Porsche 911 facelift launched – Carrera, Carrera S and Carrera 4S, new 3.0 litre turbo flat-six, from RM870k

2016 Porsche 911 facelift launch 1

Sime Darby Auto Performance today launched the new Porsche 911 Carrera facelift, which marks the introduction of turbocharged engines to the Carrera range. Three variants are on offer here – Carrera, Carrera S and Carrera 4S – with prices starting from RM870,000 nett, without on-the-road costs or insurance.

Let’s start with the most significant update here – the engine. The 911 Carrera range is now powered by a 3.0 litre biturbo flat-six engine that pumps out 370 hp and 450 Nm in the entry-level variant. For the Carrera S and Carrera 4S, the blown boxer outputs 420 hp and 500 Nm. In both cases, this represents a hike of 20 hp/60 Nm.

With Porsche’s seven-speed PDK dual-clutch transmission and Sport Chrono Package attached, the new 911 Carrera will sprint from zero to 100 km/h in just 4.2 seconds (0.2 second faster than its predecessor), and on to a top speed of 293 km/h (up by 6 km/h).

2016 Porsche 911 Carrera 4S 4

The more powerful Carrera S and Carrera 4S will achieve the same in 3.9 (0.2 seconds faster) and 3.8 seconds (0.3 seconds faster), respectively. Top speed for the former is now 306 km/h (up by 4 km/h) and 303 km/h (up by 6 km/h) for the latter.

Other performance upgrades affect the car’s chassis. Porsche Active Suspension Management (PASM) is now standard on all Carrear models, which lowers the car’s ride height by 10 mm. Other changes include revised dampers, along with wider tyres (305 mm instead of 295 mm on the Carrera S and Carrera 4S) and rims.

The new 911 Carrera models also come with a rotary switch located within the steering wheel (as seen on the 918 Spyder), offering drivers a total of four driving modes – Normal, Sport, Sport Plus, and Individual. Rear-wheel steering is also an option here, along with a Sport Exhaust System, Porsche Dynamic Chassis Control, ceramic brakes and a front axle life system.

2016 Porsche 911 Carrera 4S 19

Done with the substantial performance upgrades, exterior changes to the Porsche 911 Carrera models are pretty subtle. There are new headlamps with four-point LED daytime running lights, new wheel designs, door handles without recess covers, redesigned taillights and most noticeably, a redesigned rear deck lid with vertical louvres.

Similarly, upgrades in the cabin include the adoption of the aforementioned new steering wheel, and the Porsche Communication Management (PCM) infotainment system. The PCM is linked to a seven-inch touchscreen display, and features Apple CarPlay compatibility and navigation function.

As mentioned earlier, the new 911 Carrera range is priced from RM870,000 for the entry-level variant. The Carrera will set you back RM970,000, while the range-topping Carrera 4S retails for RM1,040,000. All prices here are on-the-road without registration fee, road tax, insurance, and include a four-year warranty as well as a four-year free service, parts and maintenance package.

Porsche 911 Carrera 4S

Porsche 911 Carrera S

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• beli Macan better, bigger, cheaper and it is also a porsche.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 276 Thumb down 63
    • Frustrated with Keyboard Warriors on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:13 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 243
      • Why would Porsche, a sports car maker develops a SUV then? You know that this is not your normal Toyota SUV, right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 7
        • Henry on Jun 19, 2016 at 1:07 pm

Agree! when others talk about the car and provide opinions which is this forum all about, you can disagree with others opinion and put down your own argument.
          But this “Frustrated with Keyboard Warriors” come here and act like a smart alec and start calling person low class really demonstrated his character.

• Warren Wong Yee Ket on Jun 18, 2016 at 9:52 am

A person with class and intelligence will not call others no class….and will not thumbs-up up his own comment.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:33 pm

U beli Macan dulu, then only can komen like this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • Henry on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:12 pm

He probably find it hard to come up with the cash to buy the Tamiya scale model. LOL.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:46 pm

I am also shocked. SUV is SUV. Sports Car is Sports Car.

Ooops, I forgot, this is a BN Cybertrooper. He even cannot distinguish between income and corruption. To him, both also income.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 4
      • ColaBear on Jun 17, 2016 at 2:25 pm

and DONATION

• AutoFrenz (the original) on Jun 17, 2016 at 3:33 pm

You give me between this Porsche Carrera or our new Perdana, I will choose Perdana.

More space and more luxury.

And I love my country!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 16
        • Henry on Jun 17, 2016 at 4:59 pm

Wrong. A caravan have more space and more luxury. You can even put in a full size bed which you can’t do with a Perdana.

• Looks like 1st weapon for DAP is gutter politics. Do u guys realise that the more u push this, the worse results u get. Just look at Sarawak and soon the 2 by elections.

MY pipu r fedup with ur sidewinding super’screw’man antics. MY pipu have grown up but apparently bashers still wanna play kindergarten politics.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 18, 2016 at 2:39 pm

Poor john, said something stupid, then everybody dislike him. Then john, whole night last night, spent hours liking his commnet until 235 likes and he disliked Mr Frustrated with Keyboard Warriors.

John oh john, you so free? Whole night can refresh page 230 times ah?

• Henry on Jun 19, 2016 at 12:54 pm

For you to know so well and in details, sounds like “talking from experience”.

talking from experience from urban dictionary:
        When a person attempts to insult another person, however the insult actually pertains to the person insulting, they are talking from experience. More specifically this is calling psychological projection, however a more loose yet fitting phrase would be “talking from experience”.

• Zahid on Jun 17, 2016 at 11:59 am

Beli CR-Z better……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • Toyota man on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:30 pm

Buy vios better can smile this carrera anytime any where

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
  • i’d like to hv one c2s in malibu blue please..

• Gonggok on Jun 17, 2016 at 12:50 pm

beli hilux better…. better RV

• wiwiwiwiwiw on Jun 17, 2016 at 1:17 pm

When proton acquired lotus cars twenty years ago, I was hoping they could create a sports car that we can proud of and rival some if the best cars. Instead it is not even near Porsche, shame

• Perdana can sit four comfortably while this cannot. Smart guys know which to get

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 12
  • heybadigol (Member) on Jun 17, 2016 at 4:36 pm

Nice upgrades. Now, even a “basic” Carrera, which is not quite a supercar, can do 293km/h. Such is the evolution of the 911.

• MrDDR on Jun 18, 2016 at 10:17 am

Evora 400 is cheaper, faster and look better.

• John Doe on Jun 18, 2016 at 3:30 pm

What’s the fuel consumption like? How much for an oil change? Just trying to estimate if I can afford the maintenance.

• Buy vios la , save petrol , cheap maintenance and you also buy dugong