New Suzuki Swift – Thai eco car launching early 2018

The new Suzuki Swift will be launching in Thailand early next year, the Bangkok Post reports. The fourth-generation B-segment hatchback made its home market debut in December 2016 and the Swift Sport hot hatch surfaced two months ago.

The new Swift comes with a 1.0 litre Boosterjet triple, but Thais will instead get a 1.2 litre naturally-asprated four-cylinder unit dubbed Dualjet. The K12C 1.2L twin-injector engine will go it alone in the Land of Smiles, without the integrated starter generator (ISG) that a mild hybrid variant gets in Japan.

This is of course due to cost, as the Swift is an Eco Car playing in Thailand’s entry level market. Nissan’s Note eco car, launched there early this year, also omitted the JDM version’s e-Power hybrid system, making do with a 1.2L NA engine. The recently rebooted Toyota Yaris will be the car to beat.

The Swift’s K12C makes the same 91 hp/118 Nm as the K12B unit in the outgoing Thai Swift, but it should be more fuel efficient and green to meet Eco Car Phase 2 standards of 23.3 km/l and 100 g/km of CO2 emissions. The new Heartect platform, which is more rigid and less heavy would help the cause – the JDM car’s weight reduction is from 30 to 160 kg.

Interesting little car, but one that we won’t be getting with Suzuki out of the local scene.

GALLERY: JDM Suzuki Swift

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Sgt Scoop on Nov 24, 2017 at 6:59 pm

Come on, Proton. Rebadge the Swift Sport and finally have a car that people want to buy.

• Susukotak on Nov 24, 2017 at 7:30 pm

Majority owner, DRB boleh call suzuki.

• John Gagap on Nov 25, 2017 at 2:29 pm

Mitsubishi tried to save Proton with Lancer….tak jadi

VW tried to offer to help Proton….Proton reject

Renault (Savvy) and Citroen (Tiara) tried to help Proton….tak jai

Suzuki also tried to help Proton….Ertiga got bad sales.

Honda tried to help Proton….Accordana failed

Now we wait for China Geely to try to help.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
        • mitlanevo on Nov 25, 2017 at 7:52 pm

many developing countries envied to copy P1 car making knowledge. Knowledge is power.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • Orang Malaysia mampu tengok je new Suzuki Swift on the internet je, no thanks to Geli.

• Kickazsez on Nov 24, 2017 at 11:11 pm

Should able to bring in 1.4 boosterjet turbo engine also.

• John Gagap on Nov 24, 2017 at 6:59 pm

Pity we won’t see this car here. Cause Proton dropped Suzuki overnight when Geely agreed to buy Proton.

Otherwise we can see rebadged Proton Swift and even Proton Grand Vitara

Let us face facts…we rakyat are the losers cause Proton Grand Vitara is 100x better than China Boyue.

Jap technology and quality is far better than China quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 10
    • Right now, China steel, China axles, China airbags, even China carpets, r proving to be more quality than Jepunis. Hail China!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 8
    • Mr. Loba Loba on Nov 24, 2017 at 11:13 pm

Don’t be stupid. Geely came in as shareholder, not as rebadge partner. If there is, it’s still possible for a rebadge Suzuki. Ertiga is still being sold

• Teh tarik on Nov 25, 2017 at 11:24 am

Suzuki japs & Geely do not welcome sneaky and cheating business tactic of drb P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • Suzuki is making good cars, I really enjoy my Swift, but sadly I found no service centre near my area. Disappointing… and irresponsible…

• Recko on Nov 24, 2017 at 9:54 pm

you should be able to service your Suzuki at these Proton centers: https://paultan.org/2016/01/14/all-29-malaysian-suzuki-dealerships-are-now-proton-edar-outlets-sales-of-suzuki-brand-models-ended/

• Johan on Nov 24, 2017 at 7:08 pm

TAKE MY MONEY!

• Recko on Nov 24, 2017 at 9:50 pm

Come back to Malaysia Suzuki!

• mr_em on Nov 24, 2017 at 9:53 pm

Poor Suzuki, Proton played you out… and the Japs should hv known better…

• first p1, has grandeur plan to rebadge suzuki, force them closed shop, cannot sell anymore.
    (just like poor mitsubishi lancer.)
    suddenly decide to sell themselves to geely. ^^

• Semi-Value (Member) on Nov 25, 2017 at 12:02 pm

sigh but we no get this car

• sssfans on Nov 25, 2017 at 3:13 pm

i want to old suzuki swift sport.

• Bernard on Nov 25, 2017 at 3:23 pm

This should be sold here as full spec with a manual transmission and priced below RM50k…

• David Kam on Nov 25, 2017 at 8:57 pm

And because of some incompetent monkeys in pre-Geely era proton, we malaysians can’t buy one of the great budget car – suzuki swift.

And because of these monkeys too, our honda accord resale value now become bad.

• Taiwan has the 1.0 Boosterjet engine.

• Took pics of this car testing in Bangkok.

• rally_fan (Member) on Nov 27, 2017 at 9:28 am

most people here talking with facts pulled out of .. who knows where. should actually do some reading an understand the timeline of proton. DRB is the one that messed up everything with their quasi govt. mentality. and suzuki is distributed by DRB, not proton..if you still cant understand who was actually making all the decisions…please stop commenting. i think geely coming in and now seemingly having management control is the best thing thats happened to Proton, ever…