FIRST LOOK: Honda City Hybrid, including first drive

Last week saw the introduction of the Honda City Hybrid, forming the second part of Honda Malaysia’s two-pronged petrol-electric offensive after the Jazz Hybrid. The company’s Raya open house yesterday allowed us to take a closer look, so here’s a walk-around video that points you through the ins and outs of the hybrid sedan, as well as providing our first impressions of the driving experience.

Priced at RM89,200 on-the-road without insurance, the City Hybrid slots in between the petrol-powered 1.5 E and V variants – priced at RM84,600 and RM92,000 respectively – in the local lineup. Malaysia is the only country to receive the car outside Japan, where it is called the Grace Hybrid.

Under the bonnet sits Honda’s Sport Hybrid Intelligent Dual Clutch Drive (i-DCD) powertrain, combining a 110 PS/134 Nm 1.5 litre Atkinson-cycle i-VTEC engine with a 30 PS/160 Nm electric motor, a seven-speed dry dual-clutch transmission and a lithium-ion battery. The result is a total system output of 137 PS and 170 Nm of torque, along with a fuel consumption figure of 3.9 litres per 100 km.

Want to know more about the differences between the petrol and hybrid models, as well as the kit on offer and our first drive impressions? Then watch as our man Hafriz Shah takes you though a tour of the new City Hybrid. Let us know what you think in the comments section after the jump.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Nazrul on Jul 25, 2017 at 12:45 pm

(Like) Mazda 2 Sedan.
    (Dislike) City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 66
    • Periasamy on Jul 25, 2017 at 12:55 pm

Price too high at RM90k. Kena tipu from Honda/DRB aka gomen GLC.

Gomen gives big time Hybrid/ EV tax breaks for all Hybrids.
      That is why the Mercedes S400 Hybrid, from RM880k can be sold for RM580k.

The 740le from RM880k can be sold for RM550k

The X5 40e from RM600k can be sold for RM388k

This Honda City, from RM80k before, instead of going down because of tax breaks because of Hybrid EV incentive, it goes up by RM10k

The rich get richer. The poor, have to spend more to subsidise the rich.

How all other hybrids go down but this hybrid go up in price???

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 218 Thumb down 92
      • Aammm on Jul 25, 2017 at 1:48 pm

Pay more but less airbags..drb….drb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
        • karam singh on Jul 25, 2017 at 6:36 pm

Try asking UMW 1st 93k Vios
          2 airbags ? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
          • Sama L00 on Jul 26, 2017 at 4:20 pm

put more airbags u complain expensive u can’t afford, how?

• Sama L00 on Jul 25, 2017 at 3:10 pm

If you can’t afford the car, don’t complain it is overpriced, get a Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
        • U alredi got a P1. A saga for ur son.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
          • Sama L00 on Jul 26, 2017 at 4:17 pm

I won’t keep a junk at home, no one likes to keep junk. Only sohai will spend money buy junk. If I have it, I will give you for free.

• Personal Thought on Jul 25, 2017 at 3:22 pm

Rather take the Hybrid. Economical. Town drive. Don’t need the V-spec to pretend is a luxury cruiser on hway also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
      • Malaysia has the cheapest cars in the world, we should learn to be grateful and not complain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 56
      • karam singh on Jul 25, 2017 at 6:39 pm

LOL so real price for a City hybrid 80k ?
        U think the real cost of Hybrid same as normal City?
        Be realistic, expect the real cost much expensive bcoz its more complicated hybrid.

Electric motor, Battery, hybrid drivetrain already cost more than 15-20k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
        • Kunta now samy on Jul 25, 2017 at 10:20 pm

Still a copy paste and fake story from the keyboard warrior. Boring

• Periasamy on Jul 25, 2017 at 12:56 pm

This car got no spare tyre. When you are driving at 3am near some rubber estate or kelapa sawit estate and your car breakdown, you will cry so much like a newborn baby.

You better hope the ular tedung from the estate does not come to help you.

Some questions need to be asked

How come Malaysian Government allow a car company to sell a car without a spare tyre? Tyre repair kit can repair a burst tyre? Your tyre shattered into pieces…..how to repair?

Isn’t this very dangerous for other road users? Cause a car abandoned by the side of the road due to the fact unable to change tyres for long periods of time can be very dangerous?

Hello MAI? Buat apa? Masih tidur lagi?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 41
      • qwertyderp on Jul 25, 2017 at 1:39 pm

Ya MAI tidur and daydream like you. Hypothetical situation to incite fear to criticise MAI.
        Burst tyre? 90k car cannot even maintenance properly? Never change new tyre when over lifespan or simply pump too high pressure? Puncture acceptable, it happens. Burst due to age or super high speed or overinflated? That’s on the driver.
        Car on the side of road? 90k car cannot call tow truck? Don’t have phone number? Not insured? Handphone line not active? Highway so many phone booth.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 41
        • Hamidi on Jul 25, 2017 at 5:19 pm

you can maintain tyre well, mesia roads full pothole, always tear tyre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
          • Well thats ur mesia country problem. Here in MY, roads r not so bad and they get repaired frequently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
          • Zulfifly on Jul 26, 2017 at 9:47 am

ha ha ha insurance tow truck carry spare tayar

• Pls remove signal lights orso laa. Pipu wun use.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • use tyre weld lah, MR D.I.Y now promotion selling RM8.00 each, eacsy to used no need jack out tyre, not all ppl know how to take out tyre and place the spare one.. not many ppl will do it that way rather call someone to help it , best u can keep a tyre weld can tahan at least 5 years before it expired

• Caveman never heard of handphones b4. When u talk to him about tablets, he thought it was a stone slab with carved words & pictures.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 28
      • tell that also to BMW owner

• Hamidi on Jul 25, 2017 at 5:14 pm

owner got run flat tyres. These are not run flat tyres.

Caveman call mechanic….he can bring tyre?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
          • Run flats dun mean u can continue use, bodo. It means u can still drive to nearest stop. A slow puncture normal tyre oso can do that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 34
  • Is the hybrid motor a booster or does it have EV mode? More details on how the electric motors works is appreciated.
    Does it have DCT jerking?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
    • transformer on Jul 25, 2017 at 1:46 pm

Persona ride & handling gooder. by Lotus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • Compare to city? Yeah. Sweep corners no problemo, engine response is much better, and despite being higher, it has less body roll. Both r CVTs so gear response is same same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 11
        • Lawson on Aug 06, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Place a booking today. Asked the salesman what the db level of this city hybrid vs normal city at 100km/hr. Suprise that he had not gone for training. Just basic information passed down in morning meeting. There is mention of enhancements to suspension and connecting rod in the catalogue. Since it is a 2 in 1 catalogue for city hybrid and jazz hybrid not sure enhancement is only for city hybrid. Anyone out there know what they are?. Proton have extra discount if their buyer already owns a proton car. Looks like Honda Malaysia is not giving any extra discount for repeating Honda buyers. Both my daughthers I bought them Honda. Now buying one for myself. Maybe soon I will make my 1st trip around Malaysia!.

• Rooney on Jul 25, 2017 at 1:00 pm

Lose some weight, fatboy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 43
  • normal_user on Jul 25, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Nice review but wish that it can be made longer. Damn I missed the Driven web series (please revive the program!)

By the way Hafriz , but u look much better with jeans as compared to Pink pants (sorry not meant to be rude). And that shirt too…

• Honda Fan on Jul 25, 2017 at 2:04 pm

Honda Malaysia took away the curtain airbags for this Honda City Hybrid and Honda Jazz Hybrid. Why?? As if Honda Malaysia is telling all the potential buyers that buyers of your hybrid cars deserves less safety?? All CKD hybrid cars from other brands have the highest spec, or at least have full safety features and 6-7 airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • All other hybrids r >Rm100k. This is <Rm90k. U get what u paid for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
    • Middle Age Driver (Member) on Jul 31, 2017 at 11:55 pm

Honda stop giving more airbags becuase most Malaysians don’t bother about safety recalls. Honda beg owners to change airbag but still people don’t bother. They prefer to drive without seat belts either. So for the few who so insist of having 10 airbags can always ask Honda to install for you…

• someone on Jul 25, 2017 at 2:07 pm

would be nice if it includes the Ultra Seats like the Jazz Hybrid does

• applegreen on Jul 25, 2017 at 2:29 pm

It uses dry dual clutch. Why people not afraid just like VW dry trans?

• passion on Jul 25, 2017 at 3:46 pm

if the dry clutch does not give those VW type problems then we are ok.

• cropika on Jul 25, 2017 at 4:07 pm

hafriz, im as big size as u, but i dont think pink pants suits the blue shirt. need a to blur my eyes due to the pink pants..

• Harry on Jul 25, 2017 at 4:46 pm

Love the pants!

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 25, 2017 at 5:29 pm

Feel so cheated by gomen. Hybrid pricing not drastically lower, as if there isn’t any incentive (lowered taxation) for CKD hybrid.

Guess it was too high an expectation.

• Fatboy Slim on Jul 25, 2017 at 5:42 pm

Vios ride more cushy & refined.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
    • Vios ada hybrid ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 15
      • Your dad on Jul 25, 2017 at 6:37 pm

Prius C, vios hb

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Not according to wiki, but i can see why u got confused since both looks like an aquatic mammalian.

Oh maybe current vios is something hybrid. A hybrid of dugong and keli.

• ah cik ang on Jul 25, 2017 at 7:00 pm

idcd…when it come to wear..hahaha.battery..will join fate like blue tech civic before..after 80k milege this model will be mess in mudah.if only stupid n show off thinking buy it now…owh ya realllyy arrr..go go go buy hahahaha.

• Min Yoongi on Jul 25, 2017 at 9:34 pm

I know this 2 car in different segment but I still want to ask… Hyundai Ioniq Hybrid and Honda City Hybrid.. Which one is more economical in terms of fuel consumption, long term maintenance and battery price?? Please don’t tell me about RV, I don’t even bother to know… And I wonder if Paultan team also can make test drive review between these 2 cars to determine which one is more berbaloi to buy…

• Lawson on Sep 07, 2017 at 8:24 pm

New city hybrid is quite good to drive. Got mine for already 10 days. I did get milage as high as 25.5km/litre in mixed driving. Not sure OTR price for base line Ionqic. If it is RM103,000 then City Hybrid is cheaper by RM14,000. At least 5 years worth of petrol for Honda City. Its pick up is still good even in Econ mode. Better than my daughters Jazz 2014 or City 2915 with their Econ mode off. City hybrid even in normal mode it is better than S mode in the other two cars and sounds much better. In S mode it is very good for over taking if there is a very long row vehicles on your left side.

Less rolling in City Hybrid even when I could not find the anti roll bar depicted in the brochure. Maybe it is only installed for Jazz hybrid. Since main battery can last 8 years we just have to put aside RM50 per month. But not sure is cost for the dual clutch replacement – suspect it will need RM2000+ to get it replaced. For me it is ok if it could last 80,000km.

If Honda Malaysia is serious about being a greener car company it must programmed their cars in Malaysia to track & indicate the remaining % of life span of engine oil and pops up service reminder in the dashboard. Changing out oil filter & engine oil every 6 months even before clocking 8,000km is waste of resources. This happens to my daugther’s Honda City. In USA engine oil change for Honda cars could be from 7,000 miles to 10,000 miles popped up by tge computerised service reminder.

• ringgit on Jul 25, 2017 at 9:42 pm

Will there be a CRV hybrid?

• murLY on Jul 26, 2017 at 10:28 am

NICE CAR BUT ALREADY BOUGHT CITY -2015 MAYBE WAITING FOR NEXT C-HR HYBRID JELAH

• TheBlackBambo on Jul 26, 2017 at 3:51 pm

May i Know the cost of the battery life……..

• SHame honda on Jul 26, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Honda rip off the bags. this is their strategy to make V spec still on the top. this city hybrid is test market. if the demand strong, they will take off the V spec, at that time, the hybrid will add LEDs headlamp & throw in more air bags then selling at Vspec price or even higher

• Hayenadeblue on Jul 27, 2017 at 1:37 am

We want extra 3 airbags (yes, with knee) and honda sensing. DCT is a good move. Bravo! RIP UMW Toyota.