Geely powertrains will be integrated into Proton products – hybrid, plug-in hybrid and electric likely

During the signing of a definitive agreement between DRB-Hicom and Zhejiang Geely Holding (ZGH), it was revealed there would be a fair bit of technology sharing between Geely and Proton. At a press conference this morning, we were provided a little more insight into those plans.

“Geely will provide all necessary support. Geely will supply our latest and most advanced engines. For your information, Proton’s engine is only certified for Euro 4 emissions. Geely will provide Euro 6 and beyond engine,” said Daniel Li Dong Hui, executive vice president and chief financial officer of ZGH. The company has engine capacities ranging from 1.0 to 3.5 litres, paired with either a four- or six-speed automatic, as well as a five-speed manual.

It isn’t just Geely’s conventional petrol engines either, as electrified powertrains are confirmed to be on the cards as well. “Yes, this is something that we will embrace, and Geely has embraced the technology. This is one of the highest reasons why Proton needs a strategic partner, where we can get immediate access to techology of EVs,” noted Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar, chairman of Proton Holdings.

“Geely will provide the transmission which will not only be able to handle a few cars, but also flexible to be equipped with new energy solutions, including hybrid, plug-in hybrid and pure electric. We will provide the new product development, including our new models and including also hybrid and electric cars,” Li added.

The company’s experience with electric cars is backed by its partnership with Volvo Cars, giving birth to models like the Emgrand EV, which will be followed by a plug-in hybrid version later this year.

There’s also Geely’s new sub-brand – Lynk & Co – which will see closer cooperation between both Geely and Volvo on shared vehicle architectures, powertrain development and electrification.

With access to Geely’s resources and technologies, the Proton-Geely partnership will lead to the development of new (and exciting) products. We already know the Boyue will form the basis of Proton’s first-ever SUV model, and we’ve already sampled one in China not too long ago.

The SUV is available with a variety of engines, depending on the market it is sold in. Options include a 2.0 litre naturally-aspirated four-cylinder petrol (139 hp/178 Nm), 2.4 litre NA petrol (153 hp/225 Nm) and a 1.8 litre turbocharged, direct-injected petrol (161 hp/250 Nm). A likely candidate for the Proton version is the turbo variant we sampled, paired with two-wheel drive and a six-speed automatic transmission.

However, it remains to be seen when these new and modern powertrains will be integrated into Proton’s products, be it present models or future ones. Of course, all these product development initiatives will require the cooperation of both parties.

“Geely needed to invest tens of billions of dollars to do all this new product development. We do not ask Proton to make all this kind of additional investment. So Proton will only need to invest on the production and plant upgrading, quality improvement and the introduction of new products,” Li explained.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Saya setuju ..teruskan! on Sep 29, 2017 at 2:34 pm

Do 1st and let the rakyat test for few days la..kalu ok kita ramai2 beli..baru boleh caya..baru betul …paham tak..cakap tadah sama bekin u tutup kedai on the spot ok..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 13
    • Kolos on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:24 pm

GG proton tgdi.

• Can trust? Or 5 years later the system auto kaboom, resulting in million vehicle recalls?

• Khalid on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:35 am

I hope Geely sacks all the 12,000 deadwood in the company and bring in fresh blood. Cannot believe we kept all 12,000 workers despite Proton losing RM4 million per day the last 10 yrs.

• Abes la jepunis cars. Jepunis companies better kolos shop and open kedai kopi

• Tahniah P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • Tidur Oh Tidur on Sep 29, 2017 at 10:56 pm

So shy. Proton was born in 1985. Geely was born in 1997.

Proton is actually getting tech from a younger company of 12 years than Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 17
  • “Geely will provide all necessary support. Geely will supply our latest and most advanced engines. For your information, Proton’s engine is only certified for Euro 4 emissions. Geely will provide Euro 6 and beyond engine,” said Daniel Li Dong Hui, executive vice president and chief financial officer of ZGH.

I am enjoying the speed of their shaming of the old company already! good job Geely Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 15
    • Rightwinger on Sep 29, 2017 at 3:38 pm

I guess we all know how mean spirited you are…

• Ruslan Bahari on Sep 29, 2017 at 4:14 pm

Indeed. It is not shaming. PROTON has said the same in the past.
        I guess for some people only the negative sells.

• Tidur Oh Tidur on Sep 29, 2017 at 7:03 pm

The bodohs at Proton tak ada malu. Geely already showing how stupid and lembap Malaysians were or are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • arowana on Sep 29, 2017 at 2:48 pm

“Geely will provide all necessary support. Geely will supply our latest and most advanced engines. For your information, Proton’s engine is only certified for Euro 4 emissions. Geely will provide Euro 6 and beyond engine,” said Daniel Li Dong Hui, executive vice president and chief financial officer of ZGH.

wow.. that’s like spear strike into the heart of previous Proton management..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
    • Rightwinger on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:42 pm

Yuo said management…Indeed it is and I agree. Hopefully this is the starting point of clearing up the Deadwood’s and creating a clear path for the engineers to move forward, free from the shackles of a management that don’t know jack about running a car company.

• Good Luck

• Ruslan Bahari on Sep 29, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Methinks the 2017 Iriz with a Geely 1.0 powertrain may be oh so yummy.

• finally no more cvt

• fadzili Rahman on Sep 29, 2017 at 3:01 pm

its good to dream when it never happens. Proton still has to answer to Rakyat what they did to all the money they got to do electric cards with Frazer and nash UK under Tun M. where are the money and what happened to their promises? also for geely the first move will be to introduce their own cars and its not like over night they will give proton engines. Geely does not have its own tech and is it all came from companies they bought. I insist that as long as DRB involved in the operation there will be no progress due to their own companies being sole suppliers to proton as vendors.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • finally can say goodbye to the not-so-pro campro engine

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • mesinrumput on Sep 29, 2017 at 3:03 pm

“We do not ask Proton to make all this kind of additional investment. So Proton will only need to invest on the production and plant upgrading,…”

Nice move, geely. You know that proton does not have money to invest and you seriously want to take over its plant.

• passion on Sep 29, 2017 at 3:12 pm

AWESOME!

• anonymous on Sep 29, 2017 at 3:39 pm

Chinese users complain Geely Boyue has high FC (100km/10-12L)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • What happen to Proton Ricardo engine?

• Up to P1 & Geely to decide. Its still more advanced than anything Geely has right now.

• Andrew on Sep 07, 2018 at 3:36 pm

I want a car with Lotus handling with the new 1.5 turbo 180 HP ricardo engine. Anything with Geely engine and gearbox I wont buy.

• Guess that spell the end for Protons new GDI & TGDI engine develop with Ricardo that should be launch this year with no mention what so ever. SAD

• Veneno on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:59 pm

How about the development of Proton’s GDI engines..?

• Absolute Rider on Sep 29, 2017 at 7:35 pm

Paul,

Any news about Proton GDI and TGDI with Ricardo? What happened to those engines? Still prefer 4 cylinder engines than 3 cylinder engines.

Plus missed the multi link suspension by Proton. Geely, most of their models are torsion beam. Correct me if I’m wrong. Thanks. Please reply, Paul.

• Aero (Member) on Sep 29, 2017 at 9:30 pm

Great to hear ! I have no opinion on Geely’s powertrain technologies, but so long as Volvo participated in the development, we have nothing to worry about. Volvo’s powertrains are some of the most advanced and refined in the world. Reliability and quality control is a big question mark though.

Some matters were left unaddressed. What will happen of Proton’s joint project with Ricardo and Lotus ? Proton has been developing their Euro 6c direct-injection engine for some time now. There’s also the Jatco CVT which Proton hinted at a while back. Proton also has EV and Hybrid concepts, such as the Iriz EV and Prevé REEV.

Hopefully, all of these concerns will be addressed in due course.