Haas seeks RM3.2mil in compensation from Sepang

Remember that fake invoice – which insinuated that the Haas F1 Team billed the Sepang International Circuit (SIC) US$295,000 (RM1.2 million) after a loose drain cover caused Romain Grosjean’s scary Friday practice crash at the 2017 Malaysian Grand Prix? Well, it turns out that not only is the team actually seeking compensation, but the figure is closer to a staggering US$750,000 (RM3.2 million). Ouch.

According to a report by Autosport, team principal Gunther Steiner called the incident “unacceptable” and “not up to the standards” that an F1 track should be. “It was completely out of our hands,” he said. “I cannot say, ‘Oh, OK, we now let, let’s say, three quarters of a million [dollars] go because somebody forgot to weld something in, it’s all good.’ We pay to come here, we pay a fee to come here, everybody has to pay.

Steiner had reportedly spoken with the circuit’s chief executive officer Datuk Razlan Razali ahead of the Malaysian Grand Prix last Sunday, in order to discuss the incident and request compensation. The damage caused is said to be significant, with a brand new floor and front wing damaged beyond repair. “We discussed it and they were very professional about it. They have insurance, let’s see what we can do.”

Even so, Reuters reported that Steiner isn’t very confident of getting the compensation. “Nobody agrees to you to give you this amount of money,” he said. “Nobody volunteers even if you are the best guy in the world, to give you this amount of money. I just spoke with them and made them aware that we don’t feel responsible for it. But I have not got any discussions or I haven’t got any ‘no’, I haven’t got any ‘yes.'”

Haas seeks RM3.2mil in compensation from Sepang

Grosjean walked away from the collision, in which he sustained a 17g impact after the drain cover ripped his tyres and pitched him into a spin at 270 km/h. Afterwards, the Frenchman called for action to make sure such incidents would not happen again.

The sport’s governing body, the International Automotive Federation (FIA), believed that a welding failure had led to the drain cover coming apart. The session was immediately red-flagged, and circuit engineers were forced to look at every drain that was not bolted-in, strengthening them ahead of final practice on Saturday.

Given the circumstances of the incident, the team was allowed to be excluded from an overnight curfew, in order to carry out repairs as it was “entirely and clearly beyond the control of the driver and the competitor.” As such, Haas was able to get the car ready in time for final practice on Saturday.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Pirelli on Oct 09, 2017 at 9:47 am

Wow costly drain cover.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Should I Care? (SIC) on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:06 am

More like costly negligence. The incident was clearly preventable if SIC had done their job as host well. Luckily, there was no serious injury or lost of lives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
      • Pablo on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:48 am

Untung diorang punya. Kalau Rugi rakyat punya.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
      • VapeOff on Oct 09, 2017 at 11:12 am

I wonder what the Rempit CEO of SIC is thinking now? Nice parting gift to the idiot by the F1 people. If he had been nicer, they may have just told Haas to let things be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:13 am

this is typical Malaysia. Kroni or brother or son in law or kakak ipar get the contract to maintain the track.

Unfortunately, the RM1 company got no experience. And this happens.

Now, nama Malaysia busuk.

Typical Malaysian style of awarding contracts to relatives.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 13
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:32 am

costly “tidak apa” maintenance attitude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 5
    • falldisc on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:54 am

SIC got insurance cover? no problemo. SIC should investigate who created the fake invoice in the first place. that guy gave idea to haas to raise such claim.

• Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 09, 2017 at 9:50 am

OMG OMG OMG. That means the thing going around on whatsapp was true.

Does this mean SIC lied initially saying there was no such thing?

We need to see why SIC lied cause, obviously the accident happened and the drain cover was the cause

Obviously SIC also knew about all this when the accident happened. They said drain covers all OK!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 15
    • potato on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:04 am

most likely when SIC denied there was no Black & White claims for this, thus, the claim was not valid and merely a rumor.

this is very common for authorities to discuss about things. only once there is a formal statement then it can be seen as true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 20
      • sulaiman on Oct 09, 2017 at 1:38 pm

SIC boss outright denied the drain cover issue was false.

Well it was not false but true.

• Vincent on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:16 am

SIC tell lied? It surprise you?

The second part is what surprise us, Malaysian! hihihi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • BeemerFreak on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:25 am

Are you surprised? The G always lie to the rakyat, and most of the time we are foolish enough to trust what they say.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
      • Lie is one thing. But they give stupid, kindergarden excuse and expect you to believe them!! Donation! Terror attack!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • I wonder if they tried the “act of God” defense.

• Saiful Radzi on Oct 10, 2017 at 9:02 am

“FIA had conducted proper section of the circuit on Thursday (September 28) prior to the start of the two free practice sessions on Friday (September 29). “We were told in advance that the tire barriers needed to be upgraded in certain sections due to the faster speed of the cars this year. We did that and everything went smoothly during the inspection”.

“The drain covers have always been welded shut. Even they (the FIA) said that it was an unforeseen incident and it is hard to blame any party, including us. We have again inspected the drainage system and reinforced the welds,”

If the FIA said it was an unforseen incident…. Who the hell are you to point fingers???

• arowana on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:04 am

hahahahaha what a good way to celebrate a F1NALE!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • azrai on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:13 am

Dear HAAS, just whatsapp PPIM they will make a fundraising to pay all your misfortune. Tq.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
  • Vincent on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:14 am

Before officially end the F1, SIC need to clear this bill?

• malusia on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:16 am

This is F1 racing la, malusia la

• Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:17 am

this is typical Malaysia. Kroni or brother or son in law or kakak ipar get the contract to maintain the track.

Unfortunately, the RM1 company got no experience. And this happens.

Now, nama Malaysia busuk.

Typical Malaysian style of awarding contracts to relatives.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • Proton oh Proton on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:24 am

costly lesson learn…

• 12yrsold on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:42 am

SIC is luck that Haas F1 Team “only” billed them US$295,000
    If Grosjean died, M’sian F1 history will be tainted with “drain cover-gate”.

• Bianchi died due to a track incident which Suzuka organisers isnt fully to blamed. Was Suzuka F1 history tainted with “crane-gate”?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
      • Gurney boy on Oct 09, 2017 at 6:38 pm

WTH since Suzuka incident, SIC learned nothing?!! Dafuqq

• panjang on Oct 09, 2017 at 10:58 am

If they proceed with the payment it might create am avalanche…after this any accident involving contact of the racing car will be reported to the authority and IO will investigate the cause.The party at fault will be ask to pay or claim from their insurance company.
    Would be nice to see which racing driveramage to reach max 55% ncd.

• But still the invoice was fake.

• Typical American…always like to sue people.
    In the first place, isn’t the track safety on race day inspected and approved by FIA safety team? FIA safety team will give the green light whether to go ahead with the race or repairs must be made by SIC before the race.
    I think this is just HAAS team scare tactic to twist the arms of SIC. All matters regarding the race and race incidents will be channeled to FIA. Nobody else. That is why every country have to pay a lot of money to hold an F1 race.
    FYI, even the Merchandise stores have to pay a certain amount of royalty to the FIA based on the sales they make.
    IMO is’t not entirely the fault of SIC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 17
    • Thats the problem with bashers. They dunno how these international races r organised and run, and then assumed its all the local organisers fault.
      Imagine if these nutjobs characters had blamed Las Vegas organiser for what happened. Sure kena backfire by netizens and a lawsuit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • hazzif on Oct 10, 2017 at 11:20 am

as a safety team, you can check that the drain cover is welded, but you cannot assure that the welding work is good and meeting standard. this is still a shame to SIC for having poor/faulty welding work.

• Ben Yap on Oct 09, 2017 at 11:30 am

no wonder malaysia don’t 1 2 host F1 even it is free. LOL… kena bash and than merajuk and say don’t 1 2 host anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • FireAce on Oct 09, 2017 at 3:56 pm

Now, all F1 team will tell Sepang, “You pay me I also will not come here to race”

• Leonardo on Oct 09, 2017 at 3:26 pm

The fact is the HAAS team is a HAS BEEN team this year. They were quite successful last year but they have been stagnant ever since. Or rather other teams have improved tremendously. And to be competitive you need funds, which HAAS being a small team have limited amount of. As such when a major incident like this happens, they are hard pressed on their already tight budget to make major repairs or replacement on their cars. As in this incident.
    So in order to recover the costs of new chassis and components, they are trying their luck in twisting the arms of SIC in order to get some money and blaming SIC for the incident.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • You come to Malaysia to race then you have to experience Malaysian road condition lar. That’s the challenging part of racing in different countries. Otherwise race at Monaco sajalah.

• Jiggle_McWiggle on Oct 10, 2017 at 12:33 am

I’m not sure if you’re being sarcastic or downright stupid. What does civilian road conditions have to do with a race track? It’s a race track for crying out loud; the owners of the track pay millions of dollars to ensure that the material used to pave the track is of the highest quality because racing cars not just formula 1 cars fly across the track at high speeds. And its not the track conditions that are bad, its the drains next to the road. I really do hope you’re not being serious with that comment of yours. Another point to add is that Monaco Grand Prix is a street circuit meaning the race is on streets which regular cars use on a daily basis. Even Singapore is a street circuit so Malaysia should be ashamed it cannot even ensure the safety of the drivers on a private race track owned by the Government no less.

• a fantastic way to bid farewell to Sepang F1 circuit…wakakakaka

now every1 will remember this track for wrong reason ^^

• I knew it on Oct 10, 2017 at 2:04 pm

I knew it, this will happen.

Razlan does not know how to maintain the circuit!! Only talks proudly of him jogging this circuit!

When you walk to the tunnel to access pitwalk you can see the lights are dim and water leaking everywhere.

There are tents torned.

Plus he even say before the government give money to Sepang it is still not enough to fix the issue (If not mistaken aronud 500k)