Haas F1 Team’s RM1.24 mil “invoice” to SIC is fake

According to a report by Berita Harian, Sepang International Circuit CEO Datuk Razlan Razali expressed his displeasure at parties spreading fake documents and ambiguous rumours relating to the final Formula 1 Malaysian Grand Prix.

Razlan was referring to an “invoice” that was being circulated on social media, where Haas F1 Team demanded US$295,000 (about RM1.24 million) to pay for the damage to Romain Grosjean’s car. The French driver was involved in a dramatic crash during the second free practice session last Friday, when he struck an upturned drain cover.

This caused a blowout of his right rear tyre, sending him into the barriers. Prior to the incident, Mercedes AMG Petronas Motorsport’s Valteri Bottas and Scuderia Ferrari’s Kimi Raikkonen drove over the same curb on turn 13, dislodging the loose drain cover. Following the crash, some made claims on the internet that the race would be cancelled.

“I want to make it clear that the Malaysian GP will not be cancelled and the document is fake. We have not received anything official from either Haas nor the FIA. I do not understand why certain parties would do such a thing when it is the last F1 race in Malaysia. We should be celebrating this final race instead of uploading misleading statuses on social media and spreading fake documents,” said Razlan.

He added the FIA had conducted proper section of the circuit on Thursday (September 28) prior to the start of the two free practice sessions on Friday (September 29). “We were told in advance that the tire barriers needed to be upgraded in certain sections due to the faster speed of the cars this year. We did that and everything went smoothly during the inspection,” he said.

“The drain covers have always been welded shut. Even they (the FIA) said that it was an unforeseen incident and it is hard to blame any party, including us. We have again inspected the drainage system and reinforced the welds,” he added.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 02, 2017 at 10:00 am

But you should still resign for saying F1 is a waste. All countries queue up to host F1 but tak dapat.

But Malaysia thinks it is so great. /it can buang F1 into tong sampah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 38
    • hello on Oct 02, 2017 at 11:40 am

Silverstone is considering not too host F1. The one and only track that has been in the F1 calendar since the start. Citing hosting fee as the reaosn.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Which country queue to host F1? Tell us la. What I can see most country want to quit F1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • Rightwinger on Oct 02, 2017 at 1:40 pm

India and South Korea also dropped off racing calendar….you are just a hate monger.

• Hockenheim & Nurburgring was passing the buck between each other, reluctantly half hearted hosting F1 until their contracts ended. So which sausage circuit is lining up to host F1, may I know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Matchy on Oct 02, 2017 at 10:17 am

It would be better for Haas to come out and clear it instead of SIC.

• potato on Oct 02, 2017 at 10:26 am

how can drain covers be on the track when even a small pebble can cause a F1 car to lose traction?

drain covers bound to have friction difference compared to the rest of the road causing imbalance, and located in a corner…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • sohhai on Oct 02, 2017 at 11:39 am

The invoice looks so fake. Only an idiot would believe and spread it around