Mazda introduces Flair Wagon, plus Custom Style

It’s Tokyo Auto Salon season soon, and Mazda weighs in amongst the tuner-centric crowd with its own production model offering that is the new Flair Wagon as well as the Flair Wagon Custom Style. Based upon the Suzuki Spacia, the Mazda Flair Wagon wears a rather conventional kei car silhouette though it also features a distinctive beltline made to “emphasise the thickness of the body,” Mazda said.

The Flair Wagon is powered by either of two 660 cc engines; an entry-level unit producing 52 PS and 60 Nm of torque, and a higher-rated mill with 64 PS and 98 Nm of torque courtesy of turbocharging. Both are part of a hybrid powertrain which features a 3 PS/50 Nm electric motor, paired to a continuously variable transmission. Front-wheel drive is standard while AWD is optional.

Interior style is slightly on the minimalist side, with instrumentation comprising a large speedometer taking centrestage ahead of the three-spoke steering wheel, along with a smaller digital display. Sitted atop the centre of the dashboard is a larger infotainment screen, while along the interior, metallic accents add contrast and highlights to cream-coloured or black upholstery.

This time around, sliding rear doors maximise accessibility to the second and third rows, and the compact Mazda is suitably up to date with safety equipment as well, including a collision warning system, high beam assist and lane departure warning as part of its active safety package.

Pricing in Japan for the Mazda Flair Wagon ranges from 1,333,800 yen (RM48,123) to 1,908,360 yen (RM68,852) for the range-topping Flair Wagon Custom Style XT. Kei cars are designed to maximise accommodation within strict exterior dimensions limits for the Japanese market; how do you think these would fare in the Malaysian market, dear readers?

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• Jepunis and their weird tastes

• “Kei cars are designed to maximise accommodation within strict exterior dimensions limits for the Japanese market”

It’s not that weird considering how many Alphards on our road which build using the same idea, on bigger scale.

• James on Dec 27, 2017 at 9:14 pm

Weird is the right word. And aerodynamically nonsense.

• hippopo on Dec 28, 2017 at 7:55 pm

I saw many of these model here in Japan. Its primary purpose is to minimize tax as well as to fit the narrow streets in Japan. Aerodynamic is not the priority as it’s main purpose is to ferry people and goods along narrow streets. It’s actually very practical and super fuel efficient. Looks is just so so though.

• RavenAii (Member) on Jan 09, 2018 at 9:06 pm

Who needs aerodynamic when you’re driving slowly through narrow roads? Japanese build cars through practicality, tak macam kau bawa Myvi macam drive Ferarri. Nyawa melayang salahlan P2 pulak sebab tak buat kereta kukuh. Malaysian mindset are one of the worst in Asean countries.

• Topkek on Dec 28, 2017 at 3:35 am

Bodo basher, when p1 got juara they say van roti pulak

Better go to school

• robin on Dec 28, 2017 at 8:52 am

exactly!! malaysian loves the alphards and vellfires, not me though, mostly driven by.. not so clever drivers.

• Bumbu on Dec 27, 2017 at 7:16 pm

Take my $$$ Berjaya mazda

• Today’s version of Proton Juara

• Hadi75 on Dec 28, 2017 at 12:07 am

Come to malaysia…price double already

• Phillip Lou on Dec 28, 2017 at 7:55 am

I once owned the Citroen berlingo multispace 2.0 during my stay in UK. Very spacious, excellent for trips to the cash n carry, move bulky things,etc. The laws pertaining to carriage of bulky goods in Malaysia might be different.

• robin on Dec 28, 2017 at 8:49 am

awwww, so cute <3

• If you have driven the Perodua Kenari before. you will appreciate the boxy practical car and high seat.

I will buy it the price is right.

• Noname on Dec 28, 2017 at 9:42 am

A midget alphard

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Dec 28, 2017 at 12:30 pm

design influenced by Kotak susu UHT….

• mazzdah on Dec 28, 2017 at 1:19 pm

Hybrid at RM 50k. What a steal.

• I would wear a disguise if I had to jump into one of these.

Ideal for a modern day Fred Flintstone, though.

• Kuinosan on Dec 28, 2017 at 9:44 pm

Laugh all you want, but Kei cars are cars of the future.