TuneD Proton Persona – styling packages add zest

Local outfit TuneD has announced the debut of its first range of aftermarket bodykits and exclusive packages designed specifically to fit three Proton models – the Saga, Preve and the Persona.

Aimed at providing new options for the local aftermarket enthusiast, the add-ons bring about a new look to the exterior, led by design changes to the front/rear bumpers and side skirting.

Like the TuneD Saga and TuneD Preve, three tailored packages are available for the Persona, and these are the Standard, Executive and Premium (coincidentally, the same trim level naming convention as seen on the regulation offering).

Equipment specification is identical to the two other TuneD cars at the Standard level, the Persona getting a bodykit (front/rear bumper and side skirts), LED DRLs, a shark fin antenna and four TuneD emblems. The Persona is also finished in the Fierce Red signature shade, and a blacked-out pillar treatment lends the car a ‘floating roof’ look.

The Executive package adds on partial leather upholstery all around, soft-touch door trim covers and a new inner boot cover. Also on, LED lighting for the headlamps (high/low beam and pilot) as well as rear garnish lights. Finally, the Premium package introduces 16-inch multi-spoke alloys and tyres.

Pricing of the TuneD packages start from RM5,000 for a Standard kit, and the company says that that Maybank credit card holders have the option of going with a zero-interest, easy-payment instalment scheme for their purchase. The TuneD packages for the Persona, along with that for the Saga and Preve, are now available for booking.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• I didn’t think a tuning company could make an ugly car even uglier, but TuneD just proved me wrong.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 7
    • Missing kunte on May 05, 2017 at 3:38 pm

Looks good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 36
      • YB Kunta Kinte on May 05, 2017 at 7:16 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 118
        • Linda tan on May 06, 2017 at 10:06 am

Work hard to own a car, any car will do Mr. You dont get pay much as Keyboard warrior

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
        • I got a strange suspicion that u dunno about automotive and dunno about cars in general other than it has 4 wheels and go vroom.
          Stop assuming and tok out of ur rear hole.
          Dun be lazy and do more research. Work harder and at least try backup what u said with facts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 4
        • I luv the styling. I hope TuneD can provide bodykits for older Proton car like Gen 2. Let’s sapot local tuning shop

• dreamer on May 06, 2017 at 10:01 pm

From where you picked up all these? Sky?

• Muhd Hassan on May 05, 2017 at 3:38 pm

Those who buy Proton are usually tight with money. How are they going to spend RM5k or more on a dumb kit?

Real bodoh. What Malaysians want is cheaper car prices and not body kits. Cost of living in Malaysia is so difficult with highest car prices in the world and super high petrol prices.

Nobody will buy this kit, albeit it is 3rd party. It shows, kebodohohan is not just Proton but also 3rd parties involved with Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 104
      • Xem6861 on May 05, 2017 at 5:38 pm

Wrong dude. Not necessarily being the cheapest. Most of the clients still considering about the cheaper maintenance costs compare to those foreign brands, especially for easy found spare parts and most importantly, why should I pay more for bank interest as well as insurance premiums when the car performance and limitations of these P1 cars on par with other famous brands? RV? BMW,Mercedes, Volvo brand owners should have that thought first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 3
        • Agree. P1 is on par with BMW, Merc and Volvo. Pipu should sapot our local tuning too as our local tuning is on par with AC Schnitzer, AMG and Polestar

• MP4-20 on May 05, 2017 at 6:31 pm

Rich n famous people dont nagging about Cost of living in Malaysia is so difficult with highest car prices in the world and super high petrol prices etc. You must be poor n loserrr people…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
    • Macam Datsun jer.

• CarBuyer on May 05, 2017 at 11:02 pm

I think the only colour that it might work okay is black – so that those riduculously small eyesore wheel-arches the car is saddled with don’t stand out as much.

• amonrei on May 05, 2017 at 2:36 pm

How did they even manage to make it even uglier???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 5
  • jibby2.60 on May 05, 2017 at 2:37 pm

i tot retrofit LED head lamp is illegal. so if buyer getting summoned coz of the led, will tuneD compensate the buyer? if no jpj approval proof (like tinted, etc) i dont see any point of getting these super duper expensive make up for proton buyer, lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 43
    • Unknown on May 05, 2017 at 3:34 pm

That is the ori headlamp la. The led drl is part of the front bumper ala old vios trd bodykit, plus many other people retrofit led drl i don’t see police or jpj kacau them leh?

• pojie on May 05, 2017 at 4:48 pm

Please read the article carefully. It did mention “Also on, LED lighting for the headlamps (high/low beam and pilot) as well as rear garnish lights.”

• Unknown sohai on May 08, 2017 at 8:37 am

read carefully before bash other’s comment la. the kit INCLUDE led headlamp, not JUST led drl la bodo piang.

• Who told u retrofit LED is illegal? Kunta kah? Only retrofit HID is illegal lah bai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Styled by others, but bashers still bash P1…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • Mikey on May 05, 2017 at 2:41 pm

From 5,000 ringgit ONLY !! That is very cheap. Oops, I forgot, the TUNING is ONLY 4 Looks. It does NOT make the car go any faster. Wonder why they call it TUNE? I better check my dictionary 1st what is the meaning tune. Hehehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • Oxford on May 06, 2017 at 1:26 pm

Is tuning radio station will also make your radio go faster ? You really need learn the meaning of the word “tune”.

• Mikey on May 06, 2017 at 7:14 pm

Give me 5,000 Ringgit & I will guarantee U your radio will IMPROVE for GOOD.

In fact I will throw in a pair of branded speakers so that U can listen to the IMPROVE clarity/power of the BASS & a Sub-woofer 2 boot.

Naming after an OX-Fart does not make U any smarter. Please show me how GOOD is your ENGLAND if U dare 2 reply 2 me.

• what an ugly grill there

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • passion on May 05, 2017 at 2:51 pm

yup now it looks good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • Nice sportier look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
  • john is otak batu on May 05, 2017 at 3:07 pm

Zest??!!!…
    Even chinaman will reject this type of “cosmetic $2 hooker”

• Aiyooo on May 05, 2017 at 3:10 pm

TuneD design is not good. From preve, suprima s to iriz time already designing ahbeng look. Aiyoooo….

• Another ahbeng kit on May 05, 2017 at 5:05 pm

That suprima s and iriz was by another ahbeng tuner – SD Aeridynamics lah.

• Dylan Ch'ng on May 05, 2017 at 3:11 pm

I like everything but the front

• Lost Hope on May 05, 2017 at 3:22 pm

That’s it la fellas. Malaysian automobile design gone. No more hope. Not even a jedi can bring any hope.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • One tuner shop dun represent an entire industry. Otherwise, EU, Amerika, Jepunis tuners wud have collapsed their car industry as well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • azrai on May 05, 2017 at 3:24 pm

April fool on 5th May?

• Another Scam la. Nothing stands out from the original design.

• oh my goodness, whats with the grille and the silly floating roof???? OMG OMG OMG OMG!
    Aduh aduh….and many bashed about Mimos’s designs.
    adui adui adui……

• proton oh proton on May 05, 2017 at 3:59 pm

Sorry to say that… not impressive at all… :(

• michael schumacher on May 05, 2017 at 4:35 pm

Tuuunnne whaaaat…

• Ollie on May 05, 2017 at 4:39 pm

What is it with beer bottle cap rims?

• Ex-p1-basher on May 05, 2017 at 5:15 pm

So bisinglah. U design ur own kit. No skill still want to bising other people design.

• sorry tosay say, but Buy the oem looks bodykits on mudah.com from Rm 750 to950 looks much better….

• Zakar Naik Kunta Turun on May 05, 2017 at 5:25 pm

Front looks like a Datsun Go

• Mr.Crazy on May 05, 2017 at 5:51 pm

I’m own a new Persona and I don’t like front and rear exterior design of TuneD body kit. Interior of the kit I felt sporty and liked it… But why must cover up rear fog lamp which is useful while heavy rain and heavy fog.

• alfatunissa on May 23, 2017 at 4:34 pm

I’m currently on the verge of either buying bezza or persona. How is persona? How long have you buy them? For now, the cons of persona that i see is the service centre, and the probability that it will have major problem like other p1 car

• TuneD u making the car look more ugly than before…

• C. P. MOHAN on May 07, 2017 at 12:09 pm

Never against any marque that find ways to widen/improve CHOICES and BOTTOMLINE anyway I think TuneD did a good job.

• Henry on May 07, 2017 at 7:18 pm

5k for a few pieces of plastic and a little paint job. Very good value indeed.