Malaysia is the best place to drive in ASEAN – Waze

traffic jam bernama

It’s good news for us Malaysians, as Waze has listed Malaysia to be the best place to drive in the ASEAN region, according to a report by The Star. On a global level however, the country ranked 23 out of 38 countries in Waze’s second annual Driver Satisfaction Index, which measures overall drivers’ experiences.

The index focuses on more than 20,000 monthly active users among 235 cities and towns. It measures six factors – density of traffic, quality of roads and infrastructure, road safety, availability of driver services, socio economics and “Wazeyness” (happiness and thankfulness of Waze users).

Malaysia is one of four ASEAN countries featured in the index, with the others being Singapore (32), Indonesia (34) and the Philippines (37). From a local perspective, Central Malacca was the highest ranked Malaysian city at 94 (out of 235) for driver satisfaction, followed by Kuala Terengganu (97), Kuala Muda (105), Kota Baru (124) and Kuching (131).

petaling-jaya-one-way-loop

Proceeding further, we find Kuantan (134), Kuala Lumpur (137), Kinta (138), Batu Pahat (139), Johor Baru (140), Kota Kinabalu (164) and Larut and Matang (166). Coming in at last place as the worst place to drive in the world is the city of Cebu in the Philippines.

“Generally we (Malaysians) are not really satisfied. Overall the results show that Malaysians are right in the middle of the ranking,” said Waze Malaysia’s sales manager Edward Ling Sieak Meeng, who added that drivers here were “neither too happy nor too dissatisfied” with driving conditions.

The index revealed that Malaysians are most satisfied about road quality, but are mostly unhappy with the availability of driver services such as access to petrol stations and parking facilities. There you have it folks, Malaysia is the best place to drive in the ASEAN region. Do you agree? Sound off in the comments section down below.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Public transportation is so dire in Malaysia.

Almost every1 needs to drive / cycle / walk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
    • Read the article. Its nothing to do with public transport. When its nice to drive, mean it nice. All want to bash.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Azhar on Sep 19, 2016 at 7:08 pm

Its a nice road to drive but will be better if no idiot driving slow on the right lane.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 7
    • It would be even better if everyone don’t think that they are shumacher and drive like maniac on the right lane

• Ben Yap on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:37 am

you are right! i just squeeze and aunty off the road just now for hogging the fast lane on LDP.

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:07 am

Waze does not know that traffic moves smoothly because our PDRM makan suap big time. They don’t stop people using emergency lanes. Even they stop, they makan duit big time. Within 1 minute, the car is let off the hook after RM100 settles everything. This is the attitude of the lazy people in Malaysia

• Keta merah on Sep 20, 2016 at 7:39 pm

So true. Annoying to see people do lane hogging. They never understand.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Sep 19, 2016 at 7:25 pm

No one uses waze.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 43
    • paparadzi (Member) on Sep 20, 2016 at 1:15 am

Really? Looks like you are the “no one”. Nobody.

Today Waze brought me via some unfamiliar ways to my office and back, due to accidents and massive jams on my regular route. Slightly longer than usual, but much better than getting stuck in the jam on the ELITE highway.

• Yong Tau Fu on Sep 20, 2016 at 5:52 pm

Everybody who is smartphone user use waze.. Only nokia 3310 user don’t use waze..

• “Duit kopi mari” “Okey settle” “200km/h lagi”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
  • Silthice on Sep 19, 2016 at 7:44 pm

Where’s Matang?

• Taiping Boy on Sep 20, 2016 at 6:34 pm

Larut Matang is district of Perak. It placed in Northern Perak near Penang, just one district over. The district capital is Taiping, one of oldest city in Malaysia.

• It’s not surprising, bar the east coast highway (which is flawed), we have some of the best-engineered road systems in the world. It’s just that their maintenance is often suspect that leads to the hate.

The roads in Indochina are nowhere near our levels of quality and Singapore does not have the size to compete.The rest are quite meh as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • 4G63T DSM on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:20 am

Yes our roads are good.

but lest you forget the public pays a lot for them.
      and keeps on paying.

I spend more than 300/mth on toll charges.

• Driver’s attitude and behaviour are the main factors to road accidents and fatalities. I don’t see how that reflects the score of being the best place to drive. People are selfish especially when driving on the roads. Never give way, dangerous maneuver, drivers on the phone, not paying attention, and the list goes on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • WT Fuchhh on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:01 pm

LOL…!!! You forgot to register the hapiness at waiting 2hors to get to toll gate.

• Most of the time here we tend to see Myvi, Saga & Vios’s tailgating people on the highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • gaviny on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:15 pm

Compared to thailand, philippines, jakarta, our roads and behavior is heaven. Really, we are so much better than them.

Singapore too small to be any meaning and gomen said we don’t want you to drive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • No point to highlight this. Most MY pipu will always condemn even there are good in MY.

• Lockhart on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:16 pm

Waze has been nothing but a nuisance to me. Everytime suggesting longer routes to avoid little traffic. Eventually we’ll reach our destination in a longer time

Would bang gmaps anytime, perfect navigation app.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • Susukotak on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:19 pm

overall not happy

• Mikey on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:55 am

Agree with U Susu. I am not Happy driving bcos I have to jammed up B4 paying the toll & then jammed again after paying toll.

• Batman on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Is this a joke?

• Laugh die me

• Deez Nutz on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:53 pm

with the 80Kmh speed limits?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 19, 2016 at 8:54 pm

Malaysia rocks…proud to be Malaysian…those who idolise singapore so much or who love to look down at your own country can get lost for good…we dont need you traitors…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 27
    • These pipu use apple maps go to holland when they use it to search for kajang

• kimochidesuneh on Sep 20, 2016 at 1:27 pm

yes, keep earning and spending your bolehland ringgit. i can waste my few minutes to comment here because i got my strong currency SGD. haters gonna hate. so what?

• funnyman on Sep 19, 2016 at 9:15 pm

Not sure how accurate is this survey. I was never invited to give a satisfaction index. Such a joke report.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • Yong Tau Fu on Sep 20, 2016 at 5:58 pm

If you read the content of the article and not just the titles, I believe this comment will cease to exist

• Ahmadjr on Sep 19, 2016 at 9:19 pm

Singaporean suck at driving. That’s all I want to say

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
  • Smart Ah Beng on Sep 19, 2016 at 9:48 pm

Malaysia is oso one of the most dangerous places to drive..there are simply too many F1 wannabees, Ah Bengs, who perform extremely risky actions such as tailgating, cutting in without any warning despite little gap in front without even bothering to signal and sadly most of these drivers inc the young and old, male and female and u meet these fools on the road almost everyday, and most of them are Vios, van, lorry, trucks eg Hilux, Myvis and all kinda of Protons old and new…inc those who tink they are the only car on the road who drves slowly in the middle and fastlane, forcing oter drivers to overtake them with risk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
    • Mikey on Sep 20, 2016 at 10:58 am

SAB, not only Ah Beng, but also Ah Mad(Ahmad) & Ah Sing(orang asing). Couldn’t find a name for Muthu/Raja though. Maybe Semi-Value. Can or Not !?

• bro 2.0 on Sep 19, 2016 at 9:55 pm

How about the autobahns in Germany? They’re EVEN better no speed limit and you’ll get fined for driving slow. Malaysia would have better roads if you took the B-roads which is longer and more driver anticipating. The highways are good for faster traveling but varies thanks to many factors including the attitude of the driver regardless of make, type of cars. IMO, I like USA’s Highway 1.

• yoshhh on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:02 pm

Joke of the year

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:08 pm

I really hate drivers who cut in front of you rudely and then brakes to make a turn in to a lane while there are plenty or no cars behind you. Why can’t they just leave us alone and switch lanes behind us? Bastards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Not Only Me ? on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:33 pm

And I thought it always happened to me only….

• Not Only Me ? on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:39 pm

We gotta anticipate/mind-reading their next moves, these idiotic drivers…and they’re all age-groups + both genders..
      I invested in a good car honk to blast them good + a good video camera, just in case they act innocence in their police reports, after an inevitable accident…

• digidigi on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:41 pm

true, because malaysia no law one, no stress driving here

• pondan on Sep 19, 2016 at 10:59 pm

especially over speeding can be settled cost effectively.

• Jay Law on Sep 19, 2016 at 11:14 pm

whoever came up with this clearly hasnt DRIVEN in malaysia

• lpost on Sep 20, 2016 at 12:18 am

In term of road length and enjoyable drive, i agreed with statement but in term of driver attitude not aggred bcoz a lot of malaysian drivers drive like retard.

• stupid manhole on Sep 20, 2016 at 1:33 am

satisfied with road quality? this makes me doubt the credibility of the report. you mean we are satisfied with potholes everywhere? and we are happy driving through manhole cover that is not leveled with the road surface? we are happy with sudden braking and evasive maneuver to avoid those stupid manhole covers?

• linot on Sep 20, 2016 at 2:06 am

only in west side of malaysia not the east side

• If motorbikes weren’t so irritating it’ll be even more enjoyable

• Yokohama24 on Sep 20, 2016 at 8:32 am

Pothole alert!
    This is where and how when one driver try to avoid a pothole last minute and try to swerve away from it then there comes our clown motorcyclist who loves to ride at the driver’s blind spot end up getting hit by the driver who swerve away from the pothole.

Oasis on the road!
    This is where some area of our roads are uneven causing a huge puddle of water, covering at least one lane on a highway. If it is a busy highway then it will cause massive traffic jam. If it is an empty highway, then good luck for drivers who are traveling at high speed. Worst if your vehicles are not equipped with ESC/VSC.

• Annoynimouse on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:01 am

Yes… It is expected. But we should be benchmarking ourselves with Europe or Japan or Korea. It has been decades since the first tarmacs were laid on our roads and it’s amazing that we still have bad quality/ugly/outright hazardous road repairs still in existence here. The way we cover potholes is like cows dumping shit. Splat.. done, and sometimes it came out to be more dangerous than it was before. Surprisingly, no one takes action. Only Plus and highway contractors do half decent jobs when it comes to road repairs.

• Fatty Kak Ros on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:08 am

Waze receive donation?

Our land, our soil are great!
    Malaysia, no natural disaster.
    All human being matters!

UMW, nobody will buy your cars without 6bags & ESC.
    Don’t fool people.
    Malaysian got knowledge!

• Mikey on Sep 20, 2016 at 9:58 am

I think the writer(Star) was referring BEST to Better, Eat, Sleep & Talk.

• Waze provided the report, Star only put it in media. Unless u meant Waze main tipoo, so ini semua salah US… oh wai

• Mikey on Sep 21, 2016 at 11:45 am

John, I did not say Waze Tipu. I’m talking about the reporter of Star.
        This article is written/edited by Gerard Lye. It’s suppose to be a joke.
        I’m amazed by the way U managed to get through with your writing.

• Ben Yap on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:12 am

Best place to drift.

• Eternalgl0ry on Sep 20, 2016 at 11:44 am

Road hog on right lane is not fun and those large trucks or buses always drive on middle lane or even the right

• Bernard on Sep 20, 2016 at 3:04 pm

Nonsense! How can this be true especially with all the psychopaths driving around?

• Potholes on Sep 20, 2016 at 4:20 pm

You can see me everywhere.
    Waze , you receive donation?

• youcan'tbeserious on Sep 20, 2016 at 4:52 pm

Best place to drive kononnya and you show a picture of selfish drivers using the emergency lane.

• crash on Sep 20, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Why Central Malacca got the highest rating in M’sia ?? Perhaps because the participants absolutely loves plentiful traffic lights everywhere and the long wait each time it goes red.