Sepang won’t be a white elephant, Formula 1 could return to Malaysia in the future – PM Najib

The Sepang International Circuit (SIC) hosted its 19th and last Formula 1 race yesterday, but prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said that the track will not be a “white elephant”, adding that many informal and formal activities will be held at the facility, The Star reports.

The PM said that the authorities will develop motorsports in the circuit with more Malaysian participation. “We found that it is what the fans want to see – local drivers participating in races,” he said at SIC.

We think so too. SIC is still hosting the MotoGP Malaysian Grand Prix, the F1 equivalent of motorcycle racing, and various endurance races. Popular local race events such as the Malaysia Speed Festival (MSF) and Malaysian Super Series are also held there.

Still the fastest and top dedicated circuit in the region, SIC also popular with corporate as well as private driving events (customer and media test drives, track days, etc) and we understand that it can be fully booked for much of the year. It definitely will not fall into disuse without the annual visit of F1, but good maintenance is vital.

However, Najib said that F1 could return to Malaysia someday. The PM explained that hosting the race had been a case of diminishing returns for the country in recent years. “Because of that, its economic viability became less attractive and we decided to review and terminate it,” he said.

“But that doesn’t mean we can’t reconsider it at some point of time in the future, provided economic returns are favourable to us,” he added, noting that hosting the top tier race had raised Malaysia’s profile and also allowed Petronas to showcase its involvement as a multinational oil company.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• arowana on Oct 02, 2017 at 10:58 am

even if you reconsider to bring F1 back to Malaysia, doesn’t mean F1 willing to return to Malaysia due to your poor & weak & boring governance with an arrogant circuit CEO around

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 10
    • Maybe F1 to return at Fastrack Johor? What is the latest status of that track? Anyone?

• Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 02, 2017 at 2:18 pm

Before you talk about F1, why don’t you honour your promise to reduce car prices by 30% 4 years ago?

Car prices make people suffer a lot. SIC and F1 cause no sufferings. 30 million people suffer with high car loans.

Pls honour your promise first to reduce car prices by 30%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 12
        • Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?

Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 13
        • Rightwinger on Oct 02, 2017 at 10:20 pm

Wait just now you complain kata Malaysia ditching F1 is no good and other countries are lining up to host and hentam law kaw…
          But now when Bijan say F1 could return in the future, you also hentam….effing hate monger. You just lucky you can hide behind keyboard, or else I hentam you to a pulp.

• Indeed

• falldisc on Oct 02, 2017 at 11:06 am

have more track day events. 400 cars per day multiply by RM120 fee (very reasonable price), you end up getting RM48,000. which is about the same rate SIC gets per day rental.

that 400 cars will be divided into 6 separate session (each session is 3 hours, 66 cars per session) from 9am-9pm. many ppl will be more than happy to participate in this event. a good place to enhance their skills, set their machines (in an orderly manner) and perhaps release some steam off hectic life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • Herbie on Oct 02, 2017 at 11:30 am

Kapcai & Superbikes track days too!!

• nemesis on Oct 02, 2017 at 11:41 am

herbie… with kapchai im afraid the rider will fall asleep to reach the end of turn 1 since it took the machine quite sometimes to reach there…kih kih kih

• nvidia on Oct 02, 2017 at 2:28 pm

Rofl…2 keep kapcai awake & adrenaline pumping.
          put moving 16wheeler trucks, express bus, slowpoke saga on SIC for kapcai Zig zagging & stunts yo!

• Rightwinger on Oct 02, 2017 at 4:38 pm

Boy, you’d be amazed how fast a properly tuned up 125Z or 150LC underbones can go….

• TOW TRUCK SPECIALIST CENTER on Oct 02, 2017 at 11:40 am

I like this idea…400 car per day is s huge biz oppertunity for all…..

• PTreader on Oct 02, 2017 at 11:11 am

Salam DS, sorry to remind you. Car prices still not yet reduced by 30% as promised. Thank you, Salam 1Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 10
  • Silly MO1 on Oct 02, 2017 at 11:12 am

I saw the said live interview on Astro’s Fox channel with Najib yesterday. He said hopefully Malaysia can one day have it’s own Formula 1 driver. One of the host at the studio was Alex Yoong. I cringed….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
    • PM probably mean someone that can do it on own merit rather than gov sponsored seat like AY.

• Future F1 driver on Oct 02, 2017 at 2:15 pm

Let’s be realistic. Most, if not all drivers who hope to be in Formula 1 have to bring in their own sponsors for a seat, no matter how talented they are. It is mostly state sponsored ie. through a proxy company in their home country. Look at Jazeman Jaafar’s case

• While sponsorship is essential, u cant buy a seat in top 4 teams no matter how u rich. Case in point, while Verstappen Snr bought his way in, he never got to top 5 teams. Unlike Verstappen Jnr who started with money but worked his way up thru skill and effort.

Thats what PM might have meant.

• applegreen on Oct 02, 2017 at 11:31 am

Toyota vios challenge every month in sepang should be great. Ramai Ah beng will be very happy

• lilytan on Oct 02, 2017 at 11:54 am

SIC should now bid for sepang to be F1 test track. It is an ideal track for that. If not will probably end up like shah alam or pasir gudang track.

• Ben Yap on Oct 02, 2017 at 12:23 pm

Economy no good, better bring malaysia economy up first. rakyat suffering now eh.

• Kucing Macho on Oct 02, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Economy of Malaysia going down the drain for the past few years. Majority of rakyat tightening their belt. Barang barang mahal sangat while inflation is outta control. Currency value shrinking by the day.

Still wanna race in F1?

• Kasi racing bicycle also OK.

While I appreciate that SIC has opened the track for bicycle event FOR FREE (thank You for that), I am also don’t mind paying some small amount just to use it. So if they can have weeknights open day for bicycle, I am all for it.

• SIC is not adapted for night race w/o headlights. So its dangerous for SIC to open nights for non-normal vehicles

• Vinnie on Oct 02, 2017 at 4:10 pm

Convert the track in to a public park.

• CRITIC on Oct 04, 2017 at 10:27 pm

its all due to weak RM currency. Its about 30% from 3.30 to 4.30.

your commitment of hosting F1 has increased 30%, how can you sustain further?