Volvo to focus on electrification for the future – CEO

Electrification is the right step forward for Volvo, according to its company CEO Hakan Samuelsson. In an interview with WardsAuto, he added that diesel engines would not be able to remain competitive in the future as well.

This is due to the increasingly stringent emissions standards set by the European Union, where by 2021, the fleet average carbon dioxide (CO2) emissions to be achieved by all new cars is 95 g/km. Along with the ever-decreasing nitrogen dioxide (NOx) limits, diesel engines would not be a good fit in Volvo’s future plans, although they are still relevant for now.

“Looking further down the line, at under 95, diesel will not be able to help us. Only electrification can. The combustion engine will more and more be combined with hybridization, whether that be diesel or petrol. Of course, improving the efficiency of the combustion engine is more or less done, so the next step has to be hybridization and pure-electric cars,” said Samuelsson.

He also stated that Volvo’s first electric vehicle (EV) will be launched in 2019 but did not disclose further details. “We are developing not just one model but electrification for the small platform and also for the larger platforms, and we haven’t revealed which one will be the first,” he hinted.

It was previously reported that Volvo’s first battery electric vehicles (BEVs) and a new 48 V mild hybrid system will arrive in 2019, followed by its T5 Twin Engine plug-in hybrid powertrain in 2018. For the former, Volvo will develop modular battery packs that can be fitted to the company’s Compact Modular Architecture (CMA) and Scalable Product Architecture (SPA) platforms to meet different needs.

Samuelsson also prioritises the driving experience when it comes to EVs, saying: “The driving experience with a fully electric vehicle is really very good with high acceleration (and) quiet, little or no transmission noise, so once we bring down the cost it becomes a very good proposition. People will buy it not just because of lower emissions, but because it’s good technology.”

In regards to infrastructure, the Volvo CEO was adamant that automakers should not be expected to provide and fund EV infrastructure. “If someone sees a credible future where electric cars are pumped out onto the market, then it’s a good business to invest in that infrastructure. I don’t see that we, as carmakers, need to invest in that infrastructure,” he explained.

Volvo also doubts the future of hydrogen fuel-cell cars like those offered by Toyota (Mirai) and Honda (Clarity Fuel Cell), and will prefer to focus on one energy source instead. “Of course, you should never say never, but right now it’s important for us to be clear,” said Samuelsson.

“The grass is always greener on the other side and there is always something new, but battery electrification is what we believe in. With hydrogen you would require all new infrastructure once more, so I think there is a limit to what people will invest in. We believe we have to focus on one main energy source and we believe that is electrification because it’s more flexible. Of course, we might be wrong,” he continued.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mikey on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:35 am

Electrification is the name of the game. If any car manufacturer cannot compete, better merge or let someone who can do a better job take over. Delaying or play hard 2 get only will make a FOOL of yourself.

Yes, P1, I’m referring to U. If U cannot take the heat, better get out of the Kitchen & let someone better be the Chef. At least M’sian can have the cake & eat it too.

Anyone don’t agree please state your case. All are welcome including bashing me. john, please take your best shot

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • Electrification? Too far away for P1. Currently P1 is focus on EEV inline with NAP

• Thats a more realistic target. P1 does have EV, but then the cost is not volume justifiable. That may change in future…

• Ah Kow on Mar 28, 2017 at 11:06 am

Electric ? Haha too ambitious for P1 la.
      Can’t even make a reliable car
      Can’t even make up their mind for FSP
      Don’t even have a direction
      Don’t even have a charismatic CEO and workforce

By looking at their track record, they are very far behind in terms of technology and design. Electric car from Proton is far too ambitious, hybrid pun belum sentuh lagi.

Look at their management and available funds = #facepalm

• Oh… And protection budaya kita. Why do u think BN rule our country for 60 years?

• Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 1:50 pm

thank you Geely!!! they bought Volvo in cash and injected US$12 billion into Volvo to improve it. That is RM55 billion.

Now Volvo got money to focus on eletrification.

Lucky Volvo management and Government of Sweden had the brains to sell Volvo completely

• Leafable on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:48 am

Thank you Volvo. Even though you are late but at least late than never. Nissan, Renault and Tesla are the pioneer in EV.

• alldisc on Mar 28, 2017 at 10:53 am

Good. Volvo, like proton has ideas but lacking capital. Luckily Geely came to the rescue. Same goes to Jaguar and Land rover, lucky Tata salvage. And also Nissan and Mitsubishi, saved by Renault.

• YolotittyMcswagger on Mar 28, 2017 at 11:10 am

Electric cars are the future.

• Susukotak on Mar 28, 2017 at 11:29 am

FOCUS

• tokmoh. on Mar 28, 2017 at 11:32 am

Volvo > all

• Electrify the occupants.

• thepolygonal on Mar 28, 2017 at 12:06 pm

The only car that can challenge the electric Tesla cars is an electric Lotus. Light, agile and no need 200km per charge… after first 100km on a malaysia bumpy road you don’t feel like want to drive it any longer… good for near mamak session!

As for Volvo, hope you succeed big time!

• Asdef on Mar 28, 2017 at 5:19 pm

If you think that Tesla cars are actually comparable to sports car, you got a lot of homework to do. Acceleration? Sure, but that’s where the Tesla advantage ends.

• Ex-VGM staff on Mar 28, 2017 at 6:01 pm

Tesla first electric cars were the modified Lotus Elise, used under license. Tesla S is the 2nd production model but entirely engineered and designed in house.