PIAM introduces Motor Product Selector – online platform offers easy shopping for motor insurance

Today’s media briefing by the General Insurance Association of Malaysia (PIAM) on the industry’s first half 2017 performance also saw the mention of two key items related to motor insurance.

The first is the introduction of a Motor Product Selector feature on the PIAM website, with a link to all insurers. This online platform will provide consumers with key information on the insurance covers available and connects them directly with insurance companies.

Consumers can select the products they wish to purchase from an insurer, and request for quotations on pricing via a single action, thereby simplifying the whole shopping process by eliminating the need to access each individual insurer for a quote. This is especially relevant now with the phased liberalisation of motor insurance already underway.

With motor comprehensive coverage, boxes can be ticked for to pick additional items such as loss of use/inconvenience allowance, limited special perils as well as motor personal accident coverage.

There are also selected stand-alone coverage boxes, which allow you to factor in items such as a waiver of betterment provision as well as tyre/rim coverage. Bear in mind that these will also add to the final cost of a policy.

Presently, 22 insurers are listed on the product selector, but we understand that the availability of the add-ons currently differ from insurer to insurer, and not all have them. if you do try the feature out, do give us your thoughts about it in the comments section.

The other mention was of the setting up of an Accident Assist Call Centre (AACC) to help motorists involved in accidents. The free service will provide motorists with arrangements for emergency roadside assistance (towing services) as well as providing information on insurance claims enquiries.

The association says the AACC will also help prevent any unwanted third-party intervention which can confuse or take advantage of motorists at the scene of an accident. It can be accessed via a toll-free 24/7 nationwide hotline at 1-800-221188, or via a parallel hotline at 15-500.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Looks like MIMOS werent sleeping after all, like basher claimed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 37
    • Syiok Syiok Sendiri on Aug 23, 2017 at 9:33 pm

hello fake poster, where does MIMOS come into the picture here?

Did the article mention MIMOS?

• Why get angry at me. U the one that brought MIMOS in b4 and now u been proven wrong. Stop with the putar and foot in mouth, then pipu can take u seriously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 22
      • ultras on Aug 24, 2017 at 9:32 am

MIMOS where got time & knowhow for dis? Dem busy design P1 summore.

• Anonymous on Aug 24, 2017 at 9:16 am

Umm… Pretty sure you actually meant miRos. with an ‘R’

• No. MIMOS with a M.
        In previous PAIM article, I brought up the idea for a car insurance cross shop app/site and some “intelligent” caveman brought up MIMOS. So now hes been proven wrong again once more. Cheers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
      • Shahrul Rashid on Aug 24, 2017 at 10:10 am

Never seen syiok syiok mention mimos?

• timbvktv on Aug 24, 2017 at 10:26 am

Both agencies are merely sad MiTos.

• Bernard on Aug 23, 2017 at 10:57 pm

Wah thumbs up, everyone so happy…

• centurion on Aug 24, 2017 at 8:36 am

it is not just about pricing, people will stay with their trusted insurer whom will also be competitive, trust is very important in doing business in Malaysia

• Omar Shah on Aug 24, 2017 at 9:49 am

no mention about mimos here. Looks like putar. Pls show us where is MIMOS mentioned here?

• Syiok Syiok Sendiri on Aug 24, 2017 at 11:58 am

same guy who says our car insurance is subsidised by gomen to keep it low

• I only debunking what u said. Dun get angry cuz u got proven wrong. Be poi-sitive! ;-)

• Read comments from previous PIAM article tenkiu

• Andrekua on Aug 24, 2017 at 6:15 pm

LoL…

I really wonder if there’s such thing as free services. Just like hotels comparison. More often than not you’ll end up with higher charges than what the hotel actually offer. Best is still dealing with insurer personally.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 04, 2017 at 12:02 am

more ways to get your info easily