2017 Honda CR-V bookings to open soon – 1.5L VTEC Turbo, six airbags, Honda Sensing active safety tech

It appears that order books for the 2017 Honda CR-V are set to open from June 1, according to this dealer leaflet sent in to us by a paultan.org reader.

In terms of specifications, the CR-V will be offered with a 1.5 litre VTEC Turbo engine, although no exact output figures were provided. For reference, the blown DOHC four-pot makes 190 PS (187 hp) and 240 Nm of torque in the Indonesian-spec CR-V and just announced Australian model range, mated to a CVT automatic.

A naturally-aspirated mill should be offered alongside the turbo mill, likely the R20 2.0 litre SOHC with 155 PS and 190 Nm, similar to that available in Indonesia. In the republic, the turbocharged CR-V is sold as a seven-seater, whereas the NA is a five-seater only model, while Australia will sell the turbo in both five- and seven-seat layouts.

It remains to be seen how the Malaysian-spec CR-V will shape up in terms of engine options, seating configuration and drive systems (2WD, 4WD), or for that matter, variant grades – it could well mirror that available for the Civic, with the NA as a baseline variant, followed by a mid-spec turbo and then high-spec turbo.

A nice surprise here is the first Malaysian debut of the Honda Sensing safety suite on select variants (absent on the Indonesian-spec CR-V), which includes systems like forward collision warning, collision mitigation braking and road departure mitigation. Meanwhile, standard safety features found on the CR-V are vehicle stability assist (VSA) and six airbags.

In terms of equipment, the CR-V will receive LED headlights, LED DRLs and LED tail lights. Smart entry and a push-start button will come as standard on all variants. No details on what else is in store for the all-new CR-V line-up, or pricing for that matter. Therefore, we’ll have to wait for more details tomorrow, but for now, are you interested?

UPDATE: Honda Malaysia has officially announced that bookings for the new 2017 Honda CR-V is now open at all showrooms nationwide.

GALLERY: Honda CR-V 1.5L Turbo Prestige (Indonesian-market variant)

GALLERY: Honda CR-V 2.0L (Indonesian-market variant)

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments mostly focus on the Honda CR-V's specifications, safety features like Honda Sensing, and its competitive pricing. Many express excitement over its debut, especially noting the inclusion of advanced safety tech and the 1.5L Turbo engine. Concerns are raised about the absence of a 7-seater option and the exterior design, with some criticizing the rear aesthetics. There is also discussion about the engine's heritage, with some suggesting it’s based on older technology, though others defend Honda’s reliability and engineering. Other topics include comparisons with competitors, the advantages of open bookings, and calls for more features like Lane Watch. Overall, sentiments are positive regarding Honda’s offerings, but some skepticism about internal engineering and design choices also appear.

• thepolygonal on May 31, 2017 at 6:12 pm

Good news indeed. Honda has been losing this segment to Nissan, now can fight back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 18
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 31, 2017 at 6:41 pm

Finally Honda is doing something right. But I attribute this to the Honda brains who are sharp, focused and have a good business sense.

I can’t say this for DRB though, the assembler of Honda in Malaysia. They are still lembap, lepak and minum teh 8x a day.

I hope DRB wake up from their deep slumber before the Geely CEO comes and give them a good whipping.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 21
      • lotusftw on May 31, 2017 at 9:13 pm

If they lembap minum teh 8x a day the handling of P1 cars are not as good as now. It would be as bad as jepunis cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
      • Medic on May 31, 2017 at 9:48 pm

Wow, you counted how many times they minum teh? Bravo… you must have been jobless too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • Medic on May 31, 2017 at 9:52 pm

Wow…Nicholas Tan must the most.famous car salesman in Malaysia right now… free advertising for him

• Not Toyota Fan on May 31, 2017 at 11:21 pm

Kueh lapis mana? Teh tarik only meh?

• Your comment is contradict for each statement. If Japs who are sharp, focused and have a good business sense but the assembler lepak and minum teh 8x a day, how come this CRV are already here and can be book?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 01, 2017 at 11:07 am

This is the Japanese intelligence making it happen!

And of course, Geely is making the DRB staff wake u from their deep slumber!

• ??? Geely only took over last week, while new CRV was in pipeline for months. How does that compute?

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 01, 2017 at 12:57 pm

This kunta kunte all the time contradict maa…one nick many writers…all want to condemn only…bash here bash there…nothing positive and concrete…so lousy hor…

• There You Go on May 31, 2017 at 7:11 pm

Free advertising for the Honda salesman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 01, 2017 at 12:54 pm

OMG the taillights…cant they make them even more uglier…but kunta kinte said beautiful…so ok lor…kunta is always rite…must listen to him…

• Yalor. Taboleh persoal basher. He alwiz right, cuz he alwiz many self like, hehehe.

Jangan marah marah ye…. :)

• Albert on May 31, 2017 at 6:13 pm

MR.DRB…Honda has collision sensing.
    PROTONG……..has BANKRUPTCY sensing.
    Thats why in order to AVOID LIQUIDATION,Geely has to come in as the WHITE KNIGHT.
    Imagine the few hundred crony suppliers getting paid only rm 1,and asked to contact the liquidator for the balance.
    Honda….the power of dreams
    Protong..the power of nightmarish dreams

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 52
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 31, 2017 at 7:14 pm

Proton and Perodua, pls take note. Honda is giving 6 airbags. Your Saga and Axia/Myvi, besides just 2 airbags, the cars have no VSC even.

Axia is even worse, got no ABS besides no VSC

In Europe, VSC was made compulsory by law 12 years ago. And ABS, about 16 yrs ago.

This means, Malaysians are sold cars with safety spec 16 years outdated.

Remember, Malaysian Government already said, if all cars had VSC, accidents and deaths can be reduced 45%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 12
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 31, 2017 at 7:16 pm

Proton and Perodua, pls take note. Honda is giving 6 airbags. Your Saga and Axia/Myvi, besides just 2 airbags, the cars have no VSC even.

Axia is even worse, got no ABS besides no VSC

In Europe, VSC was made compulsory by law 12 years ago. And ABS, about 16 yrs ago.

This means, Malaysians are sold cars with safety spec 16 years outdated.

Remember, Malaysian Government already said, if all cars had VSC, accidents and deaths can be reduced 45%

By the way, Proton and Honda is under DRB. Why the Protons also got no 6 airbags?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 10
      • Why you dun mention iriz persona with ESC and 6 airbags?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
        • YB Kunta Kinte on May 31, 2017 at 8:54 pm

cause majority of Proton buyers buy the Saga. Iriz is a failure with near ZERO sales and Persona is too pricey for most Malaysians seeking a Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 34
          • my england is bad on May 31, 2017 at 9:09 pm

Wa so intelligent la this guy twisting, oi compare iriz persona with crv memang bodo. Even honda a segment brio dun VSA!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
          • Like this why u dun say my P2 is deathtrap cuz most pipu buy driving skool spec Biza, huh?

• siann on Jun 01, 2017 at 5:04 am

Sian staying in very remote area mau claim Iriz near zero sales

• Persona is around 40, even wira was around that price donkey years ago. Too pricey is false claim

• jinggo on Jun 01, 2017 at 8:22 am

Iriz near zero sale? But why there are many iriz on the road today? Haters always hate. LOL

• labix7 on May 31, 2017 at 10:01 pm

bcoz haters cannot accept proton is better than their own lousy car

• That 1.5 turbo engine that almost every Malaysian is jizzing about is taken from the old 1.5 vtecs that used to run in the city generation 2 10 years ago… u try to order a spare parts and see la bang…
    it sounds like I’m bashing honda without any base but i’m just tired with how honda Malaysia is getting away with mediocre products….this is a fact…through clever rebranding and updating ‘enough’ parts…
    Honda has managed to extend the lifecycle of their engineering for 2-3 generations…

that’s not necessarily a bad thing and lots do it..but Honda has managed to stretch it through 3 lifecycles (and people go insane about vios having same engine and gearbox..this practice is an entire brand and range of cars!).. that r and k series engine in the hrv, accord etc also dinosaur age d…the earth dreams is just a new name and ec and injectors..even the cvt gearboxes they use are of an older type compared to Nissan etc..
    Ok so engineering lama d…how about design bro??..Look at that CRV..that rear end is hideous…the civic is hideous after looking at it for more than 10 seconds..The hrv looks like a jinjang mobile….the only sorted design in the range is city/jazz and maybe the accord

but……….because most Malaysians jizz at anything with an H badge on it..just like their fathers and older siblings did about 10 years ago with the ‘T’ symbol… this under engineered under specced Malacca piles of metal rubbish will still sell…. now that they got active sense and airbags..all gonna jizz maximum….Those that in the know..will understand what I’m saying…sadly..most won’t and think I’m a bashing rival brand salesman…… Sekian…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 129
    • Sadly your knowledge on the new 1.5 Turbo engine is not correct. Next time you want to act intelligent, please note that other readers here have decades in Automotive knowledge from the industry. Thank you.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 9
    • kuntu kuntu on May 31, 2017 at 6:33 pm

Honda is reliable

Honda has good RV

Honda looks okay

Honda drives okay

All of these reasons tick with Malaysians

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 21
    • Oh wow strong language you have there. Bentley charges people RM2million for whats essentially the same 6 3/4 litre V8 since the Beetles was president and no one bets an eye? An piston engine does the same job from your humble Myvi to the magnificent LaFerrari, air and fuel goes in, sparks go off and boom! And regardless if its using the L15 as Honda’s of ye grand parents the end result is that it has adequate performace with excelent reliability. What you expect Honda to throw in a hybrid Quad Turbo V12 into their family oriented SUV. Even than i doubt it’ll calm whatever distaste you have to Honda cars.

The fact of the matter is People in malaysia buy Honda for a reason, they are well packaged cars at a good price supported by an extensive dealer network. If you want to be a contrarian, get yourself an Alfa and spend the great time marveling its exquisite Italian engineering by the roadside because you’ll be doing alot of that. No hate man, just giving you a better depth of the situation.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
      • Alfasud on May 31, 2017 at 11:05 pm

Do you even own an alfa to make a general consensus alfa is unreliable shit? I own an Alfa and VW. My VW have more reliability issue than myy Alfa selespeed.

• Ah, i was about to use VW as an example but theres nothing contrarian of a VW owner. And well this is probably the first time i’am hearing praises of Alfa reliability, perhaps compared to the infamous DSG, or perhaps meeting with owners of older Alfa more often than 156/159.

• Vios lol.

• Sonyman1 on May 31, 2017 at 7:18 pm

what a pity

• hazamiey on May 31, 2017 at 7:19 pm

are u on drugs?

• BeemerFreak on May 31, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Clever way to make yourself famous……by saying things that people don’t want to hear or talking rubbish. I admire your solidarity.

• Wow.. That is some very smart engineering idea you got there. You thought is just take the old L15A engine and magically turn it from a SOHC engine to a DOHC engine by just adding 1 more cam . Then magically transform port injection to direct injection . Last but not least, get a bolt on turbo and slap onto the engine then call it a day . Bravo!!! That will end up just like what Campro Turbo is with only 130+hp for 100cc extra from the Honda L15B turbo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • lol tolol on May 31, 2017 at 8:09 pm

bang dat one is normal 1.5 n.a engine..this one is a 1.5 turbo..and if im not mistaken, the churned out power is different with civic.Get ur facts right first.Is either u r one of the x laku salesman brand or x laku no resale value brand…or even worse now china made car..

• John Ohwai Mental Asylum on May 31, 2017 at 10:04 pm

are you john ohwai? Cause you sound like john ohwai! He is king of dupes. I think LOL is another dupe of john ohwai

• Not Toyota Fan on May 31, 2017 at 11:09 pm

Really LOL lah you.

Yes, the current 1.5L Turbo (L15B7) is based on the same platform as the “old” City (L15A), perhaps sharing the same engine block but many other internal workings are vastly different.

Manufacturers usually will use a robust & reliable engine block & further improve upon the inner workings to squeeze more & more from it, till the engine end of life cycle, which maybe decades away.

BMW, in 1987 launched the E36 3 series with the in line 4 cylinder 1.8L M40 engine. That same block in 2001 is used to produce the 2.0L N42 engine, the first BMW with electronic variable valve lift (valvetronic). The very same block in 2011 is used to produce the 2.0L N20 engine, a direct injection twin scroll turbo. That’s a THIRTY YEAR old engine block, into FOUR generations of 3 series & still not end of life cycle yet.

And Honda is “old enginnering”???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
      • I do agree that the engine could be from 1.5 NA but the technology could have evolved from 1.5NA to 1.5 turbo charged over years. That’s what R&D about. The technology would not simply pop out of thin air. Smart comment but not that smart.

• Ahock on Jun 01, 2017 at 2:18 am

Well equipped finally, but this thing is really fat & fugly to look at.

• Maria on May 31, 2017 at 6:26 pm

Wow wow wow !!! Congratulation to Honda for providing Honda Sensing for CRV which is first for Malaysia and yet not available in other SEA market…Now could Honda bring the diesel to Malaysia please??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • totota on May 31, 2017 at 6:34 pm

great job honda malaysia..great safety features..hope the selling price not dissapointed…

• The rear exterior design looks like it was designed in China 10 years back. This must be the ugliest rear design of all SUV in the market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • hyundai89 on May 31, 2017 at 6:37 pm

wish honda malaysia put lanewatch into CRV & civic..its usefull

• Lanekeep Assist is better. Stops idiots from swerving out of lanes and force them use signal when changing.

• If they don’t rave about having 7 seats in the brochure most likely it won’t come with them. Remember xtrail brochure? 7 seats were prominently promoted

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
    • A.shamsuddin on May 31, 2017 at 9:41 pm

Exactly what I’ve been looking for in the article. Thanks for pointing that out

• doesnotmatter on May 31, 2017 at 7:00 pm

nicholas tan is famous liao

• paparadzi (Member) on May 31, 2017 at 7:09 pm

“A nice surprise here is the first Malaysian debut of the Honda Sensing safety suite on select variants (absent on the Indonesian-spec CR-V), which includes systems like forward collision warning, collision mitigation braking and road departure mitigation.”

Congratulations. Hopefully, other car makers will follow soon and stop dumbing-down their vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • william on May 31, 2017 at 10:12 pm

2017 gonna be a battle crv vs cx5

• william on May 31, 2017 at 10:19 pm

2 big drawback for crv
    misplaced gear , same as myvi
    unappealing exterior, unlike civic

• Well done, Honda Malaysia for bringing in Honda sensing here, hope to see that at least the lane watch will be added on civic turbo. And UMW its time to wake up, put Toyota Safety Sense P (TSS-P) on coming CHR here and price it right, no more 2 airbags on non-full spec toyota pls.

• Mokmok on May 31, 2017 at 11:24 pm

Err..no 7 seats?

• Lucky Gong on Jun 01, 2017 at 1:54 am

1.5 Turbo Prestige -4WD selling below 145k? If yes, then lets get 1.

• carazy on Jun 01, 2017 at 7:09 am

Pls be 7 seats honda!! if not I hv to buy nissan :(

• MusTanG on Jun 01, 2017 at 8:51 am

Honda sensing lol. Ioniq did that with only rm100k.

Try ask Honda la why Civic in Malaysia doesn’t use the same material as Civic in US

• camtakpro on Jun 01, 2017 at 9:48 am

The issue here is none of those CRV competitors have these yet. Just checked on Toyota, Nissan, Kia, Hyundai, Peugeot, Ford … none.

• Pity if they do not offer 7-seater (5+2) variant. Having said that, if they dare to offer RM140K for 5-seater it could be a win for new CRV buyer.

RM140K something alien for H-worshippers BUT in more advance Australia the crossover merely starting just at RM97K. Is Malaysians generally richer by RM43K?

• meejawa on Jun 01, 2017 at 9:52 am

Did anyone see the gear lever????? Reminds you of ANYTHING????? Plesepleasepleaseplesaseplease Honda Malaysia please replace this with something more kid-friendly….

• I don’t understand what’s the advantages of open booking for buyer? Don’t even see the car yet and knowing the price. This only benefits the car dealer collecting your hard earn money n place into the bank for interest.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 01, 2017 at 11:47 am

wait for new cx5

• klguy on Jun 01, 2017 at 1:21 pm

leader??? for what? Ugly SUVs?

• Andy Chong on Jun 01, 2017 at 3:54 pm

This could be my very First Honda

• Toy-ota on Jun 01, 2017 at 7:42 pm

Honda salesman told me crv awd is far more better than Subaru forester..is that true?

• Mikey on Jun 01, 2017 at 9:15 pm

Now that a precedent has been set on the name & H/Phone numbers, will there be further numbers & names to follow for other cars/brands?! It is a Gud advertisement 4 that chap by the name of NT.

• so confirm no 7 seater?

• Endra on Jun 05, 2017 at 10:44 am

What is the price of this new Honda CR-V (all specs)? Is there any estimation or should we wait for launch date?
    thank you.

• Endra on Jun 05, 2017 at 10:44 am

What is the price of this new Honda CR-V (all specs)?
    thank you.