Paris to ban all diesel cars by 2024, petrol by 2030

Parisian authorities have announced plans to ban all cars with internal combustion engines from the city’s roads by the year 2030, as part an initiative to make Paris a carbon-neutral city by 2050. The move is an expansion of Mayor of Paris Anne Hidalgo’s earlier plan to ban diesel-powered cars by 2024, to now also include petrol-powered cars by 2030.

“This is about planning for the long term with a strategy that will reduce greenhouse gases. Transport is one of the main greenhouse gas producers… so we are planning an exit from combustion engine vehicles, or fossil-energy vehicles, by 2030,” said Christophe Najdovski, an official responsible for transport policy at the office of mayor Anne Hidalgo, in a report by Reuters.

The expanded ban coincides with the French government’s plan, with ecology minister Nicolas Hulot previously stating the country will ban the sales of petrol- and diesel-powered vehicles by the year 2040. Several other cities/countries have also decided to follow a similar path, including Britain, Madrid, Athens, Mexico City and most recently, Netherlands.

Paris City Hall have taken many steps to reduce the rising air pollution in the city, including restricting vehicles made before 1997 from entering the city centre as well as introducing car-free days.

The French government is also phasing out long-standing tax incentives for diesel from next year, in order to push customers to purchase more environmentally-friendly cars. In light of the imminent bans, electric cars have become a hot topic among carmakers, with many pledging to develop several zero-emission vehicles moving forward.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Leafable on Oct 13, 2017 at 2:55 pm

Bye Bye dinosaur cars.

• Horizon Sailor on Oct 15, 2017 at 2:35 am

Curse on u volkswagen. It all happen because of your “dieselgate” scandal. Better close shop laaa….

• 12yrsold on Oct 13, 2017 at 3:10 pm

I hope by then, KL/Putrajaya will have more bicycle lanes with shades & rest areas to cater for a healthier society. Ban ALL old diesel vehicles 1st.

• Sinister on Oct 14, 2017 at 12:00 am

If you want to be road statistics, you can cycle in Putrajaya.

• shafdz on Oct 13, 2017 at 3:54 pm

Hmm what do you guys think will happen to our automotive industry by 2024….

• Lullasingh88 on Oct 13, 2017 at 4:05 pm

This is v call civilised and developed nations which v guaranteed can’t be achieved bez of uneducated ministers corruption n lawlessness n lists is exhaustive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 19
    • This “civilised and developed nations” allows their taximen to French Revo, Grabuber cars & drivers. Want the same here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 20
  • Pramy on Oct 13, 2017 at 5:01 pm

Good

• Stefan on Oct 14, 2017 at 8:21 am

It would only shift the polluiton to bigger powerplants and hemically hazardous battery disposals.

• oh no…hav to visit paris soon.
    i duno how to ride bicycle ^^

• sohai on Oct 15, 2017 at 9:51 am

ride bicycle in the hot and humid climate of KL city??
    we should bring back the horses and carriages perhaps

• Add A Comment on Oct 19, 2017 at 9:14 am

But…but….how?
    How do we produce electricity? How do we manufacture those batteries? How do we dispose them?

How? How? How?

– I Have Just Added A Comment –