2018 Zero Motorcycles update – fast charge, 358 kms

2018 Zero Motorcycles update  – fast charge, 358 kms

Possibly the most successful of the current crop of electric motorcycle (e-bike) manufacturers is Zero Motorcycles, who have promised major updates to their e-bike range in 2018, foremost amongst which is six times faster charging and an increase in range to 358 kms. Also on the cards for 2018 is a Power Tank for added range, as well as the Zero Motorcycles app for connectivity to your e-bike.

The biggest drawback for e-bikes is range, and Zero now claims a 10% improvement in its battery packs, the ZF14.4, ZF7.2 and ZF3.6. Combining the ZF14.4 lithium-ion battery with the 3.6 kWh Power Tank gives any 2014 or later Zero e-bike a theoretical 358 km range for city riding, or 180 km on the highway.

Charging time for Zero e-bikes has also been reduced, with its Charge Tank on the 2018 Zero S and Zero DS models that delivers a 95% battery charge in an hour. Using the J1772 EV standard, the Charge Tank is compatible with Level 2 (220 V) public and home charging stations.

For customising the performance and battery range of the Zero e-bike, the Zero Motorcycles app allows the rider to obtain real time readings on battery capacity and range. In addition, the rider can “tune” the performance of the electric motor between performance and range.

The current model range of Zero Motorcycles includes the Zero S and SR naked street bikes, the Zero DS and DSR which are scrambler styled, the Zero FX off-roader and FXS motard. What do you think? Are e-bikes the coming thing? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions, below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• 12yrsold on Oct 23, 2017 at 11:58 am

Zero motorcycles also mean Zero emission & Zero noise pollution. That is good news for people who love Green technologies.

• swoosh3553 on Oct 23, 2017 at 12:11 pm

I am wondering with this new era in electrification of our mode of transportation. Is the bikes fully water-proofed against water since it is now running fully on electrification & battery packs?

• 12yrsold on Oct 23, 2017 at 1:36 pm

I think most battery pack’s are stored under the seats & the booth to balance the car weight proportionately. It should be properly concealed but not water proofed.

Driving under water will be at your own risk just like driving your vehicle in a flood.

• Even normal combustion engine is not water proof. When water got in, enjin boleh hidup ka? Then how come combustion engine can be drive in rainy days and 4×4 can be drove through river? That’s we call engineering dude.

• Ksatria on Oct 23, 2017 at 12:43 pm

Would love to own one if the price is right!!
    Bro Mohan, do enlighten us with reviews of e-bicycles available here in Msia too.

• W/o the engine block & transmission, they cud streamline the design to make it more efficient.

• This motorbike probably not design for speed, it more towards city ride and daily commute. Hence the naked styled.

If you want performance, google: Mission S , Bremmo Empulse R, or LS-218 (Currently fastest EV bike)

• 12yrsold on Oct 23, 2017 at 1:38 pm

I think most battery pack’s are stored under the seats & the booth to balance the car weight proportionately. It should be properly concealed but not water proofed.

Driving under water will be at your own risk just like driving your vehicle in a flood. Wrong posting

• Bernard on Oct 23, 2017 at 5:58 pm

This is the future but it will take at least 10 years in Bolehland..,