At present, the Kejara demerit points system only punishes two traffic offences – speeding and beating the red light. But if all goes to plan, there will be 23 offences on the list by next year. The Star reports that the Road Transport Department (JPJ) will add 21 more offences to the demerit system by the end of 2017.

“As of now, the demerit system only applies to speeding and beating the red light. These new offences will be included once the upgrading of JPJ’s MySikap system is complete,” Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said, adding that the new offen­ces include using mobile phones while driving, not wearing safety belts, drink driving, using the emergency lane, driving under the influence and commercial vehicle overloading.

The minister also reminded that seven new Automated Enforcement System (AES) cameras have been installed, including four along the North-South Expressway – KM 146.8 and KM 151.4 marks near Pagoh (Johor), KM 299.9 mark near Kampar (Perak), and the KM 96.3 mark near Kuala Muda (Kedah).

Click to enlarge

The other three new speed cameras can be found at the KM 17 mark of the Gua Musang-Kuala Krai highway, as well as on the East Coast Expressway Phase 2 (LPT2), at the KM 256.1 and KM 288.6 marks.

Liow lamented the country’s high accident rate – 7,152 people were killed on our roads last year. “A majority of those killed (62.7%) were motorcyclists. We need to internalise road safety as a part of our culture as accidents lower the productivity of the country, and our calculations show we lose about RM9 billion in productivity due to road accidents,” he said.