Proton to develop its first SUV based on Geely Boyue

Following the announcement of the Geely-Proton agreement, we were treated to a short presentation of Proton’s future plans, which will involve the development of its first-ever SUV. The model will utilise the platform used on Geely’s best-selling model – the Boyue.

Measuring 4.5 metres long, the Boyue is designed by former Volvo designer Peter Horbury, who heads Geely’s design studios located in Gothenburg, Shanghai, Barcelona and Los Angeles.

In its domestic market, it is offered with a range of engines, including a 2.4 litre naturally-aspirated unit (162 hp/210 Nm) and a 1.8 litre turbo (163 hp/250 Nm for the manual, 180 hp/285 Nm for the auto). Transmission options include a six-speed manual or automatic, depending on engine choice.

The Geely Boyue also offers an impressive list of equipment like an eight-inch display screen, Apple CarPlay/Android Auto compatibility, and safety kit includes lane departure warning and adaptive cruise control (ACC), which allows the Boyue to match its highway cruise speed according to the car in front of it.

It wasn’t made clear how much of the Boyue design will be carried over into the Proton SUV, so we’ll have to wait and see how it shapes up. With the Boyue as a base, do you think Proton’s first-ever SUV could be one of the models that will revive the marque?

GALLERY: Geely Boyue

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mana bashers… oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 11
    • Stevie on May 24, 2017 at 5:13 pm

Bashers on sleep mode..zzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
      • Sama L00 on May 24, 2017 at 5:30 pm

Proton car no need bash also won’t have sales. RM150k to buy a Proton? Good luck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 25
        • Jimmy on May 24, 2017 at 6:37 pm

Change brand name to Projohn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
          • I♡Toyota on May 24, 2017 at 8:40 pm

SUV better late than never.
            Toyota CH-R for U.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
          • WT Fuchhhh on May 24, 2017 at 10:51 pm

With Geely, does it mean P1 has to cancel contract to rebadge Ertiga and Perdana?

• Jimmy on May 24, 2017 at 10:55 pm

Who is this junior Jimmy?

• sam12345 on May 25, 2017 at 9:48 am

Put iriz 1.6 engine into this and sell at rm80k

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 24, 2017 at 5:48 pm

We should be thankful the Chinese from China have come to save us and to teach us how to run a business.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 14
        • I hope proton will name their rebadged SUV the Proton Tongsan. Oh the irony.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
          • Musang king on May 24, 2017 at 6:42 pm

Top of list, remove all crony vendors Now!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
        • Aik. Din u says we shud halau them cuz they helps gov? Now dh jual, mau tukar cerita?

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 24, 2017 at 5:52 pm

I am so happy Geely before they sign the agreement already, they are giving input and ideas to our Proton team. Pity, our Proton guys, could not think on their own that SUV is highly in demand and it would appeal to many Malaysians.

I would like to thank Geely and the China Government for helping the Proton people out and teaching them how to brainstorm and come up with ideas that follow trends, in this case, the trend of SUV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 25
        • kzm (Member) on May 24, 2017 at 6:27 pm

if u just come out from cave..p1 don’t have much money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
          • then how did idiotic proton decide a small MPV called Ertiga was more important to rebadge than an SUV like Vitara? Sila jawab, jangan tak jawab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
          • kzm (Member) on May 24, 2017 at 6:44 pm

that because drb has a deal with Suzuki before Suzuki withdraw from boleh market.

• tokmoh. on May 24, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Precisely.

Maybe rebadging a Suzuki is part of the deal for Suzuki to exit, so it can’t be avoided.

But choosing Ertiga instead of Vitara doesn’t seem like a good choice.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
          • Its jujuki to gips, not P1 to demands. If jepunis says Er3 then only Er3 is available lah.

• Najib on May 24, 2017 at 9:54 pm

Sweden also thanks to geely cause buy volvo, xc 60, xc90

• timi988 on May 25, 2017 at 12:13 am

yb kunta kinte because u always talk big, i think you can replace proton MD already

• Leman on May 24, 2017 at 6:16 pm

Cukurr MY aman tapi perlu ubah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Raja Celup on May 24, 2017 at 5:19 pm

Develop = Rebadge

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 15
      • YB Kunta Kinte on May 24, 2017 at 5:58 pm

The big question in a marriage is to see how long the marriage will last.

I hope Proton staff change their attitude and start moving on the fast lane cause Geely is on the fast lane. Geely started in 1997, 13 years later than Proton yet it could buy Volvo and London Black Cab Co for cash. After that, they could even inject USD12 billion (RM55 billion) to make Volvo further healthy! That is how fast they are running!

I hope and pray Proton staff can start running. 20 years just slumber…..really don’t know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 5
      • Pak arab on May 24, 2017 at 6:07 pm

last last Alibaba, Geely, Country Garden jugak yang ble harap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • Knape tak bash P2 plak?

• Cukur Cukur Cukur on May 24, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Is China selling us old tech? 2.4 engine can only give us 162hp??

• Tiara on May 24, 2017 at 6:31 pm

Betui…campro lg baguih.

• No eye see on May 26, 2017 at 2:47 pm

Would u buy a p1 with a more higher price , if they put in a better engine ?

• Indeed, as per latest broucher distrubuted by Geely for that model sold in china, that is the only engine technogy available.. They are not highly technological auto firm.. the only they have is capital from selling junks to china peoples and share here and there.. Do you think Volvo will share their tech to Geely?

Even development of Volvo is entirely made in Sweeden as a part of agreement before Geely “buy” them.. Just like Japanese, Europeans are very secretive..

• kzm (Member) on May 24, 2017 at 6:25 pm

well p1 are now part of the Geely anyway.. it does not matter.

• Peter on May 24, 2017 at 11:22 pm

Are you sure? If a man got 3 wife, you think they are all treated equal … a thing to ponder.

• evolva on May 25, 2017 at 10:01 pm

Raja Celup,
        I was thinking the same thing…kekekke

• james on May 24, 2017 at 5:33 pm

Baik-baik maaa… lu bawak ini kereta, nanti itu roda jalan depan, itu kereta follow belakang. Roda tercabut. Hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • MitchelJohn on May 24, 2017 at 5:43 pm

Bashers dead dy cause tongsan will literally kill them for bashing

• Syazwan on May 24, 2017 at 6:57 pm

so john wl be jobless? Kesian…

• It will take time for Geely to consolidate with P1 and bring small car in. So still secure but quite soon my celup jepunis P2 will be under pressure from big China. Need to add more incentives to my packages.

• lilytan on May 24, 2017 at 6:00 pm

Probably another accordana in the making. Will probably cost a bomb.

• kzm (Member) on May 24, 2017 at 6:31 pm

why perdana, p1 have to pay royalty.. with Geely they do not need to pay. they part of same company anyway.

• Kancil Hybrid on May 24, 2017 at 6:13 pm

Bashers lagi suka Proton mati. Geely deal is a big blow for them.

• No proton no basher on May 24, 2017 at 6:40 pm

No proton no basher

• AutoFrenz (the original) on May 24, 2017 at 7:36 pm

Oh wow..just move on proton…you are on the right track..just ignore the bashers..thus is strictly business…

• Mystvearn on May 24, 2017 at 5:09 pm

Yes. Proton needs an suv badly. Suv market booming now. Hrv everywhere.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • I actually welcome this news. If proton comes out with an SUV, P2 might respond and may even beat proton to the punch by introducing an SUV even faster (like how the Bezza beat both the ugly persona and 4-star saga to the punch). then we can all go and buy P2’s SUV.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • HR-V was everywhere was because of its competitive price tag and branding. Even it is so ugly, people still buy it because of its brand and I think, its one of the best and cheapest entry level of compact SUV segment. Back to proton, expect to wait another decade for this “SUV” to come out (if it were going to come out)

• Finally! Some well needed common sense from Proton, hours after the announcement of the deal. In this day and age, SUV is king, not having one in your portfolio in a mass market car manufecturer is probably inane. Proton lacks sense and direction, like why is there a Ertiga when the Exora can clearly fill the role, same can be said with the Persona and Preve. Perodua can streamline their core products to just 4 models(all of them sharing some commonality in parts but adhere a different product purpose), and with it outsold Proton by a considerable margin.

Start with export, get into the competition and gain R&D experience to maximize your appeal. Than we can talk future, EVs or automation stuff and Geely is in the forefront on both fields.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
    • thepolygonal on May 24, 2017 at 5:31 pm

Yup… right on AVH, all in all, I still want to see Proton succeed. Buckle up and start producing something that makes me wanna visit Proton showroom again. Oh.. err… affordable ya. Still need to heal the dent on the image first.

• 4G63T DSM on May 24, 2017 at 5:58 pm

I agree.

It seems that protons’ product line is a result of too many cooks (or too many pockets to fill). Many flavours, yet, products end up half cooked. I assume a lot of the decision making centers around band aid solutions (and rather knee jerk), which results in a miss mash of products all not related to each other. It seems they are still trying to throw things at the wall and see what sticks. A very expensive way of doing things.

Fingers point to DRB Hicom for the current mess. The Ertiga and the Accornada was probably their idea given both donor brands are under DRB’s umbrella.

The Iriz was a knee jerk reaction to the popularity of Perodua’s small hatches, likewise the Ertiga for the Alza. Both misses the mark and strayed away from Proton’s (and the traditional malaysian affinity to sedans), but instead of filling the void, we have 3 different sedans (The Saga, Persona and Preve), with the Saga the only bright spark.

Proton should have concentrated their RnD on its core products, namely the Saga and a Preve replacement. The Iriz and Persona is redundant.

All proton needs are one B segment entry sedan, one C segment sedan (or does what Nissan does, and straddle 2 segments), one 3 row MPV and 1 SUV (based on the the MPV) so there are only 3 platforms to work from.

Now they are working on 7 very different platforms (while still missing the SUV). Little wonder why they are going bust.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • tokmoh. on May 24, 2017 at 9:13 pm

The saga should never had been developed, the old Savvy platform is way past its age.

Persona is fine, the newer chassis has HPF, and it’s way easier to share parts with Iriz, hence reducing cost. Saga VVT is just terrible, a mixed bag of some old bits from FLX and some newer ones that’s just a waste of resource.

Had they consolidated the role of entry level sedan to Persona (make 1.3 version), proton could’ve saved way more resources and better cost management. It’d have been easier to manage when iriz’s demand falls, just transfer the parts to persona. Can’t do that to saga that shares with nobody at all, even the power steering goes back to fluid instead of electronic in Persona/Iriz.

Doesn’t take a genius nor experience to run Proton well actually. Just common sense and “permission” to do as you please without any political interference.

• Back to the main question
      actually do we need proton?

what can proton contribute to community?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 10
      • Malaysian on May 24, 2017 at 7:19 pm

Proton’s contribution to the community:

1) Employment to thousands of ppl. Many people would be in poverty without Proton.

2) Proton contributes to the drive for innovation and engineering among Malaysians. It somehow proves that we are also capable of producing a car.

3) Proton contributes to the economy. You buy a Proton, the profits almost entirely circulate here in MY. You buy a Honda, 3/4 of it goes to Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 19
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on May 24, 2017 at 5:18 pm

So now Proton now is half owned by a foreigner, it is no longer a national car. Please reduce and abolish the duties taxes on other brands. There is no such thing as national car maker!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 10
    • Why need reduce when it can incentivise pipu to use public transport? Since national car no longer on gov agenda, shud increase prices and add congestion charges into city. Pipu must be forced to use public transports.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Ahmadjr on May 24, 2017 at 5:32 pm

Yes but foreign car makers need to set up factory and r&d centre here. If not why let them come for free. No no

• Why u so jealous one ar? If you cant afford to buy any car, then it is your problem.. not proton.. funny

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • Matchy on May 24, 2017 at 5:38 pm

Lol… you better pray they not increase Proton price to match the foreign brand!

• Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on May 24, 2017 at 5:52 pm

Ikr?
      UMW Toyota is half owned by the Japanese
      Perodua is half owned by the Japanese
      Honda Malaysia is half owned by the Japanese
      Nissan Tan Chong is very much Malaysian
      Proton is half owned by Geely China

• Cukur Cukur Cukur on May 24, 2017 at 6:06 pm

Cukurlah China tolong Proton. Tanpa Geely, Proton sudah lingkup. Harap harap China akan tolong kami bikin Ringgit naik semula

• Cikgu Saleh on May 24, 2017 at 6:08 pm

Agree!!

• tokmoh. on May 24, 2017 at 5:23 pm

Beware HRV, CHR. Tongsan is comiiing

Geely > all
    Proton > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • kuntai on May 24, 2017 at 5:24 pm

waiting for Paultan resident photoshopper to come out with his iteration of Proton SUV…
    Going forward, proton should just utilize Geely platform to cut cost like Perodua… Morever recent geely design is not bad as it was designed by Volvo personnel.

• just rebadge it…..
    smart guys get it…..no..?

• Yes , Please proceed and sell it below RM100K for full specs.

• Anak muda on May 24, 2017 at 5:27 pm

All the best Proton+Geely.

• Ahmadjr on May 24, 2017 at 5:30 pm

With all the pot holes on our roads, suv is a must. Not another myvi lookalike. Even something that simple drb can’t think of

• dodgeviper88 on May 24, 2017 at 5:37 pm

Boyue sounds like no more petrol in hokkien. LOL

• Maria on May 24, 2017 at 5:43 pm

Since proton under Geely, I just hope they throw away rebagde practise in their company. Please proton, learn how create your identity. I don’t mind if p1 use geely platform, engine whatsoever but please create your own design not just simply tempek your badge on geely car..I hate it. I love to see proton could be an asian Skoda

• This car will not be cheap even you put proton logo.

• immafanbuoiy on May 24, 2017 at 5:54 pm

this make me smile..

• Aero (Member) on May 24, 2017 at 5:56 pm

Proton really needs a small B-segment HR-V / CX-3 sized SUV. The pricing should not exceed RM100k, ideally, between RM60 to 80k (Suprima S pricing).

This Boyue SUV looks very promising. Modern, very safe, styled (and designed ?) by Volvo, good engines, hard to believe it even has a 6-speed manual version as well !

There’s no doubt that this Boyue is a great car. Proton could re-engineer/re-style it if needed, as they’ve done recently with the CP II Perdana.

However, because this is a C-segment CR-V / CX-5 sized SUV, the pricing might be high for a Proton.

Historically, expensive (but still good value) Protons (Inspira, Perdana, Suprima S etc.) did/do not sell well. Low pricing with high value for money is the recipe behind all best-selling Protons.

Proton and Geely will have to ensure that the pricing for the Malaysian market Boyue is competitive. In China, the Boyue costs between 100k Yuan and 160k Yuan, or around RM60k to 100k. That is incredible value for money, since you’re getting a CR-V sized SUV, for HR-V money.

I wonder if Geely will rebadge the Persona or some other Proton model for the Chinese market… after all, Youngman did so a few years back, with some success. But Geely seems to have all the segments covered…

Anyway, this is just my dua sen, I’m sure Proton and Geely are well aware of the local market challenges and are working on big things, as we speak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • tokmoh. on May 24, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Yes, this model is among Peter Horbury’s first models with Geely.

The LCD meter panel resembles a lot like in V40 and just retired XC60 mk1 facelift.

The Boyue can serve as a symbol of Geely’s arrival in SEA market. It’s fairly common to use price penetration strategy, so I wouldn’t be surprised if Proton can price it near the price in motherland. That will definitely disrupt HRV’s market, or any model in the rm60-100k segment!

People don’t necessarily buy by segment, so for about the same money, Boyue vs HRV, there is a very good case to build in favor of Boyue.

It will be a form of investment to make their mark and gain market share. Of course, can expect multi prong assault with few other models to come, and with Geely’s mighty resource, as long as it is doable, they’ll make sure it will happen!

Perodua, Honda, Toyota, the competition you were waiting for has arrived. This is truly an exciting time once again!

Geely > all
      Proton > all

• lilytan on May 24, 2017 at 6:09 pm

Smells like a communist propaganda this boyue is. Fancy gadgets which no local vendors can supply. Even if they can, they wont cuz proton credit records sucks. Most likely will come in SKD form with badges assembled in Msia.

• Mesin rumput on May 24, 2017 at 6:14 pm

Lots of Volvo emblems and stickers will be available in the accessory shops after this.

• Jayden on May 24, 2017 at 6:15 pm

Actually no need to waste time doing developin SUV anymore. Just change the badge to Proton and rolling it to the market.

Price it right and you will see sales.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • I wonder if the Proton Tongsan can handle lousy kampung standard roads. If so I might buy one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on May 24, 2017 at 6:41 pm

that because driving side is different

• Applegreen on May 24, 2017 at 7:09 pm

Bila rebadge nanti nama Boyue jadi Buaya

• carlover on May 24, 2017 at 7:27 pm

very skeptical about proton foreign partner.proton has done a lot rebadging from japanese car makers but yet still very bad outcomes..poor sales.malaysian has lost interest buying proton for other reasons ..maybe.good luck proton or vice versa.

• Yes please, keeping those advanced technologies&safety features and adopt proton’s design (perdana’s exterior is awesome)!

• Boboy on May 24, 2017 at 8:27 pm

I think what best for Malaysian right now, is compact SUV. Not the big one. Maybe

• It is already sold here in Saudi under Emgrand XC7 Sport. Good looking car however there is some hint of Evoque styling.

• oh mak lu on May 24, 2017 at 9:31 pm

Badge it a proton, we malaysia will not buy it, We still want proton to close shop.

• Magic Proton on May 24, 2017 at 9:47 pm

I recalled those early days Do Not Buy China Made Cars… but now labelled as Proton, then suddenly become Boleh La!

• Kangkung dulu naik sekarang turun on May 25, 2017 at 11:13 am

Ur electronics used to comment here… Did u check its origin?

• Johnson on May 24, 2017 at 10:27 pm

Dear Proton, please consider electric cars seriously and fast. Why not make the ones like tesla, get Tesla to help as I believe some of their patents are open. MALAYSIA have so much sun light which can be harness solar electricity and put into the grid and turn all Petronas station to charging station. We can electrify the whole Malaysia.Bus lorry and all types of vehicles can be electrified.

• Proton all this while looking down on chinese and japanese and equate themself with european…. suddenly holding the chinese so up high. Them proton… hahaah.

• Middle Age Driver (Member) on May 24, 2017 at 11:20 pm

When can buy ? I love it already.

• Nice-looking car. The wheelbase is only 2670mm, so is it more of a compact SUV? Don’t like the grille – maybe Proton can work on that. If priced between 90k – 110k (2.0l NA engine and 1.8l turbo), it will sell well as long as the build quality is good. If the first batch comes with early batch Proton Waja build quality, then this partnership will fizzle out faster than wet fireworks. So, Proton-Geely, please take your time in developing the RHD model and preparing the production line instead of rushing it into the market. Also, I think Proton needs to work on its “Thundercat” badge; it’s too childish to be on this SUV.

• Proton got problem, Geely could offer lower price in another next few yrs time and could sapu whole Proton.

• babai on May 25, 2017 at 4:43 pm

cantik macamana pun…no body want to buy china car..china car is only love by china people..US and europe car still lost in hand of japan in SEA..
    poor china car dont have sale in south east asia..
    remember the cherry car, haval and so on…hope same fate on geely..
    balik kampung tanam jagung

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • bhai...bhai..... on Jun 07, 2017 at 1:47 am

hahah but geely is performing well in china, europe, australia and now starting to expand into the middle east. Only toyota/honda ahbengs will think this is still the 20th century jepunis era of dominance in the field of automobile.

• ayoyo on Aug 24, 2017 at 2:51 pm

just take HUAWEI as example… last time many people will laugh is you are using a HUAWEI.. now people WOW if you using a HUAWEI…. dont forget every product also have its way to improve, and you have to see who is the person incharge to make it happen. Proton is a good example of failure by its management, not much development over these years and end up sucking Malaysian tax money and sold..

• My exora bold with turbo ,started to give problems within 4years ,i had to replace the turbo for 4500myr.really wasted but no choice had to replace

• PROTON “Born to lose”

• Akunakkitabanggamalaysia on May 31, 2017 at 12:00 am

Congrats proton…

First of all i would like to congratulate Proton on getting the strategic partnership wt geely a company known for reviving swedish volvo to new greater height which never been achieved by volvo before.. To be honest, yes we losing a proud national car to a new big player in the automotive industries other then vw,bm,merc,audi…
    But look at the bright side,without this deal proton wouldnt go far than just a local player or would be dead in a few years time with current outlook of its sales and losing state. Typical malaysian or just a normal human being to just critical.being critical is easy but to carry a responsible is not easy.. We are saying of the peoples job here..family to feed at home.. Its not that proton never improve since 1983 it jut tht everyone is moving faster than us..just like what happened to nokia.. We need to look at this deal as a whole .. This deal is superdeal.. China is a big market,1.3bil ppl and growing middle class..geely have never been producing a great car only via acqusation of volvo is the game changer..probably this is a game changer for proton.. Proton is known car maker..it was one time in demand car in britain..it competed in btcc..international rally championship..in terms of sports involvemnt proton was a way ahead of geely.. Never in doubt geely have the money to pump in for proton to carry fwd
    ..and proton can be big car player in asia region if not the world..it is not a competition btween p2 n p1.. If p2 thinks ths is a threat to them..so thy need to buck up as well and take the challenge.. Good luck proton.. Let make us proud back.. Be another air asia to fly high in asia…aummm

• For those people that can only think about themselves.. Just imagine thousands of people out of job and its effect on us. More Robberies, killing, snatching, theft, etc..in desperation people will do anything to survive.