Malaysia has highest number of Waze users in ASEAN

It seems Malaysians like Waze, and they like it a lot. The country has the highest number of users in South-East Asia when it comes to the community-based traffic and navigation app, and we’re even ranked among the top five countries globally, The Star reports.

According to the Google-owned concern, Kuala Lumpur has 2.5 million active Waze users, which puts us ahead of Jakarta (two million) and Manila (1.5 million). As you’d expect, most Malaysian users are concentrated in big cities such as Kuala Lumpur, Penang and Johor Baru.

Given its strong adoption rate, Waze is – through its ongoing Connected Citizens programme – looking for government partners in the country to share publicly available data to ensure motorists spend less time on the road. It’s currently working with the Selangor state government to allow motorists to file complaints on potholes, which are then channelled to the various local councils for action.

It’s looking to get more agencies – and usable data – on board. According to Waze’s global strategic partnerships manager, Mona Weng, data can include items such as planned road closures due to a major event or construction, and real-time diversions resulting from accidents or emergencies. The info that is available to Waze is then used to guide users around, making for faster and smoother travel.

She said that Waze has over 250 partners worldwide and hopes to secure another 10 in Asia in the next couple of months. These partners include city and state departments as well as government agencies.

Weng added that Waze is hoping to carry out a field trial in Malaysia similar to that it carried out in Jakarta, which saw cars being diverted to different routes during peak hours according to their licence number plates. She said the resulting diversion saw a 19% decrease in driving time.

Last year, Waze listed Malaysia as the best place to drive in the ASEAN region, as measured via its annual Driver Satisfaction Index, which measures overall drivers’ experiences. The country ranked 23 out of 38 countries on the list, ahead of Singapore (32), Indonesia (34) and the Philippines (37).

The survey focused on more than 20,000 monthly active users among 235 cities and towns, and measured six factors – density of traffic, quality of roads and infrastructure, road safety, availability of driver services, socio economics and “Wazeyness” (happiness and thankfulness of Waze users).

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 5Mach on May 05, 2017 at 10:37 am

All my female & less male friends & coliqs need Waze to drive around. Roads here too confusing…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 28
    • Waze makes a lot of peoples life easier irregardless of gender

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 0
      • Scepter on May 05, 2017 at 12:48 pm

Extremely useful especially if you are a business person and have to meet clients in strange locations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
        • Man Bai on May 05, 2017 at 1:17 pm

overseas all cars got in built gps as standard. Malaysia, only high end cars got. So we use Waze.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Man Bai on May 05, 2017 at 1:13 pm

we need to use waze cause road signs are so bad. All town planners cannot even speak proper English. Atas kosong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
        • Almost all road signs r in BM. Sendri phail BM, blame town planners pulak. Atas kosong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 6
  • camtakpro on May 05, 2017 at 10:41 am

Because Malaysians in general lacks the real sense of directions.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • Unggal on May 05, 2017 at 2:16 pm

Lebih baik MIMOS mencipta aplikasi berguna seperti Waze dari mengguna wang kerajaan utk melukis rekabentuk 3D Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Ben Yap on May 05, 2017 at 10:42 am

i prefer to use google map instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 12
    • yeah me too..google maps improved a lot and i think better than waze. the maps showing realtime traffic info and other route options at the same time..and the accurate too..

• kzm (Member) on May 05, 2017 at 6:29 pm

Waze is own by Google any data is share between them

• Malaysian is smart on road. =)

• Huh? Waze still got pipu use? Laggy interface and selow startup. The app is too heavy now. Prefer to use GMaps. Its same same minus all the annoying balloons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
  • because many roadblocks

• Socai (ori) on May 05, 2017 at 11:00 am

No wonder many idiot belakang mari my car la even in slow moving traffic…update waze and always folo so close car in front..end up losing money paying the accident victim for updating waze..brilliant

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • As a seasoned driver, I do not need Waze to tell me where a place is. But I have to say, Waze is like godsent to Malaysians because:
    1) it helps us to use a route that beats the traffic jam. Sure the route might be longer in distance but shorter in time taken to reach the intended destination
    2) inform us on the accident that takes place
    3) inform us on the police presence – either police patrol or even speed trap so we can slow down in time
    4) after a night out, it is easier to check road block by the police.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
  • Si Sang Singa on May 05, 2017 at 11:03 am

Guna waze nak check roadbloack je

• Man Bai on May 05, 2017 at 11:17 am

how come? Some people say must boycot Yahudi technologies. Waze and Whatsapp and Intel are Yahudi technologies. So how come it is doing so well in Malaysia?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 22
    • Core processor oso yahudi tech. So why u no chuck PC from 14th floor and still here tok trash?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • carazy on May 05, 2017 at 4:42 pm

Did u live under a tempurung for the whole time dude? Waze is now own by Google. Pls did a research before u post some stupid fact, it show ur atas is really kosong dude!!!

• Sub_zero on May 09, 2017 at 8:27 pm

Topkek

Still got this kind of people

You should live in caves

Maybe the caves overpopulated no wonder you came out complain

• Man Bai on May 05, 2017 at 11:22 am

Malaysia is a 3rd world country. the polis here hide to catch. In developed countries, polis cannot hide and catch. This is NOT allowed in the law as it infringes on a person’s rights as well as privacy.

This is why Malaysians use Waze to see where the polis is hiding.

Time for polis in Malaysia stop being sneaky and hide.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
    • What happen to ur Kunta dupe?

• That’s true.. Police will b still hiding, but after a / a fewwarning sign… Not like police in Malaysia.

• Yes, not like here. There, they saman u every KM first, then they gip warning.

• tokmoh. on May 05, 2017 at 11:50 am

Umobile even give unlimited data for Waze.

But I personally barely use it. Don’t like it’s cartoon-ish interface, always preferred Google maps.

• Kopi-Ice Panas on May 05, 2017 at 11:52 am

Waze is a helpful gadget esp when Malaysia roadways are like maze. Strangely, all roads seems to direct to a toll gate….

• summon on May 05, 2017 at 12:02 pm

I think we check on speed-trap before we hit the road has became our habit, especially after the government implement demerit point system.

• Ex-VGM staff on May 05, 2017 at 12:15 pm

I am using Waze not because I don’t know the roads but rather to know what is traffic situation and beating the traffic jams. Waze @ ways is the future.

• Gaviny on May 05, 2017 at 12:31 pm

Like everyone said , because of speed trap and roadblock

• look at those idiots using d emergency lane! F(@*$&@^&

• Ollie on May 05, 2017 at 4:41 pm

ALso cos Malaysians have the worst herd mentality in the world.. Willing to queue up hours for crap food.. use waze cos people say ‘use waze’ though Google Maps is superior.

• gigi kuning on May 06, 2017 at 11:07 am

Malaysian are weird ppl. Eager to Q for hours at petrol station becoz of few cent increase of petrol…..while burning more petrol in the process.