Kejara demerit points to only take effect from April 15

The Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) – which integrates both AES (Automated Enforcement System) and the Kejara demerit points system – may have gone online last week (April 1), but motorists will be given a grace period of two weeks until Kejara takes effect on April 15, The Star reports.

“We are giving all road users a grace period of two weeks. By April 15, we will gazette the demerit system. For now, this is a trial run. Road users who are caught on our automated cameras within this trial period for speeding or beating traffic lights will be sent notifications,” transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai told reporters in Sepang today.

Currently, there are 14 AES cameras installed nationwide, but Liow said the number will be increased “from time to time”.

The Kejara demerit points system will kick off by clamping down on two offences – speeding and beating the red light. More offences will be added to the demerit list in the future. A motorist starts with 20 points, and his/her driving license will be revoked once all points are deducted. Demerit points are dished out on top of summonses. AWAS or not, follow traffic rules on the road and drive safe.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Kent Lim on Apr 05, 2017 at 2:11 pm

Presently, what is the success rate of PDRM catching people who beat the red lights? If extremely low, then I wonder how the points deduction could be effected?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Apr 05, 2017 at 3:09 pm

Budak tunggang tarak lesen di kawasan taman dan kampung. Tolak demerit bapak punya ker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • Curi Curi Malaysia on Apr 05, 2017 at 4:48 pm

Nothing will happen lah. Until today, 6 years later, they still cannot even enforce back safety belts, apa lagi this kejara?

Anyway, until they clean pdrm and jpj from taking duit kopi, having kejara won’t help.

Time to clean pdrm and jpj officers from asking duit kopi.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 05, 2017 at 2:29 pm

scrape this system la…tak guna

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 20
    • What safety? on Apr 05, 2017 at 6:52 pm

If you follow the road rules and don’t drive like an idiot, why you should be afraid of the system?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 7
  • Robert Parameswaran S/O Kuppusamy on Apr 05, 2017 at 2:46 pm

I tell you la…All Malaysians will lose their licenses…mark my words…

• Razlan on Apr 05, 2017 at 3:11 pm

Malaysians suka donate…mark my words…

• xoxox on Apr 05, 2017 at 4:13 pm

and many malaysian will drive without license after license been gantung..mark my words… lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Tengku on Apr 05, 2017 at 3:57 pm

I wonder what will happen to the points for those that already have AES summon in the system. Will the points get deducted too? Anyone from Paultan willing to ask?

• Mr. Loba Loba on Apr 05, 2017 at 4:32 pm

Penalize those haphazard parking at road corners, in front of the pili Bomba and by the roadside.
    All must follow traffic rules on the road.

• Azfar on Apr 05, 2017 at 4:53 pm

So, if the driver does not make any fault for a year they will get an award? How to increase the merit point? The law is not clear enough, there was no education on the new law, how the people gonna comply with it. Public is unclear with it.

• Sgt Scoop on Apr 05, 2017 at 7:34 pm

How many points get deducted for each offence? Will this be like speeding summons that they don’t send but appear when you have to renew your road tax?

• Aryatama on Apr 06, 2017 at 11:10 am

Better make the aes catch those fast lane hogger’s driving at 50kmh, then no more jam. Those people are the cause of jam and accident, yet they think slow=safe.

• Mikey on Apr 06, 2017 at 11:48 am

After reading all 16 comments here at this point, i can say most people here think Kejara is another waste of time & I agree with them.

The main purpose of Kejara is to take action against offenders & to reduce road accidents. It has Failed Big Time. Look at the numbers of accidents yearly.

The figures does not lie. Did those numbers show any improvement in preventing road accidents ??!