2017 Kia Rio – fourth-gen hatch spotted in Malaysia

The 2017 Kia Rio has been spotted in Malaysia, roaming in Putrajaya. This rear pic, sent in by reader Amirul, is clearly of the upcoming car – the fourth-gen Rio’s “triple boomerang” rear LED signatures and more angular styling are evident.

It’s about time, as earlier this year Kia told us that the B-segment hatchback would arrive by Q2, and we’re deep into the second quarter of the year now. A slight delay to the next quarter perhaps?

We’re set to get an all-new generation that will retain the familiar mechanical package – a 1.4 litre naturally-aspirated petrol engine with a four-speed torque converter automatic.

This is the same package offered in Australia as well (where a six-speed manual is also available), unlike the direct-injection 1.0 litre petrol turbo and 1.4 litre turbodiesel motors on sale in Europe. The 1.4L NA with 4AT is also offered in the Continent, for the rare few with no desire or ability to self shift.

The new Rio was launched in Indonesia at the recent IIMS 2017 show. There, the Rio comes with the above-mentioned Dual CVVT 1.4L motor (100 PS and 133 Nm) and four-speed auto, with the added choice of a six-speed manual gearbox.

Our neighbours get a modestly-kitted Rio, and we expect ours to be better stocked with equipment, in keeping with the trend Naza Kia Malaysia has set. There, prices here start from 250 million rupiah (RM80,332) for a South Korean CBU import.

GALLERY: Kia Rio 1.4 MT, Indonesian spec

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 05, 2017 at 10:42 am

RM80k for a small B segment car? Something must be wrong with Malaysia and something must be wrong with the currency Ringgit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
  • Mikey on Jun 05, 2017 at 10:58 am

The KIA Rio is a capable B-segment car that has its own customers base but I’m afraid the 4-speed auto is a Big letdown. This is 2017 Kia NOT 2007.

• lolcapable on Jun 05, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Capable is an overstatement… Myvi 1.5l, bezza 1.3l, has probably more pickup than this turtle… Weak engine and weak transmission combo = no pickup and extremely poor fuel consumption. All the past generation mostly reported 12km/l AVG highway… that is equivalent to a D-segment sedan… This car forgoes performance for creature comfort. Buyers beware.

• Andrekua on Jun 06, 2017 at 7:06 am

If you don’t own the car, then don’t report FC figures.

All Korean cars suffer bad FC for city drive, not highway. Therefore your figure is wrong.

And if you’re wondering, I bought one for my wife.

• lao yee on Jun 05, 2017 at 11:37 am

Did they get legal letter from Volkswagen’s Golf design department?

• Shift on Jun 05, 2017 at 12:42 pm

Most definitely be a rare car to be seen on Malaysian roads. 4 speeders don’t sell especially priced at 80k+

• Andrekua on Jun 06, 2017 at 7:09 am

All those Vios must be fakes… LOL

Korean car usually have mega sale.

• Ben Yap on Jun 05, 2017 at 3:13 pm

Am i in a time capsule? are we in the 80s? 4 speeder? OMG!!

• lolcivet on Jun 05, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Keep complaining 4 speed, they keep shoving crappy CVT at our faces.

• camtakpro on Jun 05, 2017 at 8:44 pm

Kia don’t have CVT. The next thing they have are dual-clutch or 6 speed auto.

• This is a attractive nice car but too bad the 1.4 liter and 4 speed gearbox makes this car underpower and not that attractive.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 05, 2017 at 11:18 pm

i think it would be overpriced and underspecced