Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine CKD launched in Malaysia, RM403,888 for locally-assembled plug-in hybrid SUV

Volvo XC90 CKD launch

Volvo Car Malaysia (VCM) has officially launched the locally-assembled (CKD) version of the Volvo XC90. In terms of specifications, the flagship Volvo SUV doesn’t defer tremendously from its imported version. However, the more attractive aspect is the reduced pricing due to localisation.

Where the imported version retailed at RM453,888, the CKD XC90 is priced at RM403,888 on-the-road without insurance, which is RM50,000 less. Each purchase is inclusive of a five-year, unlimited-mileage warranty and five years’ free Volvo On Call roadside assist. Deliveries are scheduled to take place at the end of June this year.

The seven-seater XC90 continues to come in the form of the range-topping T8 Twin Engine variant, wearing the Inscription design line. At the front, Volvo’s signature “Thor’s Hammer” LED DRLs form part of the headlamps, which themselves come with LED Active Bending Lights and Active High Beam Control.

Moving down the sides, there is a set of 20-inch, 10-spoke silver diamond-cut alloys wrapped in 275/45 tyres. Highlights include LED Adaptive Brake Lights, dual exhaust tips and a power-operated tailgate with handsfree operation.

Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine CKD 2

Unlike the CBU offering that came with a colour palette totalling eleven, the CKD XC90 will only be offered in five exterior colours – Ice White, Onyx Black, Saville Grey, Twilight Bronze and Bright Silver.

Moving inside, you still get Nappa leather upholstery, although instead of the CBU car’s colour scheme comprising three options, it is now just Charcoal black. This applies to the three-spoke multi-function steering wheel as well, which is accompanied by a crystal gear knob by Swedish crystal makers Orrefors, and diamond-cut engine start/stop button and volume control knob.

Dominating the dashboard is a portrait-format nine-inch touchscreen display that is linked to Volvo’s latest Sensus Connect High Performance audio system interface. The system controls almost every feature of the car, including the four-zone climate control system, navigation, WiFi hotspot and surround-view camera.

For audio playback, the XC90 gets a 10-speaker 330-watt sound system as standard. Media input can come from Bluetooth, USB or Aux connectivity, as well as Android and Apple screen mirroring. Drivers aren’t left out either, as they will have access to a 12.3-inch Adaptive Digital Display instrument panel.

Volvo XC90 T8 Twin Engine CKD 19

The seats are slim but are claimed to offer good spinal protection during a crash, and those fitted on the middle row can be slid forwards and backwards to offer more legroom or cargo capacity behind it. They also feature Volvo’s signature child booster cushion in the middle.

The third row seats are claimed to accommodate adults as tall as 170 cm in relative comfort. With the rear-most seats in their default positions, the XC90 has 436 litres of boot space. With the third row folded flat, this increases to 1,183 litres. Fold both the second and third row seats down, and there’s 2,426 litres of usable cargo space.

For those unfamiliar with Volvo’s T8 Twin Engine, the plug-in hybrid powertrain employs a 2.0 litre four-cylinder super- and turbocharged Drive-E petrol engine and an electric motor. There is also a 150 Nm crankshaft-mounted starter generator (CISG) positioned between the engine and eight-speed torque converter automatic transmission to help with low-speed or from stationary acceleration.

The combustion engine delivers 320 hp and 400 Nm of torque, all sent to the front wheels, while the electric motor (87 hp/240 Nm) drives the rear wheels. Total system output is rated at 407 hp and 640 Nm, and together, both drive units form an electric all-wheel drive system.

In terms of performance, the plug-in hybrid powertrain will propel the 2,343 kg SUV to 100 km/h from a rest in 5.6 seconds, and on to an electronically-limited top speed of 230 km/h. Combined fuel consumption here is 2.1 litres per 100 km (47.6 km per litre), and if you choose to run on just electricity, you could get as far as 43 km (both figures based on European NEDC test cycle).

Going full electric is as simple as selecting the ‘pure electric’ drive mode via the car’s Sensus control system. Other modes – hybrid, power mode, AWD and save are also available as well.

Power for the electric motor comes from a 9.2 kWh rectangular lithium-ion traction battery. The battery can be recharged via a household socket with the included portable charger, taking 3.5 hours on our regular Malaysian power supply (240 V, 13 amps). Energy recuperation from braking and coasting as you drive is also another method of charging the the battery.

New XC90 owners will also get a free Electrical Health Check for their homes, whereby by trained staff will test and identify any issues with your home’s power outlet’s ability to charge the XC90. Volvo Malaysia also offers two third-party-certified home charging stations from Hager. The weatherproof Hager Witty system is priced at RM9,540, while the indoor Hager Zero is priced at RM8,480. The benefits of these chargers – a quicker recharging time of just 2.5 hours.

Volvo XC90 CKD 56

The XC90 is the first model to be based on Volvo’s new Scalable Product Architecture (SPA), whereby the batteries are fitted within the platform’s central tunnel to minimise the possibility of it being damaged during a crash. Other chassis related features include the Four-C Active Chassis system (four-corner air suspension, which comes as standard.

Safety is a given in a Volvo and the XC90 is no exception. As standard, the PHEV gets seven airbags, Adaptive Cruise Control, City Safety with Front Collision Warning and Pedestrian and Cyclist Detection with Full Auto Brake, Lane Departure Warning, Lane Keeping Aid, Roll Stability Control and Hill Descent Control.

World-first safety tech that is featured here include the run-off road protection package and the auto brake at intersection capability. Also fitted is the Park Assist Pilot system, for both parallel and perpendicular parking, which comes as standard. A new addition here is an inclination sensor that ties in with car’s alarm system, detecting if your car is being towed or jacked up.

Saving the best for last, Malaysia is the only other country in the world to produce the flagship XC90 outside of Sweden, specifically at Volvo’s plant in Shah Alam. That’s right, this technologically-advanced plug-in hybrid SUV is made right here in Malaysia. Curious on how it drives? Well, do check out our review of the XC90 in its native Sweden, here.

Volvo XC90 official images

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Meejawa on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:31 pm

Differ, not defer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • PM sudah tunai janji. Already give Rm50k diskaun…oh wai!

Kenapa tak puji PM??? Dah terbukti harga jatuh RM50k

BN is the best!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 103
      • Support! Support! First time I support my RBA clone!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 34
      • intheclouds on Jun 02, 2016 at 1:58 am

Funny boy, didn’t PM promise 30% reduction? Shouldn’t the price be RM320k instead? Bt ape puji PM kalo xtunai btol2?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
        • Albert Yong on Jun 02, 2016 at 8:24 am

this lazy fellow cannot think lah. What do you expect?

• hazzif on Jun 02, 2016 at 8:01 am

its called sarcastic bro

• Albert Yong on Jun 02, 2016 at 8:35 am

memang dia sudah jilat

• CKD built by local ppl still entitle for 5 stars Euro NCAP? LOL

• You jelly i ‘polish’ shoe for Najib?

• pelikkan on Jun 02, 2016 at 7:11 pm

FYI, this XC90 T8 is selling at £60k (RM360k) in UK or US$70,000 (RM300k) is US.

• safety 1st on Jun 03, 2016 at 11:51 am

pelikkan – 60k pds is already high end segment in uk bro…here its cheaper than a 5 series.

• Vincent Ang on Nov 03, 2017 at 12:50 pm

You failed Mathematics in school, right?
        How is RM50K a 30% reduction ona car selling at RM400,000. This kind of stupidity is from studying Math and Science in Malay.
        The RM50K reduction is not a discount. Cannot differentiate between a discount and a price reduction.

• ABTguy (Member) on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:52 am

CAN EVERYONE SEE HOW WRONG HAS THIS COUNTRY BECOME ?!!

POOR FELLA WHO CAN’T AFFORD GOOD CAR HAS TO PAY HIGH TAXES TO GET THEIR PRECIOUS CAR, AND THEN THE SUPER RICH DON’T NEED TO PAY ANY TAX TO OWN THIS EXPENSIVE SUV ? THE EEV SCHEME IS THERE TO HELP THE RICH OR UMNO CLONIES, NOT YOU AND ME !

PLEASE EVERYONE, ELECT THE OPPOSITION IN THE NEXT GE !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 15
      • Of course, this XC90 is the only EEV in Malaysia.
        **duhhhh**

• Why don’t you consider Proton? It is affordable, isn’t it? Stop worshipping foreign cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • Mr Fakta on Jun 04, 2016 at 12:36 pm

If I can afford a 400k car, I would not mind paying 50k more to let mat saleh assembled my car. At least I know my car is in good hands, not some nasi lemak teh tarik stained hands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 17
  • Painter on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:32 pm

Why are there 7 X’s?

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:34 pm

Where is the 30% promise to reduce car prices? Rm400k is a lot of money to even a tan Sri.

Malaysians are suffering with high cost of living. Now eve every house in KL is paying RM500 TNB bils. That is how bad the cost of living is now.

So, how many people really can afford cars without sacrifising much of their pay to buy one?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 10
    • buy proton lah cheap and safety. proton made In malaysia, volvo,nissan,toyota, all also made in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
    • Mana bashers pergi? Tak mengaku ke, harga kereta sudah jatuh??? RBA semua pergi mana???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 59
    • neutral on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:04 pm

this car can be considered as close to tax free as you can get in Malaysia, the car is selling spec for spec in the UK for 70,000 GBP or more. Do the maths. While the government’s incentives for offering tax breaks for hybrid or other EEV vehicles are good, these cars are usually expensive in the first place….poor people will still not be able to buy nicer cars for better prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
      • Bashers dun use brains. They use bullsh*t

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 39
      • Yup. It can be consider as almost tax free, reduce about RM50K. They deliver the Gov EEV and hybrid incentive they got to their customer. But some CKD brand are using these incentive as an extra profit to them. Some even jack up the price and after that announce discount. It is weird while Volvo can give 50K less price for their CKD XC90, but some brand can only give you a few thousand less even it is CKD or EEV/hybrid.

• Volvo is stupid for being truthful to customers and pass all the EEV incentives to them. They shud be like other brands that skim of some of the savings and only gip 10% discount to customers. If still expensive, them just blame it on Gov. Their saleman Albert, Albert Yong, George Abdul, Kunta, Peria, RBA john (actually just 1 person) is trying to hardsell this to his customers but MY pipu smart alredi and dun take his bollocks, so now he got so much free time to rage at PT. Other times, he just cry at corner with Sam Loo.

So lets all gip them 0 sales every month and put them out of their misery.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
          • Kunta Kinte on Jun 02, 2016 at 4:50 pm

After being found out about his dupes, he comes here bashing imaginary people….sad person

• Neutral on Jun 02, 2016 at 12:41 pm

EEV incentive are customised. I suppose u mean BMW and Mercedes. They get EEV incentives but most of their products are not hybrids or electrified with the exception of e300 hybrid. I suppose that affects their EEV discount. Government probably impressed with volvos continued commitment to use Malaysia as a production hub and also their decision to build their top of the line model here. Hence, the better incentives. Anyway, it is also true that some companies try to take advantage of this as a means of making larger profit margins rather than targeting larger quantities sold. UMW is one of the biggest culprits. Think about it when they launched Prius back when hybrid incentives were open to all cars cbu or ckd. They still sold them at a higher price. Now check the pricing for the Lexus brand….mad!

• Hello on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:11 pm

Hello, this is a full size luxury hybrid SUV with all the bells and whistles, not tin kosong like you get from T and N CKD models.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • That why its weird. Tin 0 T and N CKD car give you only a few thousand less compare to the CKD volvo.

• Jimmy on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:44 pm

I live in KL with a family but i pay only RM50 monthly for electric bills. Where got RM500? U on aircond with no inverter 24hrs in all rooms including bathrooms ka? At the end, it’s all up to the users pandai take care of their consumption or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 34
      • Jimmy Sai on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:15 am

for rm50 i guess you don’t have aircon unless you already modify your meter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
      • Kunta Kinte on Jun 02, 2016 at 11:47 am

No house with aircon can even be RM50. This fellow sure modify his meter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Jimmy boy, u live with family and you pay RM 50. I guess the bill is more than that and you only contribute RM50.

• Daniel on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:35 pm

Please confirm if the five years unlimited-mileage is included. Thank you.

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:45 pm

My advice to people, refrain from buying cars in the next few years. Many plug ins are coming in and the prices are much lower than the original petrol model.

Even the 5 series and E class as well as Audi also having plug ins. you buy your BM and Merc now, you sure cry when the plug ins come into market. The new X5 plug in and this Volvo model are good examples.

• Yup, agree on that. But sadly, some car dealer market their EEV/hybrid CKD car with higher price then the petrol model even got incentive from G like some Jps brand was doing, keeping the extra $$ to them. Then how?

• What about Proton? They borrow RM1.5B from us but never build a production EV. Then how?

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:47 pm

Another sui kwan Chinese made car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 45
  • omegle on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:48 pm

and when the EEV tax exemption kicks in, boom!

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:48 pm

Where is Proton Hybrid and Proton EEV??? 8 years since Proton announced their supposedly launch of Proton Hybrid.

2 years ago Proton showcased their EEV Iriz….apa jadi? Or was that show to get the RM1.5 billion free money????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • tokmoh. on Jun 02, 2016 at 2:34 am

Cannot compare Proton with tongsan cars, tongsan cars all moving coffin, no quality.

Oh wait ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

• so who drive volvo don’t be lansi, your car is made in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
    • neutral on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:36 pm

volvo owners have never been known to be lansi. only applies for some Merc, BMW and Audi drivers. Occasionally Vios and City as well….not to forget stupid Veilfires

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 2
    • Auntie on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:37 pm

Please,
      CKD Volvo has already here about more than 50 years.
      And now u saying now Volvo only be assemble in Malaysia? It’s since the day 240 exist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • DPCraft on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:39 pm

No, it is mostly Imported

• just saying, it’s ‘skd’ which means parts are made elsewhere but the car is assembled here, and yeah well the S400H and A6 Hybrid are cars of the same type, so why can i lanci my Merc but not my Volvo? 400k isn’t a small figure…

• Even BMW and Merc also made in Malaysia la kawan, and most of them lansi.

• The One on Dec 04, 2016 at 8:02 pm

Assembled in Malaysia not made , all the parts,engines are from germany & are shipped over to the malaysian plant ! Pretty sure bmw,merc &audi malaysia would definitely have some kind of “quality control” to maintain the upmost quality we usually known from the products.

• Meejawa on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:59 pm

More advanced mode, not more advance mode..

• RUGAL on Jun 01, 2016 at 8:59 pm

What? Better buy Alphard and Vellfire la. A lot cheaper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 43
    • Alfat & Vel-faiya is proven coffin. Just ask ur deputy supreme leader in early afterlife

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 17
    • Buy Proton or Perodua la kawan, much much more cheaper.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:31 pm

its a pity, despite the discount it doesnt feel cheaper….if only they could break below into the magical 3xx,xxx region it would work better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • DPCraft on Jun 01, 2016 at 9:40 pm

Sad to see the Beige interior is gone.. :(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • apamau on Jun 29, 2016 at 11:00 am

Hi, for the beige color, i would say, lucky the option was not available. if you go see the car, the beign interior get dirty easier, could be the type of soft napa leather volvo use. black is practical.

• when are we getting the R-Design?

• tokmoh. on Jun 01, 2016 at 10:24 pm

I’ve sat in this car during My auto fest a couple of weeks ago at MIECC.

The interior blows me away. Soooo premium, the woods, the crystal gear knob, the buttons, etc.

Most important of all, THE SEATS. THE GODDAMN SEATS ARE SO FREAKING GOOD. Never have i came across seats this good, be it car, or office seats. Sooooo unbelievably good.

Gerard, you’d be foolish to presume the slim seats makes it compromised. There’s a reason nearly every foreign reviewers claim Volvo makes the best seats. Because they do. They know what they’re doing.

Meanwhile, obligatory puji kerajaan kerana turun harga kereta, cukuuuuur. I <3 PM, or dearest supreme leader is righteous, hell lead us to greatness, PM is love, PM is life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 15
  • seancorr (Member) on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:16 pm

Nice price for this SUV but the previous gen was cheaper so yeah before u start saying the government made it cheaper better take a look at what was the price of its forebears first…

• tokmoh. on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:37 am

Last version of previous gen was T5 2.5L, it was RM 360k++ thereabout. This wasn’t even most flagship, there was T8 4.4L V8 engine, same as the one used in Polestar’s Australian V8 supercar series.

Considering this is the most flagship T8 twin engine powertrain and highest spec, Inscription, it’s not bad. Also, previous gen’s T5 was about 210hp, this behemoth has 400+hp. SAVAGE.

And seriously, I don’t see you lose any crucial specs in this CKD, only color choice for exterior and interior. Way better than Honda last time cilaka throw away ESC in CKD Jazz Hybrid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • seancorr (Member) on Jun 03, 2016 at 1:04 am

I see what you mean mate and to be honest am looking fwd to see the S90 when it arrives here. Volvo hasn’t really taken off in Malaysia mainly due to brand perception so hopefully these new models will change some minds. I’m one of those who wouldn’t getting one…when my kid grows up and I’m all wrinkly haha. I wonder if they will bring in a petrol model only…coz not everyone owns a landed property suited for charging.

• tokmoh. on Jun 03, 2016 at 10:04 am

No need wait they grow up la, you buy now, your kids gonna love you so much, they’re gonna love traveling in comfort and safety only a Volvo can provide haha.

I think XC90 probably not, but possible they’ll bring in S90 T6. That, or you could get current XC60 T6, also have that Drive-E powertrain.

Brand perception, lol I don’t understand why people wanna buy car to impress others. These type of insecure people usually are MLM, insurance, unit trust, real estate agents or cronies that want to jilat to get contract.

If u buy BMW cuz u like the brand, the driving experience, etc fine la, can throw logic out of window a bit, but the type of people above usually buy to impress others, I feel pity. Usually, they’re the kinda people that can just barely afford it, sekali kaput, gg no savings, borrow from friends, family, and slow to repay.

These type of people usually the only ones shun Volvo, giving stupid lame excuse like no RV, unker car, maintenance expensive (got Conti car dirt cheap to maintain like Myvi meh?) which is good. Don’t like my Swedish metal infested with these kinda jerks, giving bad reputation. Shooh shooh

• Aero (Member) on Jun 01, 2016 at 11:34 pm

Excellent news ! It could have been a wee bit less pricey (I guess the weak ringgit exchange rate affected pricing), but the new CKD XC90 is still brilliant value for money all things considered. I’ve already seen a few CBU XC90s in Subang Jaya (I’m pretty sure Subang has the highest concentration of Volvos in the whole country!), and no doubt, the more affordable CKD XC90 will sell like hot cakes, just like the previous gen.

I’m amazed that SMA has managed to assemble the new XC90 before Volvo China… that is a respectable feat. The future of SMA rests on the success of the V40, XC90 and upcoming S90. It would be a shame to let five decades of Malaysian-assembled Volvos end right when sales of luxury cars are the highest they’ve ever been in our automotive industry’s history.

We simply cannot afford to lose Volvo/ SMA, they (and Tan Chong Subaru) are the only CKD assemblers we have that export more cars than they sell locally. I hope more Malaysians can realise the significance of this, and for those who have bought Volvos or plan to, you have my utmost gratitude.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh. on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:54 am

Yes, Subang Jaya has plenty of Volvo, me one of them :) (not this model though lol)

SMA is truly amazing. When they CKD V40, it was said to be the first in Malaysia to incorporate laser welding, giving it more consistent assembly quality with Gothenburg’s plant.

I hope Malaysian being more safety conscious, will realise the Volvo is a steal vs Germans, pretty good RV vs Germans, way better quality than Germans (VW DSG, RM53k wiring harness lol), and most of all, it’s the world’s safest car. Heja Sverige!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Gracke on Jun 02, 2016 at 12:19 am

This is gorgeous and high tech and luxury….but it seems hard to aford it here!!!

• tokmoh. on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:57 am

According to haters, and RV expert Sam Loo, conti car no RV, so wait next year, can buy from Sam Loo for RM10k.

Maybe can even haggle to RM3k, cuz Sam Loo say this car really no RV, he desperate wanna get rid of it. After all, now his stockyard full of unsold Godcar tin milo no one wanna buy, he’ll have to move stock quickly muahahahhahahaha

• Where are you chris harris on Jun 02, 2016 at 7:05 am

600k++ cheaper than the range rover! Bravo volvo bravo…

• tokmoh. on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:59 am

As I always said, Volvo XC90 > all.

1 Range Rover = 2.5 XC90. You total loss this Volvo also, still can buy another one and have RM200k spare cash vs had only u bought RR.

• hazzif on Jun 02, 2016 at 8:02 am

1st generation of XC90 pun aku tak mampu nak maintain..apatah lagi yg ni..hukhuk

• tokmoh. on Jun 02, 2016 at 10:21 am

Join VOCM on fb, banyak XC90 owners boleh share cost of ownership diorang, brapa harga parts, workshop mana jujur dan harga berpatutan, etc.

Memang nak bela XC90 lagi mahal dari bela kancil, saga, wira, tapi jika banding dengan conti2 lain, lebih kurang je. Actually kalau consider Volvo parts durable, kurang breakdown, lagi murah in overall sense. Tapi ye la, kalau beli kereta lama, first thing kene refurbish, inspection ngan mekanik, dan memang kos tinggi sikit camtu nak kasi betul2 tip top dulu, baru ada kata peace of mind nak bawa.

Tapi Volvo pun tahan lama, nak bukti, tengok atas jalan masih bersepah Volvo lama2 sebenarnya, dari sejak 240 pun banyak. Sempoi je daily macam biasa. Asalkan jaga servis, Volvo memang puas hati.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Coffin Van on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:18 am

At least this is much better spec and more premium than those idiots who buy Ah Fatt or Wefire exaggerated VAN!!!

• Why dark leather interior? Weather here is really hot and having a dark interior doesn’t help.

Will we ever get lower spec XC90? hoping the price would be even lower

• Neutral on Jun 02, 2016 at 12:46 pm

Lower spec XC90 will probably not qualify for such good EEV incentives due to not being hybrid. But I think Volvo Malaysia should one day bring in lower spec variants of T8. Especially R Design package which I think will be more suited to our tastes.

• gonggok on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:31 am

Tubocharger, supercharger AND hybrid drive. I shudder at the thought of the servicing/repair charges in 5 years….
    Bring on the pure electrics. Simpler to run, simpler to repair.

• sick&tired on Jun 02, 2016 at 9:55 am

yahoooo! rich people who can afford to buy a RM400k luxury car can save RM50k!! Can use that money to take their mistresses overseas for holidays! Very caring government indeed!

• wait few more months another 50k discount for end of year clearance

• cheapskate on Jun 02, 2016 at 12:10 pm

rm50k ??? more like 100k during year end sales.

Good for those who can buy the car under company account instead of a E class.

• gaviny on Jun 02, 2016 at 10:24 am

definitely this over the s400 hybrid.

• i hope my dad will sell his 5 series and get this instead

• Vernon on Jun 02, 2016 at 10:45 am

Hi Gerard, thanks for the nicely written article. I have a question: Is the Volvo cheaper to run on pure electric mode or hybrid mode, cosidering the cost of electricity and petrol at the moment? I understand that at this price point, it’s probably insignificant but just wanted to ask out of curiosity. Thanks.

• Vernon on Jun 02, 2016 at 10:49 am

Hi Gerard, thanks for the nicely written article. I have a question: Is the Volvo cheaper to run on pure electric mode or hybrid mode, cosidering the cost of electricity and petrol in Malaysia. I understand at this price point, it’s probably insignificant but just wanted to ask out of curiosity. Thanks.

• hamdan on Jun 02, 2016 at 11:27 am

Don’t ever forget the tagline “Volvo For Life”
    Once bought,
    you have to live with it for life cos there is zero RV !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Wow, they choose T8 to sell, which is quite good.

Look at the numbers this more than 2 tonne suv nought to 100 in 5.6 secs. That is GTI territory.

Now look inside the luxury finish inside is better than x5. With all bell and whistles it close to Tesla, with 2.0 engine that can make 320HP. There only quite few numbers of manufacturer can make this.

• Actually quite faster than gti. It’s 328i, 428i and tts territory now. Matches cars specifically made to go fast. And this is a 2.3 tonne behemoth. Bravo to Volvo.

• Good one volvo Malaysia. Sure 400k puts this out of range for most people here but IMHO that’s a damn good price for a premium product of this calibre.

• Look at th mustang that just launched then look at this ? This will easily burn the 2.3 L mustang that just got launched. This car has 7 seats is fast and has a much better fuel mileage. What the hell was ford Malaysia thinking when the priced the mustang. Bunch of greedy idiots. They should look at th Volvo Malaysia. Tremendous specs and tremendous pricing at only 400 K you get more than an x6 this shows us all how over priced our cars are in Malaysia because of these greedy dealers. Taxes aside.

• Martha on Jun 03, 2016 at 11:43 am

I must admit Paul Tan postings are always A-plus… if not for stupid Malaysian commenters who keep on nagging and criticising their goverment on every posting and then continue bashing each other. For god sake – stick to the topic. Make a relevant & useful comments about the car that could benefit other readers instead of behaving like morons!

• Better get the brand new Mazda CX-9 for 250k. More powerful and just as many stars on the NCAP rating.

• Volvo Guest on Aug 16, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Apart on the limited to upholstery and colour scheme, the 50K reduction of CKD top-spec Inscription design line missing following items:
    Excluded the portable charger which came the RM454K CBU price tag?
    Without Head-up display?
    Without chiller in the glove box?
    Even the RM454K CBU are without:
    19-speaker Bowers & Wilkins sound system replaced by 10-speaker 330-watt sound system
    Tyre pressure monitoring system (TPMS) optional at RM1,380

• Volvo Guest on Aug 17, 2016 at 6:59 pm

…and hmmmmm, CKD also without front fog lights

• T8 has no fog lam on May 25, 2017 at 8:43 pm

T8s has no fog lamp because of the cooling fan taking up the space to regulate the temperature of the batteries.

• Anonymous on Mar 12, 2017 at 9:10 pm

Is there an option for the 19 Speaker 1100 Watt Bowers & Wilkins audio system?