2017 Kia Rio 1.4 MPI launched in Malaysia – RM80k

Naza Kia has launched the new 2017 Kia Rio – the fourth-generation B-segment hatchback has been redesigned inside and out with a bigger interior, a new engine but a carryover transmission. Available in a single trim level, it’s priced at RM79,888 on-the-road without insurance, nearly RM2,500 cheaper than before. Included is a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty.

Designed in Germany and California, the new Rio differs from the rounded bean-like predecessor with a more conventional two-box profile and a longer bonnet. At the front, there’s a thinner and broader “tiger nose” grille with a gloss black cover, flanked by sharper headlights with U-shaped LED daytime running lights.

Meanwhile, the massive lower grille has been made to look more aggressive, and the fog lights pushed outwards to increase visual width. The rear end has been made more upright, and the C-pillar is thinner than on the current Rio. The tail lights are now trapezoidal in shape and feature arrow-shaped LED light signatures. Horizontal lines along the sides – including a strong shoulder line – emphasises the added length.

Inside, the Rio gets a more sculpted cabin, with horizontal lines making it feel wider. The centre console is angled towards the driver and sports a “floating” infotainment system with a five-inch colour display and Bluetooth connectivity, while the button count has been reduced; below it, the climate control switchgear also gets a more ergonomic concave design. There’s a rear USB charger, too.

Interior space has been improved, partly due to a larger body, but also due to clever repackaging such as reprofiled door trims, new headlining materials as well as a revised dashboard design; thinner C-pillars and new door mirrors relocated to the base of the A-pillar also improve outward visibility. Boot space has been increased some 37 litres to 325 litres, despite a shorter rear overhang.

Standard kit includes projector halogen headlights, front and rear fog lights, 17-inch two-tone alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button start, a Supervision 3.5-inch multi-info display, auto lights and wipers, automatic climate control with cluster ioniser, a sunroof, black fabric upholstery, six speakers and a rear-view camera. Safety kit is the same as before – six airbags, ABS with EBD and brake assist and stability control.

Power comes from a 1.4 litre naturally-aspirated Dual CVVT four-cylinder engine – despite the similar capacity, this is a completely different Kappa engine instead of the Gamma mill found before. Maximum outputs are slightly lower before but made at lower revs, standing at 100 PS at 6,000 rpm and 133 Nm at 4,000 rpm. A four-speed automatic transmission sends power to the front wheels.

Under the skin, there’s a stiffer bodyshell (increased use of Advanced High Strength Steel, up from 33% to 51%) and a retuned suspension system, with revised spring and damper rates giving the car improved compliance and comfort at all speeds, as well as more engaging handling. The front suspension struts and crossmember is more rigid, and the rear torsion beam has been raised for improved high-speed stability.

Elsewhere, there are new vertical rear dampers and front dampers with pre-loaded linear valve technology, providing more linear handling and steering response over rough roads; the repositioned power steering gearbox, on the other hand, improves on-centre steering feel. All these improvements are designed to improve handling response and inspire confidence behind the wheel.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Shamsul on Jul 20, 2017 at 11:14 am

I work for Naza Kia and we wanted to sell this car for RM60k. But MITI told us to price it at RM80k.

I don’t know why the Government wants the rakyat to suffer with more loans.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 55
    • 12yrsold on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Maybe Government wants the rakyat to suffer with more loans because they want to FEED MITI

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
    • Aaron on Jul 20, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Come on Naza Kia. With that extra RM20k, why not spec our Kia Rio with features such as Advanced Driver Assistance Systems (ADAS) which includes Autonomous Emergency Braking (AEB) with pedestrian detection and Lane Departure Warning System (LDWS) like in other countries?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • #hastag on Jul 21, 2017 at 12:58 am

RM60k sure sounds like a more realistic price but it would position the Rio in direct competition with the upcoming Myvi and current Iriz.

It’s sad that MITI can dictate prices so plainly to create the illusion of choice for car buyers.

• junkit on Aug 17, 2017 at 5:12 pm

Basically every same segment like vios, city , rio can price at 50k-60k, but that will affect proton & perodua sales. So there must be no non-national car could be lower then 65k. This is a long old story la.

• nuyulhuda on Oct 13, 2017 at 1:44 pm

So good trying to sell it at RM60k. really can beat myvi if RM60k. hahaha. But Rm78k is ok enough for me

• Nottriggeringjuststating on Jul 20, 2017 at 11:21 am

Four speed auto? Reduced power? Common what market is this car aiming at? The previous one was already massively underpowered ..at least turbocharged 1.0 would be significantly better for this size car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • Rooney on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:10 pm

At least design language is consistent.

VW Polo deglorified. Ha hah

• first of all your buying a city car not a sport car. does it really matter that much? how powerful do u want? if u want a powerful car i suggust go for GTR u wont regret dont compare to a city B segment car which is design for city use not for racing .

• eddiekee on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:54 am

well this is market for people driving in city and town and getting stuck in traffic jam most of the time. What do you mean underpower ? this is a 1.4 car and not a hot hatch . please do not simply bash . I am driving the car and it’s not underpower with 5 people onboard.

• Good value!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
    • TypeR on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:11 pm

Jazz. Best value!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Peter on Jul 21, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Not going to sell!
      I rather go buy a bigger honda city or toyota vios at cheaper price.
      This car’s not bad but I really can’t think of a reason to buy at 80k. 1 more think … Naza is brainless, they really have no idea what the mass market wants. They can only gain via AP or luxury cars.

• Kuinosan on Jul 20, 2017 at 11:36 am

Another Kia new model bites the dust. 4 speed transmission? 1.4l? 80k price tag? Bye bye Rio and Hello Honda City!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • Pedro on Jul 20, 2017 at 5:30 pm

Then you better get the Cerato 1.6 K3 @ RM88,888 OTR with insurance instead of Honda City.

• Now 2017 July still 4speed gear box ….with RM80K , how to sell…., City V spec after discount almost 80K lah ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • Ron95 on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:14 pm

Naza kia gips orso, after discount almost 65K

• camtakpro on Jul 21, 2017 at 8:53 am

So Kia Rio finally fill in the vacuum that Vios just left, hail Kia Rio 4AT @ RM80k.

• Socai (ori) on Jul 20, 2017 at 11:52 am

Only small 1.4 car, really need 17 tyre or not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Ceejay on Jul 20, 2017 at 12:01 pm

4 speed auto….. Like we’re in the 1960

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Poyoh on Jul 20, 2017 at 12:09 pm

Irrelevant.

• Mikey on Jul 20, 2017 at 12:10 pm

This Kia Rio is a good car by any standard. It sits 4 comfortably & can carry groceries from Tesco for a whole week.

However, the statement – “but a carryover transmission” meaning old 4-speed tranny is a BIG letdown. Is this how Kia/Naza treat its customers?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • NIZZAN on Jul 20, 2017 at 12:12 pm

Nice wheel. Who want trade in for my Kenari?

• Still 4 speeds transmission Naza Kia?? 2017 already….

• Redidiot on Jul 20, 2017 at 12:23 pm

Hah! Still using Jurassic 4 speed auto????

• Kappa more makan minyak than Gamma. Output is also shit, at least 120 hp lah.

• azhar on Jul 20, 2017 at 12:35 pm

my 1.8 HRV used 16″ wheels only..hahaha

• jibril on Jul 20, 2017 at 12:43 pm

Please Kia, bring in Stonic as well.

• Ben Yap on Jul 20, 2017 at 12:55 pm

anti-climax when i read it’s only 100bhp with 4 speeder.

• ET CALL HOME on Jul 20, 2017 at 1:06 pm

if you stare at the center console long enuf, ..it looks like ET…with the 2 eyes wide open.. hack its 2 movies in 1. i sense the designers are cooky little fellows..

• THEREALMaserati on Jul 20, 2017 at 1:25 pm

Rubbish car. That radio panel looks like they took it put from a 1990 KIA and reused it here.

Lousy engine and handling.

Freaking ugly. And its a KiA. Only really stupid ppl willl buy this car.

Jazz Hybrid is a way better buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
    • Tokok on Jul 20, 2017 at 4:41 pm

Handling? You test drove it already ?

• eddiekee on Jul 21, 2017 at 11:02 am

i think only stupid people make that comment. i mean there is no sense (as always when you bash with no reason) with whatever you said, not contributing any facts . Jazz hybrid is using different technology so the least you can do is compare something with the same technology. i can say maybe Tesla is much better than the jazz hybrid. Handling is so much better, sleek and sporty compared to the Jazz hybrid.

• Orgon on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:54 pm

lousy engine and handling?
        as far as concern, all the review i watch about this car, they give great comment about Rio comfort ability and quiet cabin. and its way stable than jazz. only the engine performance Jazz is way better

ugly?
        its european kinda look, well if you dont like it, its because you just stick to jazz design.

Kia??
        Kia consider higher market sale compare to honda in terms of world production. just in Malaysia Kia is a bit low sale.

from your comment, all i can say that, you bought the Kia car from the last model and having a lot of trouble..or??
        you just love honda jazz very much…

• that infotaiment system looks aftermarket and sticks out like a sore thumb….. yuck

• Cikgu Mariam on Jul 20, 2017 at 1:41 pm

Better buy a second hand Honda Accord with 80k…..Lots of luxury, safety feature and items and plenty of power too….

4 speed auto box is sooooooooooo outdated. It is more useless than a paperweight.

• lolpanda on Jul 20, 2017 at 1:43 pm

the reduced power output is likely in hopes of improving emissions ratings and fuel efficiency over the outgoing model.

globally speaking, these aspects are more important than outright power and Malaysia is a tiny market from a global standpoint. You’ll find much larger cars with around the same output in Europe, for instance.

for a relatively small market it’s unlikely they would setup another production line to meet M’sian configuration demands.

But seriously though, these aren’t hot hatches so why all the racket about power figures? Unless you’re one of those Myvi drivers who think they’re in a rally stage on public roads.

These are sensible city cars, drive it like one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
    • GoodStartBadConclusion on Jul 20, 2017 at 4:51 pm

Except they guzzle gas like mad esp. in city. ~10km/l? 4 meters long, city car? Axia is a city car, this ain’t one son.

• eddie on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:43 am

a city car is not based on the length lar…it’s more on the segment eg A segment , B segment.

• wattheman on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Oh man the interior infotainment screen so freaking small. Other countries got the bigger size and with 2 tone interior coloured dash. Why here all with lousy spec…

• Bernard on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:32 pm

This type of car must come with a manual option!

• Why must bash? on Jul 20, 2017 at 3:14 pm

P1 bash, P2 bash, KIA bash, Hyundai bash, Toyota bash, Honda bash, VW bash – the negative comments in PT’s forums always over weights the positive comments. Most of it bashing for the sake of hatred. If you’re trying to get a car by reading all these comments/opinions, no car is worth buying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
  • Pahang on Jul 20, 2017 at 4:08 pm

Ugly dashboard. The MiD screen does not seem to fit the dashboard, it look thats someone just hang it there.

• Graduan Bijak on Jul 20, 2017 at 4:21 pm

Good value for money and far better buy than Proton Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
  • 1.4L NA / 100hp RM 80,000
    Mabok ketum ke apa ?

• Maria on Jul 20, 2017 at 5:21 pm

This car very value for money for sub 80k..Great look great space thanks to bigger dimension and don’t forget decent safety equipment and other kits like sunroof althought not really useful just a plus selling point..Downsize is Naza Kia why bringing underpowered engine?? I thought they could bring 1.6 with 6 speed auto or more punchy 1.0 tgdi like europe rio…What a letdown..If are a person that want a something different from the others why not give a try on Rio..

• Polla on Jul 20, 2017 at 6:45 pm

4 speed auto…wow…oh…wow

• Abang zahid on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:08 pm

They just have to ruin it with that UGLY infotainment system!!

• Slap on apple carplay/android auto and replace with 6 speed 1.6 engine confirm sell like pisang goreng

• When you say 4-speed auto, in my mind is the top-selling sedan: Perodua Bezza.

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jul 20, 2017 at 10:18 pm

This one will be RM30k selling a year later

• Bomoh on Jul 20, 2017 at 10:42 pm

this car cannot sell…

• Funny when everyone keep on rumbling about 4 speed and slow performance when our weather cant cope with high tech stuff. 4 speed might sound old but they cost less to repair and reliable as tank.
    So much logic fail.

• eddiekee on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:51 am

That’s true. I just can’t figure out why people keep complaining about having 4 speed. i mean if you are driving in city and town area 99.9% of the time and stuck in traffic you can’t even use higher than 4th gear.

• Tangent Lin on Jul 20, 2017 at 11:40 pm

The center console of this car are worse than Kancil. I so wish that there is a full spec that have a better center console. Sadly there wasn’t. Kia like to master car look from the outside, how about inside?

• Embun on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:31 am

I am digging the retro dashboard look, and the blackish interior.. Looks nice, but pricey

• Embun1 on Jul 21, 2017 at 10:34 am

I am digging the retro dashboard look, and the blackish interior.. 1.4 is okay as it is not for racing drivers.. Looks nice, but pricey

• test drove it, worst acceleration, no power. handling was so so only. there was delayed response when you full throttle it. In postive side, I like the build in material and the workmanship. Otherwise, the car really not worth rm80k at all

• Araii on Sep 26, 2017 at 8:34 pm

Wow great looking! I think 79k is reasonable! Well done Kia!

• shasha_lzyr on Oct 07, 2017 at 4:12 pm

I love that red colour kia rio.

• nuyulhuda on Oct 13, 2017 at 3:27 pm

4 speed is okay la, fuel efficiency. less gearbox problem also. suitable for me.hahaha

• How can 4 speed is fuel efficient? This car only setup to look nice outside, nowhere near fuel efficiency. The small 1.4 NA engine + 4speed + 17 rim + heavy kerb weight not only underpowered but also will consume more fuel.

• Orgon on Jun 27, 2018 at 11:46 pm

Fuel Economy: 12.2 km/litre (8.2 L/100 km), RON97, Mileage: 3,000 km/month

• Natures Best CBD Oil on Nov 22, 2017 at 7:40 pm

It’s impressive that you are getting thoughts from this post as well as from
    our argument made here.

• i brought this car at 69,888 with 10k rebate. the interior and exterior are supreme. I dont get it why lot of people complaining about this car. i able to speed up till 160km/h, and stability are excellent.120 to 140km/h cornering no problem. Only the cons i can comment are 3rd gear take a bit longer to gear 4 will feel underpower. 69k for this car is consider worthy, kia is my 1st choice.

• Tundun on May 17, 2018 at 8:09 pm

Hi Tan, how did you get a 10k rebate? I would like to purchase this car. 70k is a really good deal :)

• angeleyes on Jul 05, 2018 at 10:46 am

In the states (Redline Review), this car comes with 1.6 lire coupled with 6 speed autobox.

• That tiny screen panel is this year’s funniest car joke

• ishak on May 20, 2022 at 9:50 pm

berapa lama pemandu fokus pada infotainmen display semasa memandu? display besar dan berwarna warni bkn keutamaan sebab pemandu wajib 110% fokus pd pemanduan, utk saya, ia mencukupi seadanya, yg penting ada connection dgn hp via bt.