Rubberised roads – first serial project starts in August

Malaysia is hoping to implement the construction of rubberised roads on a wider scale in a bid to build more durable roads and boost domestic rubber consumption. While still at the experimental stage at present, the government says that the ongoing study is yielding positive results, and it’s looking like the project will eventually take flight on a broader scale, Bernama reports.

The past two years has seen the Malaysian Rubber Board (MRB) and Public Works Department (JKR) involved in a joint study to determine the effectiveness of using cup lump modified asphalt (CMA) for road construction or resurfacing works.

Cup lump is naturally-coagulated rubber obtained directly from rubber trees without going through any manufacturing process. Conventional bitumen is then added to the cup lumps and this, when mixed with asphalt, results in CMA.

Tests on CMA are being conducted at three road sites, in Tampin, Negeri Sembilan; Baling, Kedah; and Temerloh, Pahang. The study has been yielding positive results so far, and now a stretch of Federal Road FT 001 will implement CMA in a section of its construction.

A 10 km-long stretch of the 40 km route from Kampung Desa Bertemu Jodoh to Kampung Kwong Sai in Segamat, Johor, is set be resurfaced using CMA, effectively making it the first stretch of road in the country to be resurfaced using the technology. Work is expected to start in August, and the project will mark Malaysia as the first country in the world to use CMA technology, MRB says.

It has been previously reported that rubberised roads are more durable and can bear heavier loads. The new material is also said to be more resistant to higher temperatures than conventional bitumen.

While the cost of road construction using CMA is higher at RM53.60 per metre compared to RM29.90 a metre using the conventional method, long-term maintenance of CMA roads will be cheaper in the long run compared to the tarmac equivalent.

The report adds that with CMA requiring an estimated 4.2 tonnes of coagulated rubber for every kilometre of road, the project is expected to act as a stimulus to the flagging rubber industry and renew the hopes of the 440,000 or so rubber smallholders impacted by the commodity’s weak pricing in recent years.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Abis turap jalan dgn CMA arinie besok kontraktor mai korek hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 06, 2017 at 9:22 pm

Before they do this rubber roads, why don’t you patch up the potholes in Klang Valley first.

Shockingly, the road to Sri Hartamas, heading to Publika, passing beside Agong’s palace got so many potholes.

This is how brave our DBKL. Even the road that Agong uses also has huge potholes and cracks and they are not bothered.

Why should DBKL even bother with normal people complaining about potholes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 18
      • It’s not like Malaysians are rich like the Arabs and use supercars so why bother?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
        • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 06, 2017 at 10:39 pm

another dumb statement. Nothing to do with supercars. All of us, no matter how poor, love our cars and do not want our cars to be damaged.

You mean a Proton Saga cannot get damaged in a pothole?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
      • Peter on Jun 07, 2017 at 1:41 am

Speaking of this, spitting chewing gum on it should be welcomed as this should only enhanced it ;)

• Kow Kow on Jun 07, 2017 at 8:13 am

Haha thats funny but too bad it will stick to your tyre instead, I guarantee it.

• Bouncy Road on Jun 07, 2017 at 1:21 am

You beat me to it la. Syabas kena korek sebab nak pasang paip. Minggu depan TNB korek sebab nak pasang power cable. And each other will shoddily patch up the road. So out of two years use we will only use it in pristine condition for two months only. I guess the point is its good effort but almost no point without proper planning. So two steps forward one step back

• Must see if water retain more longer on road or not cuz rubber is water proof

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • camtakpro on Jun 06, 2017 at 4:02 pm

Who cares about long term maintenance cheaper? Tolls price will be increased at least two-fold and money is collected every day regardless whether there are maintenance or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Toll increase is irrespective of maintenance cost, cuz it stated in contract. Who signed the contracts? That geriatric on the other side.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
    • Albert on Jun 06, 2017 at 6:34 pm

You said perfectly absolutely right.
      Imagine,gomen gives greenlight to all privatised toll operators to use this material.
      In the name of cheaper maintenance,toll users will be paying a bomb.
      Look at the current toll and federal roads…not maintained up to standard and still sucking road tax and high toll charges.

• Ah Kow on Jun 06, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Is this CMA thingy pothole proof? If yes, by all means go ahead and CMA the entire nation. Voila! Pothole free roads yeh yeh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • If want pothole proof roads, theres alwiz concrete type. But ur not gonna like the ride.

• Ah Kow on Jun 07, 2017 at 8:11 am

As far as i know, correct me if I’m wrong, concrete roads although more durable but safety wise, asphalt provides more grip during rainy days, and asphalt is far cheaper than concrete. Concrete road are noisy and slightly bumpier than asphalt.

• If concrete is roughen up according to spec, it shud be almost same same grip with tarmac. But like I said bumpiness & noise will be very bad.

• Steven on Jun 18, 2017 at 10:36 am

We should learn from others countries, make concrete roads for the slow lanes. Because majority of this lane user are heavy trucks and bumpiness & noise is not their worry. Pot holes are their problems as it break their tires

• Kucing Siam Kembar on Jun 06, 2017 at 5:45 pm

In Mesia, if normal typical tarmac oso cannot maintained properly (with lots of potholes, unevenness, poor adherence, sub-quality base, etc…..I really have serious doubts whether this rubberised road ever gonna work….

• Finally, a good initiative, a locally created solution that benefits the rubber industry, rubber small holder etc..so long as during rain it does not retains water on the road and reduced occurrence of potholes, go for it..

• Will our cars bounce?

• Roland on Jun 06, 2017 at 6:12 pm

Renew the hopes of the 440,000 or so rubber smallholders impacted by the commodity’s weak pricing in recent years? Not going to happen.

The country doesn’t even have the rights to the closing price of the rubber commodity around the world. Oh, right. They sold the rights. To who? Whichever country they sold the rights of the rubber closing price, well, they are certainly trumping the value, downward.

• If u have any inkling to commodities market, nobody really have any overriding rights over it, except for the control by trading houses which traditionally is NEVER in Asia. If anybody have some sorta control, its by the biggest rubber producer which is, well, the originator of rubber trees: Brazil.

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Jun 06, 2017 at 6:40 pm

There’s one small part of the road after Kajang toll heading out to KL direction are on CMA if not mistaken. That part of the road gripped very well on wet day because no more water patch.

On a more serious note, whoever makan this project everyone knows who will be behind it and making money out of it.

• superbird #43 on Jun 06, 2017 at 7:12 pm

i think it would be wise to patch first the existing potholes with rubberised compound…
    we have lots and lots of them all over the malaysian roads….

• awg1031 on Jun 06, 2017 at 8:22 pm

all thing want to bash..stupid malaysian

• 29.90 to 53.60…. Citizens money …. Here we go again

• As long as its innovative, uses renewable resource, local produced, and as above said -better grip; meaning more safety, why not spend citizens money to BENEFIT citizens?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Aniki Tan on Jun 06, 2017 at 9:20 pm

I’m wondering if wearing slipper and cross this kinda rubberized road under hot sun…

• What a waste of rubber. I rather they use the excess rubber to make more tyres. Given incentives to manufacture tyre locally since so much excess rubber. Cheaper tyres for everyone. And ban rethreaded tyres totally.

• Tyre price is not cuz of rubber material but cuz of tyre tech & thread pattern IP rights. Somemore manufacturing and selling it requires more resource than just cheap rubber.
      And what were gonna do with all that mountains of used tyres later?

• nasihat on Jun 07, 2017 at 12:59 pm

Dearest Malaysian road users ,
    Pls do something not to let the road to be rubberised. We done that on Singapore roads before. More accident are caused especially when the road are wet . It s extremely slippery. We resurfaced back the road using tarmac ( and of course , they never claimed how dangerous rubberised roads are despite of no waterpooling after rain ) . Asked around if you don t believed me .
    For the sake of safety , I sincerely begged Malaysian motorist ,pls do not let them to continue with this implementation.