Volvo S90 T8 Twin Engine Inscription – RM348,888 introductory price, order books now open in Malaysia

The Volvo S90 will be available in T8 Twin Engine Inscription guise in Malaysia, with order books now open. According to local dealers, the new S90 variant is expected to be locally assembled (CKD) like the XC90, with an introductory price of RM348,888. However, this applies only for orders confirmed before October 31, 2017, with deliveries expected to take place at the end of said month.

That introductory price is significantly lower than both the T5 and T6 AWD R-Design variants of the S90 currently on sale, which are priced at RM388,888 and RM453,888, respectively (on-the-road prices without insurance).

The T8 Twin Engine plug-in hybrid powertrain serves up 407 hp and 640 Nm, courtesy of a 2.0 litre four-cylinder supercharged and turbocharged Drive-E petrol engine, along with an electric motor (87 hp/240 Nm) in the rear axle. This is a more than what is available for the S90 in T5 (254 hp/350 Nm) and T6 AWD R-Design (320 hp/400 Nm) guise. It is also the same powertrain found in the XC90 T8 sold here, which is priced at RM403,888.

As the Inscription trim is the highest available for the S90 (as with the XC90 sold here), expect the new S90 variant to receive an equipment list similar to its SUV sibling. This will likely include LED headlights with ‘Thor’s Hammer’ DRLs, Sensus Connect High Performance infotainment system with a nine-inch portrait-format touchscreen, and a comprehensive safety suite.

The arrival of the S90 T8 Twin Engine was first reported back in August last year, where it was revealed at the time the S90 will arrive as a fully imported (CBU) model first, ahead of local assembly (CKD) at Volvo Cars Malaysia’s Swedish Motor Assemblies (SMA) plant in Shah Alam.

GALLERY: Volvo S90 T6 AWD R-Design

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• tokmoh. on Aug 08, 2017 at 2:30 pm

Volvo > all
    Geely > all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 80 Thumb down 17
    • Letgo on Aug 08, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Let see how many on the road soon. Not easy to sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 71
      • Leafable on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:02 pm

Don’t worry. Just look at XC90. Thats more XC90 than GLE and X5 on the road. Same goes to S90 T8 will consume all the 5 series and E class buyers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 21
        • tokmoh. on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:12 pm

Aye. Everyday can see XC90 in Subang. Even new facelifted V40 with Thor Hammer’s DRL already can spot a few. Orang Subang banyak man of culture as well.

GLE? X5? Q7? So rare, I sometimes wonder if they sell at all.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 17
          • Wahai Orang Kampung on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:40 pm

We wait Proton Boyue

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 2
          • Nasser on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:41 pm

Even Swedish Embassy in KL also stop using Volvo. Maintain the car so expensive. Bumper ganti also RM20k.

Ferrari bumper ganti also RM20k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 60
          • Volvo sales man on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:45 pm

Volvo sales man detected. Now can get cheap pre reg XC90 immediate stock. For X5 delivery period is still 9 mths. GLE also 2 mths.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 54
          • Nasser on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:52 pm

tokmoh, Swedish embassy is Jalan Ampang also don’t use Volvo for their Ambassador.

At least German embassy still use Mercedes.

Own embassy staff also tak pakai Volvo. Can you explain tokmoh?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 57
          • Nasser on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:58 pm

be careful when you buy a Volvo. Parts and repairs are super expensive. In 7 years, total service bill will be DOUBLE the price of the car.

You pay RM350k for the car. You pay RM350k for 7 years of repair also.

Total RM700k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 67
          • thepolygonal on Aug 08, 2017 at 4:04 pm

“GLE? X5? Q7? So rare, I sometimes wonder if they sell at all.” Of course got. Recon punya… kakaka.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 30
          • RandomGuy on Aug 09, 2017 at 6:20 pm

I saw all mentioned above mostly everyday in Kota Damansara & Tropicana. Yawn. Need more super cars.

• Ah Beng on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:15 pm

You mean you saw Volvo unsold car at showroom are you?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 49
          • Nasser on Aug 08, 2017 at 4:00 pm

Ask the Volvo salesman why the Swedish embassy don’t use Volvo in Malaysia?

Ask the Swedish community living in Malaysia….few thousand of them expats….none use Volvo. Their own national car.

We Malaysians worship Volvo but the Swedish living in Malaysia also refuse to use Volvo.

Why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 63
          • Latuk Bandar on Aug 08, 2017 at 9:10 pm

Plug-in hybrid car more better suited for landed homes, abit inconvenient for penthouse dweller like yours truly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
          • Talkcok on Aug 11, 2017 at 12:42 pm

Volvo sales men can try hard here to shoot other brand. Thats show how unprofessional and how hard to sell the car. It is never easy to compete with proper German brand since they are not on same category.

• Jonn Dol on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:20 pm

Urban SUVs is still relatively a young and booming segment that every carmaker is cashing on it, although not everyone is fond of this lumbering thing. Executive Saloon on the other hand is a mature and tradition-influenced segment. Volvo S90 needs to be something really special or ground-breaking if it’s to challenge the Germans. But more & more Volvo saloon models are always welcomed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
          • Nasser on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:43 pm

I have no idea why to repair Volvo cost so expensive. My friend’s XC90 T8 kena langgar buntot sikit sahaja. Bumper alone RM20k.

Where got meaning? Cannot even ketuk balik

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 47
        • Volvok on Aug 09, 2017 at 9:27 am

Please dont compare volvo with german brand. It is more on Saab category

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 32
  • Wow CBU. RM349k = S$110k

• Belom tambah 10X utk COE…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 20
      • Nasser on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:45 pm

kereta BMW 520i SGD200k. Jadi, according to you, COE 10x is SGD 2 million. Total for car and COE is SGD2.2 million

Is this another fake news?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 23
        • sinjapork on Aug 08, 2017 at 4:12 pm

You forgot to add cost of living also 10x

• WRONG! U havent factor in medication & treatment for stressful living there. Actual cost is 100X more!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 18
          • Nasser on Aug 08, 2017 at 5:47 pm

you forgot to add that their gaji is 10x more than Malaysian gaji!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 35
          • 10X gaji how to afford 100X more exp medical fees? No wonder sick pipu prefer 14th floor.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 0
          • loler on Aug 09, 2017 at 4:32 am

Peria kunta or any dupes, if you feel singapork is very good you go there and migrate. Noone needs you here.

Oh forgot, you are not even bolehland pipu, just to create hatred here, lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 45
  • Leafable on Aug 08, 2017 at 2:39 pm

OMG! Volvo we love you very very much! Its a bargain.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 6
    • tokmoh. on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:04 pm

Harga Volvo turun, kenapa tak puji kerajaan? O waiii

Meanwhile, Volvo owners don’t mind. They never cared about RV, they buy Volvo for unrivalled safety and comfort. They take pride being early adopters, get 100% Made By Sweden Volvo. The price for this exclusivity is justified.

Now back to Germans. You all laugh Volvo CBU overpriced. You all got the duty break for EEV CKD, yet you all are the ones that overprice. Soon, when Volvo CKD, your hypocrisy will reveal itself of just how overpriced your products really are. But it’s ok, cuz the market still favours you.

Eventually, the market will shift. Volvo will grow stronger, and people will shift their preference if you remain complacent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 57
      • Nasser on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:30 pm

It is not 100% Made by Sweden. Go and open the Volvo up and see, nearly all parts are China made. Even the windscreen has big words written Made In China for you to see clearly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 54
        • 12yrsold on Aug 08, 2017 at 4:05 pm

Bro, many German cars assemble in Malaysia/China have component parts made in China also la.

Most i-phone/Samsung hand phone are now made in China. In fact, the so call branded shirt & Nike shoe that I’m wearing are also made in China.

Looks like China(tongsan) have “invaded” our world that we live in one way or another. Just saying bro.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
          • tokmoh. on Aug 08, 2017 at 4:37 pm

He liar hater, nothing can save him.

Bumper RM20k la, Swedish embassy don’t use Volvo la, made in China la.

Meanwhile, Volvo only this year started exporting China-made Volvo S90 to Europe, penipu scammer bodoh Nasser.

XC90 and S80 are still our police’s top fleet to escort VIP especially. Why police don’t use GLE? X5? Q7? Sked masuk workshop too much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 14
        • Leafable on Aug 08, 2017 at 4:17 pm

Your shinning new Iphone also made in China. It’s not about who made them its who manage and QC them. The chinese are just doing the donkey works while the educated Swedish doing the R&D. This is how they work in globalisation. Soon Bimmer and Merc will have to follow the trend of out sourcing to China. Bimmer already started building the new 5 series in China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • “Soon, when Volvo CKD, your hypocrisy will reveal itself of just how overpriced your products” – got to agree with this. Looking at how much reduction compare to their CBU, shows that how much some company who got EEV did not reduce their price significantly. Have to thank Volvo for this. Hoping that the truth will be reveal and we can enjoy cheaper eev car from all company.

• Zoom Zoom on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:11 pm

Wow 407hp 640nm!! i think this beast can reach 100kmh in less than 5 seconds. No match for the more expensive 530i or E300..

• Ollie on Aug 08, 2017 at 4:58 pm

So it does sound spectacular.. but 2 things let this potential winner become a loser:

1. The touchscreen interface is super slow and poor….its a complete pain
      2. the butt is very high.. it has a huge raised butt… unacceptable

and thats why it’ll be a loser..thought everything else is spectacular

unbelievable how volvo failed to get these two simple things right

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 44
  • Mikey on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:19 pm

What is so special about this S90 T8?? It has a 2.0 litre 4-cylinder supercharged & turbocharged petrol engine with an electric motor in the rear axle that make the total output of 407 hp/640 Nm.

Will this S90 scare the hell out of BMW & Mercedes??!
    At RM348,888(CKD), this is a direct competitor to Audi A6, BMW 5 series & E-class Hybrid/PHEV or not.

I think the Big question for those who can afford one is – Does it drive better compare to Audi/BMW/Merc?? Maybe its time PT.org put their knowledge together & give a good write-up on this issue. What say you PT?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 0
    • Leafable on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:50 pm

RM349k is CBU price. It’s drive similar to the other German it’s not try to be a driver car. But this will definitely give the 530e and E350e a run for their money if they’ve ever launch in this country. Well done Volvo for a step ahead of Bimmer or Merc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 5
    • tokmoh. on Aug 08, 2017 at 4:17 pm

The seats are way better than the Germans, ride is comfort, quiet.

Volvo turbocharged their car since decades before anyone else does. This gearbox comes from Aisin, used in Toyota and Lexus. When it comes to reliability, it’s way more reassuring than the Germans.

These kinda qualities are not something exciting to write about, so reviews will always overlook them.

But these very qualities are what made them so easy to live with, dad after day, year after year.

Hence why Volvo owners never care about RV. Why think of selling before even buying the car? It either means you can’t afford it, or the car is crap to live with you only concern about selling it before even buying it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
  • Nasser on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:32 pm

S90 and Audi A8L has always been a failure. Those days, embassies took all the S90. Then they dropped it cause to maintain cost an arm and leg.

Now, no embassies in Malaysia use Volvo. Even Swedish embassy also use Japanese Nissan car as their “DC” cars.

5 series and E class will always outshine this car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 50
  • amonrei on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:39 pm

For those who can afford it, it will be a nice sleeper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • apamau on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:43 pm

Overall, this should be a very good car in total package.. except the backside is superly ugly compared to the rest of BBA..
    I give a 95 mark initially to the car.. for the outlook, then cut 50 mark from it after seeing the backside. become 45 mark…
    I know you can say beauty in the eye of the beholder, but seriously ..the back side is just everything goes wrong.

Looking forward for the xc60.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Vincent on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:59 pm

In term of spec and performance, S90 T8 win all the way!

But in 300k plus segment, it is the brand that decide what to drive!

When XC90 is introduce, they price it slightly higher than X5 (408k vs 398k). That made Volvo look more superior. In term of price strategy, Volvo do better than BMW. Imaging when you drive X5, friend ask, how much, you say 300 plus. 398 still 300 plus. But if you drive XC90, friend ask how much, you say 400+… different class ler…

As for Sedan, Volvo is right that they shall not place the price over E200 and 520I… cause this two model is long monopoly premium segment. 348K is right price!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
    • Michelle on Aug 09, 2017 at 9:32 am

Now go Volvo showroom get a pre reg at RM375k bang. Last year was Rm345k. If sales is good, why want to do that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • gonggok on Aug 08, 2017 at 4:48 pm

Supercharger+Turbocharger+hybrid electric drive….

OMG the servicing charges and resale value after 5 years….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 22
  • Aero (Member) on Aug 08, 2017 at 5:46 pm

As expected, the S90 PHEV is a bargain thanks to the EEV rebates. But at around RM350k, it’s an even bigger bargain than expected !

To put things into perspective, a new C-Class or (ageing) 3 Series would cost you around RM250k. The (also ageing) S-Class and (all-new) 7-Series both cost over RM500k.

All of the above models are CKD/locally assembled. The price gaps for CBU models meanwhile are even bigger. For example, a ‘basic’ Lexus LS would cost you over RM750k. The ‘top spec’ LS costs almost RM1.5 million ! It’s a similar story when you consider the Jaguar XJ’s price.

If RM350k seems like a lot of money… well, look at it this way; you’re getting a RM 1 million car for one-third its actual price. It’s like paying RM15k for a new Proton Iriz.

It’s a win-win scenario. You pay less for more. Car companies sell more cars. More employment, FDI and export value for our economy. Global warming slows down. And best of all, you pay less tax. Win-win, right ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • neutral on Aug 08, 2017 at 9:42 pm

From an article I read on the Volvo plant in glenmarie, they will start assembling the new XC60 at the end of the year, very exciting indeed. If the S90 T8 will be selling at around 350-360k…how much will the XC60 T8 cost? Magic number of course is 300k, if they can go below that figure, then they might sell like hot cakes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Jimmy on Aug 08, 2017 at 10:38 pm

Inscripsi T-88 : tiny sunroof = tipu-punya incripsi; smaller tax, smaller price, smaller equipments (less equipments), typical business style.

Volvo in Europe = King of safety,

in USa = I cannot trust you as your airbag counts are not the top. When you try to cut cost on basic safety gadget as obvious as airbags, there is always every chance that you cut cost on every other things.

The management staffs in USa are severely seriously myopic.

Don’t be easily fooled by my T9, T10, or T-ultimate, gimmicks. What about my T-King Inception spec with 6 airbags only with no sunroof and Ertico.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • V40T4 on Aug 09, 2017 at 12:49 pm

Dear Abang Nasser,
    I don’t why you hate Volvo so much as it has done harmful things to you. Before you made any adverse comments please get all your fact right. As far as I’m concern, Swedish Embassy in Malaysia still using Volvo….saw them during LIMA driving S80 despite the sponsor provide E300 Bluetech. Secondly, on the replacing the rear bumper it is just change the cover or inclusive all the repair works? Don’t exaggerate. Yes some parts do expensive as compared to local brand or Asia brands. But when compared to Continental brands it almost the same price or even cheaper. For example, the battery for V40 cost approx. RM800 as compared to approx. RM1800 for 320i. Price of parts also depending on the quality of the materials used and economic of scale. The more the volume, the cheaper the price could be. Thirdly, service bill won’t cost you a bomb as what you mentioned. With 5 years warranty and 5 years free service it save the owner a lot. Finally, my V40 came with all glasses Made in Hungary, a country known best for its quality glass. I’ve yet to find a single part state “Made in China”.
    Every car brands have their own strength. BMW known for its superb handling, Mercedes for its quality and refinement and Volvo for its safety and technologies. Nobody forcing anybody to buy specific brand. You choose the best suit your preferential.
    Happy motoring.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • Clapclap on Aug 25, 2017 at 10:02 am

Wow a sensible and rational comment is finally found on pualtan. Standing ovation

• It is the lithium ion battery that should be worrying people. I love Volvo and have have had one for a decade prior to this. I was thinking of getting the xc90 but backed off because the lithium ion battery cost 42000 RINGGIT (figure is from Volvo Malaysia) ! The battery starts degrading from the moment you purchase it and is said to have a lifespan of 8 to 10 years. However, should you have a problem with it outside of the warranty period of 5 years or the maximum mileage of 120000 km, you must replace the entire BATTERY! So anyone who decides to get a hybrid car, should be prepared to pay 40000+ ringgit at some point in the future. FYI, Volvo offers warranties for the battery in USA and some parts of Europe for 100000 MILES as opposed to Malaysia where it is for 120000 KILOMETERS! Why the different treatment Volvo Malaysia?