Lotus 3-Eleven launched in Malaysia, from RM641k

Alongside the Evora Sport 410, Lotus Cars Malaysia has also introduced Hethel’s fastest, most extreme production car ever, the Lotus 3-Eleven. Building on the recipe of the previous 2-Eleven (perhaps Lotus is building up to its own 9-Eleven), it has one seat, no roof and no doors.

Buyers can choose from two variants – the road-biased, um, Road and the track-ready Race. The former retails at RM640,855 without registration, road tax or insurance, while the latter costs a whopping RM868,214.

Built on a bespoke chassis, the 3-Eleven utilises Lotus’ extruded and bonded aluminium construction. The body panels, made from lightweight resin infusion composite, are 40% lighter than the fibreglass equivalent. The design features a minimal cross sectional area to reduce drag while optimising cooling.

At the front, a new clamshell features larger air inlets to cool the powertrain and transmission, and the wheel arches have been made to cover the wide track and 225/40 ZR18 front and 275/35 ZR19 rear tyres (Michelin Pilot Super Sport on the Road model, Pilot Sport Cup 2 on the Race). Large fender vents aft of the front wheels enable the air in the arches to make a clean exit.

A downforce-generating roll bar cover (not seen here) envelops the rear cage, which on the Road variant also incorporates twin side bars for side impact protection. The Race model’s cage features additional bars to meet international motorsport regulations. At the rear, there are different rear spoilers depending on road or track use, as well as a new rear diffuser and undertray to minimise drag.

With the standard aerodynamic package, the Road model generates 65 kg of downforce at 160 km/h and 150 kg at 240 km/h. The Race model adds front canards and an adjustable rear wing to produce 95 kg of the stuff at 160 km/h, and a whopping 215 kg at 240 km/h.

Inside, it’s as minimalist as it gets, adorned only with a sports seat with a four-point harness, an optional quick-release steering wheel and a colour TFT instrument display. A small front screen is fitted as standard, and an optional passenger seat can also be added to create a two-seat cabin.

These can be removed, replaced by an optional tonneau panel to envelope the driver and improve overall aerodynamics. The Race model is further specified with an optional data logger system, an FIA-approved driver’s race seat, a six-point harness, a fire extinguisher and a battery kill switch.

All 3-Eleven models feature all-round double wishbone suspension, Eibach springs and Öhlins adjustable dampers, with the Race gaining an adjustable front roll bar and two-way dampers to allow owners to fine-tune their car’s handling characteristics. Braking duties are handled by AP Racing four-piston callipers and two-part 332 mm grooved and vented brake discs at all four corners; the Race model gets uprated pads.

Behind the seats, there’s a Toyota-sourced 3.5 litre supercharged V6 from the Evora 410, developing 410 hp at 7,000 rpm and 410 Nm from 3,000 to 7,000 rpm in Road trim. The Race model bumps that up to 460 hp at 7,000 rpm and 525 Nm at 3,500 rpm. A six-speed manual gearbox is fitted to the Road variant, while the Race gains a six-speed sequential transmission with dog engagement and paddle shifters.

With a dry weight of 890 kg for the Race model and 925 kg for the Road variant, the 3-Eleven has a power-to-weight ratio of over 500 hp per tonne, and is capable of flinging itself from zero to 100 km/h in just 3.0 seconds before hitting a top speed of 290 km/h. That’s in Race trim – the Road version is a tad slower to the 100 km/h mark, doing the deed in 3.4 seconds; it also has a lower top speed of 280 km/h.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• ReallyLotus on May 03, 2017 at 3:09 pm

Really? Who wants that plastically thing, without a windscreen, no roof, with that kind of price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
    • Kelab Sokong Kunta on May 03, 2017 at 4:22 pm

Can someone tell me using MAA figures, how many sales Lotus had in Malaysia last year and this year?

Can the sales (if there are sales) cover the huge showroom cost and the many highly paid salesman and technicians?

Or are we running Lotus showroom in Malaysia just to gaya?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
      • Our Lotus showroom performs as well as our Lotus cars. Those who know real performance showrooms dun persoal…

• People who like to humiliate lambos and ferraris and gtrs on the track. It’s a purpose built car, non car people like you wouldn’t understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Read the power/speed etc figure not the looks. No wonder “NISMO” and “TRD” become hot selling car.. haih..

• Those who dunno real performance machine, r those who persoal…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Kelab Sokong Kunta on May 03, 2017 at 3:19 pm

The rich will never spend RM870k on a Lotus. They rather use that money and buy a Porsche or a Ferrari, albeit, maybe a 2nd hand one. Can get a good 2 year old 911 Carrera for about RM500k.

The rich also know, quite a number of parts of the Lotus is now made by Proton. Look at the Evora, the side mirror at the back has the words, Made by Proton and with the Proton logo on it.

The rich are not stupid, they will never spend RM870k on a car that has parts made by Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 24
    • pengayuhbasikal on May 03, 2017 at 4:34 pm

800K. 1 Lotus atau 1 BMW X5 hybrid+XC90 hybrid..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Kunta the ori on May 03, 2017 at 6:06 pm

Since when you know what the rich think unless you are one yourself?
      I am guessing because you use the work “they”..

we the rich buy whatever we feel like, paying premium for exclusive things are part of our expectations.
      so long as it captures our heart. we spend 100k a night in a club without blinking an eye, and there you are calculating what rm800k could get you instead?! I want, therefore I buy, because I could, is as simple. we don’t go rm870k could buy 10 proton theory, because I don’t want 10 proton. I don’t even care if you can give me extra 2 free to make it 12.

we are not stupid yes, but we tend to use more brain to earn money, not when we spend money. You seems to be the opposite. now go back to your sandbox and play.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • lao yee on May 04, 2017 at 2:35 pm

The rich could owned 30 sports car at one time, which including this rare beast.

• kereta_lembu on May 03, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Can’t wait to see the 7-Eleven….oh wait!

• Kelab Sokong Kunta on May 03, 2017 at 3:21 pm

I wish the buyer buying a toyota engined Proton all the best. RM870k on a Protoyota.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • topkek on May 04, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Wah now wants to bash toyota engine pulak, last time worship overlord toyota

Topkek

• Selling at 800K? There are more Ferrari and Lambo on the road than this brand.

• Yusnizah on May 03, 2017 at 3:31 pm

Bucket berbaloi…RM641k = SGD206k.

• Whoever spends this kinda of money on this, he must be a real super fan of Lotus.

• 3-11 or Evora Sport 410? Hmm…

• Latif bandi on May 03, 2017 at 4:30 pm

Bought both. No problem.

• But I cant go shopping with 3-11…

• NineElevent on May 03, 2017 at 6:42 pm

LV has delivery service. just bring your girl there and pick.

unless you mean go giant buy a can of sardine. in that case, get a butler first before considering this car… and its sister company over at Proton is more for you.

• But how to bring gurl when only 1 seat. R u suggestin i askin her to hold onto the roll cage for dear life?

• rally_fan (Member) on May 03, 2017 at 10:00 pm

its a track focused car.. its not meant to carry people around town. there are other lotus models that can do that comfortably like the evora. people who buy this car, will drive it hard and on a race track. the problem with a ferrari or lambo, try doing trackdays with it, it wont last.

• Mikey on May 04, 2017 at 8:43 am

LOL, go shopping with a 3-11 means U are showing off. U can Only Flaunt it “IF” U have one.

If U really want 2 go shopping, take your Gen2 la. At least the Gen2 can take loads of groceries & some(your Awek included). Hehehe

• Socai (ori) on May 03, 2017 at 5:33 pm

Potong should as a rakyat servis sell tis spot car at Rm60k…not wasted money buy Lotus brand than sell so expensive menyusahkan rakyat

• Mikey on May 03, 2017 at 5:33 pm

Lets see what makes this Lotus 3-Eleven interesting & I will just focus on the track-only version :-

1) Built on a “bespoke chassis”, the 3-Eleven use extruded & bonded aluminium construction. The body panels are made from lightweight resin infusion composite which is 40% lighter than the fibreglass equivalent.

2) The Race model’s cage features additional bars to meet FIA regulations. At the rear, there are different rear spoilers 4 track use & a new rear diffuser/undertray to minimise drag.

3) The Race model adds front canards & an adjustable rear wing to produce 95 kg of the stuff at 160 km/h & a whopping 215 kg at 240 km/h.

4) The Race model is further specified with an optional data logger system, an FIA-approved driver’s race seat, 6-point harness, fire extinguisher & battery kill switch.

5) The Braking department are handled by AP Racing 4-piston callipers, 332 mm grooved, vented brake discs at all 4-corners & uprated pads.

6) Power source is from Toyota 3.5 litre supercharged V6 that punch out a respectable 460 hp/525 Nm. It comes with a 6-speed sequential transmission with dog engagement & paddle shifters.

7) With a dry weight of just 890 kg, can someone tell me this 3-11 is Not Good enuff for any Petrol heads who have the $$$ 2 splash & enjoy a drive in any given circuit.

I remember a certain Ferrari charged their customers a fortune to buy & they did NOT get to own it too. I hope U all enjoy as much as me writing this comment. Cheers folks.

• Mikey on May 04, 2017 at 8:33 am

In case someone ask, Ferrari customers pay £2 million for the FXX, but are only allowed to drive the car on special track days which are approved by Ferrari. They are Not allowed to drive it back.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 03, 2017 at 6:47 pm

perodua bezza so much more worth it

• No Deal Yet on May 03, 2017 at 6:50 pm

During rain, its better to be in a Kancil than this Lotus 3-11…

Asking price is RM641?? Maybe Lotus can throw in a free umbrella too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • You dun use kancil to race with those around 4 sec sprinters on track

• RM600k plus bathtub :D

cant wait to drive during heavy rain ^^

• F1racer on May 04, 2017 at 6:12 pm

Go and bash those F1 racing cars without roof. It is NOT day to day car

• tommy on May 04, 2017 at 9:25 am

no big deal lah !!! i spent everyday in my seven-11 nearby & its sure damn fun… hahaha…

• Wif dat money i rather get gtr, arnd same price n faster than dis lotus, 600++k is really too much, altho its a sub 4 second car, but its not the oni sub 4 second car that cost 600++k range