October 2017 week one fuel prices – three sen down

We’re about to enter a new month (I can’t believe it’s October already) and with that comes new fuel prices, which will come into effect from midnight.

After a September that saw fuel prices go up three weeks in a row before moderating slightly, we’re going to see a further decline as we go into October. From tomorrow, September 28, RON 95 petrol will be priced at RM2.16 per litre (three sen down from RM2.19), while RON 97 will cost RM2.46 per litre (also three sen down from RM2.49).

Down for petrol but up for diesel. It’s now RM2.12 per litre of Euro 2M diesel (up two sen from RM2.10) and RM2.22 per litre for Euro 5 diesel.

This is the 27th weekly fuel pricing update since the system’s implementation on March 30. Compared to March 2017 prices, which was the last month before weekly pricing took effect, RON 95 is down by 14 sen (from RM2.30 per litre), RON 97 by 14 sen (from RM2.60 per litre) and Euro 2M diesel is down by eight sen (from RM2.20 per litre).

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• orangminyak on Sep 27, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Keyboard warrior weekly comments:-

a) overpaying gomen – but OP has not quoted public source

b) Crude Oil go down. Ringgit get stronger. but price go up – but OP does not know the difference between crude oil and refine oil products

c) we are an oil producing country – but OP did not notice that only Petronas & Petron has refinary in Malaysia, other company has to buy from third party within or outside Malaysia

d) Give us specific calculation – but OP has not searched the answer on Paultan.org

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 88
    • Kopi Pasta on Sep 27, 2017 at 6:21 pm

Petrol price formula is correct!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 20
      • Sri Suhaini on Sep 28, 2017 at 7:44 am

We are overpaying gomen by about 70 sen per litre. According to Global prices, ron 95 should be around RM1.40 to RM1.50. Dont get excited with 3 sen decrease when the past 3 months, it was going UP UP UP in Malaysia whilst global prices went DOWN DOWN DOWN

Calculate that with 10 million motorist. Gomen makes billions extra every month.

but yet universities and schools got no funding and hospitals have cut back medicine.

How is it Brunei and Saudi can sell their Ron for about RM1 per litre to their rakyat and we have to pay RM2 plus?

We are also oil producing nation also

• It seems that you’re the keyboard warrior

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 7
      • Cynical on Sep 27, 2017 at 6:35 pm

Another 30 to 40 petrol stations closing down tonight.

• YB Albert on Sep 28, 2017 at 6:00 am

Datuk Cynical
          Remember the menteri who said he will rework his “formula” to aid PDAM members who threaten to close shop when prices dip?
          Now,he is busy doing it.So,in 2 weeks …u can expect a rise again.
          Since transparency is near impossible,if u r already at home when wed prices r announced,just forget driving out3-4km to refill,if prices dip,unless u have a big fleet of 2 litre cars/4 wheel drive.
          The other day, I saw a dude with 5 huge plastic containers filling up at petronas when prices dip.Is this allowed,or isnt it dangerous to have so many tongs of petrol stored in your house?

• Sri Suhaini on Sep 27, 2017 at 7:38 pm

Dont worry, diesel up means food, public transport, school bus and all that will go up.

But globally, oil price is going down. Cannot understand why our diesel is going up.

Flip flop Government. Diesel and petrol are byproducts of crude oil. It is stupid to say Diesal go up but petrol go down.

By the way, our diesel is diesel kotor Euro 2M. It was banned by EU in 1994 cause it causes cancer.

So our gomen sells cancer causing diesel at a higher price and dare to increase further.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
        • Thinker on Sep 28, 2017 at 8:43 am

Actually oil price is going up only in beginning of September but our ringgit also is going up back in August. The decrease in local petrol price only can be felt for past two weeks which I do not understand. We should see the decrease back in early August if I based the current local petrol price for recent two weeks as indicator.

• Kancil Hybrid on Sep 27, 2017 at 7:24 pm

Bila naik dipersalahkan kerajaan. Bila turun kenapa tak puji kerajaan? Ada yg dah turun. Kangkung dulu naik sekarang ni dah turun. Minyak dulu naik sekarang ni pun dah turun. Ada yg dah turun..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • Rightwinger on Sep 28, 2017 at 6:12 am

Haters love myths, hate facts.

• Ghanie on Sep 27, 2017 at 6:17 pm

Saya cinta BN..puji jgn tak puji

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
  • So basher kristel ball prediction still not working, huh? Try gip a hard shake and karate chop it. Prediction will be back to accurate again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
  • falldisc on Sep 27, 2017 at 6:19 pm

Cukuur gahmen prihatin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
  • Lulla singh88 on Sep 27, 2017 at 7:19 pm

Oil price in the world now v volatile so for us it should b cheaper n hold pattern till prices trend shows up or down but every week prices Increase or reduce is wrong practice n showing lack of competent pple in govt

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Sep 27, 2017 at 11:11 pm

With cheaper petrol prices, I can save some money to buy kangkung to feed my family. Syukur…..

• Rahimy on Sep 28, 2017 at 12:09 am

Can somebody tell the public is there a specifed time the new price is announced… Lets say every Wed at 1730 hrs.

Which channel it is officialy announce at say 1800 hrs RTM1.

For that matter today i have scouring a number of newspapers online since 1630 hrs .. and only found in STAR at 1800hrs and this website at 1813 hrs..

• SufferingNation on Sep 28, 2017 at 7:30 am

US crude has reached near US$60, highest since 2016. But gov still reduce 2 cents. This is clearly manipulation. Hey, sleeping gov, every lie you made, you’ll need to pay back. Don’t screw the whole nation for playing with fire.

Analysts predict the uptrend is heading to US$80 because of growing demand and short supply. OPEC have played their game well. So what will oil price be when it hits US$80 in couple of months time. Who will suffer in the end?

• 12yrsold on Sep 28, 2017 at 8:13 am

I pump my 1st car full in afternoon because Crude oil went up by US3.00 compare to last week.

When I was about to pump my 2nd car in the evening, BFM radio announce that Ron 95 reduce by 3 cents.

I must thank BFM for saving some $$$ otherwise I would have pump full expecting our Gov to increase price of fuel. Chukurrrr.

• Ben Yap on Sep 28, 2017 at 9:12 am

I suggest that paultan release the fuel price earlier so that people can go and pump. the price has already been circulating on whatsapp and few hours later only paultan release the price.

people expect first hand news, u know.