November 2017 Malaysia vehicle sales up 4.6% from Oct, 0.2% up year-on-year; YTD is 1.3% up from 2016

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has released sales data for November 2017, and it’s been a good month for the automotive industry in general, building on the strong performance seen in October.

In total, as many as 49,184 vehicles were sold last month, marking a 4.6% or 2,143 unit increase from the 47,041 units pushed out in October; compared to November 2016, however, that figure is just 0.2% or 89 units up. Even so, a total of 521,907 new vehicles found homes in the first 11 months of the year, a jump of 1.3% or 6,655 units compared to the 515,252 units shifted during the same period last year.

This increase has been attributed by MAA to year-end festive sales promotions, and has no doubt been buoyed by the launch of the new Perodua Myvi last month. The continuation of these deals, coupled with aggressive promotional campaigns by car companies, is expected to lead to an even stronger sales performance in December, according to MAA.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Whats this nonsense about MY pipu being poor?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 12
    • jinggo on Dec 18, 2017 at 7:13 pm

Biar Papa kedana asal bergaya.

• MY pipu only buy poor cars that never sell well in 1st world country. (Except 1990 era proton saga and arena.) That’s why we poor or something.

• We r only poor by choice not by purpose.

• iammat57 on Dec 19, 2017 at 1:27 pm

60% of parents in Malaysia with adult age children are still supporting their adult children financially. Am 1 of the parent.

• tokmoh. on Dec 18, 2017 at 9:00 pm

Kfc penuh, iphone X laris, honda, mercedes pecah sales record.

Mana rakyat terjejas? Maslanbingung.gif

• Audi fatboy on Dec 19, 2017 at 7:25 am

Very keen to see how is volvo and peugeot performance with the launch of their s90 and 3008 since the number was so terrible since day 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
      • Observer on Dec 20, 2017 at 1:52 am

I would like to see how Audi sales performed this November 2017.

Audi sales was so horribly low in October 2017 even outperformed by Volvo and Peugeot sales.

It would not be surprised to see Audi sales especially A4 achieving another new low in November 2017 since the A4 is also another new model being launch . Hardly can see new A4 on the road this days on the road too.

• 12yrsold on Dec 19, 2017 at 8:32 am

Our MY gomen have classified us into 3 category. If the amount of pipu receiving BRiM is the yardstick, I’m afraid we have millions(B40) in this category.
      Maybe U can tell a better picture !? Looks like those who bought New cars are from M40 & above. NO !!

• If prospective buyers financial state isnt gud, banks wun lend them money to buy the cars in the 1st place.

Basically, banks will ensure u cant buy it unless u can afford it. So, if this record breaking sales is not fake news, that means…

• Mazidul on Dec 19, 2017 at 10:29 am

Yup brah. Damm many “Sambung bayar” cars on mudah.my

• Almost all sambung bayar cuz of over-commitment. After buy car, then wanna buy IpongX & S8Note, then wanna buy house, then wanna get married. Not the fault of banks when they gip car loans thou…

• 12yrsold on Dec 19, 2017 at 11:13 am

Your Ori question – Whats this nonsense about MY pipu being poor? that means… they are NOT from B40 group.
          Of course the sales are Not fake. Most pipu buy new car bcos they qualify ma & most are from M40 group.

• kzm (Member) on Dec 19, 2017 at 11:59 am

M40 (up to RM6k) most probably don’t buy p1/p2.. While p2 sold almost 200k cars, p1 around 60k.. I’m pretty sure the one who buy p1/p2 is B40 (up to RM3k).

• So MY is getting richer not poorer. Whats this i hear about MY becoming bankruptcy…

• Ben Yap on Dec 18, 2017 at 6:35 pm

many buy cars in the midst of poor economy. gaya mesti mau even in bad times…. malaysian mentality and later complaint cannot afford to buy house.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • jamal on Dec 18, 2017 at 7:18 pm

Wow Nov 2017. Launch of the new Perodua Myvi 2018!

• tiadaid (Member) on Dec 18, 2017 at 9:02 pm

Or maybe the economy is not as bad as portrayed?

Loans aren’t that easy to get – I know, I tried.

• YAB Albert Kunta on Dec 18, 2017 at 10:33 pm

Malaysians have a huge ADDICTION for new cars.
      It is like “narcotics” but of course,it is legal,nothing wrong.
      Some buy,cos keta lama kian rosak, so nak balik kampung often…beli je…show kampung folks ku dah berjaya…so MUST BUY NEW CAR.
      Some kena conned by used car salesman,prefer the easy but expensive alternative.
      Some buy cos they think the economy is STILL VERY ROSY.
      “Beli je…apa nak khuatir…kami boleh arrange loan,even those dah blacklisted..kami boleh urus,trust us.” Sounds familiar?
      There r more than 200,000 graduates jobless,plus 70,000 more joining the retrenched list this year alone. Next yr may even be worst…as indicated by petronas and Mydin lately.
      Remember,u control loans…not the other way around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • sonyman on Dec 19, 2017 at 9:45 am

out of the 200,000 jobless fresh grad, more than 70 % is self employed either selling for MLM, online business, and also many more other services that they can do under radar.

Thats why they don’t want to be employed. they are self employed. and most of them are entrepreneurial
        thinking . unlike the olden days, work hard, and you will be rewarded. New generation, never ever work for someone. Work for yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
        • YB Albert Kunta on Dec 19, 2017 at 2:39 pm

More than 90 percent of this 200,000 graduates are not employable cos they cant speak proper English…the international lingua franca…they still rely on gomen glc ‘retraining schemes”.
          I doubt they can make it even in the “on line’ business…so easy to be another Jack ma meh? Their level of English,is so atrocious,that no personnel exec will give them a second chance.

• U live in ur own shell/cave. Of cuz u have no inkling of how successful these internet businesses became. Some even carve out a new industry.
            Case in point, are these “cant speak proper English” youngsters that started the food truck business boom. They dun sit behind keybod and complain.

• Reboot on Dec 20, 2017 at 2:18 am

Cakap syiok sendiri sahaja.

Many of them run out of monies always and cannot make end meet and tends to borrow monies.

Cos their online business or MLM did not bear fruits to sustain their life style or livelihood.

So it is true , these jobless who cannot speak or write english are finding difficulty to get a decent well paid jobs in a multi national companies.

• Ever heard of gig economy thats hot now. Based on ur reasoning, Britain economy wud have collapsed by now.

Pipu talk about Industrial 4.0, u still dream of Industrial 2.0. Gudluck!

• Poor economy or my pipu kaya?

• Mustapha Kamal on Dec 18, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Perodua is amazing

1 month can sell 20,000 cars

3 months will be 60,000 cars

That will be Proton’s 1 year of sales.

And Perodua has HALF of Proton’s workforce.

• RUGAL on Dec 18, 2017 at 8:41 pm

When it comes to buying cars, suddenly our economy becomes good.

• Mama Sustegen on Dec 18, 2017 at 9:34 pm

2017 Year end coming, 2018 new year coming, CNY oso coming….so must buy new car to drive back to kampung, with syle okeh?

• Moron Terminator on Dec 20, 2017 at 2:09 am

Mostly after Hari raya or CNY , when after the new car buyers had shown off their new cars to their family members in the kampungs, most of them after cannot make or default in their new cars loan for a period of three months thereafter, you will many of these cars in the used car yards or in the Lelong /Auction markets.

This is repeated every years and is no surprise at all.

That is why bankruptcy rate in Malaysia due to car loans alone is about 26.63% similarly with credit card which is about 25%.

The bankruptcy rate for individuals keep increasing every year in achieving another record high always.

More new cars sales means that Malaysia bankruptcy rate will increase further….

• Viewer on Dec 19, 2017 at 7:15 am

Most of the people “Buy first, cannot pay tarik la…”

• C.P. MOHAN on Dec 19, 2017 at 10:30 am

My observation is that while YTD production is DEcreasing YTD sale is INcreasing indicating that sales are being motivated upward probably by good discounts, maintenance and financing terms. Another observation is that production and sales will fall below 600,000 units for 2017.