Mazda CX-3 2.0 launched in Malaysia – RM131,218

Mazda_CX3_04

The Mazda CX-3 has finally made its official launch debut here in Malaysia, a year after the crossover made its global debut at the 2014 Los Angeles Auto Show. Available in just a sole variant, the fully-imported (CBU Japan) crossover is priced from RM131,218 (on-the-road without insurance).

On offer here is the SkyActiv-G 2.0L that can be had with a choice of five colours – Soul Red Metallic, Crystal White Pearl, Jet Black, Meteor Grey and Deep Crystal Blue. Each purchase will also include a three-year warranty and free service from Bermaz as well.

If the variant name isn’t a dead giveaway already, under the hood of the CX-3 you’ll find a 2.0 litre SkyActiv-G petrol engine that outputs 154 hp at 6,000 rpm and 204 Nm of torque at 2,800 rpm. By comparison, the Mazda 3 and CX-5‘s 2.0 litre mill outputs 162 hp/210 Nm and 154 hp/198 Nm, respectively.

The SkyActiv-G engine is mated to a SkyActiv-Drive six-speed automatic gearbox, directing drive exclusively to the front wheels (2WD). The engine also benefits from Mazda’s i-Stop engine idling stop system, which automatically shuts down the engine when the vehicle is stationary in order to save fuel.

Mazda_CX3_Ext_15

Proudly wearing Mazda’s signature Kodo styling, the CX-3 is quite the looker, measuring 4,275 mm in length, 1,765 mm wide and 1,535 mm tall. The B-segment crossover rides on the same SkyActiv-Chassis that underpins the smaller Mazda 2, and has a kerb weight of 1,211 kg.

On the exterior, the CX-3’s standard equipment list includes automatic LED headlights with adaptive front lighting system, auto-levelling and LED daytime running lights. The rear tail lights are LED as well, as are the front fog lamps (rear fogs make do with halogen bulbs instead).

The CX-3 also gets a bump in aesthetics thanks to gunmetal trim pieces located at the front, sides and rear of the crossover – something not found on lower variants of the Thai-spec model. Wheel options are limited to just a sole 18-inch five twin-spoke option, wrapped in 215/50R18 tyres. Other standard equipment include automatic wipers, power-folding side mirrors (with turn indicators) and a sunroof.

Mazda_CX3_Int_14

Moving inside, the cabin layout is nigh identical to the Mazda 2, save for a few differences in trim colour pieces. Here, the brand’s MZD Connect 7.0-inch touchscreen multimedia system dominates the dashboard. The system can either be controlled via touch or the Commander Control dial.

Like the Mazda 2, the system can be upgraded with navigation functionality for an extra RM1,270. Other highlights in the cabin include the leather-suede combo seats (60:40 split folding at the rear) and single-zone automatic air-conditioning (front vents only). Boot space is rated at 350 litres.

As for the driver, there is Mazda’s Active Driving Display (heads-up display) and a multi-function (multimedia and cruise control) leather steering wheel (electric power assisted) that comes with paddle shifters. There is also a drive selection switch (Sport mode), reverse camera and keyless operation (entry and engine start).

West Malaysia price list, East Malaysia price list, spec sheet (click to enlarge)

The safety suite on the CX-3 is pretty comprehensive as well, with DSC electronic stability control, traction control and ABS with EBD and BA all being present. The crossover is fitted with six airbags as well (dual frontal, side and curtain). Hill launch assist and emergency stop signal are also part of the package, but there’s no i-ActivSense suite (Smart City Brake System, Rear View Monitoring, Lane Departure Warning etc.) here. For RM1,900 extra, Mazda’s Skytint (safety tint) can be specified as well.

As we were previously told, the initial batch of CBU models total up to just 2,000. After this first run of cars, considerations are being made to locally-produce (CKD) the model. This could see a reduction in price for the CX-3, although whether the spec sheet will remain the same is yet to be known. In the event that Bermaz continues importing CBU models, it will not be from neighbouring Thailand.

The Mazda CX-3 comes into the Malaysian crossover market to directly rival the Honda HR-V. With the top spec HR-V 1.8L V being priced well below the Mazda at RM114,744, does the CX-3 and its distinct styling warrant the premium you’ll need to pay? Let us know which you prefer, or if have another alternative altogether in the comments section below.

Want to know how the new B-segment crossover drives? Read our full review, or leaf through the Bahasa Malaysia version. Also, you can browse full specifications and equipment at CarBase.my.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• nabill (Member) on Dec 08, 2015 at 7:42 pm

I had similar reaction to the lowyat 2 opening to this one… Along the line of ‘wtf wer u thinking’…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
    • I open bet 1-to-20. That Mazda will CKD CX-3 here.
      So don’t you boys buy the CBU yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • Where is Najib's Promise?? on Dec 09, 2015 at 8:33 am

This car is only a B Segment car. It is so tiny. Looks like a SUV but don’t be fooled. Even Myvi has more legroom than this tiny car. At RM131k, this is way overpriced.

Now naik, Proton naik, TNB also next year naik gila gila. So, what happened to Najib’s promise to reduce car prices???

Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others.

Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k
        Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Datuk Seri Ben Yeoh, instead of cium buntot Najib, ask him where is this promise? Mazda CX3 in the US only US$19k. That also after US dealership untung puas puas.

Bermaz surely get this car at country distributr price of US$15 and below. So by right, it is a very cheap car. How many Malaysians can really afford a RM131k car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 15
        • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 09, 2015 at 9:09 am

Super duper overpriced. not 4WD, just like bigger rim in Mazda 2 oni. 2000 CBU unit hardly sold as Mazda well known CKD tactic after CBU launched. Even CKD sell at RM118k, we dont think it can compete with HRV rightnow coz it dont have nice armrest yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 2
          • tooot on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:32 am

It is a jacked up Mazda2, nuff said.

• CX5 - RM125k OTR Only! on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:38 am

Only a real bodoh will buy this car. It is so small, I could not even sit in the back seat.

Now can get good Accord or Teana OTR for even RM129k year end clearance. So much bigger and so much more comfortable. A bigger car has better ride quality. No B segment can lawan a proper D segment.

So stupid to price this at RM132k. Even stupider to price it more than your CX5. Now CX5 OTR only RM125k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
        • Get your facts right, bub. Cars (any-brands) marketed in US are made in US/Canada/Mexico using fully local parts. They would be considered as locally made cars at a here. Thats why price so cheap for them. Its local made, not CKD assembled. If these jepunis can do it at there, why not here?
          Why dun you put that question to your jepunis overlords.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
        • Sashi34 on Dec 29, 2015 at 10:09 pm

Buy a lorry, cheaper price, very huge leg room and can carry a lot of ppl, value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
  • jeffwhlim (Member) on Dec 08, 2015 at 8:05 pm

Checked out the display unit at Mazda Taman Megah this morning. Besides the absence of I-active-sense, these features are missing:

– Elec adj front seat (manual adj front driver seat instead)
    – BOSE sound system
    – Armrest (yup NO ARMREST)
    – Autocruise

Otherwise well specced car. CBU Japan yo!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 8
  • jeffwhlim (Member) on Dec 08, 2015 at 8:32 pm

Please clarify the engine spec. The brochure I am carrying stated 146hp and 192Nm torque. My bad, there is cruise control but passive one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Torqueky on Dec 08, 2015 at 8:48 pm

154hp& 204nm is correct on Mazda malaysia website too. 204nm at 2800 rpm is impressive for NA engine especially in city driving. Altis and Civic torque all comes at higher 4000 rpm

• Jiang on Dec 09, 2015 at 8:28 am

Better but with 2.0l engine it still burns more than turbo with lesser cc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Don Mega on Dec 09, 2015 at 10:34 am

On paper: yes. In real world driving : no.

• Care to show some figures?

• ron95l on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:22 am

Lol you mean those skyactive will burn more fuel? How about pour in mixture of dirty fuel into high compression engine, kaput faster?

• FIST (Member) on Dec 08, 2015 at 9:00 pm

Just wait for CKD

• Quite expensive for a Mazda 2 on stilts. Should wait for the CKD. BTW Bermaz, DONT OMIT THE LED HEADLIGHTS ON THE CKD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Dec 08, 2015 at 10:08 pm

lower spec, lower build quality…discount of 5k lol…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • DonkeyKong on Dec 09, 2015 at 12:46 am

Pretty much for Mazda fans only.. it’s about looks and driving pleasure and less about practicality.

And another 2 grand for “SkyTint”?? Really??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 09, 2015 at 5:05 pm

they will only LED headlight or head up display both to choose in CKD model, with LED headlight for you, but Head up display with speedo meter will be gone. that Bermaz theory when they create CKD mazda 2. i rather to get LED head light instead of stupid head up display.

• Honestly I think Bermaz will struggle to sell the CX-3 at this price range under the present economic scenario in M’sia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
  • A headturner all right. Not a keeper though for my budget. Would be worth it if you can afford it and don’t mind the missing features.

• Aero (Member) on Dec 08, 2015 at 10:16 pm

I don’t get why some people are complaining about the price… it’s a Japanese CBU model, and our ringgit has not recovered yet. I don’t think Bermaz overpriced it… if a CKD version arrives, I’m sure it will be priced much closer to the HR-V. And for those who forgot, the HR-V is a CKD model, produced at HMSB’s plant in Melaka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 39
    • Sammy Loo on Dec 08, 2015 at 11:26 pm

Price is the main issue. Only minority buyers care about the CBU quality, mostly are waiting for the CKD model with lower price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
      • Add-A-Comment on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:34 am

ohhh…you do talk sense…LOL

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Aero (Member) on Dec 09, 2015 at 1:31 pm

Typical Malaysian mentality of course… always expect things to be cheap, never sparing a thought for others. Indeed, any CBU Japan car will have far better quality than a CKD model. The components and parts are from Japanese vendors, not Malaysian, Thai and Indonesian ones. There are less weak links in the manufacturing and distribution chain. CBU cars tend to come from highly automated factories. CKD cars tend to be assembled by human workers. Robots are consistent and make far less errors than humans. All in all, you get a better car, albeit at a slightly higher price.

But nah, none of this matters to typical Malaysians… price is everything, is it not ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 15
        • You forgot about RV! Malaysians dun care if they easy die in their moving coffins as long as their RV can take to afterlife!

• are u not malaysian???

• Beautiful car. However without the I-activsense it’s a deal breaker…. Maybe when the ckd it they will include the I-activesense just like they did with the Mazda 3 whereby the high spec has the whole suite of I-active sense at 120K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • old dog on Dec 08, 2015 at 10:37 pm

2000 unit of company registration car?

all branches to absorb 2 units i guess…LOL..

• Luluhaa on Dec 08, 2015 at 11:01 pm

If cannot mampu dont bising bising. You may buy proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 33
    • It is not about affordable but price vs spec vs competitor!

• Luluhaa on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:37 am

Vote with your money. Simple. Unless you’re a shareholder of bermaz, you have nothing to feel upset about.

• Ronin on Dec 08, 2015 at 11:11 pm

No i-activesense, no armrest & manual driver seats sound too expensive for RM135K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Guan yin maaaa on Dec 09, 2015 at 12:17 am

CX 3 CBU JAPAN 130K, MX5 CBU JAPAN 210k. Something wrong here. Same ENGINE, SAME CHASSIS. WTH BERMAZ

• Lololol on Dec 09, 2015 at 8:34 am

You sure same chassis? Also you are comparing FWD and RWD?
      Think driving pleasure is significantly different between the 2 lar.

• Sean88 on Dec 09, 2015 at 12:24 am

If u compare this to Mini Countryman spec n price, CX3 is really worth it. Plus it is CBU Japan, the workmanship is so amazing. I’ve driven it and it is just wonderful.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
  • A young fashionable single lady’s car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • jeffwhlim (Member) on Dec 09, 2015 at 9:41 am

Did I read somewhere the CX-3 goes from 0-100km/h in 8.7 seconds yet returned an average 5.5l/100km. That’s FAST AND economical for a Crossover…

• mazdasucks on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:29 am

This fuel guzzler gets 7.4l only, Polo TSi much faster and more frugal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
      • WaJib on Dec 09, 2015 at 4:33 pm

Polo TSi 0-100kmh 9.7seconds. Put ur facts before talking blindly

• kakaka on Dec 10, 2015 at 8:24 am

What’s the point of this crampy CX3 ? For rempit kah?
          Khakahkah

• Nasi kandang on Dec 09, 2015 at 10:43 am

Price like this . I rather get the gl spec cx5 or accord !

• khairul on Dec 09, 2015 at 11:21 am

So there is no BOSE sound system? how comes they claim it very high spec?

• hazamiey on Dec 09, 2015 at 2:48 pm

Nice miniskirts.drooling.

• Ismail on Dec 09, 2015 at 4:22 pm

Nice looking car!. Will wait for CKD.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 09, 2015 at 5:11 pm

I just went to showroom and one round seeing this car, i knew this car gonna fail again as wrong pricing and spec Bermaz bring in here. This car gonna fail like PERODUA NOTIKA SUV. The CX3 should be selling at RM99,800, and recommended interior enhancement with at least an ARMREST and bigger boot space, then only this car qualified to get buyer for 9 years loan installment.

Crazy Over priced. I rather buy full spec Mazda 3, still have some changes back!

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Dec 09, 2015 at 5:14 pm

i wonder tis CX3 2.0 engine can transplant into my Mazda 2 and turn into Malaysia/KL fastest Mazda 2 ever built, 0~100kmh in 5.8sec, top speed 210kmh.

Afterall, CX3 and 2 are sharing the same platform.

• Sammy Loo on Dec 09, 2015 at 7:45 pm

Mazda is making good cars, but Bermaz failed to price it right.

• Cheong Keng Kong on Dec 09, 2015 at 7:55 pm

It looks stylish but if I can’t place my golf set into its boot without putting down the rear seats, I will not pay such a high price for it. Similar comment for the HR-V.

• Blur Sotong on Dec 10, 2015 at 11:35 pm

Hmm…is the CX-3 based on the Mazda 2 or Mazda 3?
    Other websites say that the CX-3 is based on the Mazda 2.

Pricing wise, it’s not very attractive compared to the competitors.

• Currently the CX-3 is imported from Japan at zero import duty under the Japan-Malaysia Free Trade Agreement. It however is still slapped with an 80 percent excise duty for vehicles under 2,000cc (CX-3’s engine capacity is 1,998cc).

so now you know why this car is priced at rm131k, to gov pocket.

• Blitz on Dec 15, 2015 at 7:25 pm

Well with this price, i can get a 2.0 vti-L Accord which is more spacious and bigger.. Sad how bermaz plays with pricing in Malaysia for a small Cx-3 with the same base body as a mazda 2.. I can see only idiots who doesn’t thin 1st will buy this car.

• Ben Yeoh on Dec 16, 2015 at 6:52 pm

CX-5 GL 125k, This one 131k????

• Neutral guy on Jan 04, 2016 at 11:13 am

Not value for money. Even cheaper model under CKD is not worthy. With RM120k+ in hand, you can have loads to choose from.

• IrizX on Jan 11, 2016 at 10:49 am

Price too expensive….They should have lower the price down to below RM120k to match Honda HRV.

• 120k to match honda hrv? the highest spec in hrv can’t even match with cx3

• krrull on Feb 24, 2016 at 4:29 pm

wait for ckd. i bought mazda 3 cbu skyactive. when they released the ckd i said wtf ckd got better features!!!