Prasarana has to improve vehicle maintenance – SPAD

Service disruptions and delays have prompted the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) to urge Prasarana to improve its maintenance and inspection procedures, along with its service and safety standards, according to The Sun.

The authority released a statement saying that more stringent procedures would ensure that the company would be able to identify problems early, before they become an inconvenience to commuters. This follows Rapid Rail’s recent announcement that it has grounded several four-car trains last Friday, after safety issues were discovered.

“Although the commission is aware that the suspension of those trains are necessary in the interest of passenger safety, we will closely monitor current remedial actions undertaken by Rapid Rail to ensure that commuters continue to receive reliable services,” SPAD said.

Meanwhile, maintenance of the KL Monorail service is also being given a closer look. “We have requested for Prasarana to submit regular updates of faults detected in the KL Monorail network through their routine maintenance which includes rectification plans and specific timelines for greater oversight and to ensure timely and appropriate actions are taken,” it said.

Train manufacturer Scomi has also been urged to continue to cooperate and fast track the delivery of the remaining seven sets of the new KL Monorail four-car trains, it said. “This is to ensure more frequent trains are available and to improve the capacity of the current KL Monorail fleet to support higher passenger volume at any one time, particularly during peak hours,” it said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Miss Kumquat on May 16, 2017 at 9:53 am

As a daily commuter of this train and their service…..I can say hick-ups and disruption is norm, unfortunately….

Sadly, I had to use this service due to lack of choice. I would skip the service anyway I could, if possible.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
    • Well, theres alwiz bus or Grabuber. But more sensible approach is to plan enuff time for travels and jam packed trains

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
      • Mr Louquat on May 16, 2017 at 2:55 pm

I think LRT would be faster and cheaper than bus and GrabUber during peak hours.
        Bus frequency cannot be compared with LRT, and bus is as pack as LRT. Bus will be stuck in jam, while LRT will pass by smoothly above you.
        GrabUber fare is skyhigh during peak hours, not economical to use it on a daily basis. Still vulnerable to traffic jam.
        LRT will still be a the best option as for now but there are many rooms for improvement on the service and connnectivity.
        Cheers!

• Increased train fares and car prices to free up more funds considering the increasing operating and train maintenance costs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 19
  • Ben Yap on May 16, 2017 at 10:54 am

Prasarana should hand out apology note with time and date stated for break down to riders. with this, the riders can submit to their employer as a proof of their late attendance to work.

• lilytan on May 16, 2017 at 11:10 am

Maintenance money went under the table? A GM was caught, whose next?

• susu kambeng on May 16, 2017 at 11:48 am

its a common thing in Malaysia..system always nak gempak but maintenance always mcm haprak..

• Mr Louquat on May 16, 2017 at 12:16 pm

I thought Prasarana service and repair their trains and tracks every night as claimed by their advert video clip in the LRT LCD display? #bilakltidur

It doesn’t apply to monorail?

• Ah Kow on May 16, 2017 at 12:28 pm

Totally agree with SPAD. Their buses, 4 out 5 buses would have Engine light or other warning light blinking ignored(base on my own experience). 3 out 5 buses have bald tyres. 3 out 5 bus drivers drives like Ah Beng, swerve and jam brake like nobody’s business.

And please la, please improve on your frequency la. This month I don’t know why the frequency went from bad to worst, the crowd at each bus stop can host a huge BBQ party dy.

• Johnson Potien on May 16, 2017 at 1:18 pm

Don’t worry, we will become a developed nation by 2020, in another 2.5yrs!

• TigerKuat on May 16, 2017 at 2:25 pm

Prasarana, one of the largest public-transport companies in Malaysia, with 8000+ staffs STILL NEEDS TO BE TOLD to improve its maintenance???

Something is dead wrong here……

• EU have govs that NEEDS to be told what to do. Whatcha expect?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14