Drivers to lose licence after 100 Kejara points – report

Consider yourselves warned – those who rack up 100 Kejara demerit points under the new Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) will have their driving licences revoked, according to The Sun. The same will be true for those who reach 80 points and have had their licences suspended three times in five years.

Initially, only two offences – speeding and running the red light – will result in demerit points being added when the system comes into force on April 15, with running the red light doling four points for private drivers and six for commercial vehicle drivers.

Meanwhile, exceeding the speed limit between one and 40 km/h will result in between two and four demerit points for private drivers and between four and six points for commercial vehicle drivers. Road Transport Department (JPJ) director-general Datuk Seri Nadzri Siron said that another 21 offences will be added to the Kejara system in phases before the end of the year.

Nadzri also said that motorists will be issued a warning when they get the first 20 points, and will face a licence suspension of between six and 12 months if they get 60 points. They will also have their licence revoked if they reach 80 points within five years, or 100 points at any time, he said. Probationary drivers will also lose their licence once they receive their first 20 points.

Motorists who lose their licence will be banned from driving after handing over their licence to JPJ, or 21 days after a notice of revocation has been issued. Those caught driving without a valid licence could be jailed for up to three years and be fined between RM3,000 and RM10,000.

Offenders will only be able to reapply for a new licence a year after their previous licence is revoked, and will have to undergo both written and practical driving tests. However, Nadzri added that drivers who hold less than 20 points will get 50% of their points docked off if they attend a JPJ “rehabilitation” course on road traffic safety, or stay clear of traffic summonses for over a year.

Nadzri said that AWAS is aimed at instilling awareness and adherence to road traffic safety, adding that similar systems in countries like the United Kingdom, Australia, Germany, Canada and Singapore have been shown to reduce road accidents and fatalities.

The Sun reported that Malaysia’s road accident fatalities were among the highest in the world with around 7,000 people being killed each year – about 60% of which being motorcyclists and pillion riders.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Booo! Not cool!

Raise the national speed limit to 150kmh for certain cars with a minimum engine horsepower and above!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 34
  • Aryatama on Apr 07, 2017 at 10:09 am

Polis should have demerit points and for each time they accept duit kopi they will lose points. When they lose 100 points they will lose their job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
    • Polis receiving kopi DO NOT GET a 2nd chance. They straight go to court and lose their job. So shud kesian polis?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • That’s why not every driver is police. Police is more special. This punishment is fair to them.

• thepolygonal on Apr 07, 2017 at 10:15 am

I fully support this! VERY GOOD!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • What safety? on Apr 07, 2017 at 10:20 am

Dear JPJ, please do a mass-nationwide education campaign about this Kejara and AWAS things. Educate the public first about this new system. This system will be more effective if JPJ explains the rules and consequences clearly to the public, and the public awares of this thing happening. If you actually ask the public about this Kejara and AWAS things, most still don’t have any idea about this new system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • C. P. MOHAN on Apr 07, 2017 at 10:21 am

Hope system is transparent enough to avoid abuses. BTW are the fatalities due to speeding and beating red light.

• “The Sun reported that Malaysia’s road accident fatalities were among the highest in the world with around 7,000 people being killed each year – about 60% of which being motorcyclists and pillion riders.”

Just out curiosity will these cameras captures motorcycles as well because i’ve seen motorcyclist speeding at AES camera and it didn’t capture shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Kerajaan tengah xde duit ni woiiiii!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Bolehland BoldclaimTechnology© on Apr 07, 2017 at 10:34 am

Similar systems to United Kingdom, Australia, Germany, Canada and Singapore? Bold statement, but the thing is you copy their system but their polis don’t take duit kopi. Bolehland always boast bold claims but in the end nothing will happen. Just like the Proton deal. Say have foreign partner until now also don’t have. Geely boss said not interested, yet still want to boldly claim they are still bidding for Proton. This country’s statements and claims are all talk and no show. That’s why we are behind Singapore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • john is otak batu on Apr 07, 2017 at 10:56 am

good. there will be lesser and lesser cars from time to time as they are forced to take public transport incl grab uber. or else, drive responsibly, drive defensively and respect other road users. dont cut queues, dont tailgate, dont make other cars brake out of a sudden to prevent hitting you, dont stop in yellow boxes, dont double park, dont get crazy when ppl drive 120kmh in highway (and you are doing 180kmh) – its called respect and not everybody want to die fast as you. if you are late its your fault for not leaving early. if you like driving fast, join track day events bcoz its safer for you. otherwise you are just some morons who want to show off with your fast car.

lesser cars means reduced traffic jams (not by much but whatever) and most importantly less stress for other sensible road users.

last but not least – remove those who are reluctant to use signals when turning or changing lanes (include overtaking on 2 way A or B roads). i believe JPJ can remove 5,000 cars in a day for this offense. and in 2 months time – no more traffic jams in KL/penang/JB.

hooray!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • BLT_Club on Apr 07, 2017 at 3:07 pm

If you want to drive 120km/h and hog the right lane, go dai far far pls. Nowadays good cars can cruise 180km/h no probs

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
    • alldisc on Apr 08, 2017 at 9:27 am

The right lane of the highway is for overtaking. It does not mean that driving at 110km/h and hog the right lane is correct. Same goes to normal roads where hoggers drive at 60-70km/h on a 90km/h road. Without road hoggers then there would be a lot less tailgating, flashing of headlights, overtaking from the left lane. Road hoggers should be fined just like speeding cars as they hold up traffic and pose additional risk to other road users. If road hoggers does not respect the many other vehicles they are holding up behind them do you think all the other vehicles will respect them??

• Izhar on Apr 08, 2017 at 11:11 pm

Hey stupid… so the 120 km driver have to zig zag often because want to give youu 180kmh car to pass by. Now im gonna drive 200kmh… please dai necause your 180kmh car is hogging me.

• alldisc on Apr 10, 2017 at 12:29 pm

Man you are so smart. Which part of “right lane is for overtaking” you don’t understand?? If i drive at 180km/h and the car behind me is clearly driving faster obviously I will give way as I’m not a road hogger.
          From your smart statement you obviously are one of those drivers that hogs the fast lane thus causing a long queue to build up and remain oblivious and actually feels proud about it am i right?
          So yes if you drive at 120km/h please do zig zag between the lanes. Tell me whats the point of speeding at 120 and still getting a ticket for speeding anyway instead of obeying the law and stick to 110 at the middle lane?

• Then you have to tell me if the 180km/h go back to the left lane after cutting.

If no, then no matter how fast you are, you still hogging, right?

Think yourself and think others.

• Ollie on Apr 11, 2017 at 4:35 pm

Right you are.. And since everyone says women drivers are the worst.. where are they here? Everyone complaining about bad driving habits and afraid of demerit points are MEN!!

• safety 1st on Apr 07, 2017 at 10:57 am

Kejara kejora whatever the name you call it, end of the day it boils down to enforcement. Just got back from south korea and driven about 2k km within 7 days of staying there, I can tell you there are thousands of speed cam all over the city as well as the highways that it took me 8 hours to drive from busan to seoul (about 400km distant only) coz most of the intercity road are either 30km/w-60km/h and the highway are at 100km/h and 110km/h and all cars abide by the speed limit since there are so many speed cam.

• Sofwan on Apr 07, 2017 at 4:40 pm

Shows how the silly Koreans know how to waste time. Why not emulate the Germans who drive fast but safely with low accident stats or fatalities. Scrap the motorbikes from the data and observe how the Malaysian fatality rates drop to levels in sync with normal.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • Does this apply to cars and commercial vehicles only? How about motorbikes?

• Askedu on Apr 07, 2017 at 12:33 pm

less ‘pelesit’ on the road.

• Albert (Ori) on Apr 07, 2017 at 1:26 pm

60 percent of offenders…..motorcyclist and pillion riders.
    This should be the main target besides commercial vehicles.
    Have u seen 4 on a bike? Father,mum,2 children all riding a kapchai to school or usually in the suburbs?
    Our dear menteri,pls go on your daily rounds to any school to do your job.Dont just eat gaji buta.

• BLT_Club on Apr 07, 2017 at 3:02 pm

Caya la. More moolah for cronies. They drive Conti, rakyat drive crappyshit Proton and Perodua. Terima Kasih 47%. Offenders will only be able to reapply for a new licence a year after their previous licence is revoked, and will have to undergo both written and practical driving tests.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • Is motorcycle included also in the demerits points?

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on Apr 07, 2017 at 8:32 pm

We already have 50% of people on the road without license. Whats the issue ? The group just gets bigger.

• roslida on Apr 08, 2017 at 10:36 am

JPJ should demerit themselves for being so bangang…this is not 1800s or 1900s where cars move at 50kmh max. Nowadays cars are designed with host of safety features to minimise accidents, they should instead increase speed limit. I guess they are all bangang that’s their proposal or implementation looks so childish. Even a tadika student can do much way better than these katak under the tempurung mindset.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
    • Izhar on Apr 08, 2017 at 11:15 pm

Hey bangang what model of cars you mean? Is it myvi 1.5?

• Mak rosalinda Hijau on Apr 21, 2017 at 4:36 pm

You should be demerit from this world! our speed limit are not based on the car that we use these days! its base on the type of road that we have, the material that we use to build our tar road. they use different type of TAR material on F1 track so that it will support higher speed.

• Kenny Tan on Apr 08, 2017 at 10:55 am

I fully supported the AWAS points system.

• Izhar on Apr 08, 2017 at 11:19 pm

Im fully support this…. because the fat rich person with their shiny 180kmh cars not afraid to pay summons. They have a lots of money. It is unfair when the rich can do whateva their want by breaking law and settling it by paying a summons

• Beating the red light is a deadly act. However, speeding at 110km/h or 130km/h – 20 km/h & 40 km/h make no difference when it crash. Incremental demerit points just not a good way but complicated the system.
    Well even kapcai can reach 110km/h. Drive at high speed should base on driver & car condition.
    Make it a free-way.