KL-Singapore HSR – discussions on ticketing in Oct

An update on the KL-Singapore high-speed rail (HSR) project – Malaysia and Singapore will be seeking concepts and ideas for a ticketing and fare collection system to be used for the HSR in a series of discussions next month, The Straits Times reports.

MyHSR Corporation and the Land Transport Authority (LTA) of Singapore said they are inviting companies with the relevant expertise to share the latest on ticketing technology and developments.

The talks, set to be held in Kuala Lumpur on October 9-10, are expected to include topics such as fare payment systems/validation as well as seat reservations/selection. The parties said that input gained from the discussions will be taken into consideration when the agencies structure the ticketing and fare collection system.

Construction of the rail project is set to begin in 2018, with completion in 2025. Operations are scheduled to start in late-2026, and when it does, the HSR – which is expected to run 10 car-long trains – is set to bring down the rail travel time between KL and Singapore to 90 minutes.

The 350 km-long double-track route (335 km of which is in Malaysia, and 15 km in Singapore) will have eight stops in total – Singapore, Iskandar Puteri, Batu Pahat, Muar, Ayer Keroh, Seremban, Putrajaya and Kuala Lumpur. A bridge over the Straits of Johor – with a height clearance of 25 metres – will link the line between both countries.

Each country will be responsible for the development, construction and maintainance of the civil infrastructure and stations within their own domain, and the parties said that the proposed ticketing and fare collection system should take into consideration the cross-border elements of the project as well as the service’s separate operators.

The HSR will have two operating companies in place – an international operator running the KL-Singapore express service and the cross-border shuttle service between Iskandar Puteri/Singapore as well as a domestic operator to run the service within Malaysia. The two countries are expected to make a decision on who to award the rail system to by the end of 2018.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Kiasuland on Sep 20, 2017 at 8:39 am

Mykad holder special discount please

• lilytan on Sep 20, 2017 at 8:46 am

The progress of this project is so not HSR speed.

• good for singaporeans. they like to speed. HSR will give them speed. and arrive KL, we have uber which is very cheap for them (because of weak ringgit)

• JChong2 on Sep 21, 2017 at 8:49 am

My volvo can go even faster than the HSR from Singapore to KL.

• Even security clearance for Eurostar (for non-EU passengers) takes 1 hour, not sure how we can do better.

• Don’t say that. If that happen here, sure kena bash lembab.

• Prius on Sep 20, 2017 at 2:27 pm

I’ve took the HSR in China a few times where it is required to x-ray all your bags and check your ID with your ticket (tickets there are sold on a real name policy) and it you can usually be done with security under 5 minutes. I am sure with modern station designs and a good system we can achieve similar if not better speeds at security clearance and immigration.

• That’s all fine when you travel domestically. But the problem is when you’re holding a passport, and wanting to travel to another country. Immigration checkpoint is a hassle.

• kopiokaokao on Sep 20, 2017 at 9:45 pm

Can one lah…sub sub sui…depending the CIQ officer want to work fast or not….there must be some form of KPI assigned