Volvo set to electrify all new models from 2019

Volvo is taking its commitment to electrification one step further, by announcing that from 2019, every model it launches will have an electric motor. The decision comes as Volvo is focusing on reducing the carbon emissions of both its products as well as its operations, with the aim of climate neutral manufacturing operations by 2025.

“This is about the customer. People increasingly demand electrified cars and we want to respond to our customers’ current and future needs. You can now pick and choose whichever electrified Volvo you wish,” said Håkan Samuelsson, president and chief executive of Volvo Cars.

With this announcement, the Swedish carmaker will introduce a portfolio of electrified cars across its model range, including fully electric, plug-in hybrid and mild hybrid cars. In the case of fully electric cars, five models will be launched between 2019 and 2021, three of which will be Volvo models and the remaining two will be high-performance electrified cars from Polestar.

Volvo will also introduce a range of petrol and diesel plug-in hybrid and mild hybrid 48-volt options on all models. With this move, all Volvo cars in the future will come with an electric motor, progressively phasing out pure internal combustion engine (ICE) cars.

“This announcement marks the end of the solely combustion engine-powered car. Volvo Cars has stated that it plans to have sold a total of 1m electrified cars by 2025. When we said it we meant it. This is how we are going to do it,” said Samuelsson.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• tokmoh. on Jul 05, 2017 at 1:38 pm

Meanwhile, global sales grow by 8.2% in first half 2017. Hell yeah!

Volvo > all

• Vaolvok on Jul 05, 2017 at 7:00 pm

Dont see many Volvo on the road. Still need to work harder. Long way to go

• Ahmad zahdi on Jul 05, 2017 at 11:56 pm

Went to volvo showroom last weekend. Only got one customer and many sales men looks so free. Sales is bad i guess.

• 12yrsold on Jul 06, 2017 at 9:55 am

To be fair, a Volvo is not “cheap” by any standard. hence, U don’t find many Malaysian going to their showroom. It’s a niche market.

• thepolygonal on Jul 05, 2017 at 1:43 pm

Volvo sees the future… same with traditional wind up vs power windows… traditional wind up windows comes first, then a mixture of front side power windows and nowadays most manufacturers don’t even do wind up windows anymore.

This also means a whole lot of shit for oil companies in the coming years. Wonder if the calculation method for weekly petrol price has been settled by then.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2017 at 2:28 pm

What a great move by Volvo. I bet Geely has decided to make this move with Volvo.

But what happens when Geely tells Proton, which is under their wing, that they too want Proton to be fully electrified by 2019?

What will Proton do? In 2017 also, whilst all car companies have moved to Hybrid, PHEV and EV, Proton is still deep in sleep. It has the largest pool of engineers of any car company and yet, nothing comes out of these goyang kaki engineers. All go to work, lepak and rilaks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Dun matter cuz eventually Geely will donate their EV to P1 just like ur jepunis lord deadak to P2… oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • klguy on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:27 pm

proton will say…”oleh sebab sebab tertentu, usaha sama dengan Geely terbatal dengan serta merta, dan pegangan saham Proton oleh Geely telah pun di beli balik oleh kerajaan Malaysia”

• tokmoh. on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:40 pm

Geely’s Lynk & co is planned to use electric powertrain too.

Proton better work hard. Do not stain the family name further after the sacrilegious act of removing side airbags in Exora.

• Mr Lim on Jul 06, 2017 at 12:00 am

Every time see big volvo advertisement on new launch, after that you hardly see the car on the road. It is cheaper than german brand but luxury level and brand image is still far behind.

• kuntak on Jul 05, 2017 at 5:02 pm

While you are wasting time here talking kok, showroom empty?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • james on Jul 06, 2017 at 3:37 pm

How do you know the engineers goyang kaki. Have you got into their R&D area to see they work? Most of final decision regarding design and technology are done by the management. You must have not heard the cold war between engineering dept and management in Proton right???