RFID Tag gateless gantry toll system for electronic toll collection to be implemented from January 2018

Two years ago, it was reported that there were plans to implement a gateless gantry toll system for electronic toll collection (ETC) starting from 2018, and this was set to be based along Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) lines.

At that point, the RFID-based system was briefly sighted undergoing trials, in May 2015 on a PLUS SmartTag lane at the Batu Tiga toll plaza, and it was also reported that the system had quietly been undergoing testing at the Ampang-Kuala Lumpur Elevated Highway (AKLEH), Elite Expressway and New Klang Valley Expressway (NKVE) over an extended period.

A multi-lane free-flow RFID gateless gantry was then spotted at Technology Park Malaysia (TPM) later that year, presumably also running field trials.

Now, the digital payment system is finally set for deployment, starting from next year. According to a Sin Chew Daily report, the RFID-based ETC system began a pilot test programme yesterday, ahead of public operations commencing on January 28, 2018.

The pilot programme will involve only selected vehicles – presently, police vehicles are trialling the system, which will share a SmartTag-based lane at eight toll plazas in the Klang Valley, but the report adds that fire department vehicles and ambulances will soon have access.

Malaysian Highway Authority (MHA) director-general Datuk Ismail Md Salleh said that the RFID tag will be more advanced than the existing ETC system, and that it will work just like a Touch ‘n Go card, where the charge is debited from the motorist’s pre-load just like Touch ‘n Go.

He added that the system – similar in scope to Singapore’s Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) – will be ready for public use by motorists on January 28 next year, though implementation will be carried out in stages. It is expected that RFID tag will eventually take over from Touch ‘n Go for toll collection in the future, though that will likely take some time.

Radio frequency identification works in a manner similar to barcode scanning. The tag is ‘read’ by an overhead scanner through electromagnetic waves with a frequency of between 850 and 950 MHz, and scanning can reach ranges of over 27 metres, with a 10 millisecond response time. Operation-wise, RFID tag will be superior in both amplitude and consistency compared to the current system.

It wasn’t reported which tech partners will be providing the RFID system for series use. The system on the 2015 test gantry at TPM listed Mitsubishi Heavy Industries (MHI) and Quatriz, so it could well be these companies. In October 2013, MHI announced that it had signed a memorandum of understanding with Touch’n Go and Quatriz System to develop intelligent transportation systems (ITS) in the country.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments generally express optimism and approval for the RFID gateless toll system, highlighting its potential to reduce congestion and improve efficiency, similar to Singapore’s successful implementation. Many appreciate the technological advancement, noting that RFID can read tags at high speeds and improve traffic flow. Concerns are raised about implementation delays, system security, and potential misuse such as toll evading or fake license plates. Some comments are skeptical about the system's effectiveness in reducing traffic jams beyond the toll plaza, emphasizing physical bottlenecks, while others compare Malaysia’s progress unfavorably with Singapore’s earlier adaptation. Several comments mention the need for transparency, better enforcement, and a smooth transition from existing smart tags, with overall positive sentiment about embracing the new technology.

• Susukotak on Aug 16, 2017 at 4:54 pm

jelaskan dulu apa status pemilik ~not so~ smart tag sekarang jika sistem baru dilaksanakan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • nemesis on Aug 16, 2017 at 7:10 pm

they pushed all highway to use cashless and promote the use of smart tags….kasi clear the stock first then implement new system…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • In Singapore, all car purchased with pre-installed RFID reader & ID connected with car power supply, all charged. When come to bolehland, some will think how to boleh bypass for toll-free riding 7-24.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Freeloaderz on Aug 16, 2017 at 10:06 pm

Its time to hack sistem Smart Tag again..

• metoo on Aug 16, 2017 at 4:57 pm

FInally… 20 yrs after Singapore did the same…

Not too late la… I’m proud of Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 19
    • Krasher on Aug 16, 2017 at 6:37 pm

Why they decided with Smarttag when RFID gateless gantry tech is available back then??
      Now want to switch pulak! Gov bodoh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 28
    • It took time cuz only now that RF spectrum was released. All the time was using by a yellowman company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 14
      • Sinister on Aug 17, 2017 at 12:53 am

You’re a dumbass….nothing to do with RF. Learn how big and flexible RF systems are before commenting like an idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
        • I gip u leeway cuz not many pipu knows about RF spectrum banding. I advise u readup about this b4 come here and discuss with me again.

• thepolygonal on Aug 16, 2017 at 5:00 pm

No gate. I hope motosikal don’t misuse that lane.
    Good effort!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • Stupid comment. Have u ever seen it in Singapore before

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
    • How to misuse when motor dun pay toll?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
    • ar halimi on Aug 17, 2017 at 9:34 am

Hi.. to my humble observation, bikes in S’pore pay toll – we do see those RF units on bikes in S’pore.

• FireAce on Aug 16, 2017 at 5:06 pm

Good progress for our transport system.

Now, what do I do with the SmartTag I just bought few months back? Throw and then fork out few hundreds more to get the RFID device? I hope we run bi-system for long long while, many people just invested in TnG & SmartTag after all toll goes cashless recently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 7
  • jibril on Aug 16, 2017 at 5:07 pm

Good effort by the government. Looking forward to congestion free toll lanes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • BUSUK KOTOR on Aug 16, 2017 at 6:12 pm

DREAM DREAM DREAM LAH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 17
    • 12yrsold on Aug 17, 2017 at 8:38 am

Seriously, if this system can solve congestion problem, I think many people will buy/use it. The congestion will be there Regardless. We are paying for some cronies to enjoy at our expense & that is a FACT & Reality.

• Ahmadjr on Aug 16, 2017 at 5:10 pm

The project will be rewarded to… A new company with familiar faces.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • jibril on Aug 16, 2017 at 5:57 pm

Luckily DAP do not work on this project. Pay money first but feasibility study never complete even after so many years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 17
  • smart tag useless on Aug 16, 2017 at 5:13 pm

Get the quality of the smart tag unit correct first.

Its so lousy that it stop displaying values after a few months.

Battery run out fast .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • Use smart tag also can jam. Haiyaaa, not so smart anymore

• Albert Yong on Aug 16, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Singapore did this 25 yrs ago. Does this mean Singapore’s brain is 25 more advanced than ours? No wonder they earn 10x more than us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 26
    • Your brain is retarded

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 44
    • jibril on Aug 16, 2017 at 6:07 pm

The system used in Singapore were made by Mitsubishi Heavy Industry, using Japanese’s brains.

Malaysia did implement the same concept for SPRINT expressway, just 5 years after Singapore implemented theirs in 1999. It was called FasTrak. But then, the payment method was made standardize throughout the country with touch n go + smart tag.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 19
      • 12yrsold on Aug 17, 2017 at 9:00 am

U did not answer his question of – Does this mean Singaporeans brain is 25 X more advanced than ours?? I don’t agree with him. He is being Sarcastic about 25-X but sometime, the truth hurts.

What is the purpose of Smart Tag/T&G/FastTrak?? If I say they did not meet the original intended purpose, U will not agree too. Thanks 4 the info anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • 25 years ago there was a little telco company occupying that RF spectrum. So according to ur logic, 25 years ago gov shud kick out this yellow company, rampas its spectrum and use it for the benefit of selected pipu like what ur Southoverlordland did kah?

• Just to share, more than 10 years ago, around 2005 MCMC allocated Freq to be used in UHF Rfid is 919-923mhz. I think is not the spectrum issue. That time the passive UHF Rfid is not so good. Lots of issue. Sensitive to metal, water etc.

• I understand the general resentment,

But to degrade oneself is like shooting your own foot, that really shows you have low self-esteem. Stop comparing to Singapore everytime something comes up.

• SG din have anyone using 800~950Mhz band that time. I guess ur too young to know who was using here up till now.

• Summons on Aug 18, 2017 at 8:51 am

Singapore can do it because their tickets are huge and worth to go to chase the offender. While in malaysia which only 300 ringgit max, it was less attractive for the cost to be beared. And we know mahathir, he want carssssss on the road so all tolls owner can benefit from it. Najib is more towards public transport. Increase in parking in city centre was one of the way to push people from driving to take public transport. And i dont think higher ticket price for offender is far from his current consideration.

• Bernard on Aug 16, 2017 at 5:29 pm

Better late than never…..yawn

• Not Toyota Fan on Aug 16, 2017 at 5:32 pm

Lebuhraya SPRINT was already using a radio frequency tag way back in 1999. But they had to discontinue this more advance system & forced to use older inferior system (infra red) SmartTAG (utilising Touch&Go card) from 2004. Thank you Samy Vellu.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 0
    • 12yrsold on Aug 17, 2017 at 8:43 am

It’s not 100% Samy fault. If want to blame, U should blame the cabinets who approved the system.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 16, 2017 at 5:37 pm

So what or who is going to stop those without RFID devices running through the gateless gantry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
    • jibril on Aug 16, 2017 at 5:58 pm

Camera which will capture their car plate number.

• Krasher on Aug 16, 2017 at 6:46 pm

Letter will be send to your house and need to pay fine lah.
      If don’t pay, then saman will come.
      If still don’t pay, you will be drag to court.
      Never visit SG is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • This is the chance for my new business. Selling false address!!

• haha…

later same thing happen…slowdown till 5kmh to scan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
    • Bodoh la you punya comment. Does cars slow down in singapore when they pass through the toll gantry?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
      • They do, everytime, to wait for toll-free/reduced/end time.. hahaha..

• Azrul Muhammad on Aug 17, 2017 at 8:21 am

Ive read somewhere that the rfid tag/sticker can be read at 200km/h.

• Can’t wait. So Sick of having to reverse out to the next lane because the front car got jammed at the (Not)SmartTag reader

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • Thats becoz the person in front din replace battery or forgot to reload TnG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • MKA RXK on Aug 16, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Tiada Toll lagi baik
    Menguntungkan ahli pelabur sahaja
    Yg peliknya jalan di jadikan punca pendapatan.

• Between (i) getting more Efficient at the toll gates, and improving the (ii) InEfficiency of traffic congestion after an accident, my 2 SEN is the (ii) is more of a PRIORITY. LLM (or MHA) must get the highway ops to buck up to clear traffic accident soonest. Give them a timeline. Use heavy lift helicopters if tow trucks or mobile crane cannot get ot the scene on time. Already much FEED UP over so much loss of productivity when kena JAMMED! :(

• Pondan on Aug 16, 2017 at 9:43 pm

Affter so many years only catching up to SG level while SG is moving gps that will form virtual gantry

• Sam Loo (ori1) on Aug 16, 2017 at 10:54 pm

In Taiwan, their in-car unit is just a metallic sticker on the windscreen. No need battery. Even more advanced than Singapore

• We will using this system. If call passive tag, same concept with TNG tag. No battery required, the power generated from radio wave transmitted from the reader.

• If they want to do like this, they have to limit who can produce plate numbers, not any tom, dick and harry. Otherwise, how to control plate tipu??????

• This system can detect the tipu plate number easily. The tag id can be compared with the number plate registered in the system. This new toll system will have camera for enforcement / plate recognition system.

• kuntilanat berdamar on Aug 17, 2017 at 5:34 am

kalau ye pon nak duit, kau beli jelah kompeni touch n go tu.. nk nyusah rakyat je keje.. satu kad touch n go kalu leh redeem rm10 aku ade 4-5 keping.. refund balik device smart tag redeem rm150, dan lepastu kau nak tuka semua sistem dekat laluan transport awam pulak, macam lrt mrt parking2 yg guna tng..

• roziah Kamal on Aug 17, 2017 at 6:46 am

Good.. Singapore hv done this many years ago… jno more traffic at toll gate conjunction

• Add A Comment on Aug 17, 2017 at 8:33 am

I always welcome changes especailly good one, although it is late. But. will the traffic at the toll smoother or still jam? We will need to see when RFID implemented. To me, most likely will be the same for most of the tolls in the city (not saying Plus-like highway toll though). Reason? Look at LDP itself, the jam started like 2KM before the toll and you will stuck right underneath the Smartag reader cause the jam continues all the way after the toll booth. The problem is not how fast you passing the toll but the bottle neck after the toll. Again take LDP for example, a >10 lanes toll combine into 3 lanes. Some even worst if it combines into 2 lanes. That’s the main cause of the jam that started 2KM before the toll. Fix the bottle neck while you are rolling out this new old-tech.

– I Have Just Added A Comment –

• Tolol on Aug 17, 2017 at 9:19 am

Many comments seems to be applauding on this RFID implementation. Yes, it sure able to reduce toll congestion. BUT, this RFID tower is cheaper to erect, with no human operators and have much lower space footprint, these towers can be easily be erected anywhere. Imagine having 5 RFID gantry to you work place instead of 1 toll.
    In Singapore, quantity of RFID gantry is increasing and a short stretch road having 2 gantries. All this, in the name of “reducing congestion”. End of the day, is all from the everyday human’s pocket. FYI: Singapore’s Electronic Road Pricing (ERP) is nicknamed Everyday Rob People.

• Ben Yap on Aug 17, 2017 at 9:25 am

yes, easier getaway during high speed car chase.

• I have a genuine concern regarding this one. What if a person tries to speed through the toll at 240kmph? I’ve noticed that some tolls have u-turns, and because there are no toilets, credit reload on their side of the road, people try to get to the other side as well. Accidents will happen eventually.

• Does it come with increase in toll rates?

• Technically this system are much cheaper comparing with current system.

• kudahitam on Aug 17, 2017 at 7:22 pm

My house already use this RFID system for the autogate. Should there be any disruption if 2 RFID placed on 1 car?

• No problem, If your house using the same frequency tag, UHF, it will read both and the reader will discard the unknown tag from the system. Tapi Ada banyak jenis Rfid in market untuk housing, paling common prox 125khz, iso15693, mifare, Yg ni semua tak effect lansung dengan toll.

• RFID is categorically different from bar code scanning tho.

• pilotHans on Sep 07, 2017 at 12:29 pm

I think it comes with a good purpose. Just that, the whole process should be transparent so we know who is benefiting. Putting these RFID tower (or whatever u call them) at high traffic places like around dataran merdeka, jln bkt bintang, jln ampang (for example) would be more sense to discourage people to drive into town. it also should come with new car purchases foc like some other countries. IMHO MOT(assuming there are the caretaker) should do more engagement with the public before fully implementing this plan. peace

• Will it be using back the existing tag and go machine or it will be upgrade to new machine ??

• Surendran on Nov 06, 2017 at 2:24 pm

i have a question! in Singapore, its easy to fine a person for evading any ERP gantry since everything is traceable. with RFID, what control measures will be taken to control toll evading and what happens if someone passes the gantry without sufficient fund?

• I think when Spore first implemented the ERP 20yrs ago it wasn’t RFID technology, it’s based on bar code reading. RFID only came later. I think some of you maybe familiar with RFID using in office. But then again true lah, it’s all about business which determine he method. But I am glad we finally use this technology. We cannot compare with Spore, let’s progress according to our capability, capacity, pace and size of the country.

• dontbebodoh on Dec 12, 2017 at 3:44 pm

Guys why so angry? if u want to use smart tag just use laa
    you still can use both what? dont bother to buy a new one if the old one have same effect
    come one use your brain

• So, January sudah habis, still no news about the RFID thing.

• Edwin on Mar 08, 2018 at 12:02 pm

That means I can puchase RFID to use in Malaysia? Since RFID can be use in somewhere else in Malaysia. Right?

• abahaku on Mar 29, 2018 at 4:27 pm

hello Plus, what happen to this? Now end of March already…

• Put it in there on May 13, 2018 at 7:50 pm

Bro. Bile nak start nih? Dah masuk may 2018 dah weh

• Lee Ching Hong on Aug 10, 2018 at 10:08 am

“The system uses a sticker embedded with an RF chip which will be pasted on the vehicle. The sticker, which is unique to each vehicle.”

I have been quite concern with this quoted statement. How this system to prevent people from stealing your RFID tag? How the RFID toll server device prevents stolen RFID tag from passing? Or How the RFID toll server device recognizes the owner of the vehicle?

• Lian Hua Liong on Aug 25, 2018 at 3:10 pm

Myvi 1.3CCQ 8853 H/Pno;019-3939112

• Please compare with the system that has been used in Dubai for the past 10 years. More egonomy and efficient. No toll booths or cashiers or slowing down for barrier to open.