No new regulations for window tint film next year: JPJ

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has denied that it will implement new regulations for vehicle window tinting next year as alleged by a message circulating in social media. The current regulations, which were most recently amended in February last year, still apply, Bernama reports.

These stipulate that the minimum visible light transmission (VLT) percentages stand at 70% for the front windscreen, 50% for the front side windows, and 30% for the rear windows including the rear windscreen. If a vehicle is found to be in violation, JPJ will issue a PG 1 notice (a prohibition notice for the use of the vehicle), and the driver or owner of the vehicle will be given 10 days to remove the offending tint at a state JPJ office.

Failing which, the owner or driver will be issued a compound of up to RM300, and if convicted in court, the offender will be fined up to RM2,000 or face a prison term of up to six months. Subsequent convictions will see fines of up to RM4,000 or up to 12 months’ imprisonment, or both.

Just yesterday, the newly-formed Malaysia Window Film Association (MWFA) urged government ministries and agencies to review the MS2669 automotive window tint standard, which has been slated to take effect in January 2018. The new standard will see tint films identifiable by QR code labels, enabling enforcement officers with the compatible mobile app to obtain the film’s full specification by scanning the code.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• bobby on Oct 11, 2017 at 1:29 pm

i’m still seeing quite a number of vehicles which does not follow the tinted regulation….some so dark i couldnt even see if there’s anyone driving the vehicles. We have so many law and regulations but wont make any difference if implementations zero, also leaders should walk the talk and follow this regulations as well. Why make it different between normal citizen….only then JPJ or our law enforcement will earn my respect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 1
    • Tidur Oh Tidur on Oct 11, 2017 at 2:07 pm

When JPJ officers stop asking for duit kopi, then Malaysian cars will stop breaking the law. Everyday I see hundreds of cars with tinted glass so dark, that you cannot see anything inside.

Polis car pass by the car with tinted glass also so SCARED to do anything

When PDRM and JPJ start growing some balls, Malaysia would be a safer place.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • Ben Yap on Oct 11, 2017 at 1:56 pm

If JPJ do a spot check, many drivers will fail the test. tinting too dark.

• Concerned Tint User on Oct 11, 2017 at 2:17 pm

Hey folks, just to confirm. JPJ will issue PG1 notice and thereafter removal of offending tint within 10days applied. This is without compound/summon of RM300 right?
    Only failure to remove offending tint after stipulated 10days will get summoned.
    Am I right in this? Thanks!

• Kuinosan on Oct 11, 2017 at 2:48 pm

I’m all for stricter and more regular tinting checks on the roads. There are so many cars out there that are totally dark and I believe they post a danger to other road users as they struggle for visibility, especially at night. Get these bad apples off the road for better safety!

• Not Toyota Fan on Oct 11, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Malaysia has all the necessary laws in place. But ….. when it comes to enforcement, itu lain cerita.

On, let’s not forget the selective application of the laws when time comes to enforcement. That’s why we Boleh.

• golem man on Oct 11, 2017 at 8:13 pm

“Nothin’ is illegal in Mehsia, until you get stopped by the Authorities”

• JaguhKampung on Oct 11, 2017 at 9:31 pm

Would like to know why is Malaysia so particular about having dark tints when our sunny climate is so hot to the point it virtually melts anyone not turning their air conditioners on during the daytime?
    How are dark tints bad for road users? Advanced first world countries like the UK and US allows it. Why not us??

• JaguhBandar on Oct 12, 2017 at 6:31 pm

Whoever said it is not allowed? The 70/50/30 % VLT amended last year to allow more instead of the original 30/50/50. Buttt…. Being Malaysian mesti mau lebih, and starts tinting to less than 20% for all windows.

And darker tint doesn’t mean higher heat/IR/UV rejection. Good brands can have high heat rejection rate/TSR even with 30% VLT. Kalau beli cap ayam punya mmg la tak boleh…

• FHamidun on Oct 12, 2017 at 7:34 am

Jpj ..get your act together on registration number size…also, what the heck is the flashing green traffic lights??

• michelin on Oct 12, 2017 at 6:04 pm

What is the difference between JPJ-compliant tinted film vs. PUSPAKOM, guys? I still have to peel off the film from my old car which was JPJ-compliant at PUSPAKOM for their approval to change ownership.

• I checked JPJ website on the tinted rules, it is still showing VLT at 70%/50%. Where can we find their notice of 70/50/30?

Rule 5 (1) and Rule 5 (3) of the 2000 Amendment of the Motor Vehicle Rules (Prohibition on Specific Types of Glass) set the translucence level of the windshield at no less than 70% and the rear and side windows at no less than 50%.

• I would like to accertain and locate the official VLT requirement of 70%/50%/30% as the current JPJ website still shows the 70%/50% requirement as shown below.
    Rule 5 (1) and Rule 5 (3) of the 2000 Amendment of the Motor Vehicle Rules (Prohibition on Specific Types of Glass) set the translucence level of the windshield at no less than 70% and the rear and side windows at no less than 50%.