FIRST LOOK: 2018 Volvo XC60 in Malaysia – fr RM299k

Volvo’s award-winning XC60 is finally on sale in Malaysia, and it currently comes with a price tag of RM373,888. That’s for the CBU, mind you, and it’s fully imported from Sweden. The locally-assembled versions, comprised of the T5 Momentum, T8 Inscription and T8 Inscription Plus will arrive in April (bookings are now open), carrying a sticker price of RM298,888, RM333,888 and RM343,888 respectively.

All XC60 models offered in Malaysia come with the company’s 2.0 litre Drive-E engine, and in T8 plug-in hybrid guise, it is supercharged and turbocharged to make 320 hp and 400 Nm of torque. Being a PHEV, the internal combustion engine is married to an electric motor that makes 87 hp and 240 Nm of torque, the combination of which nets you 407 hp and 640 Nm of torque.

As the most powerful SUV in its class, the XC60 sprints from 0 to 100 km/h in 5.3 seconds and tops out at 230 km/h. It has all-wheel drive and an eight-speed automatic – all things familiar with the rest of Volvo’s plug-in hybrid offerings. In terms of charging, it takes between two to seven hours to completely juice up the 10.4 kWh battery pack, but this depends on the charger that’s being used.

Most importantly, the difference in specifications between the CBU and CKD units would be minimal, with the latter losing out on air suspension, interior inlay options and an inclination sensor. Otherwise, it’s all as per the range-topper you see here (in Onyx Black), and yes, the 15-speaker Bowers and Wilkins sound system is also present.

Would you pick the kitted-out Swede over the Mercedes-Benz GLC? Let us know what you think in the comments section below. In the meantime, enjoy this walk-around tour of the XC60. For more information and detailed specifications of the SUV, head on over to CarBase.my

GALLERY: 2018 Volvo XC60 T8 Twin Engine Inscription Plus (CBU)

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Dug Ong on Jan 30, 2018 at 10:23 am

Still very expensive. What happened to the 30% car price reduction promised to the 30 million rakyat 4 years ago?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 37
    • Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
      Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 39
  • The Saint on Jan 30, 2018 at 10:24 am

At this price point, IMO, the XC60 will totally obliterate its rivals including the GLCs, X3 and the Q5.

Even the entry level T5 variant at 299k has the highest HP among all its rivals, not to mention the fully loaded safety features which none of its rivals has.

It is a no brainer to me if I were shopping in this segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
    • MeToo on Jan 30, 2018 at 11:47 am

I was at the launching in Sheraton.

Very nice car.

But I’ll go for the GLC. Oh and buyers of this segment doesnt choose cars based on the “mostest powderfool HP”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 53
      • Then choose safety features. Coz ur GLC doesn’t hv anything outstanding. I am sure u treasure your life in order to enjoy the money u make.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jan 31, 2018 at 2:18 pm

i will wait for the x3 hybrid first

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
  • Dug Ong on Jan 30, 2018 at 10:25 am

RM343k is crazy expensive. Better just add a bit more and buy a proper X5 40e. With discounts, can even get for RM350k

Real proper SUV. Proper SUV size also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 63
    • BetterbuyBoy on Jan 30, 2018 at 11:51 am

Or saved 100K. Better buy Harrier 2.0T
      Real proper SUV. Proper SUV size also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 53
    • Moron Terminator on Jan 30, 2018 at 11:59 am

BMW X5 40e specs and fittings totally lost out to XC90 T8.

You want proper SUV then buy XC90 way much better looking and many times safer than Tin Kosong X5 anytime.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 7
      • Yeast Lump on Jan 30, 2018 at 5:52 pm

Nope. My pick is Range Rover Vogue anytime.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 29
        • Nosales on Jan 31, 2018 at 1:02 pm

Park side by side volvo and bmw, people dont look at volvo lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 27
          • No one look or appreciate BMW except typical Joe only. The rich looks to Volvo nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
        • Tahar on Jan 31, 2018 at 2:54 pm

Really ,

If you do not mind buying Range Rover Vogue made and owned by India TATA ?

Salute then !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Helen Lim on Jan 31, 2018 at 1:14 pm

X5 40e sales volume is 3 years total volvo cars volume in malaysia. People here still prefer more luxury and better RV german cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 19
        • BMW is typical Joe car either you like iit it hate. me if BMW park besides Volvo I would look at the Volvo more soothing to my eyes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
          • Volvo supporter on Feb 04, 2018 at 6:56 pm

Wait till you can afford one day, you will top up 20% to buy bmw.

• Audi Fans on Jan 31, 2018 at 11:05 pm

not many ppl like BMW. it is just BMW offer easy loan and financing package whereby Volvo does not. overall Volvo is meant for the rich rather the BMW can be owned by any lower and middle class.

this makes BMW easier to buy and be owned..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 12
        • also for slow selling Audi and Lexus too

• William on Feb 01, 2018 at 11:09 pm

Hey ,

Mercedes, BMW and slow selling Audi , all depreciate more than 60% from original purchase price after using for 4 to 5 years.

You call this good RV and so call “luxury” which is not.

very stupid of you , brainless @@@

• Dug Ong on Jan 30, 2018 at 10:27 am

Mercedes GLC200 got 7% corporate discount. Volvo never give corporate discounts.

So, RM288k less 7% is about RM260k.

Far far cheaper than this XC60.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 27
    • Sputjam on Mar 29, 2018 at 9:05 pm

Ftont wheel drive only. With 4 motion, it cost abput RM330k.

• Too expensive lah…
    We tokok here but most ppl will just buy the GLC…admit it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 42
  • Pimai on Jan 30, 2018 at 10:38 am

(Like) Volvo XC60 RM299k.
    (Dislike) CX5 + CRV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 17
  • Yup...i said it ..k on Jan 30, 2018 at 10:42 am

The only and i say the only good thg from Sweden are…..the chicks..k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
  • Imported from SWEDEN!!?? Sure?? Not Belgium??

• Future 2018 COTY incoming!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • In certain country, the price of this baby can only buy u a Harrier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 21
  • Sohai on Jan 30, 2018 at 11:05 am

Mai, CKD XC60 is EEV qualified… Why… Why… Tell me why… Why the price UP from 268k to 298k (+11%) under EEV tax Break, its should below 268k…

• Berjaya got greedy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • tokmoh. on Jan 30, 2018 at 12:14 pm

This is to please previous XC60 owners. See, Malaysians care most about RV.

Govt really got good intention to reduce car price. But see, when car price reduce, Malaysians complaint their RV lost.

So Volvo doing owners a favour by preventing they lose RV. Don’t be like mercedes, they stripped their cars until tin milo, then reduce price, this will affect owners’ RV, tabouli ini machiem!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
  • tokmoh. on Jan 30, 2018 at 11:11 am

Volvo XC60 > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Michelle Tan on Jan 31, 2018 at 1:04 pm

True volvo has > mechanical problem compare to korean kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 13
      • More true and proven that

Mercedes ,BMW and Audi > mechanical problems compare to China cars as well as Korean Kimchi

• thepolygonal on Jan 30, 2018 at 11:15 am

I like this car a lot. Yes a lot. I really do. I want it but… just that reality kicks in and servicing and keeping it… aiii… Harrier sahajalah… save 40k.

If only there are more service centers. Maybe when XC40 kicks in with more volume and more services centers pops up, thing might look different.

It’s a good car! Serious!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • Hellhole on Jan 31, 2018 at 10:19 am

If you want to talk about saving money get an HRV. If you saying that Harrier is of the same class but cheaper. Nope. The Lexus equivalent is the NX model.

• Midship on Jan 30, 2018 at 11:33 am

Nice ankles!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Ultimate Driving Machine on Jan 30, 2018 at 11:37 am

Many ppl said Volvo is good, will choose Volvo, will buy Volvo if shopping in this segment, will buy Volvo if can afford this car and bla bla bla. Well, my bet is when these Keyboard expert really considering buy a car in this range, they would end up buying Audi/Benz/BMW instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 42
    • Sushi Sucks on Jan 30, 2018 at 11:52 am

Audi is already a dying brand in Malaysia and cannot sell much.

Only Mercedes ( Taxi Status brand ) and BMW ( typical average joe’s car ) will sell much better than AUDI due to easy and low installment package offer to lower and middle class buyers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 22
      • Ultimate Driving Machine on Jan 30, 2018 at 1:16 pm

Your replied indicating that you are truly a Keyboard expert. MB and BMW sales result worldwide and in Msia answered everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
    • tokmoh. on Jan 30, 2018 at 12:15 pm

Audi sales worse than Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 12
      • Hanson on Jan 30, 2018 at 1:14 pm

Audi not doing well in Malaysia because of the distributors and dealers, not the car. If you notice in markets where Audi comes in direct, they are top sellers. E.g., Singapore, China and Japan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
        • Imelda on Jan 31, 2018 at 3:17 pm

Let focus and keep to our beloved Malaysia car market only.

A lot of other makes like Peugeot , Renault and VW golf sell well in europe but not in Malaysia.

No need to brag about AUDI as how well it sell overseas when it is not selling well at all in Malaysia . Why? maybe it is problematic .

• Khalid on Jan 31, 2018 at 3:46 pm

Audi may be top in china due government procurements otherwise not possible .

However other German brands do overshadow AUDI sales in Singapore and in japan currently whereby Audi is not top seller yet when compare ,,,,

• Ultimate Driving Machine on Jan 30, 2018 at 1:12 pm

Agreed that Audi sales in Msia is bad or dying. Also, Volvo salesman sendiri cakap, sendiri syiok.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
      • Advance Tech on Jan 30, 2018 at 2:18 pm

It is already been published in paultan.org brands sales websites for many months and many car buyers already know about this till now .

Why pointing fingers on unconcerned party really brainless UDM ###

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 6
      • Advance Tech on Jan 31, 2018 at 3:11 pm

Also Mercedes and BMW salesman sendiri cakap and sendiri syok too!!

• Kenny Chan on Jan 30, 2018 at 3:12 pm

Even Lexus sell more than Audi in Malaysia. Most of the Audi otr are reconds.

• On paper, yes this car is better but once u inform your friends your intention. Sure buy GLC…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 31
    • Sure, ppl buy the Tin Kosong GLC and then complain and also cry later.

No problem…

• blackbox on Jan 30, 2018 at 3:31 pm

CKD is cheaper than CBU but without the air suspension…. If add in the air suspension to CKD car then the price is not much different. Trying to cheat the buyer?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Apr 21, 2018 at 1:00 am

but to be honest..u rather not have the air suspension once u own the car in a few years time

• old horse on Jan 30, 2018 at 9:20 pm

Merc is laughing, this kind of price is helping to put more GLC on the road…

bye XC60, i thought it can be my first volvo..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 21
    • Audi Fans on Jan 31, 2018 at 11:15 pm

yeh would see many GLC owners laughing and crying at the workshops later .

cheers

• Shawn on Jan 31, 2018 at 2:10 pm

Hi, does anyone know if there’s option to add 360 camera and navigation options on the T5 version?

• Dislike Toyota on Jan 31, 2018 at 3:02 pm

Toyota Harrier is no match to XC60 safety technologies and features . Furthermore , XC60 uses more Boron steel in the making than any Toyota or Harrier even lexus

Brainless in buying a mark up Harrier pricing close to that of xc60 pricing in certain countries.

• Chris on Feb 01, 2018 at 11:30 pm

I am kind of family man would choose XC60 over GLC anytime.

XC60 got all the advance safety features better and more than GLC .

Safety come first as well as family in tandem

GLC is only an elevated C class platform nothing special at all and the look is not as good LOOKING as this XC60 .

yeah it will be XC60 …

• Hisham Osman on Feb 04, 2018 at 6:00 pm

Tech wise good, price wise- too high, safety & comfort wise – should be among the best on the road. Option wise – not so attractive because T6 missing and VCM offers limited colour and interior options. There’s not a blue colour in the line up. Semua orang tua punya warna. VCM should allow CBU customization as an option. New Q5 and new X3 yet to show face, so difficult to make direct comparisons. Thailand offers better options and specs for the new XC60

• Lets vote. Which car has better value? Thumbs up T5 at 299k or Thumbs down T8 at 349k ?