Road users advised to check Kejara demerit points amount with JPJ – transport minister Liow Tiong Lai

With the Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) – which integrates both AES (Automated Enforcement System) and the Kejara demerit points system – now in effect, road users are advised to check if they’ve picked up any demerit points on their licence with the Road Transport Department (JPJ).

“We don’t want to penalise anybody (unnecessarily) but we need to have this strict enforcement so that it becomes a culture, and it will actually enhance road safety culture among Malaysians,” said transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai in a report by Bernama.

Under the new system, road users can be awarded demerit points should the commit any one of 23 traffic offences. There are different stages under Kejara, each with a maximum point limit of 20. Hit the first 20, and you’ll receive a warning plus any extra points will be carried forward to the next stage.

Should you rack up another 20 points in the second stage, your licence will be suspended not less than six months and not exceeding 12 months. Any points beyond the 20 in this stage will be omitted, and road users can reduce the duration of the suspension by attending “driving rehab” courses.

In the subsequent stages – three and four – obtaining another 20 points in each will result in a licence suspension of between eight to ten months and 10 to 12 months, respectively. However, your licence will be revoked should it be suspended three times within five years. Probationary drivers aren’t spared either, as their first 20 points will result in an immediate revocation of their licence.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Hi Gerald, any idea how to check with JPJ?
    A: visit JPJ
    B: call JPJ
    C: check Website
    D: do nothing. Just wait until received letter

• Gerard Lye (Member) on Apr 17, 2017 at 12:08 pm

You can perform the check via MyEG but as of now, the system appears to be unavailable. I was shown this message when I tried:

“KEJARA result is unavailable at the moment. Kindly email to [email protected] for further assistance. We apologise for the inconvenience.”

• Ollie on Apr 17, 2017 at 12:10 pm

Until now the 23 offences are not specified on JPJ website. They only mention speeding and beating red light. No mention of how many points for both of these. Useless information

• Just follow current road rules is so difficult ke?

• Ollie on Apr 17, 2017 at 1:39 pm

The system should serve a purpose. They are launching with no information on what constitutes a points deduction. Its pretty much certain that some members of society will not be affected at all, the society of AMGs, Ferraris and Bentleys who speed, cut lanes, park anywhere with no regard and collect 10 summons a month with no payment in sight. I know people with 20 summons outstanding and face no issues driving around as they ‘somehow’ don’t get caught at roadblocks. Zero transparency, zero use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Make It Fair to Owner of Vehicle on Apr 17, 2017 at 12:32 pm

What if a friend and a relative borrows you car, and your friend overspeed and a AES camera snaps your car’s plate no, will you get penalised by the system? It is not fair to the innocent owner.

• AES not only snaps no plate, it oso take mugshot of the driver. Car owner no choice but to pay, and shud then rage at fren/relative why dun take care when use his car. If u know ur fren/relative is irresponsible person, then why borrow in 1st place?

• david on Apr 17, 2017 at 2:46 pm

because in japan, if they cant prove that you are the one driving, then you are scott free

• Well, it has to start anyhow or else Malaysian drivers would never learn. All it take is observing the road rules, but if you are the “rules are there to be broken” type of person, then it’s all your fault.

• alldisc on Apr 17, 2017 at 3:27 pm

i agree with you fird. lets start by respecting the law first. if you can do that, the law wont respect you. and you want people to treat you with respect? address you with honour? start by giving respect.

• awg1031 on Apr 17, 2017 at 12:56 pm

keep firm with your enforcement and rules..

it’s been too long reckless driving esp. on the highway by our drivers..these 2 years are the worst since the introduction of ‘turbo’on the medium class car..now everyone want to drive fast2..gila la driving on PLUS this days

• rally_fan (Member) on Apr 18, 2017 at 2:32 pm

strangely enuf.. i constantly find myself being overtaken on the highway by myvis, axias, alzas, and now even bezas.. not a turbo in sight…

• nazamudeen on Apr 17, 2017 at 1:35 pm

Where is the enforcement or added cameras ?
    Come over to Subang , Shah Alam & Klang.
    Motorist and especially motobikes don’t give a damn about traffic lights. King of the roads.
    Still at their usual self , even riding on the Federal Highway when motorcycle lane is provided.

• Gaviny on Apr 17, 2017 at 1:37 pm

Honestly , I have never been asked for license in over 20 years of driving , even forget to renew for more than a year . So what effectiveness are they expecting if there isn’t a real.need to have a valid license ?

• then consider yourself lucky for now, but just don’t push your luck, you might end up regretting it for life.

• Gaviny on Apr 17, 2017 at 5:09 pm

I bet I throw a stone it will hit someone who doesn’t have a valid license

• Bolehland BoldclaimTechnology© on Apr 17, 2017 at 5:59 pm

I will wait until I have -1000 points before I check.

• UMW TOYOTA on Apr 17, 2017 at 10:45 pm

sabah no AES.hahaha

• komarad on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:24 am

check out at kota damansara… there are few traffic lights that solely for entering hypermarket and apartment only…and the hypermarket already closed down yet traffic light still turn green for it… yet no car can enter as it already closed down resulting to unnecessary traffic jammed…