Quick Ride to lease Proton vehicles to Uber drivers – Saga at RM45 per day, Persona at RM55 per day

Those looking to become an Uber driver will soon have a new entry into the ride-hailing network. The Cartrade Group, together with Koperasi Pelaburan Amanah Berhad (KAPB), has entered into a partnership with Proton to create Quick Ride, a company that will lease vehicles to prospective Uber driver-partners.

The service will offer UberX drivers a brand new Proton Saga 1.3 Standard CVT at RM45 per day and a Proton Persona 1.6 Standard CVT at RM55 per day over a three-year period. The cost covers vehicle maintenance (except for tyres and fuel), road tax and insurance, and WiFi and a tablet will also be thrown in for riders to use in the car. A courtesy car will also be provided in the event the car needs to be serviced.

Quick Ride says that the service is targeted at fresh graduates, the unemployed and those wishing to supplement their primary income. The company will initially offer 1,000 vehicles for lease, with plans to expand the fleet to 10,000 vehicles over the next two years.

“We applaud KAPB and Proton’s effort to provide economic empowerment using Uber’s technology, especially to those who need it,” said Uber general manager for expansion Karina Ali Noor. “This partnership demonstrates the innovative ways for economic empowerment and how ride-sharing has the potential to positively impact the socioeconomic status of Malaysians.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Proton oh Proton on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:09 pm

emmm… after lease than lelong?

• lilytan on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:24 pm

1.3k a month for a saga is just insane. Who in their right mind would subscribe to this crazy scheme.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
    • Someone who can earn 3~4k above per month with that Saga3?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
    • when u r black listed, such scheme will be useful.

you get free maintenance and you get a new car.

you are not tied to 9 yrs loan like hire purchase, tenure is 3 yrs only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
  • tokmoh. on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:30 pm

Rm45, rm55 per day they call cheap…

Renting Almera is cheaper, from rm200 per week. Divide by 7 days, u decide who is cheaper per day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 16
    • Rm200 a day got la, where to find almera rm200 a week?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
    • labix7 on Sep 05, 2017 at 1:43 pm

where to rent almera with rm200 per week?? afaik .. bezza is rm550 per week … but maintenance bear by the company

• tokmoh. on Sep 05, 2017 at 3:36 pm

Posting link here is hard, u can google “grab rent almera”, you’ll definitely see it.

Latest rate may have changed, but it doesn’t change the fact such rate was once offered to rent Almera.

Grab after all is founded by Tan Chong’s family member, not surprised such special rate applies for their car.

• Grablagiuntung on Sep 05, 2017 at 2:09 pm

Grab gold leasing. 5 years contract. Only rm200 per week

• Ada sauce rent Almari Rm200/week?
      At Rm28/day pau maintenance, even periperisamy can ditch his Toyota SA come parttime basher job and be Grabuber driver.

• tokmoh. on Sep 05, 2017 at 3:43 pm

Google “grab rent almera”, you’ll see it.

It was quite awhile, so I dunno if price changed edi.

• C. P. MOHAN on Sep 05, 2017 at 2:14 pm

I do not see leasing as an issue here or elsewhere but there are however added risks when fresh graduates and unemployed are involved. Presume it has been considered during lease pricing.

• Might as well buy the car yourself and pay much less than that per day.

• RM45 also include the time car spend in workshop for foreman to identify unknown problem like other Proton models?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
    • What r problems & what other models?

• Wiring problem, fitting problem, electronic problem, ECU problem …..and yes, power window still have problem…. what you are giving now is just longer warranty but it didn’t solve the problem.
        Macamlah tak tau. Pandai pura-pura.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • So this is something like Big Blue of rideshare?

• Ben Yap on Sep 05, 2017 at 2:37 pm

better just get the Saga. If top up to a persona is pointless as it still falls under UberX which has the same fare as Saga.

• Chock on Sep 05, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Yes, but when I hail uber if I see Viva/Axia/Saga I always reject. So does all of my friends.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 26
      • James on Sep 05, 2017 at 3:59 pm

Reason? It’s to get you from point A to point B. It’s not like you’re deciding between sitting in a Wira and in an Accord….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Ben Yap on Sep 05, 2017 at 4:15 pm

cancel that 5 times in a row and uber will suspend your rider account.

• Want sit Camry but pay UberX price also? Pui, your mentality same as third world

• Cheaper on Sep 05, 2017 at 2:41 pm

Get the ‘sambung bayar’ is cheaper. My colleague got a 2016 saga flx for 500/mth. Ok la for grab. Can use kaw2 later return back. No loan needed. Depo just 4k.

• Dylan Ch'ng on Sep 05, 2017 at 2:53 pm

Proton Persona is ok, but Proton Saga?!? Why would we want 4-star crash rated vehicles?

Also, i wish that other cars would have been chosen that used other types of energy, e.g. Electric. Electric would especially work well in small cities like Penang

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • heyheyman123 on Sep 05, 2017 at 6:20 pm

At least Proton have more safety features than Perodua

• So how does this leasing work? Say if I want to drive part time two days during weekend can I just lease for those two days?

• Kamarul Mahmud on Sep 14, 2017 at 11:10 am

What are the terms & conditions including other hidden requirements