December 2017 Malaysia vehicle sales up 11.3% from Nov; 2017 TIV at 576,635 units, down 0.6% from 2016

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has released full-year sales figures for 2017, and we’ll have our usual sales breakdown by brand soon. In the meantime, we’re covering total sales for December first, and it hasn’t been a good month for the industry in general.

Yes, with a total of 54,729 vehicles sold, last month’s sales were 11.3% or 5,545 units higher than those of November, which MAA attributed to year-end sales promotions and incentives provided by car companies to meet their year-end targets.

Look closely, however, and you’ll notice that the figure for December 2017 was actually down 15.6% or a whole 10,104 units compared to the same period in 2016. Floods in certain parts of Peninsular Malaysia were blamed for the sales slump, as were the promotions that were being offered much earlier in the year, which MAA deemed “excessive.”

All this led to a total sales volume (TIV) that stumbled slightly as the year ended – a grand total of 576,635 vehicles were sold in 2017, down 0.6% compared to 2016’s TIV of 580,085 vehicles. This was despite the fact that the industry’s performance last year had hitherto been ahead of 2016’s by a small margin, as recently as November.

And January isn’t expected to be any better – in fact, MAA expects sales this month to be lower than in December, due to the end of year-end promotions and the usual stringent hire purchase loan approvals.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Cnpau on Jan 23, 2018 at 2:17 pm

Perodua sales 210K out of 570K cars. Amazing!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Richard Lam on Jan 23, 2018 at 2:33 pm

Perodua has done so well without Government help or orders.

If all Government departments, PDRM, Bomba, KDRM etc etc etc (hundreds of Jabatans) order from P2, it will be 310,000

Bravo to P2. You make us proud

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
      • common sensor on Jan 23, 2018 at 2:53 pm

Without government help? Check out with MAI ..

• P1 expect to climb to 500,000 unit, 87% market
        https://paultan.org/2017/11/10/no-retrenchments-at-proton-workforce-set-to-increase/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Richard Lam on Jan 23, 2018 at 2:30 pm

TIV is down because of Proton. Infact this is despite Perodua pushing up the TIV

2010 140,000 units
    2017 70,000 units

OMG

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • TIV is comparison of year-to-year not from 7 years back.
      Reason is down is very obvious. Less P2 sales now. Why?
      Due to better public transports.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
  • 4G63T DSM on Jan 23, 2018 at 3:54 pm

I remember waaaaaay back in 2015, MAI famously forecasted that TIV will be 700,000.

I also remember I got lambasted by some trolls when I said MAI is talking out of their ass.

Well, it never got anywhere near to 700,000 in 2015….. or 2016 or 2017 for that matter. In fact, it has gone down every year since forcing Midani to backtrack from his big words.

As reported in TheSunDaily; 20 march 2015
    “The GST should stimulate demand for vehicles by reducing prices with the abolishment of the Sales and Services Tax.
    “Car sales in January and February performed well … we don’t see the reason why demand for cars would drop following the GST,” he (Midani)told reporters after the launch of the Automechanika Kuala Lumpur here yesterday.”

MAI/Midani = Shiok Sendiri

Trolls will still now say the drop is attributed to better public transportation. Trying to whitewash the fact that, with the uptrend in living costs, people are just holding on to their old faithfuls longer.

• Dun just see overall figure but look at the breakdown. Theres more buyers for foreign makes now and luxury brands ekceli grows at fastest pace compared to others. That means MY pipu disposable income grew large enuff for them to consider better cars, not more cars.

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 23, 2018 at 4:40 pm

People are spooked about the economy thanks to doomsday prophecies, despite knowing absolutely nothing about the economy. That’s what’s holding them back from buying a new car in actuality.

Now is in fact the best time to buy a car – with car makers basically throwing out rebates by the thousands (even Toyota & Honda are throwing out rebates, something you don’t really get in the years past) and low interest rates, people can save more.

• tokmoh. on Jan 23, 2018 at 5:15 pm

MAI/Madani dengan bangang, berpisah tiada.

Just when I thought they’re becoming smarter, next I see he compare top spec Honda City RM90k with base spec RM75k, then claim harga kereta sudah turun, topkek.

• common sensor on Jan 23, 2018 at 5:15 pm

Apparently, MAI is a liability not an asset. MAI survive on the basis of being able to con the ministers with spinned information.

• Lpost on Jan 23, 2018 at 6:48 pm

Since MAI started NAP 2013, auto investments worth RM 90billion had moved to Thailand.

• Gud riddance. We dun need foreign factories staffed by even more foreigners. All profits & salaries go out of MY, in the end we end up with foreigner problems. Better they stay away!

• tokmoh. on Jan 24, 2018 at 12:15 am

Where there is crisis, there is opportunity.

While others shun us, Geely invested in us. Going by their track record, they are smart.

Their faith will be rewarded handsomely. Sour grapes will throw insults, calling it names, but so what? The world is unfair, deal with it. Fortune favours the bold, it always had been.

Geely, Proton, Lotus, Polestar, Volvo Car, Lynk & Co, Mercedes, London Taxi > all

• nemesis on Jan 24, 2018 at 1:07 am

Geely Is Godsent to save MY. Sink those tongkat vendors.

• Correct! At least Geely came in, they assured everyone they gonna continue using current local staff, unlike those others that came in but restaff them with foreigners. Go to any of these factories or industrial zone will feel like mini-Dhaka or mini-Kathmandu. We dun need these kinda “investment”.