FIRST DRIVE: Geely Boyue – Proton’s first ever SUV

Among the biggest highlights of Geely’s acquisition of Proton was the transfer of the former’s bestselling Boyue to the national carmaker, as the basis of its first ever SUV model. We went to Geely’s headquarters in Hangzhou to see just how good (or otherwise) the car is.

The Boyue sits squarely in the middle of the C-segment SUV market, being slightly smaller than the Mazda CX-5. A strict five-seater offering, it is available with a range of engines, with the most powerful being a 181 hp/285 Nm 1.8 litre turbocharged and direct-injected four-cylinder engine on the car you see here. That’s paired to a six-speed automatic transmission and a choice of either front- or all-wheel drive.

Geely’s trump card is the sheer amount of kit available, including a seven-inch digital instrument cluster, a panoramic sunroof, a 3D 360-degree camera and a fully-featured infotainment system with an eight-inch touchscreen, WiFi, Apple CarPlay and a very impressive Siri-like voice control system. It is also offered with a full complement of safety features including autonomous emergency braking and adaptive cruise control.

Want to know how the Geely Boyue drives? Watch as we put what will be Proton’s most important model through its paces. You can also read our first impressions review here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Jchow on Sep 13, 2017 at 7:46 pm

No 7seater No buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 48
    • put kids chair behind the car ,you can make over 20 seater super suv (depend body size)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 8
    • Henry on Sep 14, 2017 at 7:47 am

Buy a bus.

• Nordin on Sep 14, 2017 at 9:07 am

Proton has the largest pool of engineers and designers of any car company. All highly paid.

All these engineers and designers could not design a SUV the past 10 years after seeing SUV market is in hot demand?

What are the Proton designers and engineers doing in office? Why do we have to wait for a foreign company to help us?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 16
      • ExEngineer on Sep 14, 2017 at 10:48 am

Highly paid? I beg to differ.

• tokok on Sep 14, 2017 at 11:34 am

This :
        “Proton has the largest pool of engineers and designers of any car company.”

Gip proof or you talked kok

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
        • Nordin on Sep 14, 2017 at 12:56 pm

Only car company with 12,000 workers producing 50,000 cars per annum

Mitsubishi in Thailand got 6000 workers producing 320,000 cars per annum

So, of course their engineers all lepak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
      • Ruslan Bahari on Sep 14, 2017 at 11:48 am

Of course, Nordin. Just design. Who needs to care about whether they have funds to produce the car in the first place, right?
        Iriz cost RM600m ground up WITHOUT engine. You want them to take soft loan again from government?
        Do you know each mould has a 100,000 unit run? Can they sell 100,000 units in the first place? Ok la, sell 70,000 units and keep the 30,000 for stock. Can? This is why the Persona was based on Iriz. They can have a common parts bin.

• azhar on Sep 14, 2017 at 11:31 pm

blamed it on proton failings on previous models that deprived the funds…and dont tell me an SUV cant be based on B segment hatchback

• Huehue on Sep 14, 2017 at 9:56 am

Just buy mpv instead

• Nordin on Sep 13, 2017 at 8:08 pm

The car may look good but at what expense? For 30 yrs, Malaysians have been suffering with super high car prices because of Proton.

Malaysians have suffered so much with super high car loans and the highest car prices in the world for 30 years..all for this Geely Boyue.

All 9 yrs of paying loans and all these suffering just for this Geely Boyue? And not even our own built product.

Prices have been going UP UP UP UP in price since 1985 in Malaysia

Toyota Corolla was RM20k in Malaysia in 1989. In 2017, the Toyota Corolla Altis jumped to RM139k

But in Japan, the same Toyota Corolla price from 1989 to 2017 has hardly gone up by DOUBLE…..infact 50% increase in price only

Malaysia 1989 to 2017 = 700%
    Japan 1989 to 2017 = 50%

Everything was done to PROTEK Proton. And all we have now is the Geely Boyue. Not even made by Proton. 30 yrs Malaysians suffer and we have to showcase a China product from Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 257 Thumb down 31
    • Isengard on Sep 13, 2017 at 8:22 pm

7seater Outlander will tapau kawkaw Boyue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 17
      • Basher says Outlander will outsell CRV 100:1 cuz got 7 seater, otherwise reality is all fake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 36
      • Henry on Sep 14, 2017 at 11:15 am

So, by the same logic a 50 seater bs will tapau the Outlander kaw kaw, yes?

Remember, for all those clamouring for a 7-seater there are equal number of people wanting a 5-seater.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 13, 2017 at 11:24 pm

can u do comparison between Thai n Japan or Indo n japan so many pipu can see price in 1989 n 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 42
      • can u do comparison between saga n bezza so many pipu can see.

• alldisc on Sep 14, 2017 at 9:59 am

what is proton target with this Boyue? is it to sell in Malaysia only (again) or to start selling in overseas market (where proton is pretty much non-exist). as much as i hope proton to recover fast, boyue will not do wonder to Proton (and Geely).

• Dun be lazy and read Boyue articles here. Its for RHD markets.

• Why not? on Sep 14, 2017 at 7:42 pm

It may sell well if price 80k, bcos Boyue is big size suv (1.8L turbo vs Crv 1.5L turbo), interior ok but exterior can be improves….. price is important for this 1st product. If Rm80k can a CRV size suv why not?

• Donno on Sep 13, 2017 at 8:21 pm

It seems that actually geely is getting proton almost for free. It gives the boyue platform, but from what i hear from insiders, geely is charging proton big money for every changes on the boyue, the biggest is designing Right hand drive system as it is only available as Left hand drive. Now geely can access and use proton platforms for its cars. Actually geely has only a few small car designs, their current ones mostly illegal copies of toyota platforms.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • Elchino on Sep 13, 2017 at 9:42 pm

Left hand drive to Proton RHD is a plan in futile, just like MAS buying more boeing jets.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • MAS needs the new boeings and airbuses (when the price becomes right).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
        • Loler on Sep 14, 2017 at 7:28 am

Hahahahahah…

• Letstorque on Sep 14, 2017 at 9:08 am

Even MAS A380s are underutilised. Are there needs for new Boeings?

• Skills on Sep 14, 2017 at 10:48 am

Spinning & funding at work

• A380 is well known gas guzzler. Them dreamliners r fuel savers for same trip.

Dun compare airplanes with ur car. Even thou looks exp, airlines regularly spend to change fleet/re-engine just to save fuel cuz overall cost of plane usage for older fleet is higher than brand new planes.

• kzm (Member) on Sep 13, 2017 at 11:27 pm

Why Geely charging their own company? Does not make sense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • jinggo on Sep 14, 2017 at 12:02 am

own company? DRB 51%…simpan sikit bo..

• ex-VGM staff on Sep 14, 2017 at 11:52 am

do you know Lotus charged Proton to make to conversion of Satria GTI (in terms of handling, bodykit and improved insulation). Lotus would like to tune the engine as well (especially cylinder head – for improved and wider mid-rpm power) but unfortunately Proton did not have the budget for that. i read this in Autocar UK 1998.

• Henry on Sep 14, 2017 at 11:53 am

Nothing is free in this world. Inter company also must charge because each individual company is a profit centre.

• Geely will charge for RHD development, not the whole platform. This normal in any organisations with inter subsidiary co-developments due to accounting audit & compliance.

But while P1 pays, Geely will have to open RHD markets for this car as offset to amortise the R&D, otherwise Geely will suffer themselves anyways. So in the end its win-win for both P1 & Geely.

• Abangang on Sep 14, 2017 at 10:50 am

According to abang, Why Geely charging their own company? Does not make sense woh.

• Do u even read what I wrote? Pls see “accounting audit & compliance”

• tokmoh. on Sep 13, 2017 at 8:39 pm

Geely > all
    Proton > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • It will do well as a short-term disposable SUV here. Potholes? No worries. Floods? No worries. Kena pokok tumbang? Haha, no worries. Just buy a new one everytime it is close to death or end of economic use.

• Mystvearn on Sep 13, 2017 at 8:50 pm

7 seats please. Very few are going to use voice command.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • Golfer on Sep 13, 2017 at 9:45 pm

And it’s only launching in 2yrs. When CRV, CX5 & Tiguan ord due for facelifts then

• ayunie on Sep 13, 2017 at 11:03 pm

u looked pretty buffed up johnatan. been working out at the gym?
    bring along hafriz & paul next time.

• What’s the point of this video? This SUV will only be launch here in 2 years’ time from now and by the time if it’s launch here, will it be full specs as per the video and all these kit available will be outdated because it’s already outdated in 2018.

• Azlan on Sep 13, 2017 at 11:46 pm

P1 latest P1 syok sendiri project sponsored by Geely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • kobalex on Sep 14, 2017 at 11:10 am

Having seen how the Perdana turned out, history may repeat itself again for Proton. Launching an outdated product into the market where the competition have moved on with greater technology and more value into their products.

The outdated Perdana doesnt even stack up with the current C-segment cars anymore even though it rides in the D-segment with C-segment pricing. I’ve sat in the Perdana in their roadshow and the interior really looks tired and dull, and in some parts, cheap and uninspired compared to the offerings in the same price range. Thats how bad the Perdana is.

• Henry on Sep 14, 2017 at 7:49 am

Tweak this SUV to local taste and with a competitive pricing, it will sell.

• Mohd Akmal on Sep 14, 2017 at 8:35 am

I dont think this is the first thing to improve PROTON’s name in the market by REBADGING the car from other brand..rebadging and keep on rebagding..for how long this will keep on continue?.,ERTIGA, PERDANA and now BOYUE?, we MALYSIAN dont know much the quality and performance of this BOYUE and PROTON is expecting us to buy it?..come on..it is better to use the technology transfer opportunity to enhance the technology for current cars which is outdated especially in the outlook and interior technology such PREVE, SUPRIMA and EXORA. Even the EXORA in the MPV segment sure will attract the MALAYSIAN if the technology is pour to it since MPV segment in MALAYSIA is a “boom”. It is suppose for PROTON to build their own car identity, not buy keep on rebadging other brand. This bring PROTON back to 20-30 years ago.

• 12yrsold on Sep 14, 2017 at 9:13 am

Nothing wrong with the Boy-U. It basically looks the part of a SUV. Tall & have all the goodies of a modern SUV. I just cannot get use to the “Badge”. I think our Proton Tiger looks way Better.

• Nordin on Sep 14, 2017 at 9:34 am

then we should also do a comparison of car industry in 90s in Malaysia and Thai.

Malaysia was the CKD hub and Detroit of Asia in the 90s. Now kaput.

Thai pulak is the Detroit of Asia in 2017. How can this be so?

• John Tongsan on Sep 14, 2017 at 9:49 am

It’s a wrong car for Proton to rebadge and will be failure. Proton should rebadge the smaller SUV Geely GS as a starter first where most car buyers budget are below RM60K for any chance to Proton to regain sales volume. Only then slowly rebadge Geely GC9 to replace the Perdana and other models.

Right now Proton no need to think big and be humble, better select the right car from Geely to be rebadged. Much better if they can sack the designers and be replace with their European designers. 90% of Proton failure came from the really pathetic self-absorb syok sendiri deign direction.

Last but not least, the lone delusional macai “John” should be banned from commenting here. Thank you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
  • by the time it launch here, they probably strip out all the lane departure thingy etc

• MK Lim on Sep 14, 2017 at 12:19 pm

Should have spoken much more clearer. You sound loud in the beginning and soft at the end of your sentence. So heard some and missed some, space for improvement.

• johnnas on Sep 14, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Dear Geely,

If you care for your brand and the 49.9% stake, you would know better than to let Proton molest your Boyue.

My 2 cents advise, retain standard features, do not skim a single one, CKD is fine and stay true to sub RM100k price tag.

Proton’s engineers may be capable and talented but they are lazy. Proton products speaks for themselves.

john, accept the fact.

• Ur 2 cents not even worth 1 share of Geely/ P1/ Volvo/ LnC/ LondonCab/ Luxe, so why shud P1 even put an ear to u?

• Jom! Kita minum dulu! on Sep 14, 2017 at 4:57 pm

This videos is meant to be shown in 2019…proton needs to remain us that they re still around.. kan….belum tutup kedai tapi pls dtg jumpa kita nanti dekat dekat thn 2019 mcm tu …k..byeeee

• Meanwhile P2 still lookling for their missing axles. Reward will be given.

• Old proton is DEAD!!!

Long Live Geely.

Malaysians are finally free to buy a cheaper car

• faizal on Sep 25, 2017 at 12:39 am

is that a proton SUV?? cause i don’t see proton emblem.

• ayoyo on Oct 06, 2017 at 10:04 am

come on guys, dont dream it will have stunning SUV coming up from Proton, it may be just some modified vehicle from Geely old design book for proton. because no matter how funny the car looks like, people will still go for proton without a doubt (Cheap mah~) and you guys really think proton making loss because it cant sell and hope new car to get good sales? come on, proton is good selling car!! only someone took the money!! now just need to cut “someone” !!!