2018 Ford Mustang GT now makes 460 hp and 569 Nm, goes from 0-60 mph (96 km/h) in under 4 seconds

Many things can be done in under four seconds, so goes the video depicting the facelifted 2018 Ford Mustang GT. In the case of the Blue Oval’s latest V8-engined pony car, that feat would be to attain 60 mph (96 km/h) from a standing start, which the company says is quicker than the base Porsche 911 Carrera.

Ford has also finally released power outputs for the revised model – the 5.0 litre naturally-aspirated Coyote V8 in the GT receives a slight gain in engine output to 460 hp and 569 Nm of torque over the previous iteration (435 hp and 542 Nm), courtesy of an increased compression ratio from 11:1 to 12:1, and the use of both high-pressure direct injection and lower-pressure port injection.

Much of the Mustang GT’s improved acceleration time can also be attributed to the new, Ford-built 10-speed automatic transmission, which features a wider range of ratios and optimised gear spacing. New for the 2018 model year is the Drag Strip mode, which eliminates time lost while shifting.

“Typically, when you shift gears, you give up time. In Drag Strip mode, the engine torque doesn’t drop when you’re shifting. You get peak engine torque and horsepower straight through thanks to our new Ford-built 10-speed transmission,” said Mustang chief engineer Carl Widmann. “Gearing matters, and in Drag Strip mode, this car launches better than ever off the line.”

The new gearbox features Ford-patented power-flow and direct-acting hydraulic controls, which is said to provide optimum ration progression and efficiency; this is claimed to give quicker, more accurate upshifts and downshifts. There’s also an all-new electronic control system with real-time adaptive shift-scheduling programming to ensure the right gear is selected at the right time.

Also included is the ability to skip gears (handy when you have 10 ratios), along with direct downshift capabilities. Overall, the new unit has quicker shift times and better low-speed tip-in response compared to the old six-speeder.

The Mustang EcoBoost also benefits from the new transmission, attaining the 0-96 km/h run in under five seconds. The 2.3 litre turbocharged four-cylinder makes the same amount of power as before (310 hp), but torque has been bumped by 41 Nm to 475 Nm.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Godzilla GTR > all

• Gainang on Jul 26, 2017 at 9:29 am

I have to agree with u. What’s so good about the 5.0 litre V8 Mustang GT? The 3.8 litre twin-turbo V6 GT-R can produce 565hp… 0-60 mph in less than 2 seconds!

Even the tiny Lotus Elise Cup 250 with 1.8 litre supercharged four-cylinder engine (producing only 243hp at 7,200 rpm) can propel from a standstill to 96 km/h in 3.9 seconds… And u get cheaper road tax, & easy to get Toyota replacement parts too.

So… Good luck Ford!

• Sama L00 on Jul 26, 2017 at 4:14 pm

Whatever it is most Malaysian can’t afford, even got sohai Malaysian buy it, 80% of his money goes into government pocket.

• “If its not 10gear manual, it doesnt matter” -Toretto-

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 14
  • rosdi on Jul 25, 2017 at 4:34 pm

Yawn… Tesla 0-60 is only 2.3 seconds… slowpoke!

• talk so much but your car is 3 star NCAP rating. Fail terus.

• Bashers says sales volume more important than NCAP stars wor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • Your dad on Jul 25, 2017 at 11:32 pm

How much in RM? Because we earn RM and intend to purchase this car in USA. Amazing aerodynamics