The Proton Preve gets TuneD with tailored packages

Earlier today, local outfit TuneD announced the debut of its first range of aftermarket bodykits and styling enhancements for three Proton models, the tailored packages being designed specifically for the Saga, Preve and the Persona.

These add-ons aim to offer new styling options for the local aftermarket enthusiast, and introduce a number of exterior and interior revisions to the cars. Like that seen on the TuneD Saga and TuneD Persona, three tailored packages are available for the Preve.

The range starts with the Standard package, and the items are identical to those found on the other two cars. In the bag is a new bodykit (front/rear bumpers and side skirts), LED DRLs, a shark fin antenna and four TuneD emblems.

The car also gets the Fierce Red signature shade and the blacked-out pillar treatment, the latter presenting the vehicle with a ‘floating roof’ look.

As before, the Executive package dresses up the interior with quarter leather upholstery and new soft-touch door trim and inner boot covers. It also adds on LED lighting for the headlamps (high/low beam and pilot) as well as rear garnish lights. Going the Premium package route adds on one final piece of kit, in this case 17-inch multi-spoke alloys and tyres.

The company says that pricing of the TuneD packages for the Proton models starts from RM5,000, and order books are now open. Maybank credit card holders will be able to purchase the TuneD kit with a zero-interest, easy-payment instalment scheme.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments on the Proton Preve with TuneD packages are mostly negative, criticizing the design, bodykits, and overall value. Many find the tuning packages unimpressive and believe they fail to improve performance, with some suggesting the modifications are merely cosmetic "TuneD" rather than actual tuning. Several comments express disappointment in Proton's design choices, labeling them as outdated, unattractive, or poorly executed. Others defend Proton and urge support for the local brand, but the majority focus on criticizing the aesthetics and perceived lack of quality in the tuning efforts. Racial and political remarks are also present but do not relate directly to the tuning packages. Overall, sentiments lean toward frustration and criticism about the tuning upgrades and Proton's product execution.

• 49ers on May 05, 2017 at 3:48 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 283
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 05, 2017 at 6:20 pm

The Preve, even with ANCAP 5 star rating also, the car managed to be a failure in sales. The car failed so miserably, it is like the Ertiga.

I don’t know why TuneD thinks by having a bodykit, their sales would do well.

Hello TuneD, the car has failed. Are you stupid to do research and designs on a failure?

Something is wrong with a company spending money on a failed product.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 800 Thumb down 797
      • Prabanathan Muthusamy on May 05, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Overall achievement for the past 33 years i give proton 40 out of 100 points which is D

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 794 Thumb down 768
        • Kelab Sokong Prabanathan on May 05, 2017 at 9:44 pm

You being generous.I would give proton E for Effort and F for Fuel consumption.. equally failed (EF)

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 817 Thumb down 785
        • Overall, achievements for toyota past 70 years I gip a F–, for deliberately tryin to reduce ASEAN population. And overcharging us while their at it.

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 805 Thumb down 891
          • john otak sotong on May 06, 2017 at 6:34 pm

What does this article got to do with Toyota?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 787 Thumb down 719
          • Kesian john… So desperate for sales need to bash other car brands in Proton article?

• Muthusammy Loo on May 05, 2017 at 11:00 pm

Overall achievement for toyotaik i give 40 out of 100 points which is D (they start equipped their cars with VSC and 7 airbags out of desperation, not because they want to).

Meanwhile overall achievement for pookedua for the past 23 years, i only give 1 out of 100 points which is Utter Failure (initially i want to give them ‘telur ayam’ score, but that 1 point is because only Biza Advanced equipped with ‘compulsory’ VSC) .

Hot debate. What do you think? Thumb up 720 Thumb down 807
          • Sama Loo on May 06, 2017 at 6:43 pm

If like that, i got to be fair and give 1/100 points to Proton too. Why? Only Saga Premium equipped with ‘compulsory’ VSC

Guys, 40/100 is too generous for Proton according to john’s logic. F- is more appropriate

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 708 Thumb down 643
        • I’m so proud of our Proton. We have been around for more than 30 years and we have our own local tuning shop that makes it look better. Sapot local tuning, sapot local car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 11
        • notakata on May 06, 2017 at 1:56 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 593 Thumb down 761
      • Dah test drive ke? on May 07, 2017 at 11:07 am

Dh test drive Ertiga ke? tnya jer.. :)
        dan Proton x rugi pn sbb 99% suzuki cuma logo je proton

• kiddd on May 05, 2017 at 6:41 pm

TuneD, but no tuning engine at all..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
      • Malaysia Boleh on May 05, 2017 at 10:13 pm

TuneD=Tune Decorative!

• papa john on May 06, 2017 at 6:57 pm

Aih… Change the name to McD lah. The kits look pathetic like Happy Meal toys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 0
      • More “Looney Tunes” for Proton? Proton is so far down, they dunno what the customers wants. Expect more bashings from their salesmen when this latest tuning fails.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 187 Thumb down 83
    • Sophisticated thinking

• uglie’d is more suitable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 05, 2017 at 6:22 pm

Most Proton owners, even they get RM200 less on their cars also, they are so grateful cause RM200 is a lot of money to them.

Do you think they will spend RM5000 plus on a bodykit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 94
      • Muthusammy Loo on May 05, 2017 at 7:41 pm

Most Pookedua owners, even they get RM2 less on their cars also, they are so grateful cause RM2 is a lot of money to them.

But hor, they forgot already that they already spend RM5000 plus extra in total for ABS brake modules and VVT-i plus another RM2000 for their beloved ‘GearUpToHell’ bodykit.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 12
        • Anonymous0987654321 on May 05, 2017 at 11:11 pm

GearUp package is to cover up their ugly AssUp design failure. Then now they launch their AssHurt facelift causing first batch buyers to really feel bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Ya…but better than gear up

• viator on May 05, 2017 at 3:49 pm

pehhhh…wat a front grill. would love to meet the designer

• UglyU on May 05, 2017 at 3:49 pm

Please lah TuneD, your design is ugly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 6
  • Much more elegant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
  • Socai (ori) on May 05, 2017 at 3:55 pm

Why PT even bother with this lousy ah beng kit..and separated into 3x different post somemore

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • Ben Yap on May 05, 2017 at 4:14 pm

no increase in power output?

RM5K for cosmetics only… sigh

• azrai on May 05, 2017 at 4:17 pm

April fool on 5th May?

• azrai on May 05, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Should have renamed the company to detune instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • What? on May 05, 2017 at 4:23 pm

Any difference at all?

• Keyless entry ,push start button ,leather seat ,Sharpton antena, ugly bodykit,float paint saga

• Mikey on May 05, 2017 at 4:37 pm

No Need 2 tune here tune there la. That is $$$ Not well spend. Better save some $$$ 4 rainy days ahead.

BTW, when is P1 replacing the aged Preve ??! Better sell all your old stock NOW B4 end of the year or U have 2 give more discounts.

• passion on May 05, 2017 at 5:07 pm

SAAB in da haus. the revival!

• farghmee on May 05, 2017 at 5:13 pm

urghhh

• Zakar Naik Kunta Turun on May 05, 2017 at 5:24 pm

The preve is already underpowered for a turbo powered car. I feel that proton should facelift the current preve, it needs longer wider headlights and the belt line should have a steep gradient which results in a bulky rear.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • civic turbocor on May 06, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Where got underpower? 205Nm goes to 100km/h for around 9 secs

• AhFatt on May 05, 2017 at 5:24 pm

SDAerodynamics Proton Preve bodykit much better laaa…

• Sack designer on May 05, 2017 at 5:40 pm

Sack the designer!

• thepolygonal on May 05, 2017 at 5:42 pm

Syabas… Brabus equivalent for Proton… Berambus

• Aiyo. R3 kit look better than this. Too much chrome. And fugly grille. Remind me of Gen-2 that once rebadge by Youngman. Same level of fugliness.

• Mikey on May 05, 2017 at 6:40 pm

Hehehe. From Brabus(top tuning house) 2 Berambus(go 2 Hell). You’re the Man Bro. Cheers

• wawasan2020 on May 05, 2017 at 6:57 pm

kesimpulan untuk 3 buah biji kereta proton memang susuai dengan nama nya. “Tune Down”. If i were one of the car owner i would rather put on some sticker and happy enough with the outcome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
    • The design that insults ASEAN pipu. Stop this pointless ‘dressing’ and gip what customers want

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 13
  • powershot (Member) on May 05, 2017 at 7:12 pm

Somehow it turned out uglier than the original

• Bernard on May 05, 2017 at 8:00 pm

Nampak macam ribut, lari macam siput…

• Saga does not come with LED headlamps. Thus installation of LED headlamps is consider illegal by JPJ. So this company is promoting illegal stuffs.

• mansurbo on May 06, 2017 at 12:40 am

please upgrade design for rear light..

• One month late for an April fool TuneD. Try again next year.

• AngPow on May 06, 2017 at 9:03 am

its ok laa…not too bad…its family sedan afterall…its not sport car maa…if u want bodykit like sport car u sndiri design laa or spend all your money buying lamborghini…sighhh

• ugly design make the ugly car uglier. look so 90s

• gigi kuning on May 06, 2017 at 11:02 am

Just bought a Hyundai. Good price, and much better quality. Loving it.

Sorry ya, Proton.

• Kelvin on May 06, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Rubbish! The original design is way better

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on May 06, 2017 at 3:58 pm

We decided that the models are interesting enough to have individual posts, rather than having all three in a single post.

FYI, all our Advertorials are clearly marked. This isn’t one.

• Henry on May 06, 2017 at 6:53 pm

IMO, the Preve is a well proportioned nice design. If this car is wearing a Toyota or Honda badge it will be a different proposition altogether. There will be a six month waiting list.

• Concerned Citizen on May 13, 2017 at 1:00 pm

I don’t know how people can be so ungrateful sometimes. You guys keep counting the failures of proton while blinding yourself towards their success stories. Guys, be positive once in a while. Proton is our own country’s brand. In South East Asia, no other countries got their own national carmaker, but we have two companies that we can be proud of!
    Sure, proton got much to learn, but do you think its easy to learn from other companies theae days? Its not like 100 years ago when Toyota or Yamaha went to learn about car and motorcycle in the US. They got it easy. But proton, however difficult, managed to actually stand firm among others.
    Its not easy to manage proton, if you guys think you have better ideas, why dont you create your own brand and see how it goes from there. I bet you guys can tapau toyota or nissan like it is nothing right?

Instead of condemning everything that proton did, how about we give our support to them, be proud for once. You guys are so proud of Japanese brands that you put our own brand into the gutter. Japanese brands are japanese, dude, proton is our brand. When you bash proton, its like you bash your own son while being proud of your neighbor’s son. Cherish what we have today, because you dont know how jealous other people of our country’s brands, be it proton or perodua.