Time to restore discipline on roads – MIROS chairman

It is time to restore road use discipline, and have no compromise in dealing with reckless road users and habitual offenders, said Malaysia Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) chairman Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye, adding that the installation of seven new Automated Enforcement System (AES) cameras are timely, according to a report in The Star.

“Those who are taking the authorities to task must be more balanced in their views. Nobody likes to be given a summons, and no one likes to pay a fine. There are drivers who disobey rules, and reckless road users are not only endangering themselves but also other law-abiding dri­vers,” Lee said, believing that the country will succeed in reducing road accidents when road users embrace a culture of road safety, the report wrote.

Countries with low road accident rates enjoy those due to ‘no-nonsense’ enforcement measures put in place, Lee said. “In Australia, for example, you can go to jail for a traffic offence. In our country, you only get a fine of up to RM300, and yet you have people saying they will wait to get a discount. We are on the right track by imposing new road safety measures to restore discipline on the roads,” he added.

Earlier this month, 21 more offences were added to the Kejara list for a total of 23 punishable infringements; these include using mobile phones while driving, not wearing safety belts, drink driving, using the emergency lane, driving under the influence and commercial vehicle overloading.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• To restore is easy. Like I said, dun send them to court just send them straight to gallows. After a while, those still left on roads r law abiding citizens.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 27
    • 12yrsold on Jul 27, 2017 at 4:40 pm

He he he, I like your suggestion. If follow your way, I’m afraid there won’t be anymore enforcement officers. If you ask me why, I will gladly tell you.

• Oh yeah. Once the roads have been cleared of lawbreakers, gov will need to find another role for enforcement officers.
        But no worries. Im sure something will come up.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 14
        • Sama L00 on Jul 28, 2017 at 2:53 pm

On MEX, you will see a lot of reckless drivers with government number plates. Restore discipline? My punggung!

• Donno on Jul 27, 2017 at 5:41 pm

JPJ & polis trafik owez aim commercial lori & trucks…but not motorsikal. Donno why…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
        • 12yrsold on Jul 28, 2017 at 9:16 am

I think JPJ & police are scared that penunggang motosikal akan tanya – Bro, bila kerajaan nak kasi FREE petrol kepada motosikal?

• Sinister on Jul 27, 2017 at 5:45 pm

What an idiot you are John. Talk rubbish as always. Wait till your family or yourself sent to the gallows.

Current laws are good enough, but enforcement is lacking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
      • The adage ” If u cant do the time, dun do the crime” is aptly applied here, dun u think? ;-)

And yes, im blind towards lawbreakers whoever they r. Even famili, if they break laws they deserve whatever punishment according to the law. And deswai I dun break laws.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
      • maslan on Jul 27, 2017 at 6:32 pm

Same coconut. Top or bottom same same

• Periasamy on Jul 27, 2017 at 3:15 pm

Talk so much. Everyday on federal highway got outriders and siren cause massive jams by trying to go through rush our traffic.

The worst part is, it is the banduan going to mahkamah. Got special police escort of two polis cars and going through traffic.

Every morning this happens. Isn’t this abuse MIROS Chairman?

By law, only 2 people can have outriders and siren. The PM and Agong.

Now, even banduan got this special privilege.

Open abuse. Nothing is done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 26
    • Nope. By law all emergency & security vehicles r allowed to install sirens. And they r allowed to use it whenever deemed necessary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 57
      • Periasamy on Jul 27, 2017 at 5:01 pm

read properly. I said outriders. Learn how to read please. Emergency and security can use siren but outriders only for PM and Agong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
        • If u claim so, pls state which article of law did it mentioned that.
          Is the vehicle transporting banduan not polis or Jabatan Penjara? Is polis & Jabatan Penjara not security elements of the gov?

Maybe ur gov bright idea is to gip banduan Rm1 and ask him take the public bus go to court himself, but thats not how this gov operates.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 60
        • Paria on Jul 28, 2017 at 1:13 am

Periasamy (read is as Paria), you dont understand the law of Malaysia, dont simply bluntly comment la dei. MEMALUKAN! Too much internet for you, should start reading books and books. Haiyo! Good job John on clarifying those.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
          • No problem. Just doing my civic duty as a citizen, to correct the less enlightened.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • Mutalib on Jul 28, 2017 at 9:41 am

create dupe to praise youself…sad.

• I fully agree.

in our bolehland, people are speeding even in residential areas where there are kids cycling around, park anywhere as they like bottleneck the road causing jams and authorities not doing anything about it, and phones.

if only i was paid for everytime i spot someone driving with phone in his hands, i’d be rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • You mean mat rempit issue?

• Lembu Jinni on Jul 27, 2017 at 4:05 pm

Mischievous motorcyclists > Reckless drivers. LOL

• MIROS… AES cameras=$$$$$$….can it really instill discipline and reduce accidents…REALLY???????!!!!!!!

• Fully agree to restore discipline on roads, also to ensure and enforce the motorcyclists to keep to the left at all times instead of lane splitting. Indirectly affecting the traffic and creating nuisance on the road. In the past, the road users much better than now.

• Vinnie on Jul 27, 2017 at 5:15 pm

It’s Easy to get a Driver’s licence in malaysia and difficult to loose it. it Should be the other way around.

• Cikgu Mariam on Jul 27, 2017 at 7:11 pm

2 words for the Chairman…

Lousy

Enforcement

• Rawfi on Jul 27, 2017 at 7:46 pm

Basic, enforcement. Malaysia cant use full enforcement because Malaysian like to use “cable” and sometimes they scared to disipline wrong person.

• Fucukyongtaufoo on Jul 27, 2017 at 8:08 pm

Want better self regulated enforcement? Put in mechanism to reward those with dashcam recording traffic offenders with 10% commission (if the offence warrants for rm300, the person who provide the record gets rm30). After this alot people will invest on dashcam and get side income for doing a good job. Its a win-win situation for everyone except traffic offenders.

• Road discipline?? What discipline?? Ask the jpj big boss. Plead guilty and later not guilty??
    Tonto should know better.

• Then same rules must apply to government vehicle. Dont tell us there is exception

• Yes there r exceptions. Polis, ambulances, & fire engines, & Civil defence when on sirens r allowed to use E lane, speed & run all lights. Maybe only thing not allowed is drive against traffic.

• WooGoo on Jul 27, 2017 at 9:26 pm

Start with the motorcyclists first. Everyday the kupcais are racing in the right lane on Kesas Highway (the one with the best motorcycle lanes), causing much distressed to everyone. There had been many motorcyclists killed but yet they never learnt!

• Peng Wong on Jul 27, 2017 at 9:30 pm

Road hogs, road hogs and more road hogs. Summons should also be given to these idiotic ignorant snails hogging the roads and creating frustrated angry drivers behind them.

• choha on Jul 27, 2017 at 10:51 pm

aiyar….look at all those car advertisements….all encouraging speeding and racing one….always name their models this sport that sport, vroom this vroom that

• Kokoala on Jul 28, 2017 at 1:16 am

The first thing that I will ask him to enforce is TO GET EVERYONE TO USE THE TURN SIGNAL!!! It all happens normally when drivers hand are holding their cig, vape or even their not-so-smart smartphone. Adui la come on la Rakyat. Shows that you are number one class citizen.. this morning i almost kena hit because a stupid Vellfire never give turn signal. Pundek!

• basic common sense on Jul 29, 2017 at 9:57 pm

have this fools done a driving exam lately?
    First revamp the whole stupid useless driving school, then talk about discipline.
    oh and get rid of the bribe for pass policy. this is why you have noobs and idiots who don’t know how to operate their crappy peroduas on the road