Road tax disc shortage to continue for another month

In mid-July, the Road Transport Department (JPJ) confirmed there was a shortage of road tax discs due to printer failure on the part of the supplier. It appears the shortage is set to continue for at least another month, according to a report by NST.

“The appointed contractor is currently experiencing a shortage of materials and is still waiting for the shipment of their new stock to arrive. They had previously experienced damage to a main component of their printing machine, which resulted in a failure to print the serial numbers and other safety features of the road tax stickers,” a source revealed to the publication.

The department requires 50,000 road tax discs daily to meet public demand, and the shortage has forced the department to prioritise distribution to its branches first, followed by Pos Malaysia and MyEG. “The emphasis is now on supplying the branches. The business partners will have to wait,” the source explained.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• 12yrsold on Aug 02, 2017 at 10:35 am

“The emphasis is now on supplying the branches. The business partners will have to wait,” the source explained.

In short, the source is telling us to go to branches to renew road tax. Don’t go to Post office. TQVM.

• acerman on Aug 02, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Janji tak payah pening, tak payah fikir, beli je printer Jepunis. Spare part ready, murah servis, jimat karan, reliable, RV ada. Toyota.

• KC Chiok on Aug 02, 2017 at 10:35 am

time to change the design, this one is always curl when park under hot sun after applied, always need extra effort to keep it there on windscreen, and removal will tend to leave sticky stain if we are not using the extra transparent film

• Albert on Aug 02, 2017 at 10:44 am

This is purely shambolic n unacceptable.this is due to cronyism.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 144
      • 12yrsold on Aug 02, 2017 at 3:56 pm

He he he. I agree with U. Malaysian are very good at copying. I mean forgers. Look at the numbers of re-badge vehicles.

• Correct. Becoz basher parents told their kids its better to copy and success than try ownself and learn from failure. So kids grow up knowing failure is not an option and going by crook is alwiz easier than going by book.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 56
        • iamperdana on Aug 02, 2017 at 6:34 pm

You such a funny 12yrsold kid. We likey.

• Susukotak on Aug 02, 2017 at 10:45 am

benda terdesak mcm ni pun masih guna shipping. mau berbulan. jpj kena paksa dia guna kapal terbang.. 1/2 hari barang boleh sampai. kos lebih dia tanggung la. Tengok dalam kontrak ada term penalised tak?

• Cikgu english awak on Aug 02, 2017 at 10:51 pm

Shipping/shipment here means penghantaran. Bukan maksudnya hantar guna kapal.

• Blessing in disguise.
    JPJ can more focus selling fancy plate number. More revenue^

• That means we can drive our cars even though road tax mati? Oh wai

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 02, 2017 at 1:13 pm

If JPJ catch pipu road tax mati at roadblock, show dem dis artikel. Oh wai

• Pay 1st, then print out acknowledgement slip or resit. Keep it in car until disc available. Theres no excuse for road tax mati.

• xoxox on Aug 02, 2017 at 11:33 am

always talk about first class equipment but with 3rd class of services…..

• passion on Aug 02, 2017 at 1:16 pm

no time for road tax.
      Transport minster veli busy w E-hailing..

• Henry on Aug 02, 2017 at 11:42 am

Wtf!

• Why don’t they invent something that doesn’t need to be change annually. Like installing QR code permanently on car windshield to keep the information instead of sticking new cheap sticker yearly that ruining the windshield with ugly residue. Its simple, small and maintenance free. Just scan using specific device to obtain information about the car, such as roadtax, insurance, ownership and whatever that is crucial.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
    • Human on Aug 02, 2017 at 2:11 pm

Well someone has to make money right? Thats how the contry work. You may google up i.e. MyEg’s boss. You would know where they all come from.

• seriously.. on Aug 02, 2017 at 12:22 pm

It is high time this all went away anyway..

I think we all agree that this sticker is stupidly fragile and its constant cracking up by application or under UV sun makes it a big hassle to live with.
    We even have to pay RM5 to get a window tint shop to add a UV tint layer on this to protect it! Silly money on something so basic.

• Malaysia Boleh on Aug 02, 2017 at 12:52 pm

Poor GV no money to prepare even we are able to pay roadtax, only got money to build more speed camera, shame on you.

• Abdulsss on Aug 02, 2017 at 1:07 pm

What kind of explanation is this. This should not be happening in the first place. Tak apalah. Tak ada road tax tunjuk resit Kalau ada road block. That’s the reply I got from myeg.

• cheah on Aug 02, 2017 at 1:18 pm

Is that also another one of those incompetent CRONY supplier?

• BCPhead on Aug 02, 2017 at 1:20 pm

If u fail to plan, u are planning to phail.

• AhKeong on Aug 02, 2017 at 2:31 pm

Cronyism at it’s finest. Why JPJ cant buy their own machine and make? MACC please investigate? Hello??? Oh wait… those atas people cannot be investigated. Only in Malaysia

• Bennychong on Aug 02, 2017 at 3:21 pm

Jpj shame on you!!!!ha ha ha..make ppl ketawa je ka ka…kek kek…..

• Maggi Laksa Semalam on Aug 02, 2017 at 8:07 pm

Stupid comapany. Just fire the director. Probably some relative, kakak ipar, in-law, or related to some minister, gang kronies or JPJ or that sort.

Simple job like print sticker oso can have problem???

—face-palm—