Last Thursday, amendments to the Land Public Transport Act 2010 and the Commercial Vehicles Licensing Board Act 1987 to regulate ride-hailing services such as Uber and GrabCar were tabled and passed by the Dewan Rakyat, paving the way for these to be legalised.
Transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai said the move to legalise these ride-hailing services represents an important milestone for public transport, Bernama reports.
“It (legalisation) shows that Malaysian public transportation is moving into the digital era (by providing digital services). We are confident that it will be a more efficient service. I would say that it is an important milestone for Malaysians,” he said.
He added that legalisation of these services will also help the country to achieve its 40% public transportation modal share target by 2030. He said that services such as Uber, taxis and buses will help provide last-mile connection because of the need for these types of transportation and support.
“By 2027, the Mass Rapid Transit project would be completed and by then all linkages within the city would be really enhanced. All these would further enhance public transportation in Malaysia, so as to achieve the 40% target,” he said.
the move to legalise these ride-hailing services represents an important milestone for public transport because government can earn more income tax from drivers.
Income, once breached taxable minimum, shud be taxed. There shud not be any diff between a Grabuber driver making RM2833 and a exec making RM2833.
Gomen make it legal also, still so many teksi gangster bully Uber and Grab drivers.
Polis also takut to touch or arrest them
Hundreds of Uber drivers have recorded their cars being bashed and even the assailants teksi car number plates also but polis never apprehended then. Semua NFA
So even legalising does not guarantee the safety of our Uber and Grab drivers.
Can the PDRM have bola and protect our poor Uber and Grab drivers?
where got hundreds of video?
It’s over a zillion videos recorded.
Legally, it has to be Grabuber! Their drivers work under their employment and as employers, taking care of the employees wellbeing is the fundamental rule of any company. If the company dun take care safety for employees, no one shud be working for ’em. Heck, its even illegal for companies in MY thats not ensuring a safe workplace environment.
Now that rideshare is legalised, its Grabuber sole responsibility to ensure all risk to their drivers r mitigated just like any other work environs in MY.
Thanks for highlighting this. Grabuber has a lot to buck up if they plan to stay in business. Otherwise, gov WILL come down hard on ’em.
All these 20 years overdue…talk big! Don’t know how to plan , build small roads, sell tons of cars, cause severe problems only then want to act…
Yet car AP problem 30 years overdue & not resolved..
You dun want many cars on road but you also buy
Then if companies have loss you blame pulak.
You contradict yourself, pls go and check your brain.
Topkek
Mari pandu, mari beli..Luaskan kuasamu P2!!
https://paultan.org/2017/05/31/perodua-and-grab-partner-to-offer-special-price-packages-competitive-hp-rates-for-grabcar-drivers/
“By 2027, the Mass Rapid Transit project would be completed and by then all linkages within the city would be really enhanced. All these would further enhance public transportation in Malaysia”
I wonder how the MRT which cover Greater Klang Valley area should be impact to the rest of Malaysian that living in other states? Our government should not only focus on Selangor/KL but also to the rest of the nation.
Well for starters, SBK MRT can be hubs for workers from neighbouring states. N9 workers can go to Kjg station to take train go to CBD for work. Same as Tg Malim can be a extended suburb linked by Sg Buloh station. And the lessons learnt in building & running KVMRT will greatly impact public transports in other states thus those pipu living there. Ignoring these hard earned lessons will ensure projeks only stay at 87% stage.