KL Sentral-Muzium Negara MRT pedestrian link opens July 17, with launch of MRT Sg Buloh-Kajang Phase 2

The pedestrian linkway between KL Sentral and the Muzium Negara MRT station will be opened to the public on July 17, the day Phase 2 of the Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) line begins operations, Bernama reports.

According to chief secretary to the government, Tan Sri Dr Ali Hamsa, the 240 metre-long linkway was completed in 18 months, six months earlier than scheduled. It was built at a cost of RM50 million, less than a sixth of the cost had it been built fully underground.

“(Prior to this) there was a proposal to build the linkway underground, with an estimated cost of RM380 million, but after taking into consideration the views of Malaysian Resources Corporation Berhad (MRCB), this project was completed at a cost of RM50 million, with a cost saving of about RM330 million,” he said.

The air-conditioned linkway also provides a link to several other locations, including Menara CIMB, Le Meridien Hotel, Hilton Hotel and Platinum Sentral. The walking time between KL Sentral and the Muzium Negara MRT station is around four minutes.

The launch of the SBK Phase 2 section will open up 19 stations and 30 km of the 51 km-long line. Phase 2 will open up the route from Muzium Negara and then on to Pasar Seni, Merdeka, Bukit Bintang, Tun Razak Exchange, Cochrane, Maluri, Taman Pertama, Taman Midah, Taman Mutiara, Taman Connaught, Taman Suntex, Sri Raya, Bandar Tun Hussein Onn, Batu 11 Cheras, Bukit Dukung, Sungai Jernih, Stadium Kajang before finally ending in Kajang station.

Last year, Phase 1 of the project became operational on December 16, and the route currently travels across 12 stations on 21 km of elevated tracks. The stations are Sg Buloh, Kg Selamat, Kwasa Damansara, Kwasa Sentral, Kota Damansara, Surian, Mutiara Damansara, Bandar Utama, Taman Tun Dr Ismail, Phileo Damansara, Pusat Bandar Damansara and Semantan.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2017 at 8:25 pm

I really don’t know how a 240 metre linkway can cost RM50 million.

That is not even 1KM. It is 1/4 of a KM.

MRCB so proud that they saved RM330 million from building an underground linkway.

But MRCB should ask themselves this question, how does a 240m pedetrian linkway cost RM50 million?

Even you include the aircons, the tiling etc, it hardly should be few million.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 212 Thumb down 23
    • Rm50mil for a 240mtr linkway? Why not, when they see that its no problem to spend Rm300mil just for a perpetually unfinished tunnel study.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 79
      • Ahmad Zakaria on Jul 02, 2017 at 11:25 am

apa benda merepek ni. Ni linkway la mana ada tunnel study?

tak siuman ke?

• Ni lah manusia yg x nampak hangpa dupe bawak masuk London underground dlm gelanggang debat. Balik lah.

• Bloated consultancy fees…konpem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 01, 2017 at 5:24 pm

I do agree the price it’s kind of inflated but there are some other factors you forgot to consider.
      -The structure fabrication, transportation and construction cost.
      -The cost of the structural engineering firm that had to design, test and manage the build.
      -The cost of getting the design audited, and the firms related to building the walkway audited and approved to be safe for public usage.

Simply put, you’ve really only mentioned 10% of the actual manpower, resources and facilities involved in building that walkway. The other behind the scene things were omitted, like engineers, accountants, human resources, auditors, etc….

But I do agree the cost does seem rather inflated. Most likely it could be about 10~20% cheaper?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 45
      • U forgot to add profit margin. Usually in business its 30%, so 10~20% is quite low.

• Mutalib on Jul 02, 2017 at 6:06 pm

My factory made a overhead link bridge from one plant to another plant about 200 metres away for staff to walk. Fully air-conditioned and sound proof. Air tight. Bill tak sampai RM$2 million oso.

• But is it certified for heavy traffic usage for at least 30 years?

• John Ohwai Mental Asylum on Jul 01, 2017 at 8:20 pm

Malaysia also got most expensive highways in the world. 1KM is RM100 million.

No other country come close to this figure. Even Mat Salleh country also few RM million per KM

• Ng Lam Soon on Jul 02, 2017 at 12:32 am

Hopefully China can send more people down to help Malaysia run more efficiently.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 30, 2017 at 8:30 pm

In the UK, the London Underground, when they expand, can borough miles of tunnel for just few hundred thousand pounds including laying of expensive electric tracks. That is hardly few MILLION RINGGIT. This is with labour costing the most expensive in the world.

In Malaysia, to make an underground for 240 metres, it can cost RM380 million. This is with super cheap Bangladeshi labour

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 9
    • John Fake News on Jul 01, 2017 at 9:58 am

4 minutes walk- RM50 million..ha ha ha ha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Nonsense. Northern line extension to Battersea which covers only 4 stations alredi £560 million (thats pound sterling, mind u, not bangla taka). And this is with super cheap Polish & Romanian labour somemore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 83
      • Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 01, 2017 at 5:56 pm

Actually it’s expected to exceed £1.2b for the 3.2km tunnel.

Please google “Full steam ahead: Tunnelling for the £1.2bn Northern Line extension starts in March” for the article. TQ

• Zuhaimi on Jul 01, 2017 at 7:01 pm

4 stations will be minima 4KM long or longer. That is Underground for high tech train.

This only 240 meter for pedestrian to walk. Can cost RM$380 million

You can build a 60 storey ultra modern building with RM$380 million

• Really? Cuz ur main dupe was referring to London Underground costing HUNDREDS THOUSAND ONLY.

• Redidiot on Jul 02, 2017 at 6:07 am

Haters be like third wave feminist, BLM, libtards and antifa- facts are their kryptonite…

• Ahmad Zakaria on Jul 02, 2017 at 11:26 am

fake news lagi? Tak habis habis posting fake news

• I got it from here:
          en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_line_extension_to_Battersea

Where did u get ur “facts” from?

• Zuhaimi on Jul 01, 2017 at 10:57 am

240 meter can come to RM$50 million? Is this a JOKE?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
    • Redidiot on Jul 01, 2017 at 11:31 am

Can give example please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 38
      • Redidiot on Jul 02, 2017 at 6:05 am

Wah, asking for example oso kna thumb down??? Confirm tokok only…ha ha ha

• kuntatokkok on Jul 01, 2017 at 1:28 pm

Source or you talk kok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 43
    • That’s just plain wrong.

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on Jul 01, 2017 at 5:51 pm

Hmm… Please do some fact checking before thumbs upping a comment. It really reflect on ones intellectuality and gullibility.

I’m not sure if the terms of use in the PT website allows me to post links. But all you need to do is copy this “Going underground on Crossrail: A 40-year project is taking shape” to google and the article is on Telegraph UK. This tells us how long it took.
      Second article to look for is “Where the transit-build costs are unbelievable – Politico” And this tells us how much the cost of building a mile of underground tunnel in the UK. Quote ‘He contrasted that with the construction of the Jubilee line extension of the London Underground, which he said cost $700 million per mile.’

So with a little bit of math to convert miles to km.
      $700m/1.60934 = $434.96m/km And now convert $ to £ =£330m/km

The good side of things is, at least we now know YB Kunta Kinte spreads fake news…

• John Ohwai Mental Asylum on Jul 01, 2017 at 8:24 pm

all abang2 masuk poket. Surelah the price 50 juta!

• When u cant even stand up to plotek ur own “facts” and need to create dupes to defense ownself, theres only 1 word to describe it: PATHETIC.

• Ng Lam Soon on Jul 02, 2017 at 12:33 am

Hope MRCB can learn from China how to safe money and not be korup

• Cool story bro, sejuk banget nih

• Am waiting for the negetive comments from the rba.. disguised as ‘people’..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 57
    • Mainland Out To Shop on Jul 01, 2017 at 12:37 am

Im waiting to see a few China Chinese engineers and bosses actually

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • If we bring mainland workers and engineers here, it won’t be RM50 million. It will be only RM5 million including labour and materials.

• U wud be disappointed when they start to talk in MY Mandarin instead of pure Mandarin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 15
      • thepolygonal on Jul 01, 2017 at 1:30 pm

Im waiting to see people ministers to syiok sendiri.

• Yasmin on Jul 01, 2017 at 9:36 am

We need some engineers who can spell “negative” properly

• Did that commenter claimed he/she was an engineer or did u pull that from cave?

• Colin Wong on Jun 30, 2017 at 11:57 pm

Just came back from Sapporo. This is a very good project that the government has carried out and should continue to develop the network for the next few decades. It will make the Klang Valley a very liveable environment.

Good job and looking forward to more lines being completed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Hazsan on Jul 01, 2017 at 8:09 am

4 minutes of walking… where is the walkalator

• MY pipu & lazy, berpisah tiada

• Ahmad Zakaria on Jul 02, 2017 at 11:27 am

if you are lazy don’t speak for others

• I dun mind walking even 10 mins outside, but u seem to mind walking INSIDE aircon area for 4 mins.

• Colin Wong on Jul 01, 2017 at 11:00 am

Haha. You’ll get used to it. In Sapporo, Tokyo, London, Paris, the so called “interchange” kena jalan jauh2. Konsep baru buat orang Malaysia. Tak perlu travellator. Jalan kaki sahaja. Semoga sihat sejahtera dibuatnya!

• Redidiot on Jul 01, 2017 at 11:15 am

Keep walking, it’s good for your heart.

• We human beings are so lazy nowadays.
      4 minutes of walking and already people starts to complain.

• hyin21 on Jul 01, 2017 at 12:23 pm

just walk la….it’s underground, not out in the sun

• malaysian being malaysian.. haven’t personally go to the place yet but condemn its 4min walking distance, go to ikea – curve 40min walking no complain!.. haven’t see the place yet but condemn the 50mil cost..but everywhere shopping mall open like mushroom never complaint the cost?? typical malaysian mindset complaint only know!
    (i purposely wrote in typical malaysian english btw)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
    • ban kunta please on Jul 02, 2017 at 3:36 am

Are you sure they are even malaysian? The same nick who are are spreading hatred here?

• Only Yesterday on Jul 01, 2017 at 10:10 am

May be 1st class facilities…..but maintenance wise…….

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jul 01, 2017 at 2:47 pm

well are those banglas still gonna jaywalk that high speed road like gila?

• KL Has Fallen (2017) on Jul 02, 2017 at 2:47 pm

Why need to build expensive bridge to link it? just provide free tuk tuk car ride/shuttle bus to transport riders between stations!

• Walking is gud for ur health. Dun be lazy then burden hospital unnecessarily.

• Maynard James Keenan on Jul 07, 2017 at 7:54 pm

You third world mind people ignore the fact that the cost also includes the costliest aspect of the development, which is land acquisition. It was built in KL, not Hainan.