver.” Naturally, the CX-3’s main purpose is to cater to the driver and provide him or her with a good time behind the wheel. This driver-focused approach is very apparent when you sit in the car, with most of the controls placed close by and within easy reach. While this bodes well to lend a “cockpit” feel, it certainly feels like a snug fit.

However, there is a lot more headroom here when compared to the 2 (trust me, I own one), so it does feel a little bit roomier from a vertical standpoint. This is due to the increased height of 1,535 mm against the 2’s 1,495 mm (sedan)/1,470 mm (hatchback). As for human cargo, there is adequate headroom at the back for regular-sized adults, although some might be left wanting for legroom, should you have a long-legged driver and passenger up front.

The packaging of the CX-3’s interior also doesn’t allow for many everyday items like your SmartTag, access card and keys to be stored in one centralised area due to the limited stowage space because there simply isn’t a large central stowage space that you can just chuck items in, unlike that big hole in the HR-V’s centre console.

As a result, you may need to cleverly organise your items in whatever stowage area is available that makes it easy to reach for them if required. One such spot can be found just ahead of the gear shifter. However, should you plug in a USB stick for your songs while using the 12 V/120 W power point to charge up your phone, that space is diminished. Alternatively, you could reassign the cupholders in the centre console for storage duties, with your bottled drinks now being placed at holders located at the door instead. There is also a small slot just beyond the cupholders, although it is quite a reach to get items from there.

At the back, the CX-3’s boot space is rated at 350 litres, which is significantly less than the 437 litres on the HR-V. However, that figure jumps to 1,260 litres when the 60:40 rear split-folding seats are folded flat, exceeding the HR-V’s 1,032 litres. Although it boasts a larger volume, even with its smaller dimensions, the CX-3 still loses out the practicality contest against the HR-V thanks to its rival’s Magic Seats and various configurations.

Where the Magic Seats can be folded down or up easily, the CX-3’s seats will only fold down, so if you’re thinking of transporting potted plants in it, make sure they’re short ones. On the plus side, the boot lip is positioned nicely to allow for bulky items to enter and exit the car without excessive straining required. Also, the boot is lined with nifty coil mats that are easy to keep clean, a nice touch.

So, practicality isn’t the CX-3’s strongest suit. However, it makes up for it with impressive driving dynamics. Although the 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G engine is nearly as powerful as the one found in the larger CX-5, it propels less heft, with a kerb weight of just 1,211 kg. Off the line starts may be a little sluggish but once it get going though, the crossover is certainly pretty brisk. Power delivery is smooth and the engine does deliver a pretty exciting exhaust note as well if you really floor it.

The SkyActiv-Drive six-speed ‘box responds works well when left to its own devices for the daily city run, though it is a little sluggish in the lower gears, with more favour being placed in the higher, fuel-saving ratios. To overcome this, you can engage the car’s Sport mode, which makes the transmission hold onto a gear longer, and shifting down quicker at the slightest provocation of the accelerator pedal. However, it is certainly not something you’d use on the daily drive, as it is quite aggressive.

Mazda CX-3 2.0L review 29

Paddle shifters are also at your disposal, allowing for temporary override of gear selection in auto mode, or total override in manual mode. The car however, will step in if it feels that your control of the transmission isn’t in sync with you the vehicle’s speed. If for instance you’re cruising in sixth gear and suddenly decide to depress the accelerator completely, the car will downshift a few gears on its own without requiring your input. It does the same as you’re approaching a stop and forget to downshift.

Through the corners, the MacPherson struts (front) and torsion beam (rear) suspension setup on the CX-3 is very competent to keep the crossover planted through the bends. Turn-ins are sharp with minimal body roll, and even though the steering is electrically assisted, it isn’t devoid of feel. As you hit the raggedy edge though, the car does exhibit some mild understeer. However, I doubt you’d want to hit the limit all the time, nor do I think it is a necessity for a good time behind the wheel.

Simply put, you don’t have to go absurdly fast to enjoy the car. I suppose this is what Mazda’s “Be a driver” campaign is all about. In essence, it allows anyone to jump into a Mazda, and drive up to the best of their abilities, with the car ensuring that they have a good time and a smile on their face, regardless if they’re taking a corner at 60 km/h or more. It certainly is something that needs to be tried to be believed in all Mazda cars.

However, not everyone is going to go on a drive along Malaysia’s B-roads daily. More confined to city driving duties, the car has pretty good visibility, in spite of the small windows. Blind spots are easily within sight, and the side mirrors are certainly much larger than that on the 2 as well. As it the case with other cars, the CX-3 also needs to cope with the daily occurrences on Malaysian roads, where hitting a bumpy patch of road is nearly as common as traffic.

Mazda CX-3 2.0L review 69

While the suspension might be geared towards supplying driving fun, it does tend to feel a tad firm as a result. It isn’t bone-breaking uncomfortable though, as the CX-3 does stay pretty compliant to dampen effects of road irregularities, maybe slightly better than the HR-V, which shares the same suspension setup. I do get the feeling that maybe, with slightly smaller alloy wheels and thicker rubbers, it will help soften the ride further, although when they look that good…I think I can compromise.

On a day-to-day basis, the CX-3 does come equipped with some nice features that makes driving more convenient. The LED headlights provide excellent illumination and helps to light up a corner as you turn in, and there is a automatic function for the lights and wipers as well. The heads-up display fitted means you don’t have to peer down at the instrument cluster to see you current speed. Its functionality is also linked to the cruise control function, and if you have the RM1,270 option navigation SD card installed, will display turn-by-turn instructions as well.

There are some features that I would have liked to have seen on the CX-3. Unlike the HR-V, there isn’t an automatic brake hold function in the CX-3, so you’re going to have to do the “put in N, pull handbrake” routine at long stops at the traffic lights. Also, an auto-dimming rearview mirror would be helpful for night-time driving, especially when you have a car behind you that’s been illegally fitted with lights that are as bright as the sun itself.

For those concerned about how thirsty the CX-3 is, throughout my time with the car, I managed an average combined (city and highway) fuel economy rating of about seven litres per 100 km, according to the trip computer at the time. However, frequent highway travellers can find that number being reduced by a significant amount, if you’re careful with your accelerator.

Mazda CX-3 2.0L review 81

In summary, the Mazda CX-3 is a great crossover. It certainly pushes nearly all the right buttons – it’s a spritely and eager city car, with striking good looks and an interior that looks reserved for cars further up the price range, a capable powertrain and driving dynamics that embodies the “Be a driver” philosophy. However, its questionable practicality and a price tag that is beyond that of its rivals may put off buyers in the market for a crossover.

However, Mazda buyers have never been one to be put off by Bermaz’s pricing game (just look at the number of Mazda 2s on the roads now). Nor are they put off by the “lack of space”, according to some. For them, they value the other things (driving experience, looks, materials) beyond just practicality. And if that comes at a premium, so be it.

Then again, what about those who aren’t returning Mazda buyers, namely the newcomers? Well, it depends on your priorities. I will not say outright that the CX-3 is better than the HR-V or vice versa. Both crossovers have their strong points and each has a comprehensive kit list of their own, along with their fair share of shortcomings.

Personally, if you’re looking for an engaging drive with arresting looks (inside and out) that puts a smile on your face, the CX-3 is no doubt the car to pick. But if you want an affordable, practical, handsome-looking family hauler that gets you from A to B, the HR-V is the one to have.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• old dog on Jan 22, 2016 at 9:08 pm

NO with lousy equipment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 54
    • Whatever floats your boat on Jan 23, 2016 at 7:49 am

Which equipment is lousy? If the HRV doesn’t have something the CX3 has then does that mean the Honda has lousy equipment too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 23, 2016 at 10:15 pm

work hard you kimchi driver to get a Lexus NX and RX. I will get my 5th Lexus soon

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 42
        • lexusbiscuit on Jan 24, 2016 at 2:57 am

Which flavour is your fav?

• Over price piece of milo tin on Jan 24, 2016 at 12:47 pm

So expensive? Anything that is so great that make it sell at rm130k?

• Patriodic on Jan 24, 2016 at 11:36 pm

Perodua Kembara triumphs over this midget

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Hrvbest on Jan 23, 2016 at 8:23 am

Not practical. Sprinting for what, at the end of day still stuck in jam. In a crampy SUV!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 22
      • sepul on Jan 23, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Your lamenting is already answered in the above article, by the last paragraph. Why bother saying it again?

• Simi Loo on Jan 24, 2016 at 11:31 pm

Life is too short for u to own lousy crossovers.
        Merc GLA45 AMG is the one to die for!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • Merah on Jan 22, 2016 at 10:04 pm

130K! @@. Beli Lexus CT200 lg baek laa

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 51
  • Great little crossover…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 8
  • Carefree on Jan 22, 2016 at 11:36 pm

To be fair, no B-seg crossovers (or even some C-seg) in the market now can challenge the HR-V for interior packaging and practicality. But the Honda is starting to look ordinary now with so many already on the roads.

The CX-3 will appeal to the more enthusiastic drivers looking for a stylish ride with the performance to back up the looks and ocassionally want to let out the hooligan in them when a chance present itself. I believe the price isn’t a big issue considering it’s CBU from Japan and is loaded with kits (too bad about the omission of i-ActivSense though). Let’s not kid ourselves, there is still a difference in build quality between CBU and CKD Mazdas at the moment.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • Jimmy on Jan 23, 2016 at 10:54 pm

Brandnew CBU Japan is not necessarily better than brandnew CKD/SKD Malaysia.

CX-5 is still better, at a similar price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 19
      • Are you stupid? on Jan 25, 2016 at 1:29 pm

Are you stupid? What kind of comparison is that?

• not necessarily, yeah it could be and could not. But in Mazda Malaysia’s case, it is…sadly. The CBU built quality in the CX-5 is better.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 23, 2016 at 12:10 am

Looks good but won’t sell well with that kind of pricing and I’m not sure where the writer of this article lives but where I live and commute in Puchong, Subang and PJ I find it hard to find one Mazda 2 on the road as if it’s an endangered species.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 15
  • freddie on Jan 23, 2016 at 12:37 am

nah better buy A250 Sport looks better and mercedes just have better car…can fit 5people too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
    • Jimmy on Jan 23, 2016 at 11:01 pm

Or top up 30K to get a 1-series, or A200. Different level.

After all, the ground clearance is not much higher (similar to saloon car) and there is no 4WD. The Nm power is smaller that the turboed ones.

• But does the cx3 hold the gears untill at least 2k rpm before it changes like in the 2? I find the late changes in the 2 a little annoying because sometimes you have to press the accelerator a little bit more to rev it above 2k rpm so that it changes gears. Usually i change gears manually but it sucks to do it everytime..

• Gaviny on Jan 23, 2016 at 6:17 am

It’s not mainstream , say you have have a hrv ‘oh got kids ah can fit the pram ‘ say you drive this ‘ nice man the chocks sure love it ‘. Chicks that get excited over the hrv are also looking forward to having childre. Guys that get excited over the hrv is because the wife wants one

• eMKay on Jan 23, 2016 at 8:14 am

Maybe its good to have Paultan “Driven” series on Crossover vehicle + SUV comparing 1.Mazda CX3 against 2. Honda HRV, 3. Renault Captur 4. Peugeot 2008 5. Subaru XV and 6. Mitsu ASX…..why not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Jürg Hölzle on Jan 23, 2016 at 9:19 am

I am living in Thailand and have driven my CX-3 now for about 2 months and 3,000 kilometres. I have change from the new Mazda 3 to the CX-3 because it is more practical – even with less interior volume. The higher driving position is more comfortable and my son also like the better view in his children seat. The booth space is limited, but enough for most trips. We also have a CX-5 for larger trips.

The fuel consumption (with Gasohol 95) can be excellent. But it depends on traffic and driving style. My best result were 4.3 l/00 km on a 10 kilometre trip from my home to the town. There was not so much traffic and I could reach a smooth drive at around 80 km/h. But normally I can reach values under 6 l/100 km. My total average is 6.5 l/100 km because I have a lot of short trips (less than 4 kilometres).

When using the Sport mode, you got a lot of fun – and a fuel consumption around 8.5 l/100 km.

When people asking me about choosing the HR-V or the CX-3, I generally answer, that the HR-V is the more practical car for a family and when it is you only car. The CX-3 is definitely more fun and suitable for singles and couples without children.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 2
    • When the car price is extremely expensive expensive, a practical car is needed. I dont know how much you earn per month. I am fresh graduate with starting pay of RM2000. I cant even survive. I guess i can only afford to get a saga after 4 years. Cx3 is just a lousy non practical car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • john is otak batu on Jan 25, 2016 at 5:03 pm

Pls get a job in Singapore/Brunei, & get monthly SGD/BRD $2000… don’t complain your M’sia peanut pay. BTW, pls sack that stupid boss of yours & get a new life. If can, let others know the company name so that others will caution

• Enter the Sadman on Jan 25, 2016 at 8:31 pm

So is a Lamborghini…what’s your point? If you need an affordable car there is always p1 and p2. Calling the CX-3 lousy because you can’t afford it is hilariously SAD.

• Megane on Aug 05, 2016 at 9:43 pm

Haiya salary 2k only talking cock here at Mazda Cx3 posting . Syuhhhhh go away . Please look at 2nd hand Myvi lol

• Megane on Aug 05, 2016 at 9:51 pm

This is the best looking compact SUV . Period . Buy what u wanna see everyday not what other people think for you . Want space ? Go to outer space …plenty of space there lol

• Mazda on Jan 23, 2016 at 9:20 am

Vote with your money not your comments

• At the end of the day, a Subaru XV is much better value and better to drive than both the HR-V and CX-3

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 23
    • Jimmy on Jan 23, 2016 at 11:10 pm

Airbags 3 biji.
      If you say the much better value one is ASX 4WD then I shall keep quite. If you don’t care about safety (6 airbags), then you should go and test drive X-trail which is much larger and should be more comfortable, typical of Nissan, and you can get at a price very near to this tiny little CX-3.

• Japs cars are boring, have to push pedal more than any CFE cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Looking beyond the airbag count,the well-specced XV is cheaper to buy than both, just look at the ads on mudah.my now. The AWD is one of the better features contributing to it’s fantastic handling with quite OK FC reading and the Subarus generally have superb body strength.

• Enter the Sadman on Jan 25, 2016 at 8:33 pm

But it’s freaking ugly tho. No thanks.

• For people for whom spending an extra 10k or so is no object and are looking for a premium-looking crossover the 3 is good enough. And I believe there are enough people like this here. So it’s good news for Mazda Malaysia.

• sudonano (Member) on Jan 23, 2016 at 10:12 am

I think you pretty much summed up the appeal for the CX3 in the last paragraph.

You see, Mazdas have historically been known to not have the largest interiors. And yet they sell well, mainly because they’ve always looked like nothing else out there (for better – now, and for worse). Having said that, when Mazda eventually starts building this locally, the HRV is gonna get a pretty good fight. You’d probably not see the Mazda3 buyer considering this, unlike the Civic buyer considering the HRV since the HRV is just as spacious, however the CX3 at slightly more than a 100k would be a great alternative to those who want a fun little hatchback. Kinda like the Ford Fiesta/Peugeot 208/Volkswagen Polo buyer who’d not mind paying a bit more.

• impatient on Jan 23, 2016 at 10:30 am

Am I the only one who thinks this 3000 words essay (2982 to be exact) is a little too lengthy? Eye-catching car but I must say it’s not well spec’ed at this price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Jimmy on Jan 23, 2016 at 11:15 pm

Tepuk tangan-tangan, if it is really 2982, and you are very free and bored this Saturday ya?

• John X on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:55 pm

It’s a very dumb comment you’ve made. For the folks deciding between an HRV and a CX3, this could help them. It’s also very informative and gives the mind’s eye on how it is to live day to day. You could have just skipped over it, and not wasted your time commenting on how long it is. No, you’re probably not the only one that has found it too long, but you’re the only one wasting further time commenting on this.
      Just skip the the whole article next time and move on if you find yourself incapable of reading it.

• Yes, CX-3 is a good car provided they CKD it and price it much cheaper than the 130k price tag

• Sam Loo on Jan 23, 2016 at 12:43 pm

Get a new Tucson instead.

Need to prime the 12 month old kimhci SUV supply

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • Jimmy on Jan 23, 2016 at 11:19 pm

It is likely that you previously suffered something bad from Korean vehicle; it is unlikely to be just a Toyota saleman.

Tengok buka sikit (thai hoi tik).

• samelordupe on Jan 24, 2016 at 3:11 am

He once owned a kimchi and given hailat during resale session

• paulnut on Jan 24, 2016 at 2:03 pm

Your son saga can get better RV pakcik Sam

• friendly neighborhood nigger on Jan 23, 2016 at 1:15 pm

dayyymmm nigger, this suv is the dope

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • i’m not sure why the writer has to constantly compare the CX-3 to the mazda 2? its a different class, at a very different price range. if he had used a score card system versus the HR-V, the cx-3 would crumble after the initial looks of the pretty kodo design.

its less spacious, less practical, much more expensive than its rival the HR-V, at this rice range, the buyers could look at the Nissan x-trail 2.0 as an alternative for the better heeled customers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
    • ColaBear on Jan 23, 2016 at 5:46 pm

Oh yes…my xtrail will come next week after test drive both last month…comparing the price n practically. Xtrail is my choice.

• Jimmy on Jan 23, 2016 at 11:21 pm

Different class (X-trail higher class, better) but saidly, it has airbags dua biji sahaja.

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 24, 2016 at 1:49 pm

This is because both CX3 and the Mazda2 share the same underpinning, both of them are build on the same chassis, just like Honda HRV is build on top of the Jazz chassis, hence they are call “Crossover” (a size up, taller B segment car) instead of a full feldge SUV. And since both CX3 and the 2 have the same skeleton, they should demonstrate some similarities in driving dynamics and egornomics ultility, which in this case, the CX3 is very much evidently based on the 2.

• Proton achieving 13% TIV in 2016 on Jan 24, 2016 at 1:53 pm

And one more thing, this CX3 is aimming squarely to buyers who value dynamics, handling and fun above all else. For general buyers who seek for practicality and space, there are many choices around the market. An X-Trail will never give the same kind of involvement and driving thrill compare to the CX-3.

• p2macai on Jan 25, 2016 at 9:35 am

No need to bermatian defend junk. Whatever you badmouth other makes that won’t make this junk better. Junks are always junks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jan 23, 2016 at 2:05 pm

I like the car. It looks great (one of the best looking cars on the road here)and drives well to. I think it will be adequate for those who are single and those with small family (young kids). But with older kids (older than 12 years old), maybe it won’t be so practical.

While it true that its quite expensive, it does appear to have some pretty good kit, like the SkyActiv suite which helps to improve fuel economy, sunroof (nice to open at night or during early morning drives to work) which gives impression of a larger interior volume, the 18 inch rims, LED lights (pretty rare in the sub-compact segment), and the BMW inspired rotary controller. And of course, it is CBU. Had it been CKD’ed, it will be a lot closer to the HRV’s price.

• ColaBear on Jan 23, 2016 at 5:49 pm

You probably should test drive and feel it. If your tall is 170cm and above, you won’t choose this. I can say, is a gal-car…

• RicoT on Jan 24, 2016 at 3:23 am

Correction:
        “If your tall is 190cm and above, you won’t choose this.”

I am 175cm tall and I can drive a Mazda 2 just as comfortable as any other cars in its class. Mind you, for drivers with longer legs, the front seats can be pushed further back than a City, just sacrificing the comfort for rear seat passengers (or don’t carry rear passengers at all). Just think about it as like driving a coupe.

• Look at the HR-Vs, Mitsubishi ASXs, Subaru XVs, Ford Eco-Sports on the road. 80% of the time I see ladies driving it. It has come to be expected that the B-segment SUVs are dominated by lady drivers due to size and looks of the vehicles which give them confidence. I expect the CX-3 to be a hit with the richer ladies too.

• hukaka on Jan 23, 2016 at 6:59 pm

first the looks are nice,
    but for me the space it’s too small.
    it’s like a Mazda 2.

• car lover on Jan 23, 2016 at 10:11 pm

Hello, i’m 176 cm tall n i just got this cx3. Not too bad sitting inside with sufficient room at the back. The most important thing is Nice to drive compare to hrv. Yes is a bit small inside but the build quality is good. I tested hrv before booking this. U know what, the build quality of hrv is low standard. Look at the back, the door gap is one side big n one side small. Is this so call good build? Some more is a test drive car!!! Also the gearbox a bit slow n boring. Agreed if u have big family, this not suitable n u need a cx5. So far i’m very happy to own this cx3.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
  • Come On on Jan 24, 2016 at 6:40 am

Looking at this price with lower international safety features NCAP rating 4 stars only…. Bermaz should look at themselves again as HR-V has 5 Stars in both Europe and International. Period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • Fair_Driver on Jan 24, 2016 at 11:55 am

I took delivery of my new “All New” Tucson yesterday, the car is pretty good, quiet cabin, very good suspension, and it comes with a 3 years free service too.I think kinda value for money, I don’t care much on the RV, as if RM drop to USD 1-RM 5, forget all the RV stories.Sam Lor can stop crying..Well I compared and test drove other competitors like CR-V and CX-5 too, and chose this car.

• vencel on Jan 26, 2016 at 4:22 pm

That a good choice. New Tucson probably can be better than CX5 just by a little bit. That also mean CX5 not bad SUV either.

• nighttrain on Jan 24, 2016 at 11:56 am

There’s a all wheel drive version that’s not sold here? That version could make this crossover into an SUV..

• Sam Loo on Jan 24, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Consider a used Tucson, great value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • applegreen on Jan 24, 2016 at 7:26 pm

CKD – smaller rims, no moonroof, less airbags, halogen headlights = rm118 OTR

• Elchino on Jan 25, 2016 at 11:49 am

I went to see the CX3 yesterday and was surprised that the interior especially the second row leg room is even smaller than a MYVI!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • buyp2pls on Jan 25, 2016 at 4:35 pm

Myvi is love, myvi is life. Myvi for the win.

• vencel on Jan 26, 2016 at 4:34 pm

Even Mazda 2 got smaller interior than Myvi. If you looking for space, look somewhere else. Interior space is not Mazda forte and it not even in their philosophy of car design. “Be a driver” not “Be a passenger”.

but if the question is turn around.. does Myvi drive, quality build and equipment is good as Mazda? by large margin. NO.

• Kanazai2001 on Jan 25, 2016 at 6:29 pm

Perodua, pls bring back Nautica, CKD!

• Ollie on Jan 26, 2016 at 10:54 am

2 sen comment: I think the premium is justified; amortised over a loan period it would be less than RM100 extra monthly over a HRV.

Wait for the new Kia Sportage though; its a poor man’s Macan; and that is not an insult!

• Ong Chee Boon on Jan 26, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Reading some of the comments (both positive and negative), I gotta say:

1) This CX-3 is not meant to directly contest with HRV.

2) Boot space is small of course, if you want big space, HRV.

3) This CX-3 is meant for those who enjoy daily cruising plus driving excitement. Skyactive plus tiptronic transmission (better torque and HP than Honda HRV), this is something HRV can never offer. I for one, will choose CX-3 instead of HRV for its tiptronic function.

4) One thing obvious is about build quality, inside out. Honda has a lot to catch up in terms of CKD quality. Interior wise CX-3 wins hands down. While i do not know about CX-3 build quality yet, but there are already some reviews regarding the build quality of Honda City and Honda HRV (gaps, inconsistent build quality)

This car serves a different segment, who values build quality and driving enjoyment. Practical or not, it depends on personal needs. Some view spacious is practical, but reliability and build quality can be alternatively considered as well.

BUT, it is quite pricey for a B segment SUV. This alone can deter many Malaysian customers, as Malaysia is currently having a bad time now, both economically and politically.

• vencel on Jan 26, 2016 at 4:27 pm

i do think Mazda real bullet is on CKD version. This just an introduction. Just like they did with Mazda 3.

• altimi on Jan 26, 2016 at 3:33 pm

204 NM @ 2800 RPM?
    You sure about that?

• Chong on Jan 27, 2016 at 6:29 pm

Goodness sake, bring in the dam diesel engine version. This alone is enough to beat all of the competitors out there. You don’t even need to write such a long article cause in the end it doesn’t even make any difference. People will still go for HRV when it comes to price tag.

• This is CBU unit. But i spotted it is actually a stripped down unit as well, few areas that you guys doesn’t aware it.

• David Chai on Mar 26, 2016 at 12:34 am

I wonder if Paul Tan gathered the engine specs only from Mazda Malaysia because it seems incorrect. 154hp? Seriously? The CX3 produces only 146hp worldwide.
    The CX-3 uses the same Skyactiv 2.0-liter four-cylinder engine found in many other Mazdas. In the CX-3 though, output has been reduced to 146 HP and 146 lb-ft of torque. The reason for the power decrease is due to the CX-3 not being able to fit the 2.0-liter engine’s regular exhaust manifold. A smaller, more compact one had to be fabricated that restricts airflow.
    Can anyone verify the engine spec?

• medic on May 17, 2016 at 4:21 pm

Paul Tan is right about the engine specs.We’re getting the more powerful Japan specs compared to elsewhere.